PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Triumph Brewing Company - Princeton, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 01:14 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Princeton > Triumph Brewing Company
Triumph Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Triumph Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
138 Nassau Street
Princeton, NJ 08542
United States
(609) 924-7855
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Princeton, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Triumph Brewing Company
79 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Main Street Bistro and Bar
(1 mile)

2) The Alchemist and Barrister
(1 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES PRINCETON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bedens Brook Bridge
2) Bedens Brook Road Bridge
3) Cleveland, Grover, Home
4) Drumthwacket
5) Einstein, Albert, House
6) Gulick House
7) Henry, Joseph, House
8) Leigh, Ichabod, House
9) Maplewood
10) Morven
11) Nassau Hall, Princeton University
12) Penns Neck Baptist Church
13) President's House
14) Prospect
15) Reformed Dutch Church of Blawenburg
16) Rockingham
17) University Cottage Club
18) White, John, House
19) Wicoff, John Van Buren, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ajihei
2) Alchemist & Barrister
3) Alma Mater
4) Annex Restaurant
5) Around The Town
6) Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream & Ygrt
7) Bent Spoon
8) Blue Point Grill
9) Bucks County Coffee Co
10) Burger King
11) Business Bistro Inc
12) Cafe
13) Cafe 500
14) Cafe 650
15) Cambers Cafe
16) Carnegie Center Deli
17) Carousel Luncheonette
18) Carousel Luncheonette
19) Chez Alice
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Chuck's Spring Street Cafe
22) Cluck U Chicken
23) Conte's
24) Cox's Market
25) CRP Subs
26) Downtown Deluxe
27) Edy's Place
28) Ferry House
29) Forrestal Steak Inc
30) Gallery Cafe At 100
31) George's Roasters & Ribs
32) Gyro Hut LLC
33) Halo Pub
34) Hoagie Haven
35) Hooters Of Princeton
36) Hunan
37) Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
38) Ivy Inn
39) J B Winberie Restaurant & Bar
40) Jason Michael's Intimate Dnnng
41) Jimmy Duffy & Sons Inc
42) Karen's Chinese Restaurant
43) King's Castle
44) La Mezzaluna
45) La Terraza
46) Lahiere's Restaurant
47) Le Plumet Royal-Peacock Inn
48) Les Compains
49) Lupita's Village
50) Main Street Bistros & Bar
51) Mediterra Restaurant
52) Michel Buffet
53) Molisana Deli
54) Moondoggie Cafe
55) Mountain Lakes House
56) Mr Wraps
57) Nassau Bagel Bakery
58) Nassau Street Caterers
59) Newport Food Svc
60) Noodle Bar
61) Old City Grill
62) Old World Pizza
63) Olives Deli & Bakery
64) Open Book Cafe By Chez Alice
65) Orchid Pavilion
66) P J's Pancake House Restaurant
67) Palmer's Restaurant At Nassau
68) Panera Bread
69) Panera Bread
70) Panera Bread
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Park Cafe
73) Penang Malaysian & Thai Csn
74) Pizza Colore
75) Pizza Star
76) Princeton Diner
77) Quiznos Sub
78) Quiznos Sub
79) Quiznos Sub
80) Red Onion
81) Rusty Scupper
82) Sakura Express
83) Sakura House
84) Saladworks
85) Sally Lunns Tea Shop
86) Small World Coffee
87) Soonja's Cafe With Sushi
88) Starbucks
89) Starbucks
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Sylvester Consulting Group
92) Taste Of Mexico
93) Teresa's Pizzetta Caffe
94) Thai Village
95) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
96) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
97) Tiger Noodles
98) Tomo Sushi Restaurant
99) Tortuga's Mexican Village
100) Triumph Brewing Co
101) Twist Rojo
102) Underground Potato
103) Victor's Pizzeria
104) Waikiki
105) Witherspoon Grill
106) Wooden Spoon Catering Co
107) Yankee Doodle Tap Room
108) Yoko's Kitchen
109) Zorba's Brother
110) Zorba's Grill-Takeout
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
First a shout out to Stephanie, one of the better waitresses I have experienced at a brewpub! Great service goes a long way. The beers while not overwhelming were very good. The Amber had that West Coast hoppy taste to it, and I would highly recommend it. The Snakebite was unique, part Cider, part Ale, and better than expected. Nice place, great service, good beers. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Rolling Meadows, IL
(08/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Langhorne, PA
(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Good
Excelent beer in a brewpub with a very open, contemporary look. The beer is some of the best brewed in the state. They don't try to appeal to everyone's tastes, and as a result, they sucessfully are adventurous. Haven't tried the food yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sales Mike Sales, Highland Park, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Sampled their braggot and Jewish Rye Ale at a beer festical and these beer were incredible. You take a sip of the JRA and you instictively reach out for some pastrami. It IS liquid bread!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the beer outstanding. The brown was quite enjoyable, the stout great for dessert. I brought home a growler of IPA, also good. The lager was light and crisp, the red was thin, and the snakebite was not my thing( hated doing it to get my mug at The Ship. Nasty old Roy.) It's a long ride, but I hope to return soon despite the strange opening time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good N/A
I had the stout. Very good. Very thick head. No happy hour! The house beers are $3.75 a pint, unless otherwise noted. My stout was $4.00. Worth it, but I really wish they had a happy hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(03/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Forget all you people who say that you drive a whole 20-30 minutes to get there. I drive an hour and 15 mintues to go Triumph! It's turning into an every weekend kinda thing. The beer is fantastic, the good is outstanding, the selection of beer is great. I was there one week, and they had 7 brews on tap. I was there again the very next week, and they had 2 new or different beers on draft. That's how good the selection is. I love sitting at the bar and doing nothing but talking to the bartender about their beers and, of course, drinking them. I'd be there all afternoon if it were up to me. It's a shame that I don't have any more arms than I already do, because I would drag all the growlers outta there I could. Great place to go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Pottstown, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Still my favorite BP. New menu with awesome food. Same great rotating selection. Jolie Blond rocked!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Anderson Jim Anderson, Medford, NJ
(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
I drive 20 minutes to drink their beer. I am an IPA fan and it does not disappoint at the Triumph. If you're going to see a show at McCarter, this is the best place to stop and 'pre-game'. Nothing beats Nassau Street and downtown Princeton in the fall/winter, and Triumph is an essential piece of the "scene". Beats other local brew pubs hands down. If you go, try the crabmeat quesadilla appetizers and the BBQ chicken platter did me right. I love this place and try to fit it into my busy weekend any time I can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randal Johannsen Randal Johannsen, New Brunswick, NJ
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Tasted their beer at the NJ BeerFest in July 2001 in Trenton, NJ and was not disappointed. We live about 30 plus away and this beer trip was worth the ride. Great beer, good food, but the Barmaid could have been a little bit faster in refilling our glasses. Try the samplers and judge for yourself. The beers overall were full and had a smooth finish. Go visit and enjoy this wonderful brewpub. The only sad thing I can say is that I did not here sooner than I did---It was overdue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(09/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Boy, has this place improved in the last few years! Good IPA, amazing rye beer (when available), smooth oatmeal stout, and excellent homemade potato chips. Food is well-prepared and the service is attentive. Go early before the evening crowds roll in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Pleased to say that the beer was much better than I remembered especially the hand pumped cask conditioned Pale Ale.Food has always been good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(08/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm about to go there for the first time ever in about 15 minutes, so it better be good!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trevor Goodchild Trevor Goodchild, Lawrenceville, NJ
(03/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Triumph is now open for bar service while the renovation of the kitchen is underway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(02/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Triumph is now open as a bar, though the kitchen is still under construction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Stevenson Tom Stevenson, Princeton, NJ
(02/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Went here on 2/3/2001 and a sign said that it was closed for renovations. Anyone know how long ???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Anderson J. Anderson, Medford, NJ
(02/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
The beers were in-style, but a little light on the hops for my taste. I was most impressed with the Stout; least impressed with the Honey Wheat. It needs more wheat taste and hops; currently it is honey flavored water. The food was outstanding; I had the tuna sushi and salmon. Service was very attentive. The beer selection goes from very light to very dark; something for everyone. Definitely worth a visit and a return trip. 1/9/01 visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntsville, AL
(01/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Good
I usually visit a couple of times a year, and this weekend's visit was the most rewarding in a long time. The winter ale, Bengal Gold IPA and honey wheat were excellent, and the "Gothic" gruit ale was well balanced but would have preferred much more body to it. The amber and vienna offerings were pretty decent too. I was very pleased with the quality of the beers -- something I couldn't say for my last two or three trips. Those who don't appreciate Bengal Gold as a great beer incorrectly believe an IPA should smack you upside the head with hops. The service was outstanding -- fast, friendly and courteous. Biggest turnoff, as always, is the price of food: far too expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gurn Gurn, Maple Shade, NJ
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
This visit I tried 2 beers, both of which were quite good. The Roggenbock was a clean, crisp beer with just a hint of caraway and a nice spicy rye flavor. The Pumpkin Ale was also very nice, with a clean spicy flavor, not too sweet. HOWEVER, if you go in the evening, be prepared for LOUD and CROWDED! I haven't tried the food, so can't comment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Spencer Thomas Spencer Thomas, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
With the addition of the new General Manager this place can only get better I was only there for 1 hour and did not try the food. But the beers were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Moyer Matthew Moyer, Madison, WI
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
I'd heard not so good things about these beers, but I was impressed with the selection (immense) and the trueness to style. I happily imbibed every beer on the taster, even the lighter ones, and then ordered a pint of the IPA. That was to finish the lunch, which was dry, blah, and overpriced. The place was quiet when I was there at lunch; I can't speak of what it's like when busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PVS PVS, Brooklyn, NY
(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A large place that was very busy this particular Friday night, however; we were seated immediately. The beers were good and each was different from the other and some (the jewish rye) were different from anything I've ever had. It's a worthwhile stop if you're in Princeton. It's a cool place in a cool town. My wife and I were not disappointed with the food either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny G Johnny G, Danbury, CT
(06/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I had dinner here on a Saturday night, and lunch the next day. It was pretty busy Saturday, but I found a seat at the bar and they took good care of me. Sunday was quieter - I shared the bar with a knucklehead who was trying to figure out what beer most closely approximated Budweiser (what are you doing in here?). The bartender was very patient and helpful (God bless him). I really got a kick out of the Jewish Rye - I didn't expect it to taste like, well, a Jewish Rye. The other beers were solid too. The seared tuna salad was excellent. I will go back - soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob haskell bob haskell, foster city, CA
(06/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
We were impressed with how beautiful the place was. We only went in for snacks and beers. I had a salad(very good) but my wife had the asparagus soup which was inedible..tasted like water strained through the spears. Service was poor at best. I had the Jewish Rye Beer, I expected more flavor but it was very good, the Nut Brown Ale on the handpump was outstanding and the Oatmeal Stout started out with a nice smoky taste, but quickly disappeared. We would give it another try for a complete meal. I'm sure the service would have been better.The brewer is innovative and deserves praise for all that he has done for the NJ brew scene. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great
Most of the regular brews are pretty good(the stout can be tasty) but the I really like the variety of their specialty brews(over the last few months they had a rauchbier and a jewish rye beer). The convenience of their 1 liter bottles for $5 (refill) is also nice. Having handpump beer is a real plus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(05/25/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.352 seconds) 13:14:44 107.22.37.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS