PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Yaletown Brewing Company - Vancouver, BC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 08:15 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > BC > Vancouver > Yaletown Brewing Company
Yaletown Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Yaletown Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
1111 Mainland Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2T9
Canada
(604) 681-2739
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for British Columbia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Yaletown Brewing Company
29 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(33 within 5 miles)
1) Shark Club
(0 mile)

2) Picadilly Hotel
(0 mile)

3) Niagara Hotel
(0 mile)

4) Irish Heather
(0 mile)

5) Chambar
(0 mile)

6) Bull Dog Café
(0 mile)

7) Blarney Stone
(0 mile)

8) Bar None
(0 mile)

9) Steamworks Brewing Company
(0 mile)

10) Doolin's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

11) Rosie's On Robson
(0 mile)

12) Kingston Taphouse and Grille
(0 mile)

13) Dix BBQ and Brewery
(0 mile)

14) La Bodega Restaurant and Tapas Bar
(1 mile)

15) Mahones was Malone's Sports Grill
(1 mile)

16) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(1 mile)

17) Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited
(1 mile)

18) Dockside Restaurant and Brewing Company
(1 mile)

19) Bridges Restaurant
(1 mile)

20) RandB Brewing Company
(2 miles)

21) Storm Brewing, LTD
(2 miles)

22) Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar
(2 miles)

23) Stamps Landing
(2 miles)

24) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(2 miles)

25) Bimini
(2 miles)

26) The Mill Marine Bistro
(2 miles)

27) The Calling Public House
(2 miles)

28) Dover Arms
(2 miles)

29) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(3 miles)

30) Pemberton Station Pub
(3 miles)

31) Sailor Hagar's Brew Pub
(3 miles)

32) Rusty Gull
(4 miles)

33) Queens Cross Neighbourhood Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Diana's Luxury B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) 1188 HOWE STREET EXECUTIVE RES
2) ASTON ROSELLEN STES AT STANLEY
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1075 W Georgia Tobacconists
2) A & L Market
3) A & M Food Market Ltd
4) A & W Restaurants
5) A & W Restaurants
6) A & W Restaurants
7) A & W Restaurants
8) A & W Restaurants
9) A & W Restaurants
10) A & W Restaurants
11) A & W Restaurants
12) A Catered Affair
13) A la Mode
14) A la Mode
15) A Taste Of India Restaurant Inc
16) A Taste Of Vietnam Restaurant Inc
17) A-1 Pizza Factory
18) AM PM Grocery Store Ltd
19) Atlantis Night Club
20) Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
21) Barclay Hotel
22) Bean So Good Bakery Cafe Inc
23) Beatty St Bar & Grill
24) Ben Z Noodle House
25) Black Dog Video
26) Blockbuster
27) Blockbuster
28) Bosman's Hotel
29) Brookfield Properties (Vancouver) Ltd
30) Budget Inn - Patricia Hotel
31) Burgoo Bistro Main St
32) Burrard Inn
33) Burrard St Deli
34) Butler Did It Catering Co The
35) C & N Backpackers Hostel
36) C Restaurant
37) Cafe De France
38) Cafe de Paris French Bistro
39) Cafe La Cantina
40) Celebrities Nightclub
41) Charlie's Fish n Chips
42) Chieu Tim Video
43) Chinatown Video
44) Chua A Asia Market
45) Cinema Happy Bats
46) Cipriano's Ristorante & Pizzeria
47) Commodore Lanes
48) Corner Suite Bistro De Luxe The
49) Crepe De France
50) Culinary Capers Catering Inc
51) D & S Bubble Tea Co Ltd
52) D J's On Pender
53) Dai Loi Video
54) Dan Sung Sa Korean Restaurant
55) Daniel Le Chocolat Belge
56) De Dutch Pannekoek House
57) De Dutch Pannekoek House
58) Deli O
59) Di Fior Gelato Enterprises Ltd
60) Dr Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden
61) Dunlevy Food Equipment Ltd
62) DVD Xpert
63) E-Mo Restaurant
64) Finest At Sea Granville Island Smokery
65) Firewood Cafe The
66) Flying Wedge Pizza Co
67) Fogg 'N' Suds Restaurants
68) G 7 Food Stop
69) G 8 Food Store
70) G B Market
71) G Sports Bar & Grill
72) Georgia Video
73) GH Restaurant
74) Gigi's Pizza & Spaghetti House
75) Grade A Shakes & Seafoods Restaurant Ltd
76) Happy Bats Cinema
77) Hotel Le Soleil
78) I Cafe
79) Independent Flixx
80) J R R Enterprises Ltd
81) Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
82) Kettle Of Fish A
83) King & I Restaurant
84) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
85) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
86) La Bretagne The Original Creperie Ltd
87) La Casita Mexican Restaurant
88) La Fourchette
89) La Hacienda Mexican Grill Ltd
90) La Salza Mexican Deli Inc
91) La Terrazza
92) La Tortilleria
93) Le Crocodile Restaurant
94) Le Gavroche Restaurant
95) M & A Cafe
96) M & T Grocery
97) M Bar
98) Mario's Gelati Ltd
99) Meridian At 910 Beach The
100) Milestones Grill & Bar
101) Mink A Chocolate Cafe (01) Ltd
102) Mongolie Grill-Broadway
103) N W Grocery
104) Ng Fung Enterprises Ltd
105) Nikkyu Japanese Restaurant
106) Nu
107) NW Grocery
108) Olie's Pizzeria
109) ONE-O-ONE Deli & Bulk Foods
110) Only DVD
111) Pacific Palisades Hotel- A Kimpton Hotel
112) Pan-O-Pan
113) Penthouse The
114) Plaza Club The
115) PM AM
116) Poncho's Mexican Restaurant
117) Purdy's Chocolates
118) Q S Supermarket
119) Q S Supermarket
120) Q S Supermarket
121) R & J Wedding Bell
122) R & J Wedding Bell
123) Red Room On Richards The
124) Red Square Tapas Lounge
125) Ristorante Da Gino
126) Riviera Hotel
127) RKS Video Ltd
128) Rogers
129) Rogers
130) Rogers Plus Jervis
131) Rosedale On Robson Suite Hotel
132) S Amen Food
133) S Amen Food
134) Salade de Fruits Inc
135) Salmon Shop
136) Sammy J Peppers Grill & Bar
137) Seafood City
138) Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver
139) Shato Inn Hotel
140) Shaughnessy Village
141) Shiro Japanese Restaurant
142) Soho Billiards
143) Som Visao 3D Ultrasound Spa and Wellness Centre
144) Sport Fishing Institute Of B C
145) Square Coffee House
146) St Clair Hotel
147) St Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Centre
148) St Regis Bar & Grill
149) St Regis Hotel
150) Stepho's Souvlaki Greek Taverna
151) Sunrise Markets
152) Sunrise Markets Inc
153) Super Choice Video Ltd
154) T & T Restaurant
155) The Reel Bulldog Video
156) Third Eye Enterprises Ltd
157) Tropicana Suites On Robson
158) V & C Oriental Restaurant
159) Vancouver Used Food Equipment Warehouse Inc
160) Video Magic Entertainment
161) Video Openhouse
162) Video World
163) W G's General Store
164) Water St Cafe
165) White Tower Restaurant Enterprises Ltd
166) Yaletown Video Ltd
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
This is an overpriced tourist joint. $9.25 for a pint of their mediocre IPA. The only reason to visit is to say you went there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Great So So
The new menu is horrible. They are trying to be a "gourmet pub", it doesn't work. This is an oxymoron. Make a decision; are you a pub? or a fine dining restaurant? The food is horrible and the new dinner selections are missing the mark. Trying to be gourmet food but tasting horrible. Gourmet menu ideas made by pub style cooks. I won't go back. This used to be one of my favorite restaurants as I live just down the street but with this new menu change I don't think I'll go back. Even the pizzas which used to make this place so great are no good anymore. It's a shame because they've really ruined a good thing here. It is noticeable in the way others are receiving the new menu as well. Used to be jammed all the time and now it is easy to get a table anytime. Even the ambiance is suffering. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time or money here. The bar side is alright but boo to the menu!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marnie Marnie, Vancouver, BC
(03/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
The best pint of 'proper' beer in Vancouver, the Yippee IPA that is. Not your cold, weak, tastless, so called trendy gassy stuff served up by a lot of establishments. We British appreciate a decent brew and Yippee IPA is one of them. I think better than Empress at Steamworks. Bar staff I have found very friendly, normally I am there around mid afternoon. Food I haven't tried but have not heard any bad reports. Definitely one worth seeking out and I'd recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BRUCE BOUGOURD BRUCE BOUGOURD, Poole, DO
(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
After looking at the other comments, its clear I am not the most experienced beer critic around but I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Yaletown.

The food was good, much better than the other eating establishments that we had visited throughout the week.

We had great service. We were seated quickly and the waitress was quick to bring drinks and take our order. She was friendly and helpful in making sure we made the right menu selection. Perhaps it was because we arrived in the early afternoon and it was not busy.

Because it was such a beautiful day (Aug '07), we really liked the way the restaurant was opened to the outdoors yet still private and comfortable.

Again we enjoyed our meal and most of all the beer. We had the "Hefe" and the "Stout", I don't like the heavier beers as much, and because we were walking we were able to down a few extra for the road.

When we go back to Vancouver we will definitely be visiting the Yaletown Brewing Co again, one of the best eating experiences we had in BC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris O'Rourke Chris O'Rourke, Lafayette, CA
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
This is a busy place on a Sunday evening, but the staff generally gets excellent marks for their helpfulness and good cheer. They were certainly friendly to children and I would heartily recommend them for any family meal. The beer selection was as diverse as any we encountered in BC and generally true to style although the darker beers could have a bit more backbone. Nothing here would make me say that it must be sought out unless you are traveling with a family. Nonetheless, it is a fine brewpub to which I would return and I wish it were in my town. My rating of the beer quality is not a knock on the beer, it was what I expected from a brewpub, but to score higher it needs to be "great." I will give the brewer credit for making one memorable beer, a "Brown Indian Pale Ale," which was actually quite good and the reason I almost gave this a "great" rating.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Irvine Bob Irvine, Athena, OR
(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
In my mind this one is the number 2 brewpub in Vancouver behind Dix (owned by the same company). They had a good selection of seasonals that were well done. I didn't bother with the standard beers (like Red Truck), but others at the table said they were average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Chicago, IL
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great N/A
Despite my previous comments, I did revisit Yaletown for lunch on 6/29.

I retried the Bavarian style wheat beer. It was much nicer and flavorful than my previous visit. Also tried teh Nut Brown and the IPA. The IPA is balanced with a mild hoppiness. The Brown was a traditional English style -- malty with subtle sweetness. Also tried a Belgian Grand Cru which was a little disappointing. Obviously used Belgian yeast, but the flavor was evident early to the nose, but vanished quickly on the tongue.

I enjoyed a nice Tuna Salad Nicoise. Nice chunks of rare tuna with a lightly dressed greens, potatoes, green beans.

The bartender was very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about beer. Tipped me off to a couple of other beers to try while in town. He even went so far as to arrange a little tour of their brewing facilities with their brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
The Pale Ale and Nut Brown were my favorites. What a fun place to come across. We always made it one of our stops when we were in town with the Champ Car race team. Give this place a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L de Leon L de Leon, Redlands, CA
(05/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Made two trips to Yaletown Brewing during the Molson Indy and had two very different service experiences.

First, the beer. I would agree with Mr. Lester that their beers are rather insipid. I tired the Wheat, Red Brick bitter and the IPA (cask conditioned). All were drinkable, but rather simple and tame. The IPA had very low hoppiness. And the wheat had little evidence of the Bavarian hops/yeast they claimed.

On both trips I sat at the bar. On my first trip the service was very good despite the fact that it was extremely busy. There was one bartender who was supporting the table wait staff and she was worth watching. She was the queen of multi-tasking and earned every penny she made -- mixing drinks and serving beers. I get exhauted watching her. As for the food, I had the crab cake appetizer which was mostly breading and little crab.

The second visit I went back for dinner to try their Hunter Chicken. I sat at the bar for a good 5-10 minutes and the bartender did everything, except acknowledge my existence -- he cleaned glasses, chatted up a girl at the bar, etc. Needless to say I left.

While this place is extremely popular and is in a trendy neighborhood, I'm not sure it has much to do with the beer. As I sat at the bar watching the bartenders work, they were making a significant number of mixed drinks -- more than I have ever witnessed in a brewpub (50%+).

I have no reason to return based on these visits. I'll go back to Steamworks in Gastown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Lousy So So
Overall, YB has a great atmosphere. The waiters are very unfriendly. Looks like they don't even want to be there. It took forever for a waiter to come to our table. You order one drink and they don't come back all night so you can order more. We all kept saying to each other we sure need another drink. Needless to say, we all walked out rather DRY!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Vancouver, BC
(04/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Great food, great beer. But the serving wenches are catty and think they're waaay hotter than they really are. The only hot ones are the hostesses that stand behind the desk at the front door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hongcouver, BC
(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Awesome! Good
The best beer was the wheat, the rest were strangely insipid. The food was great, the layout awesome and the hostess and waitresses were stunning!

Worth a side trip. Vancouver is an awesome place!

A great place to sit outside (choice of sun or shade) and enjoy the day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy Good
When I went there all seemed to start off good, the hostess got us a seat right away and the waiter seemed to be a good guy, sadly though it went downhill and fast. It took almost half an hour to get a water, the appetizer was quick but it took almost an hour to get our pizza while I watched other tables that sat down way after us get their food first. I sat with an empty beer glass for another half hour before someone came over to see if they could take the empty glass. When I asked the waiter where my food was he simply stated that I would get it when it was ready, when I asked him why other tables were getting their food he just said again that I would get my food eventually. We finally got our food after I complained, but in exchange for getting my food and complaining we also got a pissy waiter for the rest of the night. I won't ever go there again, thanks for the memorable last night of my vacation!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
How could a restaurant with this quality of beer, food, service, and ambiance produce a beer glass of such profound commercial mediocrity that I, a beer glass collector would not even consider stealing it. Never mind. Go and enjoy the establishment, its beer and the neighborhood.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review William Mayer, NYC & Blooming Grove, NY
(02/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good So So
This brewpub has a great location in trendy Yaletown and offers a nice patio to check out the street action. Unfortunately, the beer one comes here to drink results in disappointment. The Red Brick Bitter was out on the day of my visit ("too bad eh, it's the best one...") but the six beers which were available were consistently weak in body and character. I was really hoping for better. The good news is the menu, which is very interesting and offers some very good food apart from the normal brewpub experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Loew Brian Loew, Riverside, CA
(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
the red brick bitter is a personal favorite.not over the top, but will still get your attention.an essential stop everytime im in vancouver

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, anacortes, WA
(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Great big place in the transitioning Yaletown area. Walkable from Steamworks in the summer. WE had one of the best Wheat beers we have had. Loved every ounce. Good pizzas

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, Wexford, PA
(06/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Pretty nice pub in the semi-seedy Yaletown district. Beers are generally flavorful, but all seemed a bit thin bodied for their style. The Red Brick Bitter was the best of the crop, dispensed from English beer engines. A great place where you can stand by the fireplace with a pint as the rain falls outside. Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WLR WLR, Brookfield, CT
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Yaletown is a happening part of town and this brewpub has a great corner view of the action. A great big facility with lots of outside patio space. Beers were good, and the bottled beer selection is huge. To see a picture of this and other brewpubs I've taken, go to: http://NWBrewpubs.homestead.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(08/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Yaletown has great atmosphere. Great restaurants/clubs and Yaletown Brewery fits perfectly. Place always is hopping, with people easy to be around. The action was like a sports bar , but with the friendlines of a fine restaurant. Of the 6 microbreweries in Vancouver, this one's my favorite. Plus down the street is a great cigar bar for those Cubans to take back to the USA .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Skok Robert Skok, Danville, CA
(09/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I really enjoyed this place. First of all the hostess was a dangerous knockout. The ales that I tried, (IPA, Hefewiezen, & I can't remember after that...) were delicious. Food was decent, and the atmosphere was great. Nice T-shirts, I'm kicking myself for not buying one. I love Vancouver!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jiujinshan Joe Jiujinshan Joe, San Francisco Bay Area, CA
(08/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I always take my out-of-town visitors here for a beer or 3, and to eat, everyone has enjoyed it. The Sunday special of half price pizza and cut price beer is great, just don't be in a hurry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Richmond, BC
(02/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Great place for beer and food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Martin Green Martin Green, Hitchin, HE
(02/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
If you like a "sports-bar" feel with pseudo-yuppies, it's great. Otherwise, the beer is good but could be more varied. Why do people drink stuff like Molson Canadian when they go to this place?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Vancouver, BC
(01/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The Red Brick Bitter is another trip back to England. Just perfect. The local scenery, another reason to head down to Yale on weekends, if you can get in there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Gurry Steve Gurry, Surrey, BC
(12/08/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.457 seconds) 08:15:49 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS