PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


JJ Bitting Brewing Company - Woodbridge, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 07:34 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Woodbridge > JJ Bitting Brewing Company
JJ Bitting Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
JJ Bitting Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.6 / 100
33 Main Street
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
United States
(732) 634-2929
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Woodbridge, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of JJ Bitting Brewing Company
108 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn
(4 miles)

2) Baumel's
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES WOODBRIDGE
2) COURTYARD EDISON WOODBRIDGE
3) DAYS INN WOODBRIDGE
4) EXTENDEDSTAY RARITAN CENTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES
6) HILTON WOODBRIDGE
7) HOTEL BON SOL
8) SHERATON AT WOODBRIDGE PLACE
9) SHERATON EDISON HTL RARITAN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barron Library
2) Conference House
3) Edison, Thomas A., Memorial Tower
4) Inness, George, House
5) Kearny, Lawrence, House
6) Kreischer House
7) Merchants' and Drovers' Tavern
8) Perth Amboy City Hall and Surveyor General's Office
9) Perth Amboy Ferry Slip
10) Perth Amboy Station
11) Pittsburgh and Lake Erie Passenger Station, Aliquippa
12) Proprietary House
13) Rahway Theatre
14) Roosevelt Hospital
15) Seventeenth Century Clark House
16) Simpson United Methodist Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 44 Cafe
2) 88 Keys
3) A & G Italian Fine Foods
4) A & T Donuts Inc
5) Al Cibelli's Restaurant
6) Allen's Ristorante Italiano
7) Amros The Second Inc
8) Angelaro
9) Angelo's Pizza & Italian
10) Angelo's Pizza & Sub Shop
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Asian Delite Inc
13) B F Packee's Pub
14) Bagels N Pizza
15) Bamboo China Restaurant
16) Baskin-Robbins
17) Bellini's Restaurant
18) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Burger King
22) Cafe On Main
23) Cafe Sistina
24) Cameo Banquet Ctr
25) Castello Restaurant
26) Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
27) Cheng's Kitchen
28) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
29) Chick-Fil-A
30) Chicken Galore
31) China Cafe
32) China Garden
33) China Garden Restaurant
34) China Town Restaurant
35) Cinnabon
36) Circus Circus Ice Cream Parlor
37) Coffee Beanery LTD
38) Colonial Restaurant
39) Corn Dog
40) Crossroads Resturant
41) D'Aprile Catering
42) Dairy Queen
43) Dee's Quality Catering
44) Denny's
45) Dominic's Rc
46) Domino's Pizza
47) European Deli
48) Ford's Family Restaurant
49) Fords Pizza Restaurant
50) Forge Inn Caterers
51) Friendly's Restaurant
52) Godfathers Pizza
53) Golden China
54) Golden Dragon Chinese Rstrnt
55) Good Friend Chinese Restaurant
56) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
57) Happy Family
58) Hms Host
59) Home Town Deli
60) Ice Cream Station
61) India Jade
62) Iris Cafe
63) Italian Kitchen
64) J J Bitting Brewing
65) J R's Pub
66) Johnny Rockets
67) Jose Tejas Restaurant
68) Joshua & Evans Grill
69) Karini Restaurant
70) Kfc
71) KFC
72) King Chef
73) King's Chef
74) Knot Just Bagels
75) La Buona Pizza & Pizzeria
76) Liberty Bagel Cafe
77) Liberty Tavern Restaurant
78) Ling's Kitchen
79) Longhorn Steakhouse
80) M C's Lemon Tree
81) Main Tavern
82) Majestic Lanes Snack Shop
83) Mama Lena's Restaurant & Pizza
84) Manila Philippine Cuisine
85) Masala An Indian Eatery
86) Mayfair Bar & Grill
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's
89) Melting Pot
90) Metropolitan Cafe
91) Mie Thai Restaurant
92) New Orleans Steak House
93) New York Deli Exchange
94) Nora's Deli
95) Nunzio's Pizzeria
96) Nuzzo Inc
97) One Woodbridge Catering
98) Papa John's Pizza
99) Pauline's Ii
100) Perkins Family Restaurant
101) Pino's Pizza & Restaurant
102) Pizza Hut
103) Polanka
104) Poor Billy's Sports Cafe
105) Pop's Place
106) Pop's Woodbridge Fish & Chips
107) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
108) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
109) Portugese Barbercue Restaurant
110) Provision Bagels
111) Quiznos Sub
112) Rangoli's Vegetarian Cuisine
113) Red Dumpling
114) Red Lobster Restaurant
115) Regency Bar & Lounge
116) Reo Diner Restaurant
117) Rick's Bar & Grill
118) Rita's Italian Ice
119) Roxbury Inn
120) Royal Albert's Palace
121) Ruby Tuesday
122) Rug's & Riffy's Bar & Grill
123) Sabarro Pizza
124) Salad Bistro
125) San Remo Pizza
126) Sbarro
127) Scotto Pizza
128) Starbucks
129) Starbucks
130) Starbucks
131) State Luncheonette Inc
132) Strawberry's Pub
133) Studio 9
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
138) Super Duper Deli III
139) Taco Bell
140) Tgi Friday's
141) Tommy Taters Inc
142) Trattoria Venezia
143) Treat Shoppe Deli & Catering
144) U Yee Sushi
145) Villa Borghese
146) Wall Street Deli
147) Wang De Lee Chinese Rstrnt
148) Wendy's
149) Wendy's
150) Woodbridge Delicatessen
151) Woodbridge Gourmet Buffet Inc
152) Woodbridge Steak House
153) Yoan's Garden
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
At one time, I really liked this brewpub and felt it was one of the better, more consistent brewpubs in NJ in terms of beer selection/quality and food (as evidenced by my brief review in 2002).

Since then, the quality of the food has taken a drastic down turn in taste, variation, and selection. Long time favorites are often removed from the menu and one of the odder things NOT on the menu is a Nacho Platter. Maybe they are trying to differentiate themselves from other brewpubs by NOT having a Nacho Platter, but it still is odd.

The beer selection is average, with the Raspberry Wheat as a consistent standout. In the times I've gone to JJB over the past few years, the beer selection hasn't changed much. On one hand, the good beers stay around, on the other, it tells me the brewer isn't trying new recipes.

The worst part of Bittings; however, is the service. Every time I've been there over the past few years, the service and wait time continues to decrease. The bartenders are efficient, even if they aren't personable but the meals always take a very long time to be brought out. It got to the point that we thought the bartender didn't put our order in it was taking so long.

I'd like this place to return to what it was because they had something good going, but it just goes downhill a little more every year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Bedford Rob Bedford, Branchburg, NJ
(06/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We wanted to try this brew pub, but didn't realize that it didn't open until 3pm on sunday. we arrived at 1pm, so we went to the Harvest Moon instead. I don't know if this because of a local law, or something else, but 3pm on sunday is an odd time to open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review westfield, NJ
(02/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My girlfriend and I were stuck in traffic on the parkway so we got off in Woodbridge and decided to have dinner at a local restaurant. We stumbled upon JJ Bitting and we're blown away by the architecture of this old brick building. You walk in and there are these huge copper tanks for making the beer in a glass room right in the middle of the dining room. Really cool! We were greeted by a super pleasant hostess and was asked if we would like to sit outside. They have a deck thats above the main dining room on the second floor. Whats really cool is that it's at the same level as the NJ Transit trains which are right next to the place. It was a beautiful night so we sat up there. I had the sampler of beers which were like six decent size servings of the beers they have on tap. Each one was better than the next. My girl had a raspberry beer which whe thought was outstanding (we took a jug home with us). She had ribs which literally hung off the ends of a huge platter. She didn't even need to touch the bones since the meat fell right off. I had the blackened prime rib which was a huge portion served with this sauce made with horseradish. Excellent!! Service was great although I felt sorry for the girl having to run up and down the stairs for everything. We don't come to Woodbridge much but we'll be sure to come back with friends to show this place off. Thanks everyone at JJ Bittings, we enjoyed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Stewart Michael Stewart, West Orange, NJ
(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I love to visit brewpubs and this place was a great find. Excellent brews with 6 different selections to choose from so I had the sampler and all were outstanding. Chowed down on some awesome ribs (they really do fall off the bone) and my wife had a great NY Strip. The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. Absolutely a must try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerry P. Gerry P., Newport , RI
(07/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Great beer selection and outstanding brews that have never disappointed. They always seem to have new selections to try when I stop in. Friendly servers and really good food (I tried quite a few things on the menu and never had a complaint). Great find!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review sewaren, NJ
(05/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place....first came with my wife about two years ago and ever since it's been our favorite....outstanding beers and food...bars always busy, great jukebox, we love to sit on the outdoor deck in the summer.....try it ...you'll love it!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review avenel, NJ
(04/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good So So
food awful..bartenders great. BUT there are fewer & fewer stools every time you go in, heat is not always on, and whole place needs a good scrubbing. This could be awesome w/a little TLC (and cash outlay) from owner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review iselin, NJ
(02/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Good
Love the beers though the bar service is very slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Rahway, NJ
(10/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
This place is boasted as the #2 brewpub in the United States, I dont think so. Whoever put that poll together must have over looked at least 100+ other pubs. Maybe architecture wise it was a cool building but beer and service, NO!

Awful, Awful, Awful, and i will say it again, Awful service!!!

Our visit began with us getting into the fine establisment. The building was very unique and the atmosphere seemed cool. I have seen this pub online and had samples of their beer at festivals so i was no stranger to their craft brew. We sat down at a small square bar with 2 servers that ignored us for like 10 minutes until we asked for a beer. It took several minutes to get a sampler and then we had to ask for menus and waited. we got one menu and eventually a second one. the bartenders still ignored us, they made rounds but walked on by. What gives, i go to so many pubs and tip very nice and my crew is patient and nice. We waited long periods between refill and they were more concerened about the seated patrons over others. after we finally got and order we waited again for a long time for our food. the bartender brought our platters out but, no appetizer. he played all dumb not knowing what was going on and took our food back to the kitchen and like 10 minutes later our appetizer came out cold and looked like half the serving of same appetizer brought out for other people. The guy sitting next to us, a local it seemed, got served left and right whenever he needed something. we felt very unwelcomed and i did notice the manager was a jerk to his employees. I have been to brewpubs twice the size with half the staff and it was better managed. We left with a $91 bill and tipped $3, had we gotten real service and not ignored, the tip would have been $115 (my friend got a growler).

The beer: Oktoberfest: nothing special

Coffee stout: very subtle coffee aftertaste and initially good on the pallete, but once the coffee flavor faded, i could taste an ashtray.

IPA and cask: the IPA was not bad, nor was it good. it was a decent try at one. By the way JJ Bitting, you serve your cask at the wrong temperature!!! cask is celler temperature, is your celler a fridge?

Golden ale: one their better attempts at a brew. i did enjoy drinking this. I would recomend this to a light beer drinker if they went there

Rasberry Wheat: by far there best beer and a great balance of wheat character and a slight, not overwhelming, taste of rasberry. I have had it before and this beer was why I was excited to come to this place.

It was unusual to see all their beer under the 5% mark with one around 6%.

I think the #2 info was a mistype on their website for best brewpub, i think it need 00 after it, cause it is certainly not the second best in the country. I have been to the Ship and Harvest Moon in NJ and they were by far way better.

On a very positve sidenote, they know how to fill a growler right (1 inch from the top).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(10/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy So So
While the beer and the food are good, the service is horrendous as every time I go there I need to have my bill readjusted. The owner will try and rip you off every change he gets with inaccurate advertisements and added costs. The following are examples: 1. Happy hour beers are 10 cents an once... last time I checked a pint is 16 onces, then why does a pint show up as 2$ before taxes... hmmm, overpriced by 40 cents... this "special" is advertised in a pamphlet freely available at the front door and other bars. 2. Monday is 1.50$ pints.... compelete lie!!!! Its only 1.50$ PINT... notice the no "s"... apparently they dont tell you but they pick one draft and thats the only thing that is 1.50$, everything else is 4.00$. In my case, we asked the lady greeting us at the front door.. 1.50$ drafts and 25 cent wings, right? She said yes... then bartender told us nothing of this... we only select one beer and thats only 1.50$... we found out when we got the bill and argued with the owner... apparently they hope you are drunk and dont notice the policy they make up on the spot... no wonder he was adjusting the bill for a few more other "sober" people at the place. 3. You cant drink your growler at the table... yes, this may be illegal, but we got yelled at only when the owner stopped by... now... problem is, waitress knew we had growlers, she got them for us! But, she said it was OK to drink it as she also gave us an empty pint glass so we didnt have to drink straight from the growler. 4. If service is horrible and you dont tip the waiter... he will run after you in the nearby quickcheck and demand a tip... I am not making this up... this really happened. 5. Owner argued with me that the reason why he does #2 listed above... that is.. why he lies is that otherwise he would not be in business. Hmmm, GreenRock in Hoboken has $1 pints for 3 hours... 5 - 8PM every day, even Friday, and they dont go out of business... while paying Hoboken rent!!!

So yea, if you know of a better brew pub in your area... DO NOT GO HERE!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George G. George G., Carteret, NJ
(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good So So
Excellent Beer. Inceridble even. Highly recommend the dunkelweizen. But beware of a great lot of false advertising.

$1.50 pint mondays (advertised in all their brochures as such) means the beer of their choice, but they wont tell you which one (even if you explicitly ask about the advertised special)...order and find out when your bill arrives!

Also 10 cents per ounce (3-7 happy hour special) somehow adds up to 2 dollars per pint...I could have sworn there were 16 ounces in a pint, but who's counting, silly English unit system, eh?

"Free buffet" 3-7 monday through friday means "3 until it runs out but sometimes we dont have it at all, depends on the turnout, and how we feel on a given day, anything is subject to change"

All no problem EXCEPT for the fact that it was advertised. IN PRINT. Without the disclaimers.

And how about the vegetarian burrito with chicken? I was drinking, but I wasn't drunk. That most certainly was chicken.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Woodbridge, NJ
(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Always have a great time here. The beers have been exceptional since they opened. Good food and a great place just to enjoy the night. Keep up the good work!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jake Jake, Avenel, NJ
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Good
After a bad experience five years ago, I stopped in again, because I always thought the beer was excellent, in spite of the difficulty, and I was not surprised to find that little had changed. The cask IPA was to die for. If i didn't have to worry about driving home , I coul;d have easily drank a half dozen. It was one of the best brews I've ever had. When you can "remember" the taste while driving home, it's a great beer. The juke box, however , was unbelievable! Why does the younger generation need to have everything played at a decible level that completely obliterates any attempt at normal conversation? I may be considered by some to be an "old fogey", but I'm 57, and I've spent my whole life in brass bands, military bands, Mummers string bands, and pipe bands, and none of the above is the equivalent of the "music" at Bittings!For God's sake, lower the volume!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(04/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Good selection of brewed beers...interior of bar is pretty cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Lee, NJ
(04/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place has great beer with always something on cask.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john birkrem john birkrem, west windsor, NJ
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great
They constantly have something different to sample. Great place to kick back and have a few with friends, 10 cents an ounce happy hour(fun,fun,fun). Try the cask, it's always good. Try the nut brown ale, very yummy. I love it here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Offer a variety of their own brewed beers, many of which I have had mixed results. I don't drink local brewed beers as much as bottled microbrews. Atmosphere is "college like". Decent size wood bar, two story+ ceiling. Second level looking over the bar. Depending on the day, seems to be a under 35ish crowd. Gave it a great over-all, taking into consideration, what else in a 30 minute drive is worth driving to?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Murphy Mike Murphy, Iselin, NJ
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
Excellent variety of brews, all well crafted. Service was attentive and friendly. Very good pub food. Better air-conditioning is highly needed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John W John W, Flushing, NY
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
Couldn't be more underwhelmed. The least impressive brewpub of the 100 or more I have visited (and/or frequented). Chose to go there based on the effusive reviews I had seen online. Was entertaining a long lost college buddy for what was supposed to be a special evening. After sampling just a few of the beers and a handful of appetizers, we were not about to stay for any more inferior food and brews. Neither the IPA nor the Golden Ale were particularly palatable. Have been drinking ales almost exclusively for 20 years and brewing for 10, and these were far, far down the list of my favorites (Stone, Victory, Dogfish Head, Bell's, etc.).

The mussels were overcooked (nothing worse), the coconut shrimp were chewy and the blooming onion was marginally acceptable, but a far cry from Outback. The dipping sauces which went with the various dishes were totally bland and unrefined, with no punch whatsoever. Triumph in Princeton and New Hope puts this dive to shame. The evening was salvaged with a drive to Old Bay in New Brunswick. Now there's some excellent food and great beers. Do yourself a favor and disregard the kudos this place has gotten, or prepare to be as dissappointed as we were.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Gorman Pat Gorman, Yardley, PA
(05/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Was there this weekend. They had a cask Imperial IPA on. It was so good. This IPA was made by the homebrew club that meets there. What a great beer. I also had the bock which was amazing. The brewer really does a great job. Great food. Great service. Usually sit at the bar so its cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Paramus, NJ
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Good
The parking was the only bad thing about it. The food was good and the beer was ROCKIN!! The atmosphere was okay and the waitresses were cool!! I am going to have my company party there this month!! Thanks JJ"S. But it is cold as hell in there!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, easton, MD
(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great beer and good food. Nice to support a local place instead of the pretend neighborhood pubs and chain restaurants. I'll be back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from geo geo, clark, NJ
(01/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Was there with another couple Sat night Jan 10th. Evidently this place has a heating problem which the owner and mgt. has known about for years and done nothing. We froze our asses off (in retrospect should have left) and did not enjoy ourselves. I work in HVAC and your problem can be solved for less than $2M, you morons. The mgt. could care less about its patrons. You'd have to be crazy to go back to this place. What a terrible experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review West Orange, NJ
(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good So So So So Lousy
Was there on jan 10,2004 (sat evening) with friends. the place was freezing cold. even the waiters/waitresses had scarfs/coats on. It was a midway meeting point and cold outside to even think about going somewhere else. we sat and ate with our coats on. told mgr (victoria) at the time and she was snippy and kinda laughed it off. Not even offered a complimentary anything. Poor customer service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Elizabeth, NJ
(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The beer selection was really really good...the Raspberry Wheat was tasty. The Winter Warmer Ale was different and had an interesting flavor...with hints of nutmeg and cinnamon. The food was not bad...the menu mostly consisted of burgers, salads, etc. The burgers were good, and they had a nice amount of different kinds to choose from. The only bad thing is the parking. We ended up across the street in a strip mall lot. Behind the brewpub there is a tiny lot, which I don't even know if patrons can use...and behind that is for people using the trains. Certainly, going to JJ Bittings is worse the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(12/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review woodbridge, NJ
(09/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I've been going to the brewhouse for a few years now. I particularly enjoy the "deck", where we can hang and indulge on some of NJ's best beers. They offer their standard brews like Avenel Amber and Victoria's Golden Ale, plus "seasonal" brews like "Bad Boy" that are fresh, crisp and utterly delightful. The burgers are awesome and the butterfly fries offer a good alternative to chips or fries. My favorite time is happy hour at the bar- 10 cents an oz. on Tues. The apps are good to snack on -I enjoy the wings,the rattlesnake eggs and pot stickers. The atmosphere is jovial, light and always friendly. Go upstairs to view the brewing tanks, and enjoy the wonderful architecture of the building, including the old brick walls and huge post & beam framing. The toy train that skirts around the place on an elevated track adds a fun feel to the restaraunt, since the building used to be the local train station. It's quite a little fun reminder of JJ's roots in the community. I highly recommend the "brewhouse". It's a relaxed fun place to go and hang, catch up on the local chatter, have a few good brews and kick back.

Dee, Woodbridge, NJ

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dee Dee, Woodbridge, NJ
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Good
I have to echo the various comments above. The quality of beer and food in this place is extremely good. With a choice of 7 beers, there is ALWAYS something available for everybody. I have eaten here probably 20 times, and the food is consistently good. But the service is absolutely atrocious. It is common to wait upwards of 30 minutes for a drink when sitting at the bar with an empty glass (even when the bar is dead). In the past few years, I've brought softball teams back (10+ guys), and we receive the same crappy treatment even though we are willing to spent $200+. They are simply throwing money away. Another thing that bugs me is that while you can drink outside on the deck, they do not allow you to take advantage of the drink specials there(i.e. Two-for-Tuesday). Its the combination of the nickel and diming/poor service that turns off a LOT of people. When it comes to beer, no place is CLOSE to here. But none of my friends (in their 20's and 30's, who spend lots of dough when they go out) will go there after getting the shaft so many times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Sewaren, NJ
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
I grew up in NJ, but unfortunately did not learn to appreciate good beer until I moved away. This was the first NJ brewpub I visited on a trip home over Christams. We had to drive through the aftereffects of the Christmas day snowstorm to get there, but it was well worth it. Great beers, great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
For three years now I have been dropping by and downing some of the best Porters & Stouts I have been able to find on the east coast. Having lived in Seattle for some years I had acquired a thirst for quality brew pubs, and thank God / Goddess I was lucky enough to find one of the finest around!! Great work Auggie!! It's like having the Elysian in Woodbridge!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Ryan Kenneth Ryan, Carteret, NJ
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill Bauman, Jamesburg, NJ
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill Bauman, Jamesburg, NJ
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I enjoy the overall experience at Bitting. I think they should include fries w/ the meal and bring back Bitting's Oh Boy, 9% alc., wow! Anyone remember that one? I do;just barely!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Fuentes Chris Fuentes, Rahway, NJ
(04/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Their Rasberry Wheat is the BEST

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mike Power, Rahway, NJ
(04/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
It was a dive when it first opened. Not much has changed since, aside from the staff. This restaurant has a hihger turn-over rate than a ghetto high school. The staff that seems the most compitent, will either get fired for some stupid reason, or quit when they find out what an ass the owner is. The ones that stay behind arent even worth talking about. If you like so so beer, and want to hang out with a bunch of underaged drinker, well this be the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review woodbrige, nj
(04/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Don of Edison: I enjoy the ambience and the quality of the food and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, edison, NJ
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Killer brew-pub the best in the area. Th total package. Nice atmosphere and great tasting fresh beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mick Mick, Metuchen, NJ
(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Excellent food was complimented with the nice variety of homebrew. The Sampler was nice to start out with but was disappointed that a Christmas Ale/Seasonal brew wasn't available 11/02. The Scotchish Ale was a bit over scotched leaving a bit of an unpleasent after taste. The IPA was very good along with a the Raspberry. Nice atmosphere & Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Excellent food was complimented with the nice variety of homebrew. The Sampler was nice to start out with but was disappointed that a Christmas Ale/Seasonal brew wasn't available 11/02. The Scotchish Ale was a bit over scotched leaving a bit of an unpleasent after taste. The IPA was very good along with a the Raspberry. Nice atmosphere & Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey mdm, please learn how to punctuate your commentary, so that we don't have to decipher it, thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The food is always great here, atmosphere is good and beer selection is good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob B. Rob B., North Brunswick, NJ
(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Been going to Bitting's for years now...since probably 97, and the beer that they have there is great. Has been, and probably will be. The wait staff is courteous and helpful, the pub owner, manager and Brewer are all great guys to sit and talk to, as well.

They play a combination of Classic rock, some country (like Charlie Daniels Band and Garth), to some newer popular alternative music.. It's all in the Juke Box.

Food is good, about what you would expect from a brew pub. They make their own Salsa for the tortillas which are handed out, and they have a sauce which goes good on most anything called Cajon ranch. Also, if you are there later at night, the grilled roadkill pizza is good.

About my only complaints is that they close too early, and could us another bartender. At least recently, since more and more people are finding out about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, Iselin, NJ
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
the waitstaff is truly lost the food is soso on a good day they should be more consistant with the beers. make your best brews and stick with them the beer is tasty though. i hope they start paying attention to what people are really saying about the place i would hate to see it go if the food and service where better i would be there more please get with it jj

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mdm mdm, woodbridge, NJ
(09/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I was heading back from LBI when I decided to take a break from the shore traffice on the GSP. I stubbled upon Bitting's. A great find!!! with great beer and food!!!! (try the ribs!!!) Cool old building with a great outdoor deck. Our friendly server was right there whenever we needed her. Definitely recommended!!! (try the ribs!!!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Stanhope, NJ
(08/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Food is standard pub fare, yet good. Beer really good and constantly changing. One beer was "Duff", and it was exactly what Homer would order, except on the Simpsons it's meant to be industrial swill and here it's worth paying for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sales Mike Sales, Highland Park, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I been coming to J.J.'s almost from the beginning and have always had consistently great beers. I'm hooked and wouldn't think of going anywhere else in the area for a beer. In regards to the last reviewer, I have seen these people constantly keeping an eye on cleanliness. In fact, if your a regular like me you'll know that the cleanup at night is impeccable. Sometime to the point I have to say enough is enough already and take a break. Entertainment (as far as a band goes) is nearly impossible on weekends due to the size of the barroom. But Jim Tuscano plays there on Thursdays and always packs the house. I hear they are opening another bar room downstairs soon with regular entertainment which should satisfy the last guy. I'm more of a beer drinker than a diner but the times I'm in the mood for ribs or a fat and juicy steak or prime rib I always eat here and have never been disappointed. Keep up the good work guys, I'll be a regular for a long time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Sylvan Steve Sylvan, Fords, NJ
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So So So So So
I find the bar area and the bathrooms to be very dirty. The food is hit or miss. I think they could do so much more with this place. Know one ever wants to hang there on the weekends. It could be a great place if they invested more in the entertainment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Woodbridge, NJ
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome brewpub!!! Has always been my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Wessler Dave Wessler, Metuchen, NJ
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My friends have been telling me about this place for some time but never had the pleasure of stopping in until last month. Since then I've been back 4 times for dinner, happy hour. This place is awesome!! Today we stopped in for lunch for the first time and sat outside on a outdoor deck which above the first floor dining room overlooking downtown Woodbridge and the NJ Transit train line. This sweet beautiful waitress helped us out and she recommended two dishes which we ordered. I had their Texas Dip which was like a french dip only made with Prime Rib, excellent. My friend had their pulled pork sandwich which he loved. In fact he ask the manager for a load of the stuff for a party he was hosting this weekend at his house. The beers are excellent and in the last month I've seen two new beers rotated into the line up. They have a happy hour where all beers are $1.60 a pint!!! plus a buffet!! This place is my new favorite and I'm just disappointed that I didn't find it sooner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Toffales Nick Toffales, Edison, NJ
(05/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy Lousy
Since my last review of JJ Bittings (back in January 1998)a group of my co-workers and I visited the pub about every six months (that's about how long it takes to forget how really bad the experiene was). With each successive visit, our collective opinion was reinforced. We can walk to JJ Bittings from our office and our group goes out to lunch every day, yet when the question is asked... "Where do you want to go to lunch today?" ... Nobody EVER responds "JJ Bittings". NOT ONE! The experience is that bad. It's a shame since the brew-pub is well appointed and the old converted structure looks very appealing. The problem is two-fold... The service is TERRIBLE! Poorly trained and supervised waitstaff disappear for long periods of time (which is particularly confusing since the place is never crowded at lunchtime). There is no manager or owner in evidence on the restaurant floor to witness the failings of the waitstaff. The food is badly prepared and presented. The beer is good, particularly the IPA, however this alone is not enough reason to frequent this place. THUMBS DOWN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Woodbridge, NJ
(05/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I tried the sampler and had a hard time picking one to try. I had the uninspired pale ale, and the abysmal red. Nothing worth bringing a growler home. The service was also quite poor. The bartender spent more time gabbing with the 6 locals than serving beer. 5 minutes between beers is pretty bad for an empty place. I will not return

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Finally got a chance to stop in while in North Jersey. The atmosphere is comfortable and the decor very nice. Tried a sampler and enjoyed all the beers, but liked the Hop Garden Pale the best. The food was tasty and portions large. The bar area was quite aesthetic and good to see a lot of people there enjoying the beers. Will definitely stop by when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Sat at the bar...pretty neat place, they had a model train set going around the bar/restuarant. The bartender was very attentive. Did a sampler first and found all the brews to be very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the Bitter...they also had it on cask. Had a Prime Rib (Out Of This World). The crowd was very friendly too! A MUST GO! when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(04/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Loved the raspberry wheat! My boyfriend really enjoyed the bitter. Food was ok. Would definitely go back for the beer and a small bite to eat:)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Melissa M. Melissa M., Linden, NJ
(04/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Go for the beer! and you can't beat $1 pint nights on monday. I personally recommend the avenel amber or the victorias golden ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Newton Kimberly Newton, Sayreville, NJ
(04/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
The beer was excellent. Nice choice of six brews plus a cask conditioned bitter ale. The food was outstanding. Had an open faced reuben sandwich so big that I couldn't even finish it. The price was great too. Overall a great place to grab a bite to eat and drink some decent beer at a good price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stefanelli Steve Stefanelli, Howell, NJ
(03/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
my wife and i visit about 5 times a year.she is very fond of the golden(one of the year round beers)i prefer the seasonals the only disappointment i have ever had was a porter that i thought was a little thin,but still drinkable. service has been excellent most times,but they dont seem to keep their help for very long. a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from k bills k bills, iselin, NJ
(09/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I stopped in for a beer yesterday because I was working on a job up the street and ended up staying most of the evening. I saw this place from the outside and was impressed enough to give it a try. First off the beers were outstanding. I had a chat with the owner and brewer (both really great guys) and they told me that the Oktoberfest just won a medal out at the GABF in Denver, and I can see why. They also had an outstanding Pale Ale and Lager. The atmosphere is really cool. An old brick building with alot of timber and a tall tower where the brewery is. I'm not in this area much but I'll be sure to stop in when I am.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stewart Steve Stewart, Brooklyn, NY
(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Old brick building on RR tracks. Had the sampler of 6 house beers, a bargain at 10 cents per ounce. A surprise was the crisp flavor of the golden ale, fermented at low temps and tasting more like a lager or pils. The steam beer was more like an ESB style, a little too bitter for the smooth steam benchmark but not unpleasant. Very good was the Irish red, very rich and tasty. Selections also features a raspberry wheat, best bitter, and nut brown ale. Brewmaster was congenial and informative, plans to submit an Octoberfest and lager to the GABF. Overall a good visit with decent beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is the best!!! The last reviewer is obviously a over obsessed drunk who doesn't know how to take care of himself/herself in public. Why would he/she expect the staff and/or management to be responsible for his/her change. What a jerk! I frequent this place often and have found everyone here to be the best, especially the bartenders (Joe is my favorite).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peggy Peggy, Scotch Plains, NJ
(09/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
The staff doesnt't care a whit when your change is stolen off the bar by an apparent repeat thief who, for some reason, keeps getting served. The music system is abominable...you can't hear yourself think. Avoid this place like the plague, but if you must go, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER leave your change on the bar. It's much more economical to run a tab. The attitude of the staff was one of complete arrogance. The least they could have done was offer a drink on the house. Instead they chose to warn me about the dangers of leaving money on the bar( an almost universally accepted American practice). I hadn't left the bar, only turned my head for minute. The alleged thief was discussing HER tab with"mine host". Since "mine host" was right there, I naively thought my change would be okay. I was mistaken. My first mistake was walking through the door of this dump. I of course will never return and I am happy in the knowledge that if this little discourse discourages even one person from making the poor decision to enter, I will have cost this arrogant owner at least the cost of the drink he could have offered me to help compensate my loss. We're only talking about six miserable dollars. What a cheap jerk!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Union, NJ
(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the beer. Judging from previous reviews I expected top notch beer. Some off flavors but otherwise passable. There is a nice pub atmosphere here. Looks like a nice local-afterwork crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greenmon greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
THE FOOD IS GREAT EVEN BETTER IF YOU HAVE AN ENTERTAINMENT CARD. THE BREW SLECTION IS GOOD,TOO. THE STOUT IS THE BEST AND SO IS THEIR STRAWBERRY WHEAT WHEN IN SEASON. BEST OF ALL IS KICK THE KEG MONDAY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JASON T. RING JASON T. RING, WOODBRIDGE, NJ
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Harry, Fanwood, NJ
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've hit most of the brewpubs in NJ and this one is without a doubt the best overall. Great beer, food and atmosphere...ane the waitresses and barmaids are really cute too. I stop in for lunch alot and they always have a great selection of new specials and their constantly changing line up of excellent beers keeps me coming back. Score one for Woodbridge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Westfield, NJ
(03/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
Out of seven of us, five really liked their food, even though some (fries) were cold. The stout was very good, the rest of the beer was just fair. They were short of servers so there were a lot of gaps inbetween courses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Succasunna, NJ
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good
As a home brew judge,and considered by many as a beer geek, I found the line up here to be very weak. However, one must look at quality of the beer also. The light lager is actually excellent for that style. Its not a beer for me, but for the general public, well done. The pale is very nice. I'm a west coast pale ale fan, very comparible to Washington State Pale ALes. The casked Pale Ale, was perfect. The stout was also very good. A bit dry for a oatmeal stout, but had nice roasted characters, and not over done like alot of stouts. The line up in the near future looks good. The brewer has a bock, a scottish style ale, and and Irish red to be on tap in the near future. However, I live to far away to try those beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Falls Church, VA
(02/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
From the previous comments, I'd expected the beer would be special, but it's mostly blah. I tried all six on draft: two watery (by design) light lagers; a not-bad but uninteresting raspberry wheat; a hoppier ale without enough body and an acrid finish; a nondescript amber; and a very good, mild, creamy oatmeal stout with just a touch of sweetness. The stout is the only thing I'd order again, but even that was a tad on the undemonstrative side. These are polite beers, not badly made but not worth going even a couple of miles out of your way for. A very nice old edifice, tastefully converted. My sandwich was decent. But I left feeling like a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Brooklyn, NY
(02/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So Good
JJ's was great when it first opened. the food used to be excellent. I don't know if they fired the chef or what. the beer is great. It's also nice to sit and search the web while enjoying your beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dana Dana, Woodbridge, NJ
(10/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
terrific selection of brews. Each true to style. Cask conditioned steam ale superior. Decent food, good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(10/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was just in town last week from San Diego and happened upon this place. Great beer and food and an incredible building. Almost makes me wish my stay here was longer. This place will be my number one stop the next time I'm in the metro area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Jay, San Diego, CA
(09/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
The fried fish I had kept me up all night. Absolutely awful. If I hadn't been so hungry, I'd have just left it. I wish I had> The beer was very good. Excellent variety. I liked the Avenel Amber best and the Cali Steam Beer was also good. I've been here quite a few times before and always liked the place but it will be long time before I attempt to eat there again. I hate waiting for another drink(I was almost finished with the awful fish before the second beer arrived... this could be because a different guy from the waitress brought the food and most likely didn't tell her I wanted another) and I HATE waiting for someone to bring me the check. Definitely worth the visit to sample the excellent brews but eat somewhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(09/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
There's no doubt that J.J. Bitting's is a great building - a converted 19th century coal depot that maintains all of the charm and atmosphere that its origin implies. Happily, the beer also lives up to its promise. On tap during my current visit (yes, current - I'm writing this, beer in hand, from a free high-speed net connection right on the premises!) are a heady stout with wonderful coffee highlights, a best bitter on both a standard and cask-conditioned hand-pump (both nice, but the hand-pump is pure beer heaven), a raspberry wheat that heappily emphasizes the wheat over the raspberry, and an amber and a golden that I haven't tried yet. There's also a hefeweizen that I unfortunately can't recommend - far too sour for the style.

Servers are enthusiastic about the brews and are quite willing to dispense samples. Atmosphere is exactly what you'd expect from the surroundings - very high on the Comfort Scale.

And BTW, I was just handed a generous sample of the amber, and I'm glad to report that it's nicely hopped and exhibits far more character than I've come to expect from this style. With the unfortunate demise of the Brewcellar at Joe's Mill Hill, I think I've discovered a new favorite NJ brewpub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ComfortMan ComfortMan, Everywhere, US
(08/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Highly recommended. Been there several times and never disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Went there tonight for the first time --thanks to PubCrawler-- the IPA was outrageously good and my wife went wild for the Raspberry Wheat. We went at happy hour....can you say $1.60 pints and great food for nada? A really great find...and a pretty good juke box.

Mark M.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review West Orange, NJ
(06/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Tried their beers at Philly Fest and was very impressed with the Pilsner. Stop by the pub on a business trip, well worth the detour. Neat environment for a brewpub. Very impressed with all the ales. The porter was excellent!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Trimarco Joe Trimarco, Paoli, PA
(06/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Great stop, but like everywhere else nowadays you generally can't hear yourself think. Are there any places left where one can go and have a few quiet beers and conversation without having to strain your ears to hear abiove the band, juke box, TV etc?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(06/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The beers were awesome. The new brewer put on his porter, IPA cask, and a amber. All were very excellent. I look forward to the rest of his beers to come on line. Must come back here. I love their outside deck!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Bloomfield, NJ
(06/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Best brewpub in NJ without a doubt!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, New Brunswick, NJ
(06/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
My experience here has been varied. When my co-workers and I started to come here when they first opened, the food and beer were great. But when we would come back every month or so, the quality would be varied. Sometimes the food would be great, other times awful and too greasy. Sometimes the service was great, other times you would have to hunt down the waitress to get another beverage or your bill. I still come back because the times when they are good, they are second to none. If they could address the problems with consistancy, this would be the ultimate brew pub. For now however, they remain a very good brew pub with awesome potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, South Brunswick, NJ
(06/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good So So
A very nice place with below average beer. Despite a pretty good selection of house beers and good Happy Hour prices, the beers lacked flavor. Maybe I should've visited Harvest Moon AFTER Bittings!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(04/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Great
Bartenders great, food servers bad! Happy hour $1.60 pints unreal, beer awesome!! Best happy hour around!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Busch Boy Busch Boy, Sayreville, NJ
(04/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So
Really nice room, terrific deck and atmosphere. Unfortunately, the beer was average at best. As for the food, if I ever go back I'll pack a bag lunch. Almost cut my lip on the broccoli soup.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Linden, NJ
(03/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Good
Typically the beer is better than the food. If you are looking for good food visit Harvest Moon unless you are in the mood for just a burger and some fries. Although the food lacks the beer is pretty tasty. I recommend the Raspberry Wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Manalapan, NJ
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
If JJ Bitting where closer to my house I'd be a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve C Steve C, East Rutherford, NJ
(01/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I've tried most of the brewpubs in NJ and this is without a doubt my favorite. Outstanding beers and the food specials were great (the waitresses were pretty too)!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Dwyer Peter Dwyer, New Brunswick, NJ
(01/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
The beers were bland and the food was tasteless as well. I've been there 3 times and never left satisfied. Maybe my timing is off, but I recommend Harvest Moon or Jersey Jims!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Pulyer Rick Pulyer, Sayreville, NJ
(12/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
I'm an IPA fan, loved it. Had the sampler and liked all of them, quality spot. Don't drink and drive - there is a Jersey Transit train station right there - added bonus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kugel John Kugel, Jackson, NJ
(11/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I just read that they were voted #1 brewpub in central NJ Readers Choice awards and I can see why....what a great place to have outstanding beers, good food and good fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Old Bridge, NJ
(10/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
The beer quality is always top notch. Sure, one of the beers might be a disappointment, but you have to expect that from a craft brewer who is trying to make a great variety of quality beers. The rest are always awesome. The food is an issue here, but you have to know what to order. Keep it simple, stupid =).. pizza and burgers are fine, the meals are.. well.. lacking. I agree with the reviewer who suggested getting a good chef in there and re-doing much of the menu. The service isn't bad. Overall, this is a really awesome place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review West Caldwell, NJ
(10/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So So So Good
The beer offerings are great, probably the best brewpub taste I've had. The food selection, taste and service are definitely lacking. I recommend it for the beer only. (grab some food on the way there)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Woodbridge, NJ
(05/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I live in Staten Island and have been looking for a brew pub within driving distance of my house without going into the city. A friend told me about this place about two months ago and I have been going there every weekend since. Incredible beers and the food is outstanding. I have never been disappointed. Definitely a must go for brewpub lovers!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Kish Tom Kish, Staten Island, NY
(04/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy Good
When I saw that there was going to be a brewpub opening up only a few blocks from my house, I was psyched! The food and beers were great in the beginning (although with a name like "Bitting" I was expecting a little more in the hop area...) However, the food and service has slid downhill ever since. They need to get some good people in there, and make the menu a little more simple. I'd hate to see this one go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Staiano Tim Staiano, Woodbridge, NJ
(04/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Thompson Mike Thompson, Scotch Plains, NJ
(03/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great
Just about the best brewpub that I have ever been to. Love the atmosphere and the beer is out of this world. Take my advice and show up the first chance you get.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hari Nanda Hari Nanda, Woodbridge, NJ
(02/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Bitting's Best Bitter and the stouts are consistently good. The Woodbridge Winter Wassail was a disappointment. Appetizers are good. Mixed results on the dinners, but hey, I can walk to the place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Lange Bill Lange, Woodbridge, NJ
(02/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Lousy So So
Though it is a beautiful building, that's about the only 'awesome' thing about this restaurant. The beers are quite good but they tend to change their selection too often and I find I cannot get the same type of stout or dark ale two visits in a row. The service ranges from somewhat slow to nearly nonexistent, and the food is some of the worst I've had. Bitting should spend less time on their menu wording and more time on food quality. Basically: poor cuts of meat and too many contradicting spices to try to cover it up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rico Rico, Woodbridge, NJ
(02/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My family and I have been there many times since they opened last year. We always have a great time and look foward to the new seasonal beers that are always coming on tap. Food specials are great and the servers are very helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Shandler Brett Shandler, Edison, NJ
(02/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy So So
Working in Woodbridge, my colleagues and I have frequented J.J. Bittings often (each time in hope of the service improving), however, it seems that our wish in this regard will remain ungranted. The beer is good as is the menu and generally the food. Unfortunately, the restaurant is understaffed and those on duty are not well trained. There seems to be no managerial supervision. Given the potential, this is a shame!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Woodbridge, NJ
(01/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My entire family enjoys visiting the brewpub as often as possible!! We always enjoy our meal especially the fajitas and there is no better beer to be found anywhere

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ginger Ginger, Woodbridge, NJ
(01/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just went there last night for the third time. Can't get enough of their incredible beer and food! This place has become my favorite brew pub. You have to check out this building. The tower where the bar is has to be 60 feet high. Missy from Boston must be out of her mind!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary McGuiness Mary McGuiness, Cranford, NJ
(01/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So
The beer really is quite good, but the food is awful!! I have eaten there a few times: the menu is descriptive and you think you're in for a treat, but when it comes out, it's either COLD or BLAND....You need more than a menu with impressive-sounding food! Also, the waitstaff is poor, forgetful and slow. And the place has such potential!!! I'd recommend it for a beer ONLY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Missy Missy, Boston, MA
(01/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dazzler Dazzler, Woodbridge, NJ
(01/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
The best brewpub food we've ever had. Their Octoberfest & Autumn beers were outta this world.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fanwood, NJ
(12/23/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Love what they have done to the place, live entertainment, very friendly atmosphere, and of course the beer is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toni Antonello, Carteret, NJ
(09/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Eating dinner on the rooftop was a lot of fun. (I do feel bad for the servers who have to run up and down those steps!) They definitely don't have to go to the gym after work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cathy Peckman Cathy Peckman, Scotch Plains, NJ
(09/28/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.819 seconds) 19:34:27 107.20.34.144, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS