PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


America's Brewpub - Aurora, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 03:41 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Aurora > America's Brewpub
America's Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
America's Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.1 / 100
205 North Broadway
Aurora, IL 60505
United States
(630) 264-2739
Listed Since: December 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Aurora, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
35 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Two Brothers Roundhouse
(0 mile)

2) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(2 miles)

3) Rock Bottom Brewery
(6 miles)

4) Two Brothers Brewing Company
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AURORA FOX VALLEY INN
2) BAYMONT INN & SUITES N AURORA
3) COMFORT INN AURORA
4) COMFORT SUITES AURORA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aurora College Complex
2) Aurora Elks Lodge No. 705
3) Copley, Col. Ira C., Mansion
4) Fox River House
5) GAR Memorial Building
6) Graham Building
7) Healy Chapel
8) Hotel Aurora
9) Keystone Building
10) Masonic Temple
11) Old Second National Bank
12) Paramount Theatre
13) Stolp Woolen Mill Store
14) Tanner, William A., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Hermanos
2) Ach-N-Lou's Pizza Pub
3) Alibi
4) America's Brewing Co
5) Arby's
6) Aurora Pancake House
7) B C's Sandwiches
8) Bambina's
9) Banana Split Inc
10) Bess's Diner
11) Bev's Corner
12) Bill's Restaurant Inc
13) Boca Burritos
14) Broadway Restaurant & Lounge
15) Bumper's Hot Dogs
16) Burger King
17) Burrito Rico
18) Cafe Harlow
19) Carlito's Tacos
20) Chapala Club Restaurant
21) Chicanita Ice Cream
22) Christine's Grill
23) Ciara's Place
24) Club Gala
25) Dairy Delight
26) Dairy Queen
27) Dairy Queen
28) Darcy's Snack Shop
29) De King's Tavern
30) Delray Farms
31) Dombrowski's Louie
32) Don Walker's Sandwich Ctr
33) Doug's American Grill & Bar
34) Dunkin Donuts
35) Dunkin Donuts
36) East China Inn
37) El Burrito Loco
38) El Paso Restaurant
39) El Potrillo
40) El Rodeo
41) Epic Buffet
42) Fairbanks Steakhouse & Bar
43) Fiorelli's Italian Pastry
44) Gametime
45) Geno's Tacos
46) Golden Sea Chop Suey
47) Goody's Fastfood Restaurant
48) Hickory Shack
49) Hoi Peng Restaurant
50) Hollywood Casino-Aurora
51) India Palace
52) J & D Restaurant
53) Jalisco Super Market
54) Jalisco Tacos
55) Jnz Restaurant
56) Jumbo Buffet
57) Jumpin Java Coffee Co
58) Kenny's Ribs & Chicken Aurora
59) Kfc
60) Kfc
61) LA Aurora Cigars & Spirits Inc
62) La Flama De Ora
63) LA Panchita
64) La Roca Restaurant
65) Lindy's Chili Gerties Ice Crm
66) Little Caesars Pizza
67) Log Cabin Lounge
68) Long John Silver's
69) Los Cabos Restaurant
70) Los Comales
71) Los Rios Ii
72) Mac Tacos
73) Mayberry's Restaurant & Bagel
74) Mc Cue Bar & Grill
75) Mc Donald's
76) Mc Donald's
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mickey's Tavern
79) Murphy's
80) New Palenque Inc
81) Nikarry's Restaurant Inc
82) O'Malley's Bar & Grill
83) Office
84) Panchos Restaurant
85) Papa John's Pizza
86) Paradise Inn
87) Pepe's Mexican Restaurant
88) Pigeon Hill Diner
89) Pizza Hut
90) Pizzaria Mama Mia
91) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
92) Rudy's Place
93) Seven Fortunes
94) Shan-Li's Place
95) Son Risas
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
99) Super Panda Group
100) Swony's Drive Inn
101) Taco Bell
102) Taco Bell
103) Taco Mobile
104) Taqueria Durango
105) Taqueria La Cierra
106) Taqueria Mexico Ii
107) Tavern On The Fox
108) Tecalitan Restaurant
109) Temple Hill Plaza
110) Thai Spice
111) Walter Payton's Roundhouse
112) Wendy's
113) White Castle
114) Wok Inn Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
As others have mentioned, the Roundhouse complex itself is worth seeing. They have done an incredible job in reusing a piece of railroad history.

We visited on a tuesday afternoon. The service was quick and our waiter had a good understanding of the beer and a good sense of humor.

We all had sandwiches or burgers and they were all very good. The desserts were awesome, at least according to my wife and friends--I had a stout for dessert.

I have had their beer at a number of festivals and have always been impressed with all but one (ok, I really don't like Pizza Beer). They had nine beers on tap, including such exotics as "Dirty Summer Blonde Chocolate Beer" and a blueberry. I stuck with the more traditional brews--a very nice dry hopped amber ale, a kolsch, and the stout. All were very nice to drink.

I'll go back when I get the chance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(08/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
I expected better quality and selection of beer. No IPA, bartender tried to tell me a brown ale was hoppy. It really wastn't. I probably wouldn't go back because there are better places.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Good
I went with my wife and daughters this past Thurs. night. They were really slow, don't know if the smoking band in Illinois was a factor or not. We set in the bar area so we could watch the Orange Bowl, so the menu is a bit limited versus the regular restaurant menu. The food was average overall, except for the the deserts which are great.

I had a coffee stout to start with which was very good, My wife had a honey wheat that also was very good. My second beer was the amber ale which had some noticeable diacteyl taste as the beer warmed. Needless to say I was less than please with the beer. They my wife and I both had their Bourbon Barrel Barley Wine which we both thought very highly of. It had a smooth bourbon taste as well as prune, chocolate, and some alcohol warmth. This is an excellent beer.

Overall the beer is good and the reason to go is the atmosphere and the Walter Payton museum.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Walter Payton's Roundhouse houses the brewpub. It's a restaurant, two or three bars, a great outdoor area, and reception area and most important, Walter Payton's museum. Took my diehard Detroit cousin here and he was impressed. Some of the beers tend toward "Sweetness" - I prefer the ales with the hors 'doevres.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bridgman Bob Bridgman, Aurora, IL
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
I'VE NEVER BEEN TO A MICRO BREWERY THAT HAD SO MUCH TO OFFER AS WALTER PAYTON'S ROUNDHOUSE. OK, THE BEER MIGHT BE AVERAGE BUT THIS WHOLE COMPLEX MUST BE SEEN TO BELIEVE, YOU MUST GO & CHECK OUT THE ENTIRE ROUNDHOUSE, THE PAYTON MUSEUM WILL BRING TEARS TO YOUR EYES.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from whiskeystout whiskeystout, oak forest, IL
(02/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
There are few downtown areas in the U.S. as sexy as downtown Aurora. Such as downtown Flint, downtown Moline, downtown Bridgeport CT... Smarminess aside, this converted locomotive roundhouse is actually quite a nice setup. Big open spaces with rafters, massively tall ceilings, lofted seating areas and huge exposed brick walls - some with inlaid fireplaces - greet your arrival. Browsing the expansive setup is rewarded with numerous bars, a gameroom, a handful of buffet and reception rooms, and a small Walter Payton Museum.

The smallish beer selection ranges from marginal to delicious. The pilsner and honey wheat were overwhelmed by adjuncts and tasted like low-rent mass-brew swill. The Aurora Amber got off to a bad start - different from their IPA, it was overbearing in its ubiquitous West Coast hop character at first. But alas, it was served too cold; once allowed to warm up the noticeably sweet malt flavors came to the rescue and brought balance to the brew. The Reindeer Red seasonal was lightly hopped and appropriately so, with big rich lightly roasted malt flavor doing the heavy lifting. The Oktoberfest was so pale I thought the waitress brought me the wrong beer. Took a sip - sure enough, it was Oktoberfest-style, though with insufficient dry-roast flavor more common to the style. The star of the show was the Sweetness itself - the signature stout. Tasted more like Theakston’s Old Peculiar that a standard stout. Almost sickly-sweet and a pleasant surprise. Well-done.

Food was unexceptional. I ordered the jambalaya and it was disappointingly bland. This must not be news to the waitstaff, as my server brought a bottle of tabasco sauce without being prompted.

Speaking of waitstaff, service was perfunctory - got the job done with little fanfare. Not great, not bad.

Bottom line: thumbs-up. Not worth a lengthy pilgrimage unless you’re a massive Walter Payton fan. But do stop by if you’re in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(01/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Went for dinner at this place, recently. The food prices are really high. Even compared to other brewpubs. Kind of broke my eating out budget. The beer price, oddly enough, is pretty good...$3.75 for a pint. Most microbrews charge upwards of $4. Service was great, both at the bar and at the table. Beer was pretty good, do try the sweetness stout. I do wish that they had a bit more selection, however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Doolittle Jim Doolittle, University Park, IL
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The best beer of the bunch was the Sweetness Stout. Very smooth, well done stout. The seasonal reindeer red was pretty good, too, and the other brews were drinkable, but none memorable. I was there with a party of 6, we all were happy with our food. I had the prime rib sandwich, and it was tasty and huge. I would go back the next time I am in Aurora. By the way, this place was co-owned by the late great Walter Payton, and it features a mini-Walter Payton musuem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This a huge, upscale place. I always try all the beers. All were excellent. The wheat was a stand-out and I'm not a wheat guy. Food was vey good. Prices are not out of line for nice brew-pubs, which are generally somewhat overpriced. Worthwhile place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
I loved this place when it first opened, but now I probably won't go back. The beer used to be awesome, but on my last few visits it has tasted old. Food is still great, but too expensive for the average person. There is one sandwich on the menu, an $11 hamburger, and from there the prices jump up quickly. My theory, and I might be totally wrong, is that in trying to attract the big players from the casino, they've priced themselves into bad beer. This isn't the place you can go for a quick bite to eat and a couple beers unless your willing to spend at least $25. The restaurant is full due to the good food (on my last visit the place was packed, but I was one of only a handful drinking the house brews), but the food prices are driving the beer drinkers away, and the beer is getting old. It's the only reason I can think of for the decline in the quality of the beer, but maybe I'm way off. The atmosphere and food are still great; it's just not worth the time to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Very cool place. Great food and beer. The pilsener was done well, the Hefeweizen was right on, the amber was good, and the sweet stout felt like chocolate milk going down. Don't miss this if you're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Great beer, food, and atmosphere, although a little pricey. A better beer selection could be offered. Only a 5 minute walk to the riverboat casino.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kett carr kett carr, grayslake, IL
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Great
The Brewpub is an old roundhouse train switching station. Everything is on a scale the size of a locomotive. There are many different bars all the way around the roundhouse. There's a cigar bar with a fireplace, a Walter Payton museum and 2 other bars in addition to the huge main room. It's really quite a sight. The beer styles are very ordinary. I had an IPA which did have a good flavor but it had a bitter aftertaste. It goes downhill from there for seasoned beer tasters. The food must be good because the restaurant is huge and it's been there a few years. Really, it's worth a trip to see the place. If your lucky, one of the specialty beers could be decent otherwise your stuck with lame stuff. But you could have a cognac in the cigar bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, chicago, IL
(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was prepared to dismiss America's Brewpub as trading more on the Walter Payton mystique than on the beer and food, but we were pleasantly surprised. Located in the impressively restored historic Burlington railroad roundhouse just north of downtown Aurora, the brewpub and restaurant are attractive and welcoming despite the large scale.

The beers were generally good, especially a strong Scotch ale and the medal-winning pilsner. Also interesting was a seasonal steinbier, brewed with hot rocks to give it a slight caramel sweetness. The food was less adventuresome, rather typical brewpub fare, but portions were adequate and the service attentive, at least when they are not overly crowded.

The roundhouse also serves as Aurora's commuter rail station and is accessible from downtown Chicago, making it a destination for a train trip out from the city. A Chicago visitor might find this a pleasant excursion with the added reward of good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(02/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
A pretty neat place, easy to find. They had the Amber Ale on cask but had just run out. On the regular tap it was still quite good, the coffee stout was excellent. The maibock was just okay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(05/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
See my comments directly below. Still holds true fifteen months later. Accessible from Chicago by Metra trains (stops right outside, just two doorways separate you from the pub), so leave the driving to the engineers and take the train.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(03/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
As I approached this monstrosity of a place ("Bus Parking"), I was prepared to be majorly disappointed by a tourist ripoff. I'm pleased to say I was not. The beer sampler I had was full of good-to-excellent beers; the food, although pricey, was great; and there's enough atmosphere here for anyone, whether they look for a rock concert or an intimate corner. A must-see for the railroad enthusiast as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(11/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Stopped in on a Friday night about 9PM. Bar area was open with most of the people outside listening to a live band. I tried the sampler with about 5 beers. All were OK, except the Chocolate Rye Stout was not very drinkable. The Payton Pilsner, Amber, and Hemp Ale were my favorites. I don't care much for the wheats, though they had a couple to offer. They offer several different brews throughout the year, so I will have to visit often enough to try more of their offerings. Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Hoffman Estates, IL
(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The railroad roundhouse and Walter Payton's memorabilia make for great atmosphere. Beer selection and quality was good. I like the fact that they were willing do different beers like hemp ale and chocolate stout. Service was very great although it was not at a busy time. The food was a bit pricey but the steak salad was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Kasen Dan Kasen, Chicago, IL
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
Only four beers were available on our visit, which was a little dissappointing. The honey wheat was very good, though. Perfect for lunch. A chocolate porter was available which I didn't try, as well as an amber ale that (as it passed by on servers' trays) looked dark and completely flat. The pilsner was, well, a pilsner. Not very crisp.

The service was absolutely perfect, and the food was excellent. Watch the dessert tray, though. It was more expensive than the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Hackett Hal Hackett, Ottawa, IL
(11/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The hempen ale is to die for! The service and the food is all first rate. The place has a great atmosphere and is fun to just look around and see things.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Janesville, WI
(08/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I had a Belgian style that reminded me of some of the great beers I tried in Antwerp. I can't find words to describe the salad. It was .....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Scorby Gary Scorby, Tigard, OR
(03/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
Great place to have a beer. I would recommend the sampler; ample servings of five house beers. When you have decided on your beer, it is nice to see that they serve it in the correct glass. The bar staff could have been a little more attentive and informative. I can't wait to eat here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Christensen Eric Christensen, Plainfield, IL
(09/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
This place really is "Great." The atmosphere, food, and history are all excellent. Some beers were great as well, but some were just okay. I liked the way they experimented with some different styles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim West Jim West, Sycamore, IL
(09/03/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.849 seconds) 03:41:55 54.166.128.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS