PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Selin's Grove Brewing - Selinsgrove, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 03:23 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Selinsgrove > Selin's Grove Brewing
Selin's Grove Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Selin's Grove Brewing
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.1 / 100
119 North Market Street
Downtown Selinsgrove
Selinsgrove, PA 17870
United States
(570) 374-7308
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Selinsgrove, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Selin's Grove Brewing
94 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue CLOSED
Wed 12:00PM - 11:00PM
Thu 12:00PM - 11:00PM
Fri 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 12:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Potteiger House
2) Unicorn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN SELINSGROVE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge between Monroe and Penn Townships
2) Selinsgrove Hall and Seibert Hall
3) Selinsgrove Hall and Seibert Hall
4) Snyder, Gov. Simon, Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amato's Pizza
2) Bamboo Palace
3) Chuck's Sports Bar
4) Emma's Food For Life
5) Grill Room
6) Howl & Meow Cafe
7) Kelly's Towne Tavern
8) Kind Cafe
9) Muddy Udders Ice Cream
10) Papa John's Pizza
11) Pepper Tree
12) Rita's Italian Ice
13) Ruby Tuesday
14) Sheetz Convenient Store
15) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
16) What's Shakin
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy Lousy
My buddy and I stopped here on our way through town with the intention of getting food to go and a couple of growlers of beer. We had the sampler of beer and there wasn't a one of them fit to drink. We took our sandwiches and left sans beer.. The food was OK, except for the hair in one of the sandwiches.. The service was poor at best.. I am a brewer/chef and my buddy is a restaurant/bar manager, so we know what we're talking about.. We were monumentally disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Harry David Harry, Atlanta, GA
(07/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Like many, I make it a point to visit every possible brew pub within reason on any trip I take. If you can look aside at the cramped and often crowded quarters, Selin's Grove Brewing boasts some of the finest ales I've ever laid lips to from Portland to Brussels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zax Wittenberg Zax Wittenberg, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Selin’s Grove Brewing is a cozy little pub locate right off Main Street one block north of the square, just walk down the path through a small flower garden to this little basement pub. They have outdoor seating, a bar area, and a small dining room. This rustic basement bar, packs a lot into its small footprint - brick, floors, wood ceilings, and plenty of charm. The service was friendly and our waitress was very attentive. They have live music on Thursdays. The food is excellent, the veggy chili was wonderful. The sandwiches are very good with decent size portions, I had the ham/pretzel with an IPA. My side was an apple slaw, definitely worth trying. Very nice job on the IPA, good color and flavor, well hopped! I also tried the pils and Belgian, both were very nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(05/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place to spend time, They have the best IPA but just can,t keep enough of the brew on hand all the time.The pub really takes you back in time my wife and i love to spend a weekend evening just sitting talking an enjoying their beer an wine the food is good! But the beer is the best!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brady Brosious Brady Brosious, Selinsgrove, PA
(04/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This brewpub is truly one of my favorite places I have visited in all of North America. My sister lives in Maryland, and when I visit her, I always take the one and half hour drive to Selins Grove to have lunch and beer. This brewpub is located in a beautiful, cozy basement right on the main street in Selins Grove. I have never been treated with nothing but courtesy from the serving staff. Their Baltic Porter and Belgian Dubbel are to die for. I strongly recommend all beer fans to stop in when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Schloemer Timothy Schloemer, San Antonio, TX
(10/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Possibly the finest diversification of micro brewed beers that I have encountered! Hidden in the depths of a sleepy little town in Pennsylvania, lodged under the former home of an historical soldier and politician, employing both the living and dead (its said to be haunted), I find myself surrounded by an eclectic crowd of local's, professor's, and out of towners. Smiles permeate the premisis as the quality of brew is outstanding and the bill of fare varied and well thought-out. The feeling is one of both local belonging and a hint of a British Pub. The service is friendly and helpful and the small staff scurry about to keep pace with the numbers of the day. They do a nice job and it shows that they care about what they do, and enjoy it. I enjoy both my meal and the variety of brews dancing on my tongue. The beers change, the quality does not. If I am to die someday, as we all must do, and allowed to roam this earth, I believe that I have found my spot for a haunting good time and a pleasant place to rest my bones. Well done!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PM Zebra PM Zebra , Bloomington, IN
(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I suggest the previous reviewer try the place again. I have never experienced what she did. Maybe she should eat indoors. I always do, because bugs like food and beer too. Anyway, this brewery is one of the best in PA and I have always enjoyed the food, although there are better places to eat. I doubt there are better places to sample beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stouffer Craig Stouffer, Camp Hill, PA
(05/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Lousy So So Good
The service was SLOW. It was the longest dinner I've ever had...we arrived about 5:30 and left at nearly 8 p.m. - and that was for an appetizer and sandwich. There were easily half hour delays each time we ordered a drink, whether it was water, an iced tea or a beer. The place was empty when we arrived and filled up a bit, but then cleared out by the time we finally got our check to go. I wouldn't order food there again. The 'organic' nachos were gross. Someone dumped some sliced cheese on the nachos, then poured some salsa on top. The cheese wasn't melted, and the salsa was so wet, it made the chips (that seemed stale and needed salt, which was not provided) totally soggy. Really, I could have done a better job at home with my own microwave. We had waited nearly an hour for that mess to arrive and were starving, but still sent it back barely touched. Ask for salt and pepper, it wasn't on the outside tables and was never brought by.

We ordered sandwiches for dinner, which were OK. (Note, we put in our food order the first time we saw a server, about 20 minutes into our visit). Our food arrived a quarter to 8 p.m.

I'd say the pretzel bun was the best part of the whole food experience. The chicken salad curry inside was good, but kind of plain and definitely on the skimpy side. The potato salad was totally inedible, it tasted like straight up vinegar. After trying the rotten fruit salad they served my boyfriend (we both spit it out into napkins), I figured the potato salad was old and they tried to salvage it by adding vinegar to cover up that it was going bad. There's an option to order a bag of potato chips, I'd recommend that if you eat there.

The best part of the experience was the beer sampler, which was sadly lacking as there were about four unavailable when we stopped by. My boyfriend adored them all, except the stouts (which I rather enjoyed) and the Kriek, which was my favorite. The sampler was totally worthwhile and we've determined which favorites we'd order the next time we dropped by.

I'd never eat there again and I recommend you come full and expect a long wait for your brews. Inside service may be faster (we chose outside) and you may have more of an opportunity to stop your server if you need something.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amanda Amanda, Selinsgrove, PA
(05/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Good So So Good
Visited 10/6. Service was very slow. Were out of a lot of different beers. Tried the Mild and the Pils. Also out of some of the different menu items. May have been because they were busy due to Susquehanna University homecoming weekend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Exton, PA
(10/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
Visited 8/31 which was my 2nd overall visit. Love the underground atmosphere of this place. Quite unique like no other brewpub that I have ever visited. Took quite a while to get in our beer orders at the bar as they seemed to be understaffed. The IPA was well worth the wait as it was very good. Would have liked to have spent more time here but was in a hurry so it was only a one beer stop. Considered a must stop while traveling down rte 15. Great brewpub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The India Pale Ale was probably the best IPA that I recall having. Nice creamy head, floral notes and well hopped. My wife had the Oatmeal Stout which had an awesome silky roasted flavor.

They had games for the kids and the food was excellent. My wife and I already have justified a return visit to try the Hop Nouveau. Oh yea, they sell logo pint glasses and great T shirts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Got the opportunity to visit after hear many great things about this place. Pretty quaint, but great staff. tried every beer they had on tap and all had character and flavor. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Congratulations to Selin's Grove Brewing on their 10th anniversary! I was fortunate to stop in during the anniversary celebration and the place was jam packed! Just goes to show you what is possible when you do things right (always). Hop Nouveau cask was super, a great way to start my vacation. Frosty IPA was pretty intense with its hop blast, just the way I like it! Double was great as always, and so was the stout. I can't remember a more enthusiastic group of beer lovers in one spot, except at beer festivals. Continued good fortune to all those who make Selin's Grove one of the best beer places around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
WE TRAVEL THE COUNTRY & HIT NUMEROUS BREW PUBS FOR FUN & SPORT. SBP IS AT THE TOP OF THE LIST IN THE USA!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AL & DEB AL & DEB, KULPMONT, PA
(01/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Been to the pub several times now and always feel like I want to go back when I am in the area and have time. Disappointed the last 2 times I was out and it was closed that day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chad kauffman chad kauffman, mifflintown, PA
(10/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Found these notes from a little while back. Got there on a rainy Saturday right at the opening bell. Only one server there for the first half hour and she was slammed almost immediately. Even so, she remained pleasant and was apologetic for even the slightest delay. The beer, as always, was superb. Organic Pale was copper in color, malty and tasty. Pilsner was hoppier than I remembered (not that I'm complaining), and I certainly had forgotten how good it is. Goldings Special Bitter might have been the best I had that day, all around great! Hefeweizen was well balanced, Organic Baltic Porter was smooth with the alcohol noticable at the finish and the Kriek was very full flavored--it almost seemed like it was from a much darker fruit than cherries. Cask IPA incredible as usual; all their cask offerings are to be sought out. The clientele was friendly and very beer-aware. Still one of the best places in PA and the Northeast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We just HAD to take a detour on the last leg of our vacation to visit this hightly touted brewpub and it turned into one of the highlights. Despite a huge crowd because of homecoming at the local college, we got a seat at the bar and never felt rushed or neglected. The staff did an excellent job of juggling the overflow in a real friendly, upbeat and professional manner. Awesome lineup of beer styles despite the small confines. The atmosphere, as nearly every one has attested to, is priceless. If you have never been you need to try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from lawrence breiner lawrence breiner, hanover, MD
(10/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
What can be said about Selin's Grove that's not already been written? The beer (I only had the IPA) was very, very good...one of the best I've had at a brewpub. Service was friendly. The food (we just had sandwiches)was quite tasty. The building is, of course, quite small, yet it's surprising how well they utilize what space they have available to them. Tara (my asthmatic wife! :)) was quite pleased to discover the inside was a non-smoking zone. In a space of that size, I suppose, they haven't the choice. Still, it's great to find a place with great beer and no smoke. I would recommend this brewpub to anyone within 250 miles. We hope to get back often. Oh, one more thing: The prices were very inexpensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill and Tara Bill and Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
We stopped once again on our way to State College and really enjoyed the experience. We make this stop every year and wish we could make it more often.The beers are outstanding and the food eclectic.The ambiance is the best part of this venue. I can only picture us in front of the wood burner on a cold winter's eve enjoying Steve's beers! Maybe someday!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(07/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
My wife and I like to beer travel and this was out latest journey. This place was incredible!! The only reasons I gave a lower rating for beer selection is that they were out of two beers, but still had 9 for us to sample. They were all very good and tasty. They do have some serious beer there! The bartender was very efficient and very busy, so she was a bit overworked from what I saw. The food is really, really good and while its not a huge menu the chef does an outstanding job with what he has to work with. Well worth the trip to visit this place and we will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
One of the best brewpubs I’ve visited, very small with lots of character, hope they can stay that way. The IPA on cask was out of this world, porter was also top rate, stout was average. Food was very good but service was a little slow. Plan on returning often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Williamsport, PA
(07/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
wasnt overly impressed with most of thier beer but thier IPA was one of the best I have ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Shannon Jr. Michael Shannon Jr., Hollidaysburg, PA
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
An associate of mine and I were liberated from a long business meeting in Harrisburg early, and I talked him into a whirlwind trip up the river valley. Easily the best decision of the day--a heavenly IPA on handpump, along with the last of the St. Filian's Barleywine on the other handpump. As Lew says, you just sleep a little better at night knowing that such a small, intimate hideaway making such wonderful beer can survive in such a small town far away from the superhighways of the beer-geek world. I would gladly trade my city's world-class brewpubs for this one....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
A fantastic pub! The service was par excellence! The menu has a great selection of vegetarian items that were clearly marked. However, it's the beer and our server's knowledge of the beer that stood out the most. We tried the sampler and every small glass was a special treat! The only thing missing was a sampling system with more legible names for the beers. The sampler glasses came on a round tray with the name of each brew hand written with a green marker on a cocktail napkin underneath each glass. Some were hard to read...not a big deal but there might be other, more aesthetically pleasing ways to serve the sampler. We took home a growler of "Hoppy Monk" and would gladly make a pilgrimage back to Selin's Grove Brewing for a refill if we lived closer! Great experience!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg C Greg C, Norman, OK
(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
All the beer was on point. There were many styles to choose from and you can't go wrong with any of them. The food was great also. If you're a fan of microbrew this is a sure pitstop for some fantastic beer, great food, and good atmoshpere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Reggie Beam Reggie Beam, Mechanicsburg, PA
(02/18/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.287 seconds) 03:23:55 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS