PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sharp Edge Beer Emporium - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 08:31 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
Sharp Edge Beer Emporium Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
302 South Saint Clair Street
at Friendship Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15206
United States
(412) 661-3537
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: October 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
34 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(51 within 5 miles)
1) Point Brugge Cafe
(0 mile)

2) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(0 mile)

3) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(0 mile)

4) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(0 mile)

5) Mad Mex
(0 mile)

6) Salt of the Earth
(0 mile)

7) East End Brewing Company
(2 miles)

8) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

9) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

10) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

11) Lot 17
(2 miles)

12) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(2 miles)

13) Brillobox
(2 miles)

14) New Amsterdam
(2 miles)

15) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

16) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(2 miles)

17) The Church Brew Works
(2 miles)

18) The Parlour
(2 miles)

19) Fuel and Fuddle
(3 miles)

20) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

21) Mad Mex
(3 miles)

22) India Garden
(3 miles)

23) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

24) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

25) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

26) Aspinwall Grille
(3 miles)

27) The Map Room
(4 miles)

28) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(4 miles)

29) Eleven
(4 miles)

30) Meat and Potatoes
(4 miles)

31) Gooski's
(4 miles)

32) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

33) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

34) S Bar
(5 miles)

35) Smokin' Joe's
(5 miles)

36) Hot Metal Grille
(5 miles)

37) Double Wide Grill
(5 miles)

38) Piper's Pub
(5 miles)

39) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(5 miles)

40) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(5 miles)

41) Tiki Lounge
(5 miles)

42) UUBU6
(5 miles)

43) Dish Osteria and Bar
(5 miles)

44) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(5 miles)

45) The Smiling Moose
(5 miles)

46) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(5 miles)

47) Claddagh Irish Pub
(5 miles)

48) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(5 miles)

49) Burgatory Bar
(5 miles)

50) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(5 miles)

51) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Le Domanine
3) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) MORNING GLORY INN
3) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
4) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
2) Alpha Terrace Historic District
3) Arsenal Junior High School
4) Baxter High School
5) Bayard School
6) Beulah Presbyterian Church
7) Bindley Hardware Company Building
8) Birmingham Public School
9) Bost Building
10) Butler Street Gatehouse
11) Carnegie Free Library Of Braddock
12) Colfax Elementary School
13) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
14) Dilworth Elementary School
15) East Liberty Market
16) Evergreen Hamlet
17) Fifth Avenue High School
18) Fort Pitt Elementary School
19) Fortieth Street Bridge
20) Foster School
21) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
22) Fulton Elementary School
23) Gardner-Bailey House
24) Greenfield Elementary School
25) Highland Building
26) Highland Towers Apartments
27) Homestead High-Level Bridge
28) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
29) Hunt Armory
30) Larimer School
31) Lawrence Public School
32) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
33) Lightner, Isaac, House
34) Lincoln Elementary School
35) Linden Avenue School
36) Longfellow School
37) Madison Elementary School
38) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
39) McCleary Elementary School
40) Moreland-Hoffstot House
41) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
42) Oakland Public School
43) Old Heidelberg Apartments
44) Park Place School
45) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
46) Phipps Conservatory
47) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
48) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
49) Rodef Shalom Temple
50) Schenley High School
51) Scott, James, House
52) Sellers House
53) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
54) Singer, John F., House
55) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
56) Springfield Public School
57) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
58) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
59) Sterrett Sub-District School
60) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
61) Washington Vocational School
62) Westinghouse High School
63) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
64) Wightman School
65) Woods, John, House
66) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
2) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
3) Anthony Ciocca
4) Arby's
5) Art Burns Original Southern
6) Aspinwall Grille
7) At The Park
8) Avanti Uno
9) B's Restaurant
10) Bally's Restaurant
11) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
12) Bikki
13) Bliss Coffee House
14) BRGR Bar
15) Buckingham Restaurant
16) Buffalo Blues
17) Burger King
18) C C's Cafe
19) C J Barney's
20) Cafe Sam
21) Cafe Soiree
22) Cafe Zinho
23) Cappy's Cafe'
24) Capri Pizza
25) Casbah
26) Cestone's Pizzaria
27) Chef Tang
28) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
29) Club Havana
30) Coffee Tree Roasters
31) Common Grounds Coffee House
32) Conway's Restaurant
33) Cozumel
34) Crepes Parisiennes
35) Denise & Earl's
36) Dinette
37) Doc's Place
38) Dockside Cafe
39) Doctor Bob's Restaurant
40) East End Food Co-Op
41) Eddie's Pizza Haus
42) Elbow Room
43) Enrico Biscotti Co
44) Enrico's Tazza D'Oro
45) Ernies Diner
46) Fajita Grill
47) Flash's Ii
48) Flora's Grill & Grocery
49) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
50) Girasole
51) Girasole
52) Grace Market
53) Gran Canal Caffe
54) Happy Family Restaurant
55) Harris Grill
56) Hook Fish & Chicken
57) Insomniacs Coffee Lounge
58) J Harris Grill
59) Jens Juice Joint
60) Jimmy G's
61) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
62) Kaizukia's Chicken & Waffle
63) Kelly Street Diner
64) Kfc
65) Kfc
66) Kfc
67) Kim's Coffee Shop
68) Kim's Place
69) La Feria
70) Laforet
71) Laverne's Diner
72) Le Perroquet
73) Linda's Family Kitchen
74) Make Your Mark Artspace and Coffeehouse
75) Mama’s #1 Kitchen
76) Max & Erma's
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Minutello's Restaurant
81) Misha's Gallery Restaurant
82) Monks Lounge
83) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
84) Mulligan's Tavern
85) My Thai Restaurant
86) New York New York Inc
87) Nirvana Deli
88) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
89) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
90) P M Pizza
91) Pamela's
92) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
93) Panera Bread
94) Pasta Piatto
95) Paulette's Coffee Shop
96) Peoples Restaurant
97) Peppi's At The Park
98) Perry's Coffee & Ice Cream
99) Piccolo Cafe
100) Pino's Mercato
101) Pita Garden
102) Pittsburgh Deli Co
103) Pizza Hut
104) Pizza Oven
105) Pizza Parma
106) Pizza Perfectta Inc
107) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
108) Point Brugge Cafe
109) Quiznos Sub
110) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
111) Ramsey's II
112) Red Room Cafe
113) Reynold's on Bryant Restaurant
114) Ritters Diner Inc
115) Riverview Tastee Freez
116) Salaam East Garden Restaurant
117) Salpietro Restaurant
118) Salt of the Earth
119) Sandy's Deli
120) Senators Restaurant
121) Shadow Lounge
122) Shady Grove
123) Shadyside Saloon
124) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
125) Sitar Of Pittsburgh
126) Soba Lounge
127) Soiree Catering
128) Sree's Foods
129) Stanley's Lounge
130) Starbucks
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
135) Sushi Too
136) Taco Bell
137) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
138) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
139) Tea Lightful LLC
140) Temperanceville Tavern
141) Terry Villa
142) Thai Place Restaurant
143) The Quiet Storm
144) Tnt Hoagie Co
145) Too Sweet Lounge
146) Toro's Ribs & Brew
147) Travelers Club
148) Umi Japanese Restaurant
149) Union Grill
150) Union Grill 2
151) Urban Fusion Cafe
152) Vento's Pizza
153) Village Pizza
154) Voluto Coffee
155) Walnut Grill
156) Walsh's Restaurant & Bar
157) Wendy's
158) Wendy's
159) Wheel Deliver
160) Wilk's Bar & Grill
161) William Baker's Dairy
162) William Penn Tavern
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I just wanted to update some of the information in the reviews, as most are out of date. The Sharp Edge is now non-smoking. Happy hour allows everyone to be able to drink belgian drafts, by offering a half off special. (M-F 4:30-6:30) Burgers, bites and med nachos are always a safe bet for food. Feel free to ask servers and bartenders to recommend beers, this crew knows beer. Beer prices are still high-but you at least have the happy hour option, and really where else are you going to find this much beer? A must stop for any beer drinker when they come to Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place looks like a regular restaurant from the outside, but offers a superb beer and dining experience. There were 27 Belgian beers on tap; most were between 6.70 and 8.10, though there were several in the five dollar range as well. Beers were served in their appropriate glass, and it was possible to purchase a growler of any of them on tap. There were also around 100 bottled Belgian beers, many of them quite pricey.

23 non-Belgian beers were offered on tap, as well as one from a cask barrel which constantly changes. I did not look into them with as great detail, but they were of high quality and a bit less expensive than the Belgian beers. Again there was an extensive bottle list, listed by country; several sterling German varieties, a good selection of U.S. microbrews, and a fair amount of brands I hadn't heard of from countries not strongly associated with beer were available.

The menu offered many tantalizing options but the prices were quite reasonable, certainly lower than the Belgian-themed Eulogy in Philadelphia. The vegetables on a pizza my friend had were very fresh.

The only reason I didn't give the service an Awesome! was because it was quite crowded and our waitress had many other tables. What else would you expect on a Friday night? She was quite pleasant when we interacted with her however, and the beer and food orders came out fairly quickly. I imagine on non-weekend nights the servers are even more attentive to their diners.

A cozy, if slightly noisy (again probably because it was a Friday night) ambience combined with outstanding beers and excellent food made for a delightful experience that I advise all beer connoisseurs to try for themselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hank Miller Hank Miller, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
This is a great place to get Belgium Beers!! They have over 40 on draft. The food is delicious too! I had the Mederterrianian Nachos and they were fantastic. I had a sandwhich was good, so my overall eating experience is great. They welcome families, and have a decent kids menu. It's a nice place to take your family, meet up with friends or just go hang out and drink some unbelievable beer. For the domestic beer drinkers, there is a really good selection of draft and bottle beers. It is not too far from downtown Pittsburgh near the Shadyside section of town. It is worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynda Lynda, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
sorry that I did not stop in before they did the improvements. Great beer slection and service was great. I like there place on route 60 better but this is still a out of the way place to stop for a good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
A must-stop for all beer lovers who find themselves in the 'Burgh. A super tap lineup of Belgians/micros/other imports, but to be sure, the emphasis is on all things Belgian. Ponied up the coin for a Belgian sampler and tried four that were new to me. Pink Killer was a wit brewed with grapefruit, but which struck a good balance. It seemed to live on the border between sweet and dry and did so well. Wittekerke Rose was a good raspberry wheat beer that I suspect would be more drinkable over the long haul that Lindemans, even though the quality is not a great. (If I had a Top 10 of beer styles, fruit beers would be hard pressed to make the list--so these brews were VERY good!) The highlight of the stop was my opportunity to taste Rodenbach Red. Don't let "sour red" scare you--there's so much going on, all your taste buds get a workout. A classic. Buffalo bites are an excellent appetizer, I had mine garlic spicy--very nice. Brett, the barman was the best ambassador this place could have. He's enthusiastic; the uber-beer guy. The place is well-worn and comfortable. Pretense has no standing here--it's a place for all things beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
I have been going to the Sharp Edge since 1998 when I moved to Pittsburgh, in nearby Bloomfield.

I admire the owner's evangelical dedication to introducing Belgian beers to the US. (Jeffrey Walewski - recently knighted Sir Jeffery by King Albert II) However, if you aren't a Belgian ale fanatic, the selection of microbrews, especially local or regional (mid-Atlantic) ones is only so-so compared to other places in Pittsburgh, such as FatHeads, or even the cumulitive selection in the 5 or 6 Bloomfield Bars a short walk from my house. So, I assign quality and selection a "great" rather than an "awesome".

I have never been very impressed with the service - the place always seems to be understaffed with the staff rushed and harried with long waits for service. This is something which is pretty irritating when one is paying about 6$ a pint for beer.

They usually have two cask-conditioned offerings, usually from a regional or west coast micro, tapped every Wednesday. However, caution should be exercised before ordering if business is slow, you will get a watery beer (from wash water still in the line to the keg) The bar staff seems to be under orders not to waste or spill any beer, even the extent of not pouring off excess head or diluted beer from the first draw. This also results in a very long wait for the beer since the head is allowed to settle rather than poured off.

Some readers may find my remarks to grumpy and nit-picky, but as I noted earlier, we should expect some service and amicability from the bartenders when we are paying $4 to $6 a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(05/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The Sharp continues to show why it is perhaps the most renown beer bar in the USA. I've been to plenty such bars around the Midwest, and while there are a couple that come close to replicating the quality and selection found at Sharp, none seem to be so obsessively in love with great beer like the Sharp is. Plenty of people have tried to describe the selection, but there's just no adequate way to convey it. You just have to see (taste?) it for yourself. As if to signal that they're never satisfied, word comes that they intend to install about another 50(!) tap lines.

Its legendarily humble exterior still does little to announce the Aladdin's Treasure of beer found within, but now several small Augustijn light fixtures that line the north face of the building provide a small clue for the observant. The interior has expanded to about thrice its original size -- a clear testament to the cult following this place has established. The renovation also involved finally adding some cheer to the depressingly dreary interior.

If there is anything to complain about, it's the price. The Sharp caters to an esoteric subsect of the already esoteric craft-beer-drinking market. In that sense, they're the only game in town. And they know it. If you're a member of that subsect, you pay dearly for the privilege of patronizing the Sharp. Even Chicago's two relatively comparable beer bars are cheaper.

Also, if you want prompt service, it helps to pay particular attention to where at the bar you sit: to wit, it is difficult to establish eye contact with the bartender if you're sitting behind one of the tap rows, thus making it hard to get her attention without letting out an immodest yelp.

Otherwise, it really is difficult to rave enough about this place. If you're an upper-crust beer snob, do NOT miss this place if you're ever in Pittsburgh. In fact, if you can make a weekend road trip out of it, it's worth the drive to Pittsburgh just to come here. Really. Just be sure to have cab fare and a hotel room; leaving this place in a condition to drive requires spectacular self-restraint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
holy crap i've never seen so many beers in one place! and rare ones! scotish skull splitter, samadams triple bock. thomas hardy's old ales. plus a superb selection of belgians. Food is super, the latenight menu is cheap! they have 2 locations. emporium & creekhouse in crafton(west pitt.) if your in town you gotta go here! CHEERS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Gorman Vince Gorman, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My absolute favorite place to drink in Pittsburgh! This place is like paradise to me: any beer I desire, great food, AND and internet jukebox (providing a vast selection of obscure song choices.) The burgers are fantastic...try the Abbey Burger with sweet potato fries. My other favorite is the roast beef and brie panini. The Belgian taster racks are a great way to sample the many Belgian beers they have on tap. I have no willpower at all in this place....can't go in there without spending a lot of cash. It's definitely worth it. :-D

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Ondrey Lisa Ondrey, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I have been a customer of the Edge for years, both locations actually, and I must say that they are my favorites place(s) to have a pint and great food. As to the previous comment about the frittes, the potato that they use in Europe, Belgium specifically, is not available, grown, or exported to this country, so it would in fact be next to impossible to exactly duplicate their Belgian bretheren, but they are quite tasty regardless. As far as the decor goes, they just recently completed the first phase of a 2 phase remodel opening up the back dining room, phase 2 being the entire front bar area which should be started in the coming year. I will agree that the beer prices are a bit higher than can be found elsewhere, but elsewhere the beers aren't served in the appropriate glass ware nor are the servers at these other establishments trained to sell, recommend and discuss the beers as they are at the Sharp Edge. I also go to some of these other places and have consistantly found the staff to be rather retarded when it comes to information about the beers they carry, so I do appreciate the time and effort the Sharp Edge puts into training their staff to respect the beer & brewing process. Another aspect of the Sharp Edge that I love is that on many adventures I have yet to see a large group of obnoxious, I can drink a 24 pack with out getting drunk, Budweiser drinkers yelling about the weekend Nascar races, a fact which makes me more than willing to return, and if you think about it, this also may explain why their pricing is higher than others, like Fatheads, who can more than make up money lost on imports with the dozen+ barrels of Coors they go through weekly at a rediculous mark up cushioning those Import prices.

They also sport a very diverse brand new menu and after multiple selections I will say that the Buffalo Meat Loaf and the Cider Ribs are definately out of this world and the appetizers and pizza are excellent. i can always find something to eat on this menu no matter what. Kudos to the Chef.

I really do find it quite disappointing to read these user reviews and see some of the things reported. I have a soft spot in my heart for the locally owned & operated restaurants and give the Sharp Edge huge props for being family friendly, having a homely comfortable atmosphere and striving to accomdate so many peoples' expectations, but if you go in there expecting it to be a TGI Fridays or an Applebees you will be sorely disappointed, and quite honestly you should keep to places like that. I love the Edge for the character, the authenticity and the Pittsburgh feel it has and I hope that never changes, if you don't like it go get a Coors Light at some trendy immaculately decorated place like Atria and do not darken the door of my favorite pub. Keep up the excellent work Sharp Edge! You are appreciated by those that appreciate good beer, food & service over pretty curtains!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea L. Andrea L., Pittsburgh, PA
(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Make no bones about it, the beer here is excellent. You will need a trip to Brussels to find a better selection of Belgian beers, and you wouldn't find this many on tap if you hit every bar on the Grand'Place.

The food was all right--the soup and provolone wedge appetizers were actually quite good. The disappointing item was the "Frittes". I should have known when they spelled "Frites" incorrectly that they would not be in the true Belgian style (why can no one in this country make frites?).

The service was great--had the whole extended family there for lunch, including the three kids under five, and the beers and soda refills kept coming when needed. The kitchen even proactively replaced an overcooked burger before they brought it to the table.

The one downside is the atmosphere. The bar is a dive. There is a non-smoking back dining room, but the overwhelming number of smokers from the main bar ensure you will leave smelling like an ashtray. The reviewer who said the decor looks like a Big Boy had it pegged--plastic tablecloths are the order of the day.

The beer selection and quality, reasonably good food, and good service more than make the trip worth while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Great
Ffor a place with such a great selection of beer it really misses the mark on everything else. the food was average and i went there with my kids recently and they looked at me like I was from another planet. The beer is the draw. It has a shoneys/bobs big boy feel in many ways but, again, the beer is awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joebagadonuts Joebagadonuts, philly, PA
(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
You truly have to enjoy a place that has a superb beer selection. Although not the most extensive I have seen, it certainly has a beautiful array for any taste. The Belgium beers are very nice. Anywhere that has an 11.5 oz to a 3 litter choice of Duvel is alright in my book; and the hop heads that were with me found their selection more than adequate. The food is just fantastic bar food and goes very well with whatever you order. No doubt about it, this is one of the best places to go in the Pittsburgh area. By the way, they have two locations in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Harrisburg, PA
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Simply the best place to sit and enjoy any beer you choose in Pittsburgh and the best part is it's 2 minutes from my house.

~The Sharp Edge has been designated the official & favorite beer emporium of www.whatthehellhappenedlastnight.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from btezra btezra, Pittsburgh (Freindship), PA
(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Started my beer tour here. Doesn't open at 10AM like it says on their site, but only waited a few minutes. Belgian beers? WOW! Ordered a sampler and wasn't disappointed. Liked the Bornem Double the best. Soup was OK. I like the idea of a beer bar serving samplers (TOO many don't!). They are renovating, but it wasn't a problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
I didn't have a chance to try the food, but the beer selection is increadable. I found beers on tap that I cannot even find in bottles in Erie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gene Young, Erie, PA
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So So So Good
Excellent beer selection but extremely high and pricey. Expect to have two beers and fork over a tenner OR MORE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review North Hills/Pittsburgh, PA
(04/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good
this place unfortunately shot its wad about 3 years ago. all the good staff left or were fired and were replaced by quasi-retarded postal worker/liquor store employee types. Lots of mullets and fuzzstaches but beer selection is beyond reproach. Food is poor but the grimey plaid carpet is homey in a way. i still go there even though it is past its prime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mr. Tomey, pittsburgh, pa
(03/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
Service could be a lot better, but the beer selection makes up for it. I'm from Atlanta, and I'm amazed at the quantity of Belgian and other nationality beers on tap and in stock.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Atlanta, GA
(05/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Lousy Good
unbeatable selection of beers but way too pricey and service sucks. Kelly's bar around the corner has far fewer taps but some respectible choices and better food by far. the Edge still has a great basement rec-room feel that is hard to beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Chevega Ed Chevega, pittsburgh, PA
(05/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
If you want to get acquainted with Belgian beer this is the place. A recent visit included two flights of Belgians offering 8 different beers. It was great tasting and commenting on the various styles. The food is good although I'd stick to the Pizza and sandwiches. If one of the rooms was non-smoking this place would be perfect.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kuster John Kuster, Murrysville, PA
(01/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
This is the original Sharp Edge located East of Pittsburgh in Friendship. Actually about 5 feet from East Liberty.

This is the place to find beer in the area and still is. However, the food is average bar stuff at best. The place could use a good cleaning and some updating as it feels dated and dirty.

On Friday look forward to being smoked out unless you are a smoker :)

recommend this place for non-happy hour times and during the week stops for good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
You truly can't beat the selection of the beer. I for one can't afford to frequent this establishement. The beer is very expensive. I don't know how high it is marked up from the wholesale price, but this is not New York or Los Angeles. The waitress was pretty knowledgable about the beer, but her service with the food and refills was terrible. Pretty disappointed with how much I had to spend for a sandwich and a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review N. Versailles, PA
(12/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A So So Good So So
I've been visiting the sharp for several years now. But now I hardly go there. The Management is so awful, even I know more about beer than the general manager. The beer prices keep rising. All the friendly staff are leaving. They are no longer allowed to drink with the rest of the customers. They have to stay in the pub area, even if they are not on duty. Loyal customers of many years are not returning. Now they are turning it into an oyster bar! , and expanding through the kitchen. What else will happen this once so beloved secret belgian drinking spot?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(07/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
As has been said, the beer selection and quality is excellent. The food is so-so at both sites but you don't go there for the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from snake snake, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.514 seconds) 20:31:33 54.197.65.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS