PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


JJ Bitting Brewing Company - Woodbridge, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 05:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Woodbridge > JJ Bitting Brewing Company
JJ Bitting Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
JJ Bitting Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.6 / 100
33 Main Street
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
United States
(732) 634-2929
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Woodbridge, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of JJ Bitting Brewing Company
108 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn
(4 miles)

2) Baumel's
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES WOODBRIDGE
2) COURTYARD EDISON WOODBRIDGE
3) DAYS INN WOODBRIDGE
4) EXTENDEDSTAY RARITAN CENTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES
6) HILTON WOODBRIDGE
7) HOTEL BON SOL
8) SHERATON AT WOODBRIDGE PLACE
9) SHERATON EDISON HTL RARITAN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barron Library
2) Conference House
3) Edison, Thomas A., Memorial Tower
4) Inness, George, House
5) Kearny, Lawrence, House
6) Kreischer House
7) Merchants' and Drovers' Tavern
8) Perth Amboy City Hall and Surveyor General's Office
9) Perth Amboy Ferry Slip
10) Perth Amboy Station
11) Pittsburgh and Lake Erie Passenger Station, Aliquippa
12) Proprietary House
13) Rahway Theatre
14) Roosevelt Hospital
15) Seventeenth Century Clark House
16) Simpson United Methodist Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 44 Cafe
2) 88 Keys
3) A & G Italian Fine Foods
4) A & T Donuts Inc
5) Al Cibelli's Restaurant
6) Allen's Ristorante Italiano
7) Amros The Second Inc
8) Angelaro
9) Angelo's Pizza & Italian
10) Angelo's Pizza & Sub Shop
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Asian Delite Inc
13) B F Packee's Pub
14) Bagels N Pizza
15) Bamboo China Restaurant
16) Baskin-Robbins
17) Bellini's Restaurant
18) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Burger King
22) Cafe On Main
23) Cafe Sistina
24) Cameo Banquet Ctr
25) Castello Restaurant
26) Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
27) Cheng's Kitchen
28) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
29) Chick-Fil-A
30) Chicken Galore
31) China Cafe
32) China Garden
33) China Garden Restaurant
34) China Town Restaurant
35) Cinnabon
36) Circus Circus Ice Cream Parlor
37) Coffee Beanery LTD
38) Colonial Restaurant
39) Corn Dog
40) Crossroads Resturant
41) D'Aprile Catering
42) Dairy Queen
43) Dee's Quality Catering
44) Denny's
45) Dominic's Rc
46) Domino's Pizza
47) European Deli
48) Ford's Family Restaurant
49) Fords Pizza Restaurant
50) Forge Inn Caterers
51) Friendly's Restaurant
52) Godfathers Pizza
53) Golden China
54) Golden Dragon Chinese Rstrnt
55) Good Friend Chinese Restaurant
56) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
57) Happy Family
58) Hms Host
59) Home Town Deli
60) Ice Cream Station
61) India Jade
62) Iris Cafe
63) Italian Kitchen
64) J J Bitting Brewing
65) J R's Pub
66) Johnny Rockets
67) Jose Tejas Restaurant
68) Joshua & Evans Grill
69) Karini Restaurant
70) Kfc
71) KFC
72) King Chef
73) King's Chef
74) Knot Just Bagels
75) La Buona Pizza & Pizzeria
76) Liberty Bagel Cafe
77) Liberty Tavern Restaurant
78) Ling's Kitchen
79) Longhorn Steakhouse
80) M C's Lemon Tree
81) Main Tavern
82) Majestic Lanes Snack Shop
83) Mama Lena's Restaurant & Pizza
84) Manila Philippine Cuisine
85) Masala An Indian Eatery
86) Mayfair Bar & Grill
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's
89) Melting Pot
90) Metropolitan Cafe
91) Mie Thai Restaurant
92) New Orleans Steak House
93) New York Deli Exchange
94) Nora's Deli
95) Nunzio's Pizzeria
96) Nuzzo Inc
97) One Woodbridge Catering
98) Papa John's Pizza
99) Pauline's Ii
100) Perkins Family Restaurant
101) Pino's Pizza & Restaurant
102) Pizza Hut
103) Polanka
104) Poor Billy's Sports Cafe
105) Pop's Place
106) Pop's Woodbridge Fish & Chips
107) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
108) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
109) Portugese Barbercue Restaurant
110) Provision Bagels
111) Quiznos Sub
112) Rangoli's Vegetarian Cuisine
113) Red Dumpling
114) Red Lobster Restaurant
115) Regency Bar & Lounge
116) Reo Diner Restaurant
117) Rick's Bar & Grill
118) Rita's Italian Ice
119) Roxbury Inn
120) Royal Albert's Palace
121) Ruby Tuesday
122) Rug's & Riffy's Bar & Grill
123) Sabarro Pizza
124) Salad Bistro
125) San Remo Pizza
126) Sbarro
127) Scotto Pizza
128) Starbucks
129) Starbucks
130) Starbucks
131) State Luncheonette Inc
132) Strawberry's Pub
133) Studio 9
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
138) Super Duper Deli III
139) Taco Bell
140) Tgi Friday's
141) Tommy Taters Inc
142) Trattoria Venezia
143) Treat Shoppe Deli & Catering
144) U Yee Sushi
145) Villa Borghese
146) Wall Street Deli
147) Wang De Lee Chinese Rstrnt
148) Wendy's
149) Wendy's
150) Woodbridge Delicatessen
151) Woodbridge Gourmet Buffet Inc
152) Woodbridge Steak House
153) Yoan's Garden
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I tried the sampler and had a hard time picking one to try. I had the uninspired pale ale, and the abysmal red. Nothing worth bringing a growler home. The service was also quite poor. The bartender spent more time gabbing with the 6 locals than serving beer. 5 minutes between beers is pretty bad for an empty place. I will not return

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Finally got a chance to stop in while in North Jersey. The atmosphere is comfortable and the decor very nice. Tried a sampler and enjoyed all the beers, but liked the Hop Garden Pale the best. The food was tasty and portions large. The bar area was quite aesthetic and good to see a lot of people there enjoying the beers. Will definitely stop by when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Sat at the bar...pretty neat place, they had a model train set going around the bar/restuarant. The bartender was very attentive. Did a sampler first and found all the brews to be very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the Bitter...they also had it on cask. Had a Prime Rib (Out Of This World). The crowd was very friendly too! A MUST GO! when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(04/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Loved the raspberry wheat! My boyfriend really enjoyed the bitter. Food was ok. Would definitely go back for the beer and a small bite to eat:)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Melissa M. Melissa M., Linden, NJ
(04/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Go for the beer! and you can't beat $1 pint nights on monday. I personally recommend the avenel amber or the victorias golden ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Newton Kimberly Newton, Sayreville, NJ
(04/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
The beer was excellent. Nice choice of six brews plus a cask conditioned bitter ale. The food was outstanding. Had an open faced reuben sandwich so big that I couldn't even finish it. The price was great too. Overall a great place to grab a bite to eat and drink some decent beer at a good price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stefanelli Steve Stefanelli, Howell, NJ
(03/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
my wife and i visit about 5 times a year.she is very fond of the golden(one of the year round beers)i prefer the seasonals the only disappointment i have ever had was a porter that i thought was a little thin,but still drinkable. service has been excellent most times,but they dont seem to keep their help for very long. a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from k bills k bills, iselin, NJ
(09/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I stopped in for a beer yesterday because I was working on a job up the street and ended up staying most of the evening. I saw this place from the outside and was impressed enough to give it a try. First off the beers were outstanding. I had a chat with the owner and brewer (both really great guys) and they told me that the Oktoberfest just won a medal out at the GABF in Denver, and I can see why. They also had an outstanding Pale Ale and Lager. The atmosphere is really cool. An old brick building with alot of timber and a tall tower where the brewery is. I'm not in this area much but I'll be sure to stop in when I am.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stewart Steve Stewart, Brooklyn, NY
(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Old brick building on RR tracks. Had the sampler of 6 house beers, a bargain at 10 cents per ounce. A surprise was the crisp flavor of the golden ale, fermented at low temps and tasting more like a lager or pils. The steam beer was more like an ESB style, a little too bitter for the smooth steam benchmark but not unpleasant. Very good was the Irish red, very rich and tasty. Selections also features a raspberry wheat, best bitter, and nut brown ale. Brewmaster was congenial and informative, plans to submit an Octoberfest and lager to the GABF. Overall a good visit with decent beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is the best!!! The last reviewer is obviously a over obsessed drunk who doesn't know how to take care of himself/herself in public. Why would he/she expect the staff and/or management to be responsible for his/her change. What a jerk! I frequent this place often and have found everyone here to be the best, especially the bartenders (Joe is my favorite).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peggy Peggy, Scotch Plains, NJ
(09/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
The staff doesnt't care a whit when your change is stolen off the bar by an apparent repeat thief who, for some reason, keeps getting served. The music system is abominable...you can't hear yourself think. Avoid this place like the plague, but if you must go, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER leave your change on the bar. It's much more economical to run a tab. The attitude of the staff was one of complete arrogance. The least they could have done was offer a drink on the house. Instead they chose to warn me about the dangers of leaving money on the bar( an almost universally accepted American practice). I hadn't left the bar, only turned my head for minute. The alleged thief was discussing HER tab with"mine host". Since "mine host" was right there, I naively thought my change would be okay. I was mistaken. My first mistake was walking through the door of this dump. I of course will never return and I am happy in the knowledge that if this little discourse discourages even one person from making the poor decision to enter, I will have cost this arrogant owner at least the cost of the drink he could have offered me to help compensate my loss. We're only talking about six miserable dollars. What a cheap jerk!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Union, NJ
(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the beer. Judging from previous reviews I expected top notch beer. Some off flavors but otherwise passable. There is a nice pub atmosphere here. Looks like a nice local-afterwork crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greenmon greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
THE FOOD IS GREAT EVEN BETTER IF YOU HAVE AN ENTERTAINMENT CARD. THE BREW SLECTION IS GOOD,TOO. THE STOUT IS THE BEST AND SO IS THEIR STRAWBERRY WHEAT WHEN IN SEASON. BEST OF ALL IS KICK THE KEG MONDAY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JASON T. RING JASON T. RING, WOODBRIDGE, NJ
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Harry, Fanwood, NJ
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've hit most of the brewpubs in NJ and this one is without a doubt the best overall. Great beer, food and atmosphere...ane the waitresses and barmaids are really cute too. I stop in for lunch alot and they always have a great selection of new specials and their constantly changing line up of excellent beers keeps me coming back. Score one for Woodbridge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Westfield, NJ
(03/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
Out of seven of us, five really liked their food, even though some (fries) were cold. The stout was very good, the rest of the beer was just fair. They were short of servers so there were a lot of gaps inbetween courses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Succasunna, NJ
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good
As a home brew judge,and considered by many as a beer geek, I found the line up here to be very weak. However, one must look at quality of the beer also. The light lager is actually excellent for that style. Its not a beer for me, but for the general public, well done. The pale is very nice. I'm a west coast pale ale fan, very comparible to Washington State Pale ALes. The casked Pale Ale, was perfect. The stout was also very good. A bit dry for a oatmeal stout, but had nice roasted characters, and not over done like alot of stouts. The line up in the near future looks good. The brewer has a bock, a scottish style ale, and and Irish red to be on tap in the near future. However, I live to far away to try those beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Falls Church, VA
(02/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
From the previous comments, I'd expected the beer would be special, but it's mostly blah. I tried all six on draft: two watery (by design) light lagers; a not-bad but uninteresting raspberry wheat; a hoppier ale without enough body and an acrid finish; a nondescript amber; and a very good, mild, creamy oatmeal stout with just a touch of sweetness. The stout is the only thing I'd order again, but even that was a tad on the undemonstrative side. These are polite beers, not badly made but not worth going even a couple of miles out of your way for. A very nice old edifice, tastefully converted. My sandwich was decent. But I left feeling like a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Brooklyn, NY
(02/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So Good
JJ's was great when it first opened. the food used to be excellent. I don't know if they fired the chef or what. the beer is great. It's also nice to sit and search the web while enjoying your beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dana Dana, Woodbridge, NJ
(10/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
terrific selection of brews. Each true to style. Cask conditioned steam ale superior. Decent food, good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(10/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was just in town last week from San Diego and happened upon this place. Great beer and food and an incredible building. Almost makes me wish my stay here was longer. This place will be my number one stop the next time I'm in the metro area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Jay, San Diego, CA
(09/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
The fried fish I had kept me up all night. Absolutely awful. If I hadn't been so hungry, I'd have just left it. I wish I had> The beer was very good. Excellent variety. I liked the Avenel Amber best and the Cali Steam Beer was also good. I've been here quite a few times before and always liked the place but it will be long time before I attempt to eat there again. I hate waiting for another drink(I was almost finished with the awful fish before the second beer arrived... this could be because a different guy from the waitress brought the food and most likely didn't tell her I wanted another) and I HATE waiting for someone to bring me the check. Definitely worth the visit to sample the excellent brews but eat somewhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(09/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
There's no doubt that J.J. Bitting's is a great building - a converted 19th century coal depot that maintains all of the charm and atmosphere that its origin implies. Happily, the beer also lives up to its promise. On tap during my current visit (yes, current - I'm writing this, beer in hand, from a free high-speed net connection right on the premises!) are a heady stout with wonderful coffee highlights, a best bitter on both a standard and cask-conditioned hand-pump (both nice, but the hand-pump is pure beer heaven), a raspberry wheat that heappily emphasizes the wheat over the raspberry, and an amber and a golden that I haven't tried yet. There's also a hefeweizen that I unfortunately can't recommend - far too sour for the style.

Servers are enthusiastic about the brews and are quite willing to dispense samples. Atmosphere is exactly what you'd expect from the surroundings - very high on the Comfort Scale.

And BTW, I was just handed a generous sample of the amber, and I'm glad to report that it's nicely hopped and exhibits far more character than I've come to expect from this style. With the unfortunate demise of the Brewcellar at Joe's Mill Hill, I think I've discovered a new favorite NJ brewpub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ComfortMan ComfortMan, Everywhere, US
(08/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Highly recommended. Been there several times and never disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.503 seconds) 17:48:29 107.22.120.91, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS