PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


San Juan Brewing Company - Friday Harbor, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 03:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Friday Harbor > San Juan Brewing Company
San Juan Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
San Juan Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.1 / 100
1 Front Street
Friday Harbor, WA 98250
United States
(360) 378-2337
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: October 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Friday Harbor, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
21 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arbutus Lodge
2) Argyle House Bed & Breakfast
3) Beaverton Valley Farmhouse
4) Bed & Breakfast Assn-San Juan
5) Blair House Bed & Breakfast
6) Friday's Historical Inn
7) Halvorsen House B & B
8) Harrison House Suites
9) Highland Inn Bed & Breakfast
10) Hillside House Bed & Breakfast
11) Inn To the Woods
12) Jensen Bay Bed & Breakfast
13) Longhouse Bed & Breakfast
14) Moon & Sixpence
15) Oad Ridge Bed & Breakfast
16) Olympic Lights
17) Panacea Bed & Breakfast
18) San Juan Inn Bed & Breakfast
19) States Inn
20) Tower House
21) Trumpeter Inn Bed & Breakfast
22) Tucker House Bed & Breakfast
23) Tucker House Bed & Breakfast
24) Westwinds Bed & Breakfast
25) Wharfside Bed & Breakfast
26) Wildwood Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) FRIDAY S HISTORIC INN
2) HILLSIDE HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAS
3) LAKEDALE RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) San Juan County Courthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bella Catering
2) Bistro Garden
3) Ernie's Cafe
4) Flying Burriot
5) Friday's Crabhouse
6) Jimmy's Paradise Cafe
7) Market Chef
8) Pepper Mill Seafood & Stkhs
9) Roche Harbor Restaurant
10) Tommy's Pizza & Subs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The place was awesome! It was a great place to meet with friends and enjoy an amazing IPA or even better, their Ale Diablo (a pepper beer), tell tall tales about one's greatness and chow down on some excellent food. Unfortunately (I'm sad to say) Front Street Ale House is no more. The place shut down in early January. It's a sad day in Friday Harbor. Now I have to go to the mainland to find a good beer on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dudley Dudley, Just outside Friday Harbor, WA
(04/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of my favorite brewerys!! I must say I wish I could buy it on the main land, but I guess that is what makes all of my trips to the Islands so cool. They have some great flavored stong beers. I have drank 3 or 4 beers at a time and that is normally all I need. The staff and the owners are some of the nicest people that I have met. I have eaten there at least 10 times and everytime was soooooo great! Cheers to the chef, staff, owners and the brewer!! I can't wait to get off the ferry and walk up to the Front Street Ale House and enjoy a porter, stout or maybe even Eric the Red!! YUmmmmmmmmmmy from Bellingham!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BELLINGHAM, WA
(07/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is where we go for fun; where we feel comfortable. We like the owners and the staff. One of our "kids" worked at the Ale House this past summer. He was treated "great" too. It's alway nice to go there and see other locals we know or to meet friends there for a beer and burger. I just wish that they had brown buns for my friend, Vicki's, bacon cheesburger! Good Luck the rest of the year and into the next 40 years, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry & RD Larry & RD, ISLAND LOCAL, WA
(11/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
It is ok, but it should be better for a brewpub on this island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mac Mac, Seattle, WA
(05/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy
We tried samples of each of the nine or so beers on tap and they were all TERRIBLE. Thin bodied, bland and sour. The Pale Ale was the least offensive probably a more recent batch that hadn't had a chance to turn. The other beers that stood out were the Pepper beer (because it was hot) and the Porter (perhaps the lower pH from the dark malts has led to better flavor stability). The Oktoberfest style lager was abominable, the most sour of all. To offer a beer of this quality to the public is shameful. The brewery is a mess and is reflected in the flavor of the beer. Clean up the brewery, stick to a stricter sanitation protocol and clean the tap lines! The service was strangely indifferent and attentive at the same time. And the nachos were tasty. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jerome jerome, seattle, WA
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Walking distance to the ferry.This place gives you the best reason to miss your ferry I have ever come across. The beer was cold and fresh. Very tastey and true to form. Great place to wait out a storm. Food was good I really enjoyed the carry out option. I wish i could get their beer back home

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L de Leon L de Leon, Redlands, CA
(08/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Great food, friendly service, and great beer... what more in life is there?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Art Bellinger Art Bellinger, Spokane, WA
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Exceptional beer! I hope you San Juan islanders know how luck you are!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Justin Greg Justin, Butte, MT
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great
wish i could rave about the beer,but none is outstanding in my opinion.having said that,the food is good(salmon fish n' chips nice)and they get marks for just existing within walking distance of the ferry on this beautiful island.to simplify-well worth the stop if your on san juan anyway(or planning on going)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Wonderful restaurant, excellent hand-crafted brews, fun atmosphere, and a hearty selection of grub, which is pretty good in itself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bellingham, WA
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
we were in Friday Harbor for 2 days and spent some of our best times in your pub.Thank you for a Great Time!! Your Hefe is great and if I could get the Recipe for it, I would really appreciate it. For I am a homebrewer, and I love the flavor of your Hefe. Thank you, Craig

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Edmonds, WA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
there are some definate advantages to brewing for a captive audence, and san juan has them all. not alot of flavor in their beer and since they are the only game in town your stuck. if you like their beer as much as i do you will be drinking out of someone elses bottle while on the island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b. tuwalski b. tuwalski, cleveland, OH
(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
there are some definate advantages to brewing for a captive audence, and san juan has them all. not alot of flavor in their beer and since they are the only game in town your stuck. if you like their beer as much as i do you will be drinking out of someone elses bottle while on the island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b. tuwalski b. tuwalski, cleveland, OH
(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
there are some definate advantages to brewing for a captive audence, and san juan has them all. not alot of flavor in their beer and since they are the only game in town your stuck. if you like their beer as much as i do you will be drinking out of someone elses bottle while on the island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b. tuwalski b. tuwalski, cleveland, OH
(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
10 choices on the day I visited. The strong ale was quite good, though the porter was mediocre. Grumpy woman behind the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Don't miss their Starboard Porter. Can't get enough. One of our favorite harbors to tie the boat up in and visit the pub while the wife shops at her favorite dress shop, directly across the street. The major flavors are featured at most Larry's Markets, if you can't make it to Friday Harbor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Van Schenck Peter Van Schenck, Kirkland, WA
(03/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
Food was so-so at best, but beer was good enough to make up for it. I recommend you eat elsewhere and come here for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elliott Morris Elliott Morris, Kirkland, WA
(08/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great
They have many different beers on tap! We were in town for two days and two taps turned over. If the Hefe is on try it! The food was quite good and the menu (at least in the summer) is one of the largest I've ever seen. This may not be the best reason to visit the San Juans but if you're there you must stop in for a pint or two (or three, or four....).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. David McKinstry S. David McKinstry, Renton, WA
(08/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The selection is excellent and the bar tenders are fun to talk to, especially in the off season.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Renton, WA
(05/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
British style brew-pub on San Juan Island. 12 beers on tap. Extensive food menu. Full liquor licence. Kids welcome. Food available until midnight. 22oz silkscreened bottles of the most popular brews available to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Friday Harbor, WA
(03/11/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.989 seconds) 15:54:24 54.197.65.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS