PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Straub Brewery - Saint Mary's, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 28, 2014 @ 04:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Saint Mary's > Straub Brewery
Straub Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Straub Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.5 / 100
303 Sorg Street
Saint Mary's, PA 15857
United States
(814) 834-2875
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saint Mary's, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
20 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Coming soon: Straub Beer… in cans


bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hemlock Lodge
2) Old Charm Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE INN
2) COMFORT INN ST MARYS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Decker's Chapel
2) Weidenboerner, John E., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Almost Heaven Catering
2) Catering By Jimboi
3) Catering By Sis
4) Chinamerica Palace
5) De Lullo's Deli & Car Wash
6) Dino's Place Inc
7) Domino's Pizza
8) Don's Pizza
9) East End Tavern
10) Edgewood
11) Elk Casino
12) Fox's Pizza
13) Great Escapes Cafe
14) Green Lite Restaurant & Lounge
15) Hootinanny
16) Kersey Inn
17) Leeann's Cafe
18) Logan's Place
19) Mecca's Bar & Grill
20) Old Country Cupboard
21) Pepsi-Cola Co
22) Pizza Hut
23) Red Fern
24) Rose's Hilltop Diner
25) Station Inn
26) Village Peddler Country Store
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good ? Awesome! Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
I'M FROM CONNECTICUT BUT TRAVEL TO WESTERN PA EVERY SUMMER AND WE STOP IN ST. MARY'S TO PICK UP FIVE OR SIX CASES OF YOUR BEER BEEN DOING THAT FOR MANY YEARS HAVE ALSO TAKEN THE TOUR OF THE BREWERY. ALSO ENJOY THE FREE COUPLE FROM THE TAP HOPE IT NEVER GOES DRY THANKS CRAIG

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CRAIG B DILLMAN CRAIG B DILLMAN, BEACON FALLS, CT
(07/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Ya know, as I read through the reviews I was so pleased to see the great comments. It is true, this place has a uniqueness that you have to visit to understand. In this hyped beer era that we are in Straub's is a place you should all visit to understand. This beer is always pleasant and drinkable straight forward. Quite often fill my frig with this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A small independent brewery loaded with small town charm and old world traditions for quality and customer service. A real "hidden gem" in today's world of nationwide corporate breweries. Worth a trip to visit the "eternal" tap and chat with the employees. A trip back to simpler times!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Williamsville, NY
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
There was a brewery not far from Straub's - in DuBois, PA. They made DuBois Budweiser (yes, there was eventually a legal battle for that name, I believe DuBois was first, though) The brewery has been closed for a long time, but the building is still there near the hospital. They had an "eternal tap" that the workers could use whenever they wanted. Last time I checked, the restaurant Tommy D's in DuBois was decorated with the memorabilia from that old brewery! Just a bit of small town PA history! I'm glad you enjoy Straub's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emily Emily, Rockville, MD
(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Good Great
The beer is great if one considers the style they are making. One doesn't visit here if looking for full bodied, flavorful beers. It is well worth a visit to see how an old brewery still operates. Take the tour and taste the freshest Straub Beer you will ever have - right off the bottling line! Highly recommended!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
There are 2 words that can describe it best..."Eternal Tap". I moved from St. Mary's to go to school, and its nice to know that the bar I DJ at on the weekends, Spanky's in North Versails, sells Straubs, however only in the green bottles. I think they should go to brown to help preserve the great taste. Its nice to have a taste of home where ever you go. Thanks guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Geitner Ben Geitner, Monroeville, PA
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Y’know, with all of the attention paid to Yeungling and other old regionals, somehow this brewery got overlooked. Straub’s beer is just another premium brew, not the best, not the worst. I’d much rater have this tan a Pabst, Rheingold, Shlitz, Miller, Coors, Bud etc. It’s clean and crisp and a part of history. God bless you Straub’s brewery! May you live on eternally, briging your small town cham to the hundreds... nay, thousands that love you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Nothing spectatular. Just a good, clean, simple beer. Very refreshing. If you buy it from a distributer, make sure it's fresh

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Squidly Squidly, Slippery Rock, PA
(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
A great Brew from Pennsylvania, and a great town!! I especially enjoy having a few with the only beerman "Terry Straub". Keep up the fantastic work. I appriciate it emencially.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Karg R. Karg, Seneca, PA
(07/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron K. Ron K., Seneca, PA
(07/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello, i am underage and i cant drink but i just wanted to say hi to all the people at Straub beer and that my name is Matt Straub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Matt Straub, Huntington, NY
(02/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
It is a "nice" beer with a crisp clean taste with a nice finish. It goes down easy and has just a little of that hop bite that separates "Real Beer" from the mass produced swill. I plan business trip that allow "detour" to the eternal tap and to purchase a case or two

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Robert, Johnson, NJ
(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Awesome!
The beer has no salt, preservatives or sugar added and it tastes great. Visit the brewery during working hours and buy fresh cases there. Be sure to stop at the Bavarian Inn in St. Marys to have a cold draft.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(03/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
I love this place, and you should DEFINITELY visit if you find yourself within 50 miles of the place. It is the country's smallest surviving pre-Prohibition brewery, and they only make Straub (in brown and green bottles) and Straub Light. Dan Straub thinks deeply about where his brewery fits in a changing industry, and has managed to keep his local market strong. Straub is one of the few regional breweries that is running at or near capacity; Yuengling is the only other one I'm aware of. The brewery tour is magnificently simple, and you can sometimes taste a beer right off the line, pre-pasteurization. It just doesn't get fresher than that. You can also get a free beer from the Eternal Tap, a tap in the wall inside the brewery where you can have a beer, as long as you wash your own glass afterwards. This self-service tap is, to my knowledge, unique in America. Straub beer? It's clean, it's refreshing, it's one of my favorite mainstream American lagers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew "Pennsylvania Breweries" Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(10/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Sherry Tim Sherry, St. Marys, PA
(04/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
Best light around

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A N/A
Since I am a native of St.Marys and grew up drinking "Greenies", I had to rate the Brewery.The best part of the Brewery is that you can taste test all throughout the day.I wish I were home right now to crack one open!I'm Air Force serving in Mountain Home,Idaho so I don't get home as much as I'd like. P.S. Find the bar in town that serves "greenies by a man nicknamed Greenie.Prost!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Devin Weber Devin Weber, Boise, ID
(10/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
If you just happen to find yourself in St. Marys, Pennsylvania try stopping for a quick look at the brewery. There is not much there and definitely not worth a special trip. If you are a collector of beer "Nostalgia" you might find it hard to coax this company into opening their small case of items. If you would like to try Straub Beer my recommendation is you find somewhere else besides the brewery to taste it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Peters Mike Peters, Harrisburg, PA
(03/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
I recently vacationed in Ridgeway, a nearby community to Straub. I love the beer and the price. Don't change anything, your beer is awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Stewart Eric Stewart, Hermitage, PA
(03/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
a long time brewery in the area, brew only one beer that I know of, a light bodied lager - has a real following in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Olean, NY
(01/02/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.381 seconds) 04:27:14 54.196.198.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS