PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Yuengling - Pottsville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 09:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pottsville > Yuengling
Yuengling Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Yuengling
Overall: Great    Score: 78.4 / 100
500 Mahantongo Street
Pottsville, PA 17901
United States
(570) 622-4141
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pottsville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Yuengling
67 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Angel Rose
2) Kemforts Cottage & Christmas
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cloud Home
2) O'Hara, John, House
3) Patterson, Burd, House
4) Pottsville Armory
5) Yuengling, D. G., and Son Brewing Complex
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 901 Pub
2) Amigos Mexican Grill
3) Ann Wynn Restaurant
4) Beauregard's Cafe
5) Blu Tavern Restaurant & Motel
6) Blu Tavern Restaurant & Motel
7) Brass Tap Tavern
8) Brennan's Center City Beverage
9) C C's
10) C J's Family Restaurant
11) Casa De Tellez Restaurant
12) Charlie's Pizza & Sub Shop
13) China Inn
14) Choices Restaurant
15) Christy Joy Catering Svc
16) Club 18
17) Curran Hotel
18) De Angelo's
19) Dimaggio Pizza
20) Emil Rushanan Catering Svc
21) Famous
22) Frank'n'burger
23) Gallery Restaurant
24) Garfield Diner
25) Goodfellas Cafe Inc
26) Grill Seekers
27) Hillcrest Catering
28) Hong Kong Buffet
29) Hong Kong Chinese Restaurant
30) Hong Kong Restaurant
31) House Of China
32) J & B's Market & Deli
33) J & S Bar & Grill
34) K & K Market & Deli
35) King Chinese Restaurant
36) Lazarchick Cafe
37) Market Street Deli
38) Memory Lane Bar & Grill
39) Miners Tavern LLC Bar
40) Mountainside Inn
41) P & T Phase II
42) Palermo Pizza & Restaurant
43) Pick-A-Deli
44) Pizza Hut
45) Plaza Lounge
46) Pottsville Pizzeria
47) Roma Pizzeria
48) Ruby Tuesday
49) Sage Coffeehouse & Tea Garden
50) Scanlan Beverage
51) St Nicholas Hall
52) Station House Inc
53) Steve & Mary's Family Rstrnt
54) Steve's Pizzeria
55) Subba Bubba Sandwich Shop
56) Subs N Such
57) Substation BBQ & Deli
58) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
59) Sweets-N-Such
60) Tassone's Sub & Beer
61) Trolley Car Bar
62) Washington Hotel
63) Wynn Ann Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Finally made it to Pottsville after years of talking about it. Enjoyed the tour of the caves and the old historic building. Besides the place being historic and the caves, the rest of the tour lacked anything interesting. Not a huge fan of Yuengling beer, so samples are just ok for me. A must-do tour if you are a beer lover!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Finally made the trip to Pottsville to tour the old Yuengling brewery. A step back in time & a real treat. A nice little museum display of artifacts along with an informative tour. Getting to go down into the lagering caves alone was worth the 4 hour drive. If you like beer & brewery history you really should make this pilgrimage to America's oldest brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Miller Bill Miller, Denton, MD
(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
I grew up in germany and I,ve been drinking beer for over 40 years. I also, have tasted 100,s of microbrews all over this country and europe.Yeunglig products are not the best, but theycertainly are not the best, nor are they the worst, or for that matter are they bad at all. Basically, I find it as good as many and better than average. Considering the size of the brewry, that is a feat to admire. It seems some people think that small microbrews are better simply by being a microbrew. That's not even close to being true. Unfortunatly, many of micros are inconsistent and brew beers aimed at small audiences. That merely means different, not better. The real test is wether the tradional amber, lager, porter, pilsner, etc is palatable time and time again. Yeungling is, it can be drunk daily and truely enjoyed. I have often proven my point to my microbrew afficianados in blind beer tastes, by mixing in a yeungling along with some well touted microws. Yeungling never cme in last and typically was rated from average to very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul353 paul353, alexandra , VA
(11/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good
I can't say much about selection having had the lager and the black and tan. I had the lager on tap in NYC so should have been fairly fresh. A nice lager but not extraordinary in any way. A nice end to a long day of walking. I picked up a bottle of black and tan and that bumps up the quality rating to great. I would definitely be adding that one to the rotation at home if available in the Midwest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
All I have to say is that I want a Lager and people know that I mean a Yuengling Lager. I grew up with it and I still drink it all the time today.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Burcik Scott Burcik, Cressona, PA
(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Yuengling Black & Tan is the best damn beer I've ever drank on a regular bassis. There are some microbrews that are a little better. Only thing is not many fokes drink it. So, to insure freshness you need to pick one store to buy from. That way you know the stock gets rotated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bobby (Bass Player for KRONNIX) Bobby (Bass Player for KRONNIX), Ridgely, MD
(02/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"Get your bad beer off the market or I will nover buy your beer a again. you have had skunk beer on the market for at least 2 month"

I'm sure Yuengling browses sites like Pubcrawler looking for insightful comments like this. Why not post them where they might do some good, like the distributor or the brewery themselves? yawn

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jai Jai, Boston, MA
(01/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A
Yuengling porter is the best of a losing line of industrial made beer. It's the only porter available here in NJ that won't cost you alung for a six pack. I brew my own and can definitely recommend this porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom hastings tom hastings, bayonne, NJ
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So
The only redeeming feature of this place is that it's the oldest continouously operating brewery in America. It is Pennsylvania's answer to, say, Miller Brewing Company, as if an aswer were needed. Much like Rolling Rock on the other end of the state, Yuengling's reputation as a "quality" beer is greatly exaggerated, though both are kind of tolerable if nothing else is handy. Don't trip over yourself (or anyone else for that matter) trying to get your hands on any Yuengling products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(01/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
i grew up on this beer and after a while i got tired of drinking the lager. i used to drink the black and tan in college and thats when i began to realize i love beers beyond the big guys. the chesterfield is an easy to drink beverage and one of their better beers. PA people guzzle this stuff and thats better to see that over coors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I grew up drinking their Porter. Pretty good beer when compared to the mass produced swill listed previously. For the price, it's pretty good but probably won't hold up as well against the killer microbrew... ps. william, sorry you lost bro! Try to cheer up...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(05/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy
Yuengling Beer will never compete with the big dogs! Their beers can only compete with the Homebrew's. Yuengling Lager is too skunked! Premium taste like urine. So drink a real beer, Bud, Coors etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William Hung William Hung, Pottsville, PA
(05/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent mass produced beer, a small brewery still but not a micro. Beer is very good and very consistant. They produce 7 different beers to fit every taste. The tour is great and free, 2 free 8oz tastes after the tour is the icing on the cake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Cruise Steve Cruise, Lansdale, PA
(01/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Get your bad beer off the market or I will nover buy your beer a again. you have had skunk beer on the market for at least 2 month

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, ickesburg, PA
(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A Good
Yuengling products are pedestrian at best. All the beers make ample use of grain adjuncts. It's cool that they're from Pottsville, that they're the oldest brewery in America, sure, but the beer is just good old American swill. It's not even the top 10 brewery in *Pennsylvania* (Victory, Yards, ABC, Troegs, Weyerbacher, . . .). You'd think that you'd have to actually know something about beer in order to post here. Yeesh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Bethlehem, PA
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The oldest brewery in America and they still make a Great beer. The black and tan is fantastic. The Lager goes above the norm. A beer to relish!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Sarno Brian Sarno, Limestone, TN
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Air Force stole me from my hometown of Pittsburgh, Pa and I really miss getting knarly with a case of Yeungling. I'm makin mom send me some immediately.......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm a neophyte when it comes to drinking beer (born in 1982), but Yuengling Lager is hands down the best I've tried yet. A lot of afficianados complain about it's lack of hop flavor, but I despise the acrid bitter flavor that heavy use of hops can bring, so I say keep leave the lager alone. Don't change a thing, it's perfect! Create a new variety if you want to satisfy the people who think it's just a cut above Bud and Coors and leave the lager just alone. And keep the green bottles too! The only thing I want changed is the availablity. It's everywhere on my home turf in central Jersey now, but I couldn't get it in CA this summer and it's a shame so many people are missing out. Expand as fast as you can without compromising your quality. And the price is great where I am too. I was shocked to find it's even cheaper than Bud/Coors/Miller

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hillsborough, NJ
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Visited Horsham from Southeast North Carolina about a year ago and saw a road sign for Pottsville, PA. Had to go once I saw that. EVERY bar around here stocks Yuengling and if they don't, they don't get much business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Whiteville, NC
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Good
I,LL DRINK YUENGLING BEFORE ANYTHING THANK GOD !!!!!!! FROM POTTSVILLE , PA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GeorSlc GeorSlc, St clair, PA
(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A N/A
I tried your beer(TRADITIONAL LAGER)while vacationing in N.Carolina.I am back in Columbus,Oh and have been unable to find it any where.Do you have a distributor in central Ohio?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review PAUL GRIFFITH, COLUMBUS, OH
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!
I live in Naperville, Illinois, a suburb of 150,000, 30 miles west of downtown Chicago. Where can we purchase your Black & Tan in this area?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Neyra Henry Neyra, Naperville,, IL
(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
I enjoy the pub crawler, and love to try new beers presented to me on the website. I would also like to say that Yeungling Premium is the best beer i ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Miller John Miller, Tamaqua, PA
(01/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A
During a recent Flyers visit, I made a beeline to the second floor Yuengling pavilion and guess what? No "Chet"! B&T, Lager, and -Light! You guys need to get with it and give a tip o' the hat to the products that kept the lights on during the middle of the last century. A glass of fresh Chesterfield would give the micro product downstairs a run for its money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
yuengling lager is the best beer and only beer i drink during the summer month i go to the reading phillies games relax have a few beers and whatch a good ballgame and dont forget the yard of beer night its awesome. thanks yeungling your the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from leroy&debra maurer leroy&debra maurer, orwigsburg, PA
(01/01/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.377 seconds) 09:10:12 50.16.130.188, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS