PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


General Lafayette Inn and Brewery - Lafayette Hill, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 10:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lafayette Hill > General Lafayette Inn and Brewery
General Lafayette Inn and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
General Lafayette Inn and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
646 Germantown Pike
Lafayette Hill, PA 19444
United States
(610) 941-0600
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lafayette Hill, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of General Lafayette Inn and Brewery
70 Reviews / 6 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Brittingham's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

2) Flanigan's Boathouse
(2 miles)

3) Mermaid Inn
(3 miles)

4) Capone's Restaurant
(4 miles)

5) McMenamin's Tavern
(4 miles)

6) Trolley Car Diner and Deli
(4 miles)

7) Earth Bread + Brewery
(4 miles)

8) Dawson Street Pub
(5 miles)

9) Old Eagle Tavern
(5 miles)

10) Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant
(5 miles)

11) Flatrock Saloon
(5 miles)

12) Gullifty's Pizza Grille and Bar
(6 miles)

13) Brothers Spano
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FT WASHINGTON INN
2) CHESTNUT HILL HOTEL
3) DOUBLETREE SUITES PLYMOUTH
4) EXTENDEDSTAY PLYMOUTH MEETING
5) HAMPTON INN PLYMOUTH MEET
6) HOLIDAY INN FORT WASHINGTON
7) KORMAN COMMUNITIES BLUE BELL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bryn Mawr Hotel
2) Corson, Alan W., Homestead
3) County Bridge No. 54
4) Dobson, James, School
5) Farmar Mill
6) Globe Knitting Mills
7) Grace Church, Mt. Airy
8) Graver's Lane Station
9) Henry, Charles Wolcott, School
10) Highlands, The
11) Houston, Henry H., School
12) Hovenden House, Barn and Abolition Hall
13) Jenks, John Story, School
14) Levering, William, School
15) Malvern Hall
16) Mayfair House
17) McCallum Manor
18) Miller's House at Spring Mill
19) Monastery, The
20) Mount Joy
21) Mt. Airy Station
22) Oakley, Violet, Studio
23) Plymouth Friends Meetinghouse
24) Quaker Manor House
25) Rittenhouse, David, Junior High School
26) Sinnott, Joseph, Mansion
27) Springfield Mill
28) Stotesbury Club House
29) Thomas Mill Covered Bridge
30) Thomas, M. Carey, Library, Bryn Mawr College
31) Union School
32) Washington Hose and Steam Fire Engine Company, No. 1
33) Welsh, John, House
34) Wissahickon Memorial Bridge
35) Yeakle and Miller Houses
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adams Cafe
2) Amazon Cafe
3) Amedeo's Restaurant
4) Atlanta Bread Co
5) B J's Deli
6) Barson's Deli-Lafayette Hill
7) Bavarian-Freshens
8) Beijing Medpharm
9) Ben & Jerry's
10) Brandywine Hunt Club & Grille
11) Brittingham's Irish Pub & Sfd
12) Bruno's Restaurant
13) Cafe Quattro
14) Caspian Grille & Catering
15) Chick-Fil-A
16) China Gourmet Express
17) Chinese Gourmet Express
18) Csf Management
19) Domino's Pizza
20) Fingers & Wings & Other Things
21) Friendly's Restaurant
22) From The Boot
23) Frosty Falls Inc
24) Frut Stix
25) Garden Gourmet
26) General Lafayette Inn
27) GGNAT
28) Hunan Wok
29) Ill Illiano's Pizza
30) J B Dawson's Restaurant & Bar
31) King Buffet
32) King's Palace
33) Lucky Dog Saloon & Grille
34) Lucky Star Chinese Restaurant
35) Madray's Delicatessen & Rstrnt
36) Mc Donald's
37) Mc Donald's
38) Mc Donald's
39) New Kimono & Sushi Bar
40) New Valley Tavern
41) Olde Black Horse Tavern & Mtl
42) Persian Grill
43) Philly Steak & Gyro Co
44) Pina's Pizza-Roxborough
45) Plymouth Express
46) Pop-Eye Chicken & Bisquits
47) Romano's Macaroni Grill
48) Sarku Japan
49) Sbarro
50) Sorrento's Italian Restaurant
51) Spring Mill Cafe
52) Starbucks
53) Starbucks
54) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
55) Tony's Pizza
56) Top Of The Tower
57) Vino's Pizza
58) Whitemarsh Valley Inn
59) Ye Olde Ale House
60) Zebers' Bakery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
My wife and I tried three and all were really good. We'd love to go back sometime and try more. Cool, old bar in a historic building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Oct. 15, 2007

I made the trip out there on a Monday night, knowing there wouldn't be any crowd. The inn had a great atmosphere, given its history and the bar was small and inviting. They had a great variety of styles of beer so I had the sampler. You can choose 5 different samples of 5oz but if you choose the Weizen-heimer, rasberry mead ale, or the Framboises, you only get a 3oz sampler. It is worth it though because by the time you finish, the 9.1, 9.6, and 7.8 ABV's respectively will have you second guessing your drive home. I also tried the chocolate porter; I didn't taste any cocoa-like flavors, but instead it tasted more smokey than expected. The weizen-heimer, I think, could benefit from more aging; it wan't as smooth as a wheat beer normally is. Until tonight, I have never tried mead-ale or frambois so I have no reference. The rasberry flavor for both was pronounced and delicious. I had the fish and chips which is nothing to write about, coming from any restaurant for that matter. The wait staff was friendly but very hesitant to sell me a t-shirt when I asked; I was told they didn't sell any. On my way out, I say they had a stack of them, but they were still hesitant to sell me one, saying that they were XXXL. I guess the bartender was being affected by planet alignment or something; overall I really liked the variety of beer and the atmosphere was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Patterson James Patterson, Bolingbrook, IL
(10/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So
I was there on Tuesday 12 June 2007--what a disapointment. The beer was just awful. The IPA tasted like ferminted green been juice--I know as I had a batch of homebrew IPA go bad and it tasted exactly the same way. The nose was fine but the first taste was alcohol and then it went to that icky flavor. I choked it down hoping for an improvemtn with the Pacific pale ale--no such luck. It tasted like the IPA only not quite the harsh alcohol taste. For the third, I had the churchill mild. It was more malty and had a bit of a nutty taste. However, it too had that nasty ferminted green bean taste to it. They must have the nastiest set of pipes coming from their kegs or have gotten bacteria in their yeast cause that beer was awful!

To east I had the Pesto Chicken wrap which came with fries and cole slaw. Well, the wrap was fine. There was one (1) fork full of slaw in the little plastic cup and about 8 french fries on the plates. What a rip off. Pint glass was $6!! It was printed on 2 sides but come on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Beer was only so-so. The extreme winterfest wasn't very extreme - it wasn't offensive, but it was nothing special either. The appetizers were good, especially the octopus. Very friendly bartender. A more diverse crowd then I expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christian christian, philly, PA
(01/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
We stopped here for the Sunday brunch during that rainy week late in June. We were seated upstairs due to a private party on the first level. I had the beer sampler with our meal – blonde ale, raspberry mead, sunset red, pale ale, framboise and another that I don’t remember - six of the eight or so beers available. The brunch buffet was pretty good, set up in a first floor room next to the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
We took a day trip just outside of Philly and headed over to this brewpub for the first time. First off, the atmosphere is very cool. A throwback to the 1770s. It is located on a main strip in town, but it feels like this place belongs in the countryside somewhere. The smells of a burning fireplace lingered in the air.

They carried an awesome selection of their own beers, from 2 different versions of their red ale, to a doppelbock, raspberry mead and even their framboise. A large variety of styles to accomodate most tastebuds.

We only had appetizers...the calimari and mozzarella sticks. Both were good, we didn't order full meals so I really can't comment on their foods.

The other customers at the bar were quite friendly, we shared several stories about our beer travels.

I look forward to my next day trip out here. It is only 15 minutes or so outside Center City. Worth the effort to get out there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Nutley, NJ
(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A wonderful old place with lots of character. The bartender was very friendly and she knew her beers. I tried the All Fuggled Up, a "hopped up" version of the Sunset Red. Beautiful deep red color--hop heads will love it! I also had the Holiday Cheer, a multigrain ale brewed with crainberries, cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon. A perfect beer for the holidays! The meatloaf--a large portion--was served with mashed potatoes, peas and carrots and was fantastic! The place is said to have a ghost although sadly I did not see any activity. Well worth the visit. They do need to get pub glasses in stock--I want one for my collection!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(12/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Anyone who complains about a $2 cover is the real JOKE. It's a good thing you didn't get to the bar where they were charging $5 for imperial pints! "Oh dear Sally, let's get home before our heads explode." If $2 is too rich for you - just stay home chief.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Big Man The Big Man, Philly, PA
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was very sorry to see that the $2 cover charge was/is so burdensome. This is not the first negative feedback we've gotten from this. However, we are legally bound by Whitemarsh Township to pay an Amusement Tax equal to 10% of our entry fees whenever we have live entertainment. If we fail to charge an enrty fee, the Township is entitled to take 10% of our total gross receipts. I would hope one could understand that it would be impossible to operate under those circumstances and we would be quickly out of business. The nominal entry fee is simply to cover the Amusement Tax costs, including paying the doorman, who we would otherwise not need to employ. Any remainding entry fee revenue goes directly to the entertainment. Obviously, we need to train our staff to be more sensitive to our guests expectations and do a better job of communicating the reason(s) for the cover charge. My sincerest apologies to any and all who have found this to be offensive. I assure you it is a necessary evil that we would not employ if given a better option.

Christopher W Leonard, Brewmaster/Proprietor General Lafayette Inn & Brewery

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Leonard Chris Leonard, Wayne, PA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A So So
Wentthere on Friday night and they were charging $2 cover(are you kidding me??). Parking lot was half empty and I din't hear any band playing (possibly on band break?) I went to the Ale House down the road and had a Victory Wit and 2 pints of Yards. A pleasant experience. 2$ cover?? that's a joke!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David C David C, Wayne, PA
(07/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
This place has a split personality. Out front it is a typical roadhouse with typical bar food in style and price. I might add that the selection here has improved greatly in the last three years with a good variety.

The other half of the place is a quiet dining room that provides colonial style dining. The food types and prices go along with this theme.

Most of the regular brews served in pints are fairly average. Where this place excels in beers is with their high alcohol ones served in wine glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Barrows Bob Barrows, Dover, PA
(03/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Food and beer were wonderful. Holiday cheer and Choclate Thunder were what I was drinking. The food was delicious and the wait staff attentive. Can't wait to go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Willy Prost Willy Prost, Arlington, PA
(12/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Great old, comfortable building with loads of character. A decent Saturday afternoon crowd joined me on my side of the wrap-around bar. Got a sampler of 6 and was treated to a freebee of the mead as well. Enjoyed the Holiday Cheer and the Chocolate Thunder Porter the most. The two cask offerings were disappointing, very little flavor at all. Stop by and soak up lots of beer and lots of atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Worth a trip. Discounting the loud folks at the bar, still a great beer destination. Consistent quality. GN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In response to Diane's post...I am absolutely amazed that one would venture into an establishment that brews it's own beers and complain that they are not catering to your taste. To me, it's like going to a hotdog stand and complaining that you can't get lobster there. There are a ton of places in Lafayette Hill and Whitemarsh where you can get the run of the mill tap beers. Maybe you can call ahead next time and request that they have a cooler waiting with whatever kind of beer you like. That's what the restaurant business is all about, right?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Collegeville, PA
(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Although the bar service varies greatly with the maturity and professionalism of whoever is doing the job, the beer is never -- well, rarely -- disappointing. The Red Ale is my consistent choice, and the times in which it is offered on hand pump are just delightful. The temperature is better (not so cold), the gas level is lower, and the freshness is everything you could want. I have never liked Chris's stouts -- too sweet, too maltly, make me think more of wort than of beer. But others seems to enjoy them, so . . . The Matrimonial Ale is highly recommended now that the warm weather is here -- get it with a slice of lemon.

As for the food -- never have ventured into the dining room, but the bar menu is reasonable and varied. Currently recommended: the grilled chicken salad and always the petite filet. That steak may be the best bargain there, and they seem to cook it just as requested no matter what the preference.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn Lynn, Haycock Twp, PA
(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer. Great food. Really nice ambience. Variety of foods. There is a inn attached too. On tap right now there is a porter, barleywine and red ale and some others. Really nice beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Paramus, NJ
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great Great
Almost everything about this place, from atmosphere to food, provides for a great time but the beer is a real downer (excuse the pun!) and ruins the whole experience! The beer, at least when I was there, was not very cold and tasted stale or flat.

I personally wish they would offer one or two regular beers for those of us that normally like to drink a beer with our meals!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Diane, Philadelphia, PA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Good enough to make leave the city and return on a week night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(11/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Stay away from the Lock Ness unless you have a pen and paper to write down the license plate number of the truck that will hit you. The pale and the bock we both very good the red is so-so. Food was very good, had both the stuffed pork loin and the catfish. The host is still a bithcy queen, although he was better than the last time we were there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Beer slightly better than last year. Food about the same. Service slightly worse.

Basically nothing to write home about, one way or the other.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Worth the trip from Delaware just for the Oatmeal Stoudt, and the Venison Chili. The bartenders have always been pleasant, and the decor is right up my alley. I am biased to the Stoudt, but all of their beers are worth a try. If you haven't been, by all means do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Worth the trip from Delaware just for the Oatmeal Stoudt, and the Venison Chili. The bartenders have always been pleasant, and the decor is right up my alley. I am biased to the Stoudt, but all of their beers are worth a try. If you haven't been, by all means do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The best soup I have ever had. Also, Tim is a wonderful host and the B and B is so great. The beer, is according to my husband very good and he should know. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allison Bosco Allison Bosco, Erie, PA
(08/14/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.004 seconds) 10:44:23 54.166.122.86, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS