PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lancaster Brewing Company - Lancaster, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 09:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lancaster > Lancaster Brewing Company
Lancaster Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Lancaster Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
209 North Plum Street
Lancaster, PA 17603
United States
(717) 391-6258
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lancaster, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lancaster Brewing Company
131 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Brendee's Cafe
(0 mile)

2) Doc Holliday's Steakhouse and Saloon
(0 mile)

3) The Lancaster Dispensing Company
(0 mile)

4) Strawberry Hill Restaurant
(0 mile)

5) Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
(0 mile)

6) The Brickyard
(0 mile)

7) The Fridge
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Blue Rock Bed & Breakfast
2) Hollinger House B & B
3) Lovelace Manor
4) Pheasant Run Farm B & B
5) Rock-A-Bye Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMISH COUNTRY TRAVELODGE
2) BW EDEN RESORT AND SUITES
3) BW THE INN AT MILLERSVILLE
4) COMFORT INN SHERWOOD KNOLL
5) DAYS INN LANCASTER PA
6) FAIRFIELD INN LANCASTER
7) HILTON GARDEN INN LANCASTER
8) MAINSTAY SUITES MOUNTVILLE
9) SLEEP INN MOUNTVILLE
10) WESTFIELD INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) American/Consolidated Tobacco Companies
2) B.F. Good & Company Leaf Tobacco Warehouse
3) Basch & Fisher Tobacco Warehouse
4) Bausman Farmstead
5) Bausman Farmstead
6) Bowman, Jacob, Tobacco Warehouse
7) Brimmer, John, Tobacco Warehouse
8) Buchanan, James, House
9) Central Market
10) Conestoga Cork Works Building
11) Eisenlohr--Bayuk Tobacco Historic District
12) Ellicott, Andrew, House
13) Farmer's Southern Market
14) Follmer, Clogg and Company Umbrella Factory
15) Frey, Jacob L., Tobacco Warehouse
16) Friedman, Henry B., Tobacco Warehouse
17) Fulton Opera House
18) Germania Turnverein Building
19) Griest, W.W., Building
20) Hager Building
21) Hamilton Apartments
22) Hand, Gen. Edward, House
23) Harrisburg Avenue Tobacco Historic District
24) Hess, A. B., Cigar Factory, and Warehouses
25) Kirk Johnson Building
26) Krauskap, Henry, House, and Store
27) Lancaster Armory
28) Lancaster County Courthouse
29) Lancaster County House of Employment
30) Lancaster Crematorium
31) Lancaster Trust Company
32) Landis Mill Covered Bridge
33) Martin, B. B., Tobacco Warehouse
34) McGovern, Edward, Tobacco Warehouse
35) Miller, David H., Tobacco Warehouse
36) Milleysack, J. B. Cigar Factory
37) Montgomery, William, House
38) N. Shippen--Tobacco Avenue Historic District
39) New Era Building
40) Nissly--Stauffer Tobacco Warehouses
41) North Charlotte Street Historic District
42) North Prince Street Historic District
43) Old City Hall
44) Old Main, Goethean Hall, and Diagnothian Hall
45) Reilly Brothers and Raub Building
46) Schnader, R. K. & Sons, Tobacco Warehouse
47) Schnader, Walter, Tobacco Warehouse
48) Sherman, L. G., Tobacco Warehouse
49) Slater Cigar Company
50) Soldiers and Sailors Monument
51) Sprenger Brewery
52) Steinman Hardware Store
53) Stevens High School
54) Teller Brothers--Reed Tobacco Historic District
55) U.S. Post Office
56) Wagner's, Charlie, Cafe
57) Watt and Shand Department Store
58) West Lawn
59) Yeates, Jasper, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alampi's Cafe & Catering
2) Alley KAT Inc
3) Antonio's Pizza House
4) Arby's
5) Barn Door
6) Bird's Nest
7) Brendee's Cafe
8) Brewers' Outlet
9) Brisas Del Caribe
10) Bubba's Breakaway
11) Burger King
12) Cactus Willies Steak Buffet
13) Captain Gus's Steak Shop
14) Carlos & Charlies
15) Carryout Courier
16) Casey's Club House
17) Center City Deli
18) Chameleon Club
19) Chesapeake Crab Connection Co
20) China Garden Restaurant
21) Clermont Cafe
22) Cocina Mexicanna Inc
23) Columbia Diner
24) Country Garden 6-Pak Rstrnt
25) Dairy Queen
26) Dempsey's American Kitchen
27) Denny's
28) Devertes Deli
29) Dilworthtown Inn
30) Dominion Pizza
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Domino's Pizza
33) El Serrano
34) Famous Pizza
35) Far East Cafe
36) Fiorentino's Italian Rest/Bar
37) Friendly Greek Pizza & Bar
38) Friendly Ice Cream Corp
39) Fuddruckers
40) George Street Cafe
41) George's Restaurant & Pizza
42) Ginmiya Chinese & Japanese
43) Hong Kong Garden
44) House Of Pizza
45) Isaac's Deli & Restaurant
46) J P's Southern Bbq
47) Jack's Family Tavern
48) Jack's Family Tavern & Rstrnt
49) Jackie's Deli & Grocery
50) Java N Sweets Inc
51) Keares Restaurant Group
52) Kel's Catering
53) KFC
54) KIKI KAFE
55) Lancaster Township
56) Lanvina Vietnamese Restaurant
57) Lily's American Cafe
58) Lion's Paw Tavern
59) Luciano's Bistro
60) Luciano's Pizza & Pasta
61) Manor Plaza Restaurant
62) Manor Tavern
63) Mc Donald's
64) Mc Donald's
65) Metro Express
66) Mye's Corner Lounge
67) Napoli Pizzeria
68) New China II Restaurant
69) Nicks Pizza
70) Niko's Pizza & Grill
71) Nino's New York Style Pizza
72) Opa Sports Lounge
73) Oriental Chinese Restaurant
74) Our Daily Soup
75) P J Bar
76) Papa John's Pizza
77) Pho Thanh Thuy
78) Pizza Hut
79) Prince Of Subs
80) Purple Mug
81) Queen Street Courtyard
82) Quiznos Sub
83) Rendezvous Steak Shop
84) Rick's Place
85) Rita's Italian Ice
86) Rock Hill Tavern Inc
87) Rosa Rosa Ristorante Italiano
88) Schwans Consumer Brand
89) Senorita Burrita
90) Shamrock Cafe
91) Shogun Japanese Cuisine
92) SLL Svc LLC
93) Sloppy Janes Cafe & Deli
94) Slugger's Pizzeria
95) Smithgall's Pharmacy
96) Square One Coffee
97) Strawberry Hill Restaurant
98) Sub Shack
99) Subs & Six Packs
100) Subway Catering
101) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
102) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
105) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
106) Sugar Bowl
107) Sun Hing Chinese Restaurant
108) Sundown Lounge
109) T L C's Polish Water Ice
110) Taco Bell
111) Taste Of Lancaster LLC
112) Thomas' Campus Deli
113) Three Adelphia Pizza
114) Three Crowns Restaurant
115) Tobias S Frogg
116) Trailer Village Grocery
117) Travelodge
118) Tri-County Barbeque Catering
119) Two Cousins Pizza
120) Venice Pizza & Pasta
121) Vicky's Place
122) Villa Nova
123) Waffle House
124) Watson's Catering Concepts
125) Wendy's
126) Wings & Fins
127) Younger Brothers Breakfast
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Love the Strawberry and Hop Hog. Got a small pizza and it was good. the place was very empty and seemed to be a very local type of hang-out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Hop Hog has so much hop flavor it almost tastes green, however it has no bitterness. The very best hop laden beer I have ever tasted, bar none, and I have tasted more than a few. Usually I like to partake of two or more of a brewery's offering, but this time I stayed right on the Hop Hog all night. Good grub too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Morelli Lee Morelli, Middletown Springs, VT
(06/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My parents came up from North Carolina to spend the Holidays with us. We decided to make a trip out to the National Christmas Center to see the displays and also because my dad wanted to see the owner, Jim Morrison, who my dad has been friends with since they were kids. After the Center we decided to head into Lancaster and to visit Lancaster Brewing for a late lunch (we arrived around 230pm). We were seated and we asked what we wanted to drink. I chose the Sampler which consisted of none 4-ounce samples served on a tray showing which beer was which. I started trying them one by one starting with the Strawberry Wheat(*) and the Dunkleweizen(**+) and ending with the FranklinFest(****), the Milk Stout(****) and the relatively new Hop Hog(****+). Up until today my favorite Lancaster BC beer was the Milk Stout… but that all ended when I tasted the Hog. It’s en excellent IPA with much hops, medium malt, and no end to flavor. The other 4 beers I sampled were the Litening Lager(***+), the Gold Star Pilsner(**), the Red Rose Ale(**+) and the Amish Four Grain(**+). The last three were good but didn’t knock my socks off… but the Litening Lager was very nice. I enjoyed it very much. As far as food went… I ordered the Brewery Wings (Buffalo Style) and the Crab Cake Sandwich. The wings were OK but the sandwich was insanely good… I am not sure what everyone else ordered but I do know that everyone LOVED their food. My wife liked the Dunkleweizen, my mom liked the Litening Lager and my dad, the hop heap, loved the Hog. Overall we had a great time, the service was wonderful, the beer was awesome and I hope I don’t have to wait a year for my next visit. LBC is absolutely one of my favorite brewpubs. To date we have been here at least one a year for the past five years. I purchased a t-shirt and acquired a few labels. Thanks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My nephew has raved about this place for years, so I was happy that it fell along our Pennsylvania vacation route during the last week in June. Our dinners were quite good and service was attentive. I’d had the Amish Four Grain Pale Ale before in bottles, so I went with a pint of Franklinfest Vienna-style lager, then the Hop Hog IPA, and finally Milk Stout. All were solid beers, although the Hop Hog was not the best IPA I had on this trip. The Milk Stout, my nephew’s favorite, was a great finish to the meal. My wife and also a fellow at the next table enjoyed the Strawberry Wheat. Diners sit in full view of the fermenters, and our table was right next to the elevator used to bring kegs up from the lower level of the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I always enjoy the beers at Lancaster. I haven't had any that were not great. Food was great also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
This is kind of a combination of my last few visits. Recently I've had the occasion to try some new and some old favorites from Lancaster Brewing. All were pretty good with the Baltic Porter being my pick, and the Franklinfest a close second (or maybe even first, depending on the day!). Dopplebock and Spring Bock were also nice, but a few notches below the other two. Always good to see Woody Chandler and Beer Island out and about. Was disappointed to see they've changed the hummus--it was the best I'd ever had. Friday Happy Hour crowds are huge, so get there early.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Although not regulars, we try to stop by Lancaster Brewing for a bite or a beer when we are in the neighborhood. The building can be a little difficult to find if you are not familiar with town, but worth looking for. As mentioned in other reviews, parking can be difficult to find. The brewery is a great addition to Lancaster and is nicely refurbished. The bar is very nice, but somewhat limited in size. The dining area is large and open and offers a good menu with sizable portions. We stopped recently and, of course, ordered the Winter Warmer; unfortunately, we weren’t planning the trip so I forgot a growler. My only complaint about Lancaster is the (lack of) service, especially at the 6-pack takeout and novelty area. We waited the other night for a significant amount of time, and even requested help, but to no avail. BTW, I have also had problems with Lancaster 6-packs; a recent case explodes when opened.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
(+) Beatiful brew pub with decent beers. My favorite by far is a limited batch called "Winter Warmer" only available, you guessed it.. in the winter. (-)Parking space is limited, and they only offer their own beers which tends to turn off some people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Evil Pete Evil, lancaster, PA
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
FYI, most breweries will gladly replace the sixpacks mentioned below. Yards and Victory have done that for friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Newtown, PA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Of course after my last review of how great the bottled Hop Hog was, I actually purchased a six pack that was bad. Since they haven't been bottling it for too long and it hadn't been on the shelf for long, there must be a problem somewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(07/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bought bottled Hop Hog at Wells Discount in Timmonium many times and it was has always been great. Maybe the batch you bought was left in a hot truck or warehouse too long. Give it another try as the bottled version can be superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(07/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I had the same experience with a six pack of Hop Hog I bought in Maryland. I had it at the June Stoudts beer fest and loved it. The bottled version tasted infected and I ended up dumping most of it. Anyone have any idea of what might be up with the bottling there?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diana Diana, Frederick, MD
(06/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Hop Hog tasted real good out at the ballpark last night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Stopped in Saturday afternoon, June 11. Had a cask-conditioned smoked porter, which was quite good, although the glass had that "just out of the dishwasher" taste. Then had a spring bock, which was also very good. The service was OK, nothing specific to complain about. Overall the establishment felt tired and grimy, like no one had cared to clean much lately. I've had better visits here and it feels like there's room for improvement right now. There are too many homemade signs and the place needs a good thorough scrubbing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Spade Harry Spade, Honey Brook, PA
(06/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A N/A Lousy
Went on a trip to Amish country in Lancaster P.A. Being a home brewer and beer lover, I always try to bring some beer back with me on family trips. Considering that I have to buy by the case, I bought the sampler case on the way home. It had strawberry wheat, milk stout, amish ipa, and a pilsner. The strawberry wheat was good but all of the other three fizzed right out of the bottle after opening. They had a horrible sour taste, so I guess infected beer. So, out of a whole case of beer, I got to drink about 8 beers because 2 of the amish ipa's didn't fizz out of the bottle. I sent this brewery an email telling them of this problem, but was never even answered. These bottles were bought at a beer store right next to the road leading to amish country. So buyer beware, This company needs some inprovement in customer service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve mergen Steve mergen, stow, OH
(06/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Being a Hop Head, and with Victory to the east, and Troegs to the west, LBC was always the poor cousin. I was just never overwhelmed with LBC's beers...until now. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and taste of the Hop Hog, the first LBC offering I can truly and happily say is unique and worth drinking. An enthusiastic thumb's up!! LBC's quality of beer has been steadily improving in the past few years, and the Hop Hog is a perfect addition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Buckwalter John Buckwalter, Lancaster, PA
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I can't beleive that on a rainy Saturday afternoon the place was empty. Come on people, get out and drink some good beers. Its great when they put a brewpub in a old building. Great atmoshpere. Had a pint of the Hop Hog IPA. Tasty. Not as hoppy as Victory Hopdevil. Food aways great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Woody Lando Woody Lando, Sinking Spring, PA
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
lbc is one of the nicest places i have been in a long time. i thought the atmosphere was pretty good being surronded by all the vats and what not. the beer is the true highlight, it is nice to go somewhere and not see all the crappy light beers overcrowding the taps!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from N_ESHLEMAN N_ESHLEMAN, DENVER, PA
(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
I had the winter Warmer which was very good. It had a lot of flavor but was not over powering. The milk stout was also great and I have a 6 pack to look foward to. My brother had the sampler which consisted of 10 different beer styles. Next time I am in Lancaster I will be having the sampler. I asked the waitress about tours and she never came back with an answer. That was a disapointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
LBC has climbed on the lupulus bandwagon with the new IPA Hop Hog. While not the heftiest item around, it's well balanced and refreshing and should show better in the warmer months. The hop component is pretty hefty and represents the final repudiation of LBC's roots; they didn't name themselves Lancaster MALT Brewing for nothing! I've been looking for the return of the Baltic but the Munich Dunkles has enough of that excellent porter's character that I might be able to get through the winter with it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The downtown Lancaster fest had such a good lineup, it's ashame it wasn't better attended. Even the Saturday night session discouraged many of the brewers. Since they are planning it again for next year, we need to make sure it gets more free publicity, particularly since it's a charity event. I think it has the potential to be very successful as long as they can convince the brewers to come back in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(10/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Wanted to give props to all who had a hand in the beer fest of Oct 2-3. While the Saturday daytime crowd was not large (the weather scared those faint of heart away), I found myself having a great time. The location has some potential for future fests. How about everyone who was there giving their best "word of mouth" recommendation for a fest next year? Good job!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Great
The sheer number of taps at Lancaster was quite impressive recently, over 10, but the quality was the gripper, from the great Milk Stout and classic Pilsner to the shocking Gueuze. Nice work! The Lamburger was an outstanding sandwich, served fresh and hot. And Lancaster has spiffed up its bar and dining room: great place to hang.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Two visits, in April and July of 2004. Overall I've found the beers to be excellent, especially the famous milk stout and the pils, which must be had on tap, very fresh...it's one of the best N American pils. Food was decent on the first visit (some kind of fish I think), awesome the next (lamburger)...service a little slow, though friendly both times. Nice ambience; its a typical old converted factory/warehouse, but they did it right. Great seasonal selections, if I lived less than 10 hours away I'd visit often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Its been several years since we've been here. I've only had good experiences at this place, both under the old and new ownership. All of our food was well prepared and served promptly. The Milk Stout was excellent as was the Spring Bock. The Spring Bock tasted a little less sweet than I remember, but then again its been several years. Overall, definitely worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(07/21/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.477 seconds) 09:29:36 23.23.57.144, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS