PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Stewart's Brewing Company - Bear, DE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 01:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > DE > Bear > Stewart's Brewing Company
Stewart's Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Stewart's Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
219 Governor's Square
Intersection of Rts 1 & 40
Bear, DE 19701
United States
(302) 836-2739
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: April 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bear, DE
Beer Guide for Delaware

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Stewart's Brewing Company
43 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICINN LODGE & SUITES
2) HOWARD JOHNSON INN SUITES
3) QUALITY INN UNIVERSITY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen, Charles, House
2) Biddle House
3) Biggs, Gov. Benjamin T., Farm
4) Bloomfield
5) Correll's Farm and Lawn Supply
6) Dragon Run Farm
7) Eliason, A., House
8) Fisher, Andrew, House
9) Idalia Manor
10) Iron Hill School No. 112C
11) La Grange
12) Linden Hill
13) Liston Ranger Rear Light Station
14) Lum's Mill House
15) McCoy House
16) McWhorter House
17) Old Cann Mansion House
18) Old Ford Dairy
19) Old Post Ofice
20) Point Farm
21) Retirement Farm
22) St. Georges Cemetery Caretaker's House
23) St. Georges Presbyterian Church
24) Starl House
25) Stewart, James, House
26) Stewart, James, Jr., House
27) Sutton House
28) Vernacular Frame House
29) Welsh Tract Baptist Church
30) White Hall
31) Woodside
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amore Pizza
2) Best Food In Town
3) Big Daddy's Pizza Subs & Stks
4) Buffalo Wild Wings
5) Burrito Express
6) Capriotti's Sandwich Shop
7) Carving Station
8) Charcoal Pit
9) China One
10) Chinatown Buffet
11) Fatty Patty's Subs & Steaks
12) First State Cafe's
13) Hibachi Of Fox Run
14) Joy House
15) Just Mugs
16) Kfc
17) Lacy's Smo'Kin Rib House
18) Liam's Piano Bar & Restaurant
19) N Y Fried Chicken
20) Oceanmart Deli
21) Papa John's Pizza
22) Pat's Pizza
23) Pizza Hut
24) Quiznos Sub
25) Quiznos Sub
26) R K Garber Enterprises Inc
27) Red Lion Liquor Store
28) Rey Azteca
29) Rincon Latino Restaurant
30) Riviera Pizza
31) Roma's Pizza
32) Ruby Tuesday
33) Silver Queen Restaurant
34) Stolzfus Sausage Sandwich Shop
35) TCBY
36) Texas Roadhouse
37) Thurston's Pub
38) Tobacco Cafe
39) Trattoria Di Napoli Rstrnt
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I love everything about it except its football season and they have no specials. I can drink their beer any day of the week for the same price. When I go to watch football I like to drink quite a few beers and eat but there is no incentive to pick stewarts at least on Sunday. We are new to the area but Looneys Pub in Bel Air has specials all the time. Matildas has specials. Again, I really like the place but not on Sunday, I can find something at other bars to bring me back sunday after sunday. Hey, if you don't want my $100 every sunday, I am sure someone does.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charles Charles, Bear, DE
(09/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
For fifteen years, Stewart's has been serving the best beer around. Who would think that little old Delaware would have an incredible Microbrewery? In terms of food, you have the option of upscale bar food, or they have daily entree specials prepared by a chef. (Essentially, you're not getting an Applebee's freezer-to-oven entree, but a well-prepared meal.) They are great about accomodating any food requests as well. The relaxed atmosphere and knowledgable staff make it a nice place to sample unique beers. The owner, Al Stewart, is strict about the staff service, so while the staff turn-over is common, you will see many employees that have been there for years (Shawn, Natalie, Missy, Michelle, Scott, and Ric the head brewer). There website also has updated info on available beers and room for comments and questions. www.stewartsbrewingcompany.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(07/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Stopped by for lunch before heading over to U of Del. A little confusing getting into the place. The obvious doors are labeled exit only. MD Crab Soup was fantastic; really, really spicey. Reuben and Pulled Pork Sandwiches were both great. Great selection of beer. IPA was great. Didn't have time to sample much more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Delaware, the small wonder. A handful of breweries/brewpubs, but a fistful of GABF & WBC medal winners. Stewart's leads the way with consistently excellent beers. The Windblown Blonde very tasty (gold medal winner), the Glacier IPA (on cask!!!) a treat, but the Conundrum, a big, big beer with as much flavor as heft, is the one that blew me away. In 750 mm bottles, the state of Delaware hasn't yet approved the graphics, so must be enjoyed in house (for now). My advice, buy a bottle & share! Is this heaven? No, it's Delaware.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Miller Bill Miller, Denton, MD
(01/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I have been frequenting this establishment for a few years now (ever since Harvard's on 202 went belly up). Good solid beers, frequently rotating styles. By a margin this is my favorite micro in the 1st state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Lavage Chuck Lavage, Philadelphia, PA
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We hit Stewarts around 330pm yesterday afternoon. We were heading up Route 1 after spending Thanksgiving with my folks in North Carolina. We were hungry, in need of restrooms, and we wanted to get off the road for a while. As we walked in we saw a bar and part of a restaurant area FULL of enthusiastic sports fans looking at (and yelling at) various flat screens TVs televising football games. To the left of the bar was a sit down restaurant area that was full of more sports fans. To the right of the bar was a sit down restaurant area that was very quiet and maybe closed. We didn't see other kids in the open restaurant area so we asked if we could sit in the other restaurant area. The waiter said SURE and sat us at a table. He got us drink and took care of us very well during the meal. He started me off with a Highlander Stout*** and brought two samples of the Wacky Wheat (1 apricot and 1 raspberry). She then ordered a 10oz of the Apricot. We then looked at the menu and I was amazed at the food choices. Lisa ordered the Pig in a Barrel (pork in a bread bowl) and I ordered the Black and Bleu Burger (a blackened ostrich burger sprinkled with bleu cheese - cooked medium)... yes I said ostrich! The kids shared a plate of nachos with a side of grilled vegetables. All the food was awesome... AWESOME! Instead of ordering a second beer I decided on the 4545 sampler (four five oz samples for 5 bucks). The four beers sampled were Irish Red**, the Highlander Stout***, the Strong Ale**** and the IPA***. The Big Bear Amber and the Governor's Golden were both out. The Strong Ale was the current seasonal. Overall we had a very nice time at this brewpub. My wife even said it was good that I made it a point for us to visit. Everything was awesome! I…. I mean we… recommend Stewarts to everyone.

PS... When I first tasted the Highlander Stout I noticed that it was very creamy and assumed it was being served on nitrogen. When I asked the waiter he said that it was half nitrogen and half CO2.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(11/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Always and incredible line up with at least one selection on draft (IPA today). The Belgian style (Monk) was fabulous. Consistently well run.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(07/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The brewery is located in a strip mall not far from the interstate, which made it a nice place to stop at on our way from New Jersey down to Baltimore. There’s a nice large bar area and they have steel tipped darts and NTN trivia. This would have been a great place to hang out for a while if we didn’t have another hour to drive to Baltimore. All of the beers we tried here were quite good. I started with a good hoppy, slightly fruity IPA. They also had a double IPA I would have loved to try, but I still had a ways to drive. My wife had a beer called the Cherry Bourbathalon, which was a great strong (13%) oak aged beer brewed with cherries and flavored with bourbon. It had a great cherry-oaky-bourbon flavor. I also had an Irish Red Ale which was very good; deep amber color with a nice balance of hops and malt. My wife had a nice tasting amber called the Big Bear Amber Ale. We played a game of NTN trivia and enjoyed some really good crab quesadillas. The bartender was very knowledgeable about the beers and the brewing process, and he talked in a cool DJ voice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
A great neighborhood pub. Favorite beers - Governor's Golden Ale, Blue Rocks Pilsner, Monk abbey style, Irish Red, Stout, Oktoberfest, bourbathalon. If they ever have another Brewer's dinner it's a must-do! Wait staff varies, some are great other okay.

Burgers are pretty good, if you like spicy try the New Orleans burger. The roasted duck is excellent and the french dip also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newark, DE
(02/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Was here for UDs homecoming. We tried the sampler which contained 8 4-5 oz beers of your choice. The stout and porter were good and their barley wine was great. Their IPA missed the mark but it could've been b/c I saw drinking DFH 90 min before this. Their 10th anniv. ale was EXCELLENT. It was a belgian style ale with lots of flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A stop home after a weekend of Dogfish Head--so I set my expectations low, to avoid an unfair comparison. 10 beers on tap, with a few seasonals. All beers were clean and most seemed fresh, however there was very little aroma to most across the board. Of the lighter styles, I thought the Blue Rocks Pilsner was pretty decent. It's always too easy to overlook a good pilsner and this would probably please a lot of palates. Of the others, I'd have to say that the Winterfest, McBride's Strong Ale and Highlander Stout topped the list for me. Highlander did have a good aroma, unlike many of the others, and a very rich flavor. The lunch specials that were offered were very good, as were the crab quesadillas. A comfortable stop along Rt. 40.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Stopped by on the way home from the shore to get some growlers filled. Was informed that they only fill their own (ought to work on a state-by-state list of stupid rules like this for the beer traveller) or perhaps those with no labels at all. While there, sampled the West Coast IPA and the Scotch Ale. IPA very green, hoppy. The Scotch was all about the malt, with a syrupy quality. Hope to get here again when there's more time and I've figured out all these "beer rules".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Good
Stopped by since i got slammed by friday afternoon Delaware traffic heading to DC. IPA wasnt so great. Tasted a bit skunked. Had a different one w/ lunch, i think it was called governor or congressional...it was better, but nothing special. The french dip sandwich was outstanding, and the service was pretty good, though. i'd go back and give it another go...especially since it looks like a great place to watch a game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Triple B Triple B, Pompton Lakes, NJ
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Very Good Beer, good selection, hoppy IPA! Best brewery in the area..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Verhelle Verhelle, St Louis, MO
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer first - Enjoying the October Fest as we type, great smooth taste with an appropriate bite, liked the selection. As an Eastern Shore guy, the Crab Cakes are Varsity, haven't wasted my time on anything else on the menu so can't comment. Great beer, Great food, no smoke, friendly staff. Other than that Mrs. Lincoln, how was the Play?!?!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Kirchgasser Mark Kirchgasser, Media, PA
(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
As a new resident to the area (and one VERY upset at the lack of good beer bars in Delware), i must say this place serves beer that is both inspired & true to style. The standouts so far have been the Belgian styles that have been rotating around the taps recently in addition to the Scotch and Stout (despite my adversions to the "manditory" nitro-taps everyone serves nowadays). Good pub eats.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Biggins John Biggins, Newark, DE
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Ric Hoffman does an outstanding job brewing and the food is great, traditional pub fare. Irish Red was well-deserving of its award and there's not a beer offered there I would enjoy!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(11/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good
One of the top brewpubs in the area. Their Highlander Stoudt is out-freakin-standing! For those of you with a beer meister, you can get kegs. Last known price was $100 for a half keg. Food is good, though their service needs some work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Awesome! Lousy
Other than the wait staff the entire establishment is terrible. Incredibly rude and lazy management. I do not reccomend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review newark, DE
(07/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
One of the best crabcakes, PERIOD! Awesome beers. No one mentions the Wacky Wheat which is good. For a stout, I'll stick to Guinness, but the others are all awesome. Service inconsistent, depending on the crowd. Menu is a bit disconnected. Some nights are laid back, and others are crazy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert M Robert M, New Castle, DE
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
I liked the seasonals the cofee poter was awesome the food was ok but nothing to jump up and down about

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim ferner jim ferner, baltimore, MD
(10/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Beers were decent, for the most part, with a nice stout and a great red as highlights. The food was OK. My medium black and blue burger was served WELL. not bad as a stop for a quick beer and a bite on the way back from vacation. Easy to get to off the highway...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I lived in New Castle, DE for 10 years. I started going to Stewies the day they opened. Greg even let me in on Easter Sunday one time when the place was closed so I could have a brew.

I now live in Germantown, TN and while Bosco's is good.. I can't get any BIG BEAR ALE down here! I'd kill for a Big Bear right now.

Also.. the Ruben is to die for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Obst Bill Obst, Germantown, TN
(02/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Stopped on the way back from vacation at the shore and was pleasantly surprised. Had good beers overall, but the Stout and Irish Red were standouts in my book. I was disappointed the IPA wasn't on tap, and they had too many lighter beers with very similar tastes available.(It is summer, however.) Stopped for lunch and the chili was excellant; sandwichs were good not great.Overall a place worthy of a stop if not just for the award winning Irish red.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(08/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
These folks were at the York Beerfest on 12 March and I was very impressed with the 3 beers they brought. The Golden and the Stout had me coming back for more. I'd like to try some at the source.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, P
(03/14/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.28 seconds) 13:10:56 54.161.206.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS