PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Steamworks Brewing Company - Vancouver, BC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 09:28 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > BC > Vancouver > Steamworks Brewing Company
Steamworks Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Steamworks Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.5 / 100
375 Water Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5C6
Canada
(604) 689-2739
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: March 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for British Columbia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Steamworks Brewing Company
42 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(33 within 5 miles)
1) Shark Club
(0 mile)

2) Picadilly Hotel
(0 mile)

3) Niagara Hotel
(0 mile)

4) Irish Heather
(0 mile)

5) Chambar
(0 mile)

6) Bull Dog Café
(0 mile)

7) Blarney Stone
(0 mile)

8) Bar None
(0 mile)

9) Yaletown Brewing Company
(0 mile)

10) Doolin's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

11) Rosie's On Robson
(0 mile)

12) Kingston Taphouse and Grille
(0 mile)

13) Dix BBQ and Brewery
(0 mile)

14) La Bodega Restaurant and Tapas Bar
(1 mile)

15) Mahones was Malone's Sports Grill
(1 mile)

16) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(1 mile)

17) Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited
(1 mile)

18) Dockside Restaurant and Brewing Company
(1 mile)

19) Bridges Restaurant
(1 mile)

20) RandB Brewing Company
(2 miles)

21) Storm Brewing, LTD
(2 miles)

22) Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar
(2 miles)

23) Stamps Landing
(2 miles)

24) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(2 miles)

25) Bimini
(2 miles)

26) The Mill Marine Bistro
(2 miles)

27) The Calling Public House
(2 miles)

28) Dover Arms
(2 miles)

29) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(3 miles)

30) Pemberton Station Pub
(3 miles)

31) Sailor Hagar's Brew Pub
(3 miles)

32) Rusty Gull
(4 miles)

33) Queens Cross Neighbourhood Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Diana's Luxury B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) 1188 HOWE STREET EXECUTIVE RES
2) ASTON ROSELLEN STES AT STANLEY
3) BARCLAY HOTEL
4) BARCLAY HOUSE B AND B
5) BEST WESTERN CHATEAU GRANVILLE
6) BEST WESTERN DOWNTOWN
7) BEST WESTERN SANDS BY THE SEA
8) BEST WESTERN UPTOWN VANCOUVER
9) BLUE HORIZON HOTEL
10) BOSMANS HOTEL
11) BW CAPILANO INN AND SUITES
12) CARMANA PLAZA
13) CENTURY PLAZA HOTEL & SPA
14) CITY CENTER MOTOR HOTEL
15) CLUB INTRAWEST VANCOUVER
16) COAST PLAZA HOTEL AND SUITES
17) COAST VANCOUVER AIRPORT
18) COMFORT INN AND STS NORTH VANCO
19) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN
20) CROWNE PLAZA
21) DAYS INN VANCOUVER
22) DAYS INN VANCOUVER METRO
23) DELTA VANCOUVER SUITE HOTEL
24) EMPIRE LANDMARK HOTEL
25) EXECUTIVE HOTEL DOWNTOWN
26) FAIRMONT HOTEL VANCOUVER
27) FOUR SEASONS VANCOUVER
28) GEORGIAN COURT HOTEL
29) GRANVILLE ISLAND HOTEL
30) GREENBRIER HOTEL
31) HAMPTON INN & SUITES
32) HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL
33) HYATT REGENCY VANCOUVER
34) LE SOLEIL HOTEL AND SUITES
35) LIONSGATE TRAVELODGE
36) LISTEL VANCOUVER
37) LONSDALE QUAY HOTEL
38) LUXURY RESIDENCES ON GEORGIA
39) MARRIOTT RESIDENCE INN VANCVR
40) METROPOLITAN HOTEL VANCOUVER
41) OCEANSIDE SUITE HOTEL
42) OPUS HOTEL
43) PACIFIC PALISADES
44) QUALITY INN AIRPORT
45) QUALITY INN AT FALSE CREEK
46) RAMADA HOTEL AND SUITES
47) RAMADA INN & SUITES
48) RAMADA INN NORTH SHORE
49) RAMADA LIMITED
50) RAMADA VANCOUVER CENTRE
51) RENAISSANCE HOTEL HARBOURSIDE
52) RIVIERA HOTEL
53) ROSEDALE ON ROBSON SUITE HOTEL
54) SANDMAN HOTEL DWTWN VANCOUVER
55) SHERATON VANCOUVER WALL CENTRE
56) ST REGIS HOTEL
57) SUITES AT CONFERENCE PLAZA
58) SUNSET INN & SUITES
59) SUTTON PLACE HOTEL
60) TERMINAL CITY TOWER HOTEL
61) THE FAIRMONT WATERFRONT
62) THE MERIDIAN AT 910 BEACH
63) THE WESTIN BAYSHORE RESORT AND
64) THE WESTIN GRAND VANCOUVER
65) TRAVELODGE VANCOUVER HOWE ST
66) TROPICANA STES ROBSON
67) VANCOUVER MARRIOTT PINNACLE
68) WEDGEWOOD HOTEL
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1075 W Georgia Tobacconists
2) A & L Market
3) A & M Food Market Ltd
4) A & W Restaurants
5) A & W Restaurants
6) A & W Restaurants
7) A & W Restaurants
8) A & W Restaurants
9) A & W Restaurants
10) A & W Restaurants
11) A & W Restaurants
12) A Catered Affair
13) A la Mode
14) A la Mode
15) A Taste Of India Restaurant Inc
16) A Taste Of Vietnam Restaurant Inc
17) A-1 Pizza Factory
18) AM PM Grocery Store Ltd
19) Atlantis Night Club
20) Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
21) Barclay Hotel
22) Bean So Good Bakery Cafe Inc
23) Beatty St Bar & Grill
24) Ben Z Noodle House
25) Black Dog Video
26) Blockbuster
27) Blockbuster
28) Bosman's Hotel
29) Brookfield Properties (Vancouver) Ltd
30) Budget Inn - Patricia Hotel
31) Burgoo Bistro Main St
32) Burrard Inn
33) Burrard St Deli
34) Butler Did It Catering Co The
35) C & N Backpackers Hostel
36) C Restaurant
37) Cafe De France
38) Cafe de Paris French Bistro
39) Cafe La Cantina
40) Celebrities Nightclub
41) Charlie's Fish n Chips
42) Chieu Tim Video
43) Chinatown Video
44) Chua A Asia Market
45) Cinema Happy Bats
46) Cipriano's Ristorante & Pizzeria
47) Commodore Lanes
48) Corner Suite Bistro De Luxe The
49) Crepe De France
50) Culinary Capers Catering Inc
51) D & S Bubble Tea Co Ltd
52) D J's On Pender
53) Dai Loi Video
54) Dan Sung Sa Korean Restaurant
55) Daniel Le Chocolat Belge
56) De Dutch Pannekoek House
57) De Dutch Pannekoek House
58) Deli O
59) Di Fior Gelato Enterprises Ltd
60) Dr Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden
61) Dunlevy Food Equipment Ltd
62) DVD Xpert
63) E-Mo Restaurant
64) Finest At Sea Granville Island Smokery
65) Firewood Cafe The
66) Flying Wedge Pizza Co
67) Fogg 'N' Suds Restaurants
68) G 7 Food Stop
69) G 8 Food Store
70) G B Market
71) G Sports Bar & Grill
72) Georgia Video
73) GH Restaurant
74) Gigi's Pizza & Spaghetti House
75) Grade A Shakes & Seafoods Restaurant Ltd
76) Happy Bats Cinema
77) Hotel Le Soleil
78) I Cafe
79) Independent Flixx
80) J R R Enterprises Ltd
81) Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
82) Kettle Of Fish A
83) King & I Restaurant
84) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
85) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
86) La Bretagne The Original Creperie Ltd
87) La Casita Mexican Restaurant
88) La Fourchette
89) La Hacienda Mexican Grill Ltd
90) La Salza Mexican Deli Inc
91) La Terrazza
92) La Tortilleria
93) Le Crocodile Restaurant
94) Le Gavroche Restaurant
95) M & A Cafe
96) M & T Grocery
97) M Bar
98) Mario's Gelati Ltd
99) Meridian At 910 Beach The
100) Milestones Grill & Bar
101) Mink A Chocolate Cafe (01) Ltd
102) Mongolie Grill-Broadway
103) N W Grocery
104) Ng Fung Enterprises Ltd
105) Nikkyu Japanese Restaurant
106) Nu
107) NW Grocery
108) Olie's Pizzeria
109) ONE-O-ONE Deli & Bulk Foods
110) Only DVD
111) Pacific Palisades Hotel- A Kimpton Hotel
112) Pan-O-Pan
113) Penthouse The
114) Plaza Club The
115) PM AM
116) Poncho's Mexican Restaurant
117) Purdy's Chocolates
118) Q S Supermarket
119) Q S Supermarket
120) Q S Supermarket
121) R & J Wedding Bell
122) R & J Wedding Bell
123) Red Room On Richards The
124) Red Square Tapas Lounge
125) Ristorante Da Gino
126) Riviera Hotel
127) RKS Video Ltd
128) Rogers
129) Rogers
130) Rogers Plus Jervis
131) Rosedale On Robson Suite Hotel
132) S Amen Food
133) S Amen Food
134) Salade de Fruits Inc
135) Salmon Shop
136) Sammy J Peppers Grill & Bar
137) Seafood City
138) Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver
139) Shato Inn Hotel
140) Shaughnessy Village
141) Shiro Japanese Restaurant
142) Soho Billiards
143) Som Visao 3D Ultrasound Spa and Wellness Centre
144) Sport Fishing Institute Of B C
145) Square Coffee House
146) St Clair Hotel
147) St Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Centre
148) St Regis Bar & Grill
149) St Regis Hotel
150) Stepho's Souvlaki Greek Taverna
151) Sunrise Markets
152) Sunrise Markets Inc
153) Super Choice Video Ltd
154) T & T Restaurant
155) The Reel Bulldog Video
156) Third Eye Enterprises Ltd
157) Tropicana Suites On Robson
158) V & C Oriental Restaurant
159) Vancouver Used Food Equipment Warehouse Inc
160) Video Magic Entertainment
161) Video Openhouse
162) Video World
163) W G's General Store
164) Water St Cafe
165) White Tower Restaurant Enterprises Ltd
166) Yaletown Video Ltd
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Best of the four I visited in Vancouver. Did not eat but menu looked good and there were plenty of other diners. IPA was better than the rest but still a low IBU.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Tasted the Pale, IPA, and their Porter. All three were very flavorful. The Pale and IPA were quite hoppy with nice body. The Porter had a big roasted flavor.

It's a really big place, but they've done a nice job of partitioning it out to give it an intimate feeling.

Didn't take advantage of the kitchen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Foisy Mark Foisy, Evanston, IL
(10/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The beers and food were fine, but nothing above average. If you are in Gastown, it's worth a stop, but there are better brewpubs in Vancouver.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Chicago, IL
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
If your downtown, or happen to be waiting for a crusie ship it's a convenient place to go. The food was good, althought the portions seemed small for the price. I thought the Pale Ale, IPA and Stout were good. The brown seemed OK.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
A nice place.But highly overated by the reviewers on this site.Maybe they work at the pub and or own it. Really, it's nothing special. But it's not bad either. It's more like a restaurant than a pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tara tara, Coquitlam, BC
(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I really enjoyed my visit to this top notch brewpub. The service and decor were top notch, the food was delicious and the beer very good. Foodwise, I ordered chicken wings, a salmon salad, and the key lime pie, all were fresh and good. My favorite beers were the Lion Lager and the IPA, which were distinctly delicious in their styles. I liked the others but they were not as memorable. I wanted to taste the stout after reading about it here but it was not available in favor of a porter they were doing. The porter was okay, but I would have preferred the stout. This was a delightful place and overall I highly recommend it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Stopped in for a light lunch and to try the beers. An excellent cross section of the typical brewpub beer styles. The seasonal was a pumpkin ale(best I've ever had). Service was quick and friendly. Definitely worth a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Simmer John Simmer, Lacey, WA
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was starting a 7-day cruise from Vancouver, I had six hours to waste in Vancouver before our ship set sail. Found Steamworks was driving from the airport to the ship docks, it was easy to walk to their location. Started out with Cascadia Cream ale, everything you wanted in smooth cream ale. Second I tried their Empress IPA was just above average. But the final beer I tried was Heroica Oatmeal Stout, which would get me to return anytime. Also the staff at Steamworks where great, Duncan the bartender was friendly and had alot of knowledge of all the beers. The Steamworks building was great with an unbelievable downstairs and kitchen area, the manager even gave me a tour of all floors of this fine establishment. If you are starting a cruise in Vancouver and have some free time make Steamworks a must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce J. Dana Bruce J. Dana, Fort Worth, TX
(10/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What I nice brewpub! Great view of the ocean and the nearby Gaslight District. My wife and I had the Stout, Nutbrown Ale, Porter and Cream Ale. They were all crafted well and tasted great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
A wide range of beer styles, and each one right on. Crisp kolsch, excellent bavarian weizen, bitter IPA, etc. Broad menu, good food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Gros Bryan Gros, Oakland, CA
(05/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We had a wonderful meal there on the night before our Alaskan cruise. The beers are outstanding, the food was great, and the service impeccable. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, uNION, NJ
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I returned to Steamworks for dinner while in town for the Molson Indy. I'm more in love with the place..

They were out of the Oatmeal Stout (despite a board that said it was on tap) so I tried the recommended Porter. It was very nice, unsually creamy with a nice malt (and a little chocolate?) flavor.

I paired it with the lamb tenderloin which was wonderful.

Forget Granville Island and Yaletown. This is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
This was a pleasant surprise I stumbled upon while cathcing a jazz performance in Gastown.

There are some nice comfortable chairs to relax in with beautiful views of Coal Harbor/Burrard Inlet and the surrounding coastal mountains.

I tried three different ales -- hefe weizen, IPA and stout. The hefe was a nice Belgian-style wit. The IPA was the typical northwest-style (abundunt Cascade hops), but with slightly better malt balance. The stout was a dry stout with a nice roasted quality that got better as it warmed (I think they served it just a tad too cool).

I had a nice Asian saled with a nice balanced satay vinagrette.

I plan on returning during the Molson Indy weekend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A very good brewery! I tried the sampler... Skinny Tire Hefeweizen-A crisp, refreshing beer that was among the best Weizens that I've had. Signiture Pale-Very good. Slightly malty with a spicy finish. Empress IPA-Full bodied flavor, slightly bitter and malty. Nirvana Nut Brown Ale-If there is any reason to frequent this place, its for this beer. Awesome!! Heroica Oatmeal Stout-It has a dry, roasted flavor to it. Very good!

Definetely worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is probably the best brewpub I have been to in North America. The view of the mountains and all the planes taking off in the harbor is spectacular. The beers, in my opinion were all distinct, full bodied and flavorful. I especially liked their cream ale and stout. Both beers had heads and velvety mouthfeel that seemed to last forever. The ambience was nice with a good mix of friendly locals and tourists. The staff seemed very genuine, nice and helpful. And the food was way above the usual pub fare served at most brewpubs. Even if I wasn't a beer nut I would go back for the food alone. It was interesting and original and great value for the price. Overall, I was very impressed and and would go out of my way to visit Steamworks again if I was in the Pacific Northwest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review David Southam, New York, NY
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Lousy N/A
I figured the location would be a great one, people pretty much picking your pockets, the staff that is. Beer was OK, a little on the off side, the Port tasted like old sweat socks, so I switched to the IPA...then I wondered who pissed in me glass??? Enough was enough, I was on the verge of being sick.The staff were a bunch of wankers,some kid dumped water in my lap, I almost gave him a hiding, though he looked like too much of a wimpy girl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Mcfilipiper Peter Mcfilipiper, Glasgow, SC
(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Best brewpub we have been to in Vancouver. Good beer selection and very good food. Comfortable atmosphere with mix of locals and tourists. Try the Belgian ale and porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Lucas Jay Lucas, Eastsound, WA
(01/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Very nice and comfortable place, get the lounge chairs by the fireplace in the winter. I tried the winter brew, it was good, but a little over powering with allspice (?). The IPA was the best but not as hoppy as I like my IPA's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Greiner Vince Greiner, Lawrenceville, GA
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
my personal fave in vancouver.great english style ipa.food is alway good,and service friendly.a must stop if a fan of quality brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great
I've been here a few times while staying at the Pan Pacific in Vancouver. Its worth the short walk from anywhere around Gastown. Its the only Canadian BP I've been to. There isn't much of a selection of beers, but I enjoyed the Brown Ale quite a bit. Atmosphere is good, service is a little slow, and the burgers are great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Austin Hart Austin Hart, Troutdale, OR
(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Pretty good place to relax. Crowded at lunch time. Food was pretty good, prices were avg. for Vancouver.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Charlotte, NC
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
There are some seriously hot servers here...especially Dylan (I think)...any girls want somewhere to go for eye candy this is it! Great beer...maybe that had an effect on my views of the men though lol!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Vancouver, BC
(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Kind of the yuppie BP, but good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Very comfy, not too noisy (we were there on a Saturday after 11pm), not too crowded. Weiss Beer i tasted there was so flavoury and perfect, even my girlfriend who generally doesn't like beer drank half a glass and was very impressed by the flavour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ilia B. Ilia B., Burnaby, BC
(03/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
We come to Steamworks now and then for department lunches, and are always treated very well. The service is casual - dare I say 'hip?' or do I date myself? and they are very good with remembering group orders accurately. They were able to modify some lunches to fit with particular diets. The TV's are a little loud for lunchtime, but the library on the top floor more than made up for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Vancouver, BC
(12/13/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.417 seconds) 21:28:29 54.167.244.71, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS