PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


JJ Bitting Brewing Company - Woodbridge, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 07:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Woodbridge > JJ Bitting Brewing Company
JJ Bitting Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
JJ Bitting Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.6 / 100
33 Main Street
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
United States
(732) 634-2929
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Woodbridge, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of JJ Bitting Brewing Company
108 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn
(4 miles)

2) Baumel's
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES WOODBRIDGE
2) COURTYARD EDISON WOODBRIDGE
3) DAYS INN WOODBRIDGE
4) EXTENDEDSTAY RARITAN CENTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES
6) HILTON WOODBRIDGE
7) HOTEL BON SOL
8) SHERATON AT WOODBRIDGE PLACE
9) SHERATON EDISON HTL RARITAN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barron Library
2) Conference House
3) Edison, Thomas A., Memorial Tower
4) Inness, George, House
5) Kearny, Lawrence, House
6) Kreischer House
7) Merchants' and Drovers' Tavern
8) Perth Amboy City Hall and Surveyor General's Office
9) Perth Amboy Ferry Slip
10) Perth Amboy Station
11) Pittsburgh and Lake Erie Passenger Station, Aliquippa
12) Proprietary House
13) Rahway Theatre
14) Roosevelt Hospital
15) Seventeenth Century Clark House
16) Simpson United Methodist Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 44 Cafe
2) 88 Keys
3) A & G Italian Fine Foods
4) A & T Donuts Inc
5) Al Cibelli's Restaurant
6) Allen's Ristorante Italiano
7) Amros The Second Inc
8) Angelaro
9) Angelo's Pizza & Italian
10) Angelo's Pizza & Sub Shop
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Asian Delite Inc
13) B F Packee's Pub
14) Bagels N Pizza
15) Bamboo China Restaurant
16) Baskin-Robbins
17) Bellini's Restaurant
18) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Burger King
22) Cafe On Main
23) Cafe Sistina
24) Cameo Banquet Ctr
25) Castello Restaurant
26) Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
27) Cheng's Kitchen
28) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
29) Chick-Fil-A
30) Chicken Galore
31) China Cafe
32) China Garden
33) China Garden Restaurant
34) China Town Restaurant
35) Cinnabon
36) Circus Circus Ice Cream Parlor
37) Coffee Beanery LTD
38) Colonial Restaurant
39) Corn Dog
40) Crossroads Resturant
41) D'Aprile Catering
42) Dairy Queen
43) Dee's Quality Catering
44) Denny's
45) Dominic's Rc
46) Domino's Pizza
47) European Deli
48) Ford's Family Restaurant
49) Fords Pizza Restaurant
50) Forge Inn Caterers
51) Friendly's Restaurant
52) Godfathers Pizza
53) Golden China
54) Golden Dragon Chinese Rstrnt
55) Good Friend Chinese Restaurant
56) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
57) Happy Family
58) Hms Host
59) Home Town Deli
60) Ice Cream Station
61) India Jade
62) Iris Cafe
63) Italian Kitchen
64) J J Bitting Brewing
65) J R's Pub
66) Johnny Rockets
67) Jose Tejas Restaurant
68) Joshua & Evans Grill
69) Karini Restaurant
70) Kfc
71) KFC
72) King Chef
73) King's Chef
74) Knot Just Bagels
75) La Buona Pizza & Pizzeria
76) Liberty Bagel Cafe
77) Liberty Tavern Restaurant
78) Ling's Kitchen
79) Longhorn Steakhouse
80) M C's Lemon Tree
81) Main Tavern
82) Majestic Lanes Snack Shop
83) Mama Lena's Restaurant & Pizza
84) Manila Philippine Cuisine
85) Masala An Indian Eatery
86) Mayfair Bar & Grill
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's
89) Melting Pot
90) Metropolitan Cafe
91) Mie Thai Restaurant
92) New Orleans Steak House
93) New York Deli Exchange
94) Nora's Deli
95) Nunzio's Pizzeria
96) Nuzzo Inc
97) One Woodbridge Catering
98) Papa John's Pizza
99) Pauline's Ii
100) Perkins Family Restaurant
101) Pino's Pizza & Restaurant
102) Pizza Hut
103) Polanka
104) Poor Billy's Sports Cafe
105) Pop's Place
106) Pop's Woodbridge Fish & Chips
107) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
108) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
109) Portugese Barbercue Restaurant
110) Provision Bagels
111) Quiznos Sub
112) Rangoli's Vegetarian Cuisine
113) Red Dumpling
114) Red Lobster Restaurant
115) Regency Bar & Lounge
116) Reo Diner Restaurant
117) Rick's Bar & Grill
118) Rita's Italian Ice
119) Roxbury Inn
120) Royal Albert's Palace
121) Ruby Tuesday
122) Rug's & Riffy's Bar & Grill
123) Sabarro Pizza
124) Salad Bistro
125) San Remo Pizza
126) Sbarro
127) Scotto Pizza
128) Starbucks
129) Starbucks
130) Starbucks
131) State Luncheonette Inc
132) Strawberry's Pub
133) Studio 9
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
138) Super Duper Deli III
139) Taco Bell
140) Tgi Friday's
141) Tommy Taters Inc
142) Trattoria Venezia
143) Treat Shoppe Deli & Catering
144) U Yee Sushi
145) Villa Borghese
146) Wall Street Deli
147) Wang De Lee Chinese Rstrnt
148) Wendy's
149) Wendy's
150) Woodbridge Delicatessen
151) Woodbridge Gourmet Buffet Inc
152) Woodbridge Steak House
153) Yoan's Garden
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review woodbridge, NJ
(09/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I've been going to the brewhouse for a few years now. I particularly enjoy the "deck", where we can hang and indulge on some of NJ's best beers. They offer their standard brews like Avenel Amber and Victoria's Golden Ale, plus "seasonal" brews like "Bad Boy" that are fresh, crisp and utterly delightful. The burgers are awesome and the butterfly fries offer a good alternative to chips or fries. My favorite time is happy hour at the bar- 10 cents an oz. on Tues. The apps are good to snack on -I enjoy the wings,the rattlesnake eggs and pot stickers. The atmosphere is jovial, light and always friendly. Go upstairs to view the brewing tanks, and enjoy the wonderful architecture of the building, including the old brick walls and huge post & beam framing. The toy train that skirts around the place on an elevated track adds a fun feel to the restaraunt, since the building used to be the local train station. It's quite a little fun reminder of JJ's roots in the community. I highly recommend the "brewhouse". It's a relaxed fun place to go and hang, catch up on the local chatter, have a few good brews and kick back.

Dee, Woodbridge, NJ

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dee Dee, Woodbridge, NJ
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Good
I have to echo the various comments above. The quality of beer and food in this place is extremely good. With a choice of 7 beers, there is ALWAYS something available for everybody. I have eaten here probably 20 times, and the food is consistently good. But the service is absolutely atrocious. It is common to wait upwards of 30 minutes for a drink when sitting at the bar with an empty glass (even when the bar is dead). In the past few years, I've brought softball teams back (10+ guys), and we receive the same crappy treatment even though we are willing to spent $200+. They are simply throwing money away. Another thing that bugs me is that while you can drink outside on the deck, they do not allow you to take advantage of the drink specials there(i.e. Two-for-Tuesday). Its the combination of the nickel and diming/poor service that turns off a LOT of people. When it comes to beer, no place is CLOSE to here. But none of my friends (in their 20's and 30's, who spend lots of dough when they go out) will go there after getting the shaft so many times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Sewaren, NJ
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
I grew up in NJ, but unfortunately did not learn to appreciate good beer until I moved away. This was the first NJ brewpub I visited on a trip home over Christams. We had to drive through the aftereffects of the Christmas day snowstorm to get there, but it was well worth it. Great beers, great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
For three years now I have been dropping by and downing some of the best Porters & Stouts I have been able to find on the east coast. Having lived in Seattle for some years I had acquired a thirst for quality brew pubs, and thank God / Goddess I was lucky enough to find one of the finest around!! Great work Auggie!! It's like having the Elysian in Woodbridge!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Ryan Kenneth Ryan, Carteret, NJ
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill Bauman, Jamesburg, NJ
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill Bauman, Jamesburg, NJ
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I enjoy the overall experience at Bitting. I think they should include fries w/ the meal and bring back Bitting's Oh Boy, 9% alc., wow! Anyone remember that one? I do;just barely!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Fuentes Chris Fuentes, Rahway, NJ
(04/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Their Rasberry Wheat is the BEST

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mike Power, Rahway, NJ
(04/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
It was a dive when it first opened. Not much has changed since, aside from the staff. This restaurant has a hihger turn-over rate than a ghetto high school. The staff that seems the most compitent, will either get fired for some stupid reason, or quit when they find out what an ass the owner is. The ones that stay behind arent even worth talking about. If you like so so beer, and want to hang out with a bunch of underaged drinker, well this be the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review woodbrige, nj
(04/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Don of Edison: I enjoy the ambience and the quality of the food and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, edison, NJ
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Killer brew-pub the best in the area. Th total package. Nice atmosphere and great tasting fresh beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mick Mick, Metuchen, NJ
(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Excellent food was complimented with the nice variety of homebrew. The Sampler was nice to start out with but was disappointed that a Christmas Ale/Seasonal brew wasn't available 11/02. The Scotchish Ale was a bit over scotched leaving a bit of an unpleasent after taste. The IPA was very good along with a the Raspberry. Nice atmosphere & Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Excellent food was complimented with the nice variety of homebrew. The Sampler was nice to start out with but was disappointed that a Christmas Ale/Seasonal brew wasn't available 11/02. The Scotchish Ale was a bit over scotched leaving a bit of an unpleasent after taste. The IPA was very good along with a the Raspberry. Nice atmosphere & Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey mdm, please learn how to punctuate your commentary, so that we don't have to decipher it, thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The food is always great here, atmosphere is good and beer selection is good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob B. Rob B., North Brunswick, NJ
(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Been going to Bitting's for years now...since probably 97, and the beer that they have there is great. Has been, and probably will be. The wait staff is courteous and helpful, the pub owner, manager and Brewer are all great guys to sit and talk to, as well.

They play a combination of Classic rock, some country (like Charlie Daniels Band and Garth), to some newer popular alternative music.. It's all in the Juke Box.

Food is good, about what you would expect from a brew pub. They make their own Salsa for the tortillas which are handed out, and they have a sauce which goes good on most anything called Cajon ranch. Also, if you are there later at night, the grilled roadkill pizza is good.

About my only complaints is that they close too early, and could us another bartender. At least recently, since more and more people are finding out about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, Iselin, NJ
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
the waitstaff is truly lost the food is soso on a good day they should be more consistant with the beers. make your best brews and stick with them the beer is tasty though. i hope they start paying attention to what people are really saying about the place i would hate to see it go if the food and service where better i would be there more please get with it jj

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mdm mdm, woodbridge, NJ
(09/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I was heading back from LBI when I decided to take a break from the shore traffice on the GSP. I stubbled upon Bitting's. A great find!!! with great beer and food!!!! (try the ribs!!!) Cool old building with a great outdoor deck. Our friendly server was right there whenever we needed her. Definitely recommended!!! (try the ribs!!!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Stanhope, NJ
(08/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Food is standard pub fare, yet good. Beer really good and constantly changing. One beer was "Duff", and it was exactly what Homer would order, except on the Simpsons it's meant to be industrial swill and here it's worth paying for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sales Mike Sales, Highland Park, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I been coming to J.J.'s almost from the beginning and have always had consistently great beers. I'm hooked and wouldn't think of going anywhere else in the area for a beer. In regards to the last reviewer, I have seen these people constantly keeping an eye on cleanliness. In fact, if your a regular like me you'll know that the cleanup at night is impeccable. Sometime to the point I have to say enough is enough already and take a break. Entertainment (as far as a band goes) is nearly impossible on weekends due to the size of the barroom. But Jim Tuscano plays there on Thursdays and always packs the house. I hear they are opening another bar room downstairs soon with regular entertainment which should satisfy the last guy. I'm more of a beer drinker than a diner but the times I'm in the mood for ribs or a fat and juicy steak or prime rib I always eat here and have never been disappointed. Keep up the good work guys, I'll be a regular for a long time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Sylvan Steve Sylvan, Fords, NJ
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So So So So So
I find the bar area and the bathrooms to be very dirty. The food is hit or miss. I think they could do so much more with this place. Know one ever wants to hang there on the weekends. It could be a great place if they invested more in the entertainment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Woodbridge, NJ
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome brewpub!!! Has always been my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Wessler Dave Wessler, Metuchen, NJ
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My friends have been telling me about this place for some time but never had the pleasure of stopping in until last month. Since then I've been back 4 times for dinner, happy hour. This place is awesome!! Today we stopped in for lunch for the first time and sat outside on a outdoor deck which above the first floor dining room overlooking downtown Woodbridge and the NJ Transit train line. This sweet beautiful waitress helped us out and she recommended two dishes which we ordered. I had their Texas Dip which was like a french dip only made with Prime Rib, excellent. My friend had their pulled pork sandwich which he loved. In fact he ask the manager for a load of the stuff for a party he was hosting this weekend at his house. The beers are excellent and in the last month I've seen two new beers rotated into the line up. They have a happy hour where all beers are $1.60 a pint!!! plus a buffet!! This place is my new favorite and I'm just disappointed that I didn't find it sooner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Toffales Nick Toffales, Edison, NJ
(05/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy Lousy
Since my last review of JJ Bittings (back in January 1998)a group of my co-workers and I visited the pub about every six months (that's about how long it takes to forget how really bad the experiene was). With each successive visit, our collective opinion was reinforced. We can walk to JJ Bittings from our office and our group goes out to lunch every day, yet when the question is asked... "Where do you want to go to lunch today?" ... Nobody EVER responds "JJ Bittings". NOT ONE! The experience is that bad. It's a shame since the brew-pub is well appointed and the old converted structure looks very appealing. The problem is two-fold... The service is TERRIBLE! Poorly trained and supervised waitstaff disappear for long periods of time (which is particularly confusing since the place is never crowded at lunchtime). There is no manager or owner in evidence on the restaurant floor to witness the failings of the waitstaff. The food is badly prepared and presented. The beer is good, particularly the IPA, however this alone is not enough reason to frequent this place. THUMBS DOWN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Woodbridge, NJ
(05/16/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.137 seconds) 19:25:44 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS