PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Triumph Brewing Company - Princeton, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 03:31 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Princeton > Triumph Brewing Company
Triumph Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Triumph Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
138 Nassau Street
Princeton, NJ 08542
United States
(609) 924-7855
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Princeton, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Triumph Brewing Company
79 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Main Street Bistro and Bar
(1 mile)

2) The Alchemist and Barrister
(1 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES PRINCETON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bedens Brook Bridge
2) Bedens Brook Road Bridge
3) Cleveland, Grover, Home
4) Drumthwacket
5) Einstein, Albert, House
6) Gulick House
7) Henry, Joseph, House
8) Leigh, Ichabod, House
9) Maplewood
10) Morven
11) Nassau Hall, Princeton University
12) Penns Neck Baptist Church
13) President's House
14) Prospect
15) Reformed Dutch Church of Blawenburg
16) Rockingham
17) University Cottage Club
18) White, John, House
19) Wicoff, John Van Buren, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ajihei
2) Alchemist & Barrister
3) Alma Mater
4) Annex Restaurant
5) Around The Town
6) Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream & Ygrt
7) Bent Spoon
8) Blue Point Grill
9) Bucks County Coffee Co
10) Burger King
11) Business Bistro Inc
12) Cafe
13) Cafe 500
14) Cafe 650
15) Cambers Cafe
16) Carnegie Center Deli
17) Carousel Luncheonette
18) Carousel Luncheonette
19) Chez Alice
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Chuck's Spring Street Cafe
22) Cluck U Chicken
23) Conte's
24) Cox's Market
25) CRP Subs
26) Downtown Deluxe
27) Edy's Place
28) Ferry House
29) Forrestal Steak Inc
30) Gallery Cafe At 100
31) George's Roasters & Ribs
32) Gyro Hut LLC
33) Halo Pub
34) Hoagie Haven
35) Hooters Of Princeton
36) Hunan
37) Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
38) Ivy Inn
39) J B Winberie Restaurant & Bar
40) Jason Michael's Intimate Dnnng
41) Jimmy Duffy & Sons Inc
42) Karen's Chinese Restaurant
43) King's Castle
44) La Mezzaluna
45) La Terraza
46) Lahiere's Restaurant
47) Le Plumet Royal-Peacock Inn
48) Les Compains
49) Lupita's Village
50) Main Street Bistros & Bar
51) Mediterra Restaurant
52) Michel Buffet
53) Molisana Deli
54) Moondoggie Cafe
55) Mountain Lakes House
56) Mr Wraps
57) Nassau Bagel Bakery
58) Nassau Street Caterers
59) Newport Food Svc
60) Noodle Bar
61) Old City Grill
62) Old World Pizza
63) Olives Deli & Bakery
64) Open Book Cafe By Chez Alice
65) Orchid Pavilion
66) P J's Pancake House Restaurant
67) Palmer's Restaurant At Nassau
68) Panera Bread
69) Panera Bread
70) Panera Bread
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Park Cafe
73) Penang Malaysian & Thai Csn
74) Pizza Colore
75) Pizza Star
76) Princeton Diner
77) Quiznos Sub
78) Quiznos Sub
79) Quiznos Sub
80) Red Onion
81) Rusty Scupper
82) Sakura Express
83) Sakura House
84) Saladworks
85) Sally Lunns Tea Shop
86) Small World Coffee
87) Soonja's Cafe With Sushi
88) Starbucks
89) Starbucks
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Sylvester Consulting Group
92) Taste Of Mexico
93) Teresa's Pizzetta Caffe
94) Thai Village
95) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
96) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
97) Tiger Noodles
98) Tomo Sushi Restaurant
99) Tortuga's Mexican Village
100) Triumph Brewing Co
101) Twist Rojo
102) Underground Potato
103) Victor's Pizzeria
104) Waikiki
105) Witherspoon Grill
106) Wooden Spoon Catering Co
107) Yankee Doodle Tap Room
108) Yoko's Kitchen
109) Zorba's Brother
110) Zorba's Grill-Takeout
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Triumph's beers fall in the good catagory,but not great or awesome.The stout was creamy and it had a good roasted flavor. The I.P.A. did not have enough hops.The E.S.B. was very drinkable,and the honeywheat was very good with the honey taste coming through.It is a good place to go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from E. Gant E. Gant, Millville, NJ
(04/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So Lousy
Terrible beer. No matter what the style, they all tasted sweet, with no hop aroma or taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, birdsboro, PA
(03/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I think that Triumph has excellent food for a brew pub. I think it's gourmet quality, the fact that they serve very good beer is icing on the cake. I recently tried a Mexican Pilsener that was very good. I recommend trying their sampler, they serve you samples of all their beer on a tray. It's worth experimenting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sullivan Mike Sullivan, South Brunswick, NJ
(01/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Great Lousy
sorry guys--i'm a beer drinker--i'm quite confused about how someone can put so much effort into making this brewery look as nice as it is and not have the ability to produce a well balance beer--i mean not one beer--oh well, the food was very good had the tuna sandwich...i'm still scratching my head in wonderment....THANK GOD FOR VICTORY, YARDS AND FLYING FISH BREWING COMAPANIES !!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GK GK, BLACKWOOD, NJ
(01/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
When they first opened, they were still trying to get their feet in terms of beer and service. But the food...they had a marvelous chicken sandwich, a wonderful swordfish sandwich, and a terrific portobello sandwich. Only the chicken sandwich remained on the regularly rotating menu, but it was slightly different. Still, it was superb. The food improved in general over the years, but it's going downhill again. The chicken sandwich vanished for a while, but it's back. Alas, not as good.

The beers are decent, if not thrilling. Their IPA has never been very good. Their Honey Wheat, on the other hand, is quite good. Some of their seasonal specialty beers--especially in the winter--are very good.

All in all, a decent place to go. There are better places in Princeton, but this was the first brewpub and, perhaps surprisingly, still the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David J. Loehr David J. Loehr, Plainsboro, NJ
(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
The beers taste watered down and have no finish. Although there are several different styles of beer available, they all taste somewhat alike. The beer is not good enough to pay $4-$5 a pint for. Food is good but very pricey and the service is really slow. I only live a short distance away and do not consider it worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hamilton, NJ
(08/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by this afternoon for a bite and a couple of brews, again I was pleased as could be with the service and food. The Triumph Brewery in my opinion has to be the best Brew Pub in N.J.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
I know reviews are a matter of opinion and my opinion is that Triumph is *the best* brewpub in NJ! Yes, they have a small (if you call 8 beers on tap small) beer selection but they make up for it in quality. Yes, they only have 2 "specialty" beers on tap at a time but, again, they make up for it in quality. If you go soon be sure & try the Coffee & Cream Stout (AWESOME!) and the Nut Brown Ale (on the handpump). Personally, I would rather have two excellent beers to choose from that 6 mediocre or poor beers! The food, too, is awesome. Maybe the menu is getting stale for someone who goes to Triumph every week but the quality is, nevertheless, top notch! If you've never eaten skate I highly recommend it! And, yes the service is slow. But, why is everyone in such a hurry?!? My beer glass has never sat empty more than 5 minutes. That's fine service for me! In summary, Triumph has one outstanding quality that sets it apart from many other brewpubs: CONSISTENCY! Triumph's beer in consistently awesome! This is more that I can say about another brewpub in NJ that I frequent! Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Eldridge Dan Eldridge, North Brunswick, NJ
(06/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Beer was very interesting, decor and architecture were great. Crowded and a bit pretentious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(06/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I stop in every 2 to 3 weeks to sample any changes in the beers and menu.. the specialty beers are interesting and different but always good. The service needs some work.. it's slow and chilly. I feel the owners are trying to be cutting edge and different, but sometimes too on the edge puts you over it! Sometimes the basics are what the people want.. along with good quality "meat and potatoes" kind of beers. Perfect the basics first, then experiment with derivations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Princeton, NJ
(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Flan M Flan, Ridgefield Park, NJ
(05/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I agree with Robert. The beer and food are both something unique. Atmosphere is really impressive. Definitely one of the Top 5 Brew Pubs I have ever been to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Manalapan, NJ
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best beer, the best food in New Jersey. I am not prejudiced even though my son owns the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Rechnitz Robert Rechnitz, Red Bank, NJ
(02/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Triumph has lost some of its luster since it opened, but they still have good beer and food. Their specialty beers are very good but they often run out, and only have 1 on tap at a time. Their Christmas ales have been excellent for the past few years...spiced, with high alcohol content. Staff is generally quite knowledgeable about beer, but a bit slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anne and Jeff Anne and Jeff, West Chester, PA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
The atmosphere is buzzing with activity and the crowd is there but the service is sloooooow!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sriny Sriny, Princeton, NJ
(09/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
We've been going to Triumph for nearly 2 years now, so maybe I'm getting a bit jaded... the beer is solid, if a bit pricey. The architecture is interesting, though there are a couple rooms that are like dining in exile. The food is usually good -- try the calamari appetizer and the duck entree. The menu often is allowed to get stale -- they've had the same one for 8 months now, so we're getting BORED! Service ranges from OK to poor, which is disappointing to us "regulars." However, here in Princeton, we are not blessed with a lot of great restaurants, so I'm glad we have Triumph, which is most definitely GOOD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Gallo Don Gallo, Princeton, NJ
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip P. Phillip P., Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phillip P., Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
We had a good time at Triumph. The beer was very good and the food was excellent. I'm not sure how "real" the real ale is (currently an ESB)...it was certainly good, but rather thin bodied compared to other real ales I've tried. I expect my disappointment with the ESB was the result of expectations that were too high. The "Amber Ale" was the most heavily hopped brew I have ever had that was labled an amber- lots of cascade hops and very, very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Always an enjoyable time. Excellent selection of ales-I like the IPA the best. Building has an interesting history-ask your server for details. Live music some nights-well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Blazer Bill Blazer, Collingswood, NJ
(05/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good So So
I have enjoyed the food here the four visits I have made. I wish I could say the same about the beer. I would have to say their best effort is the Pale Ale. It seems the brewers don't want to offend anyone by brewing anything that is a departure from the main stream. Go for the food. The beer will probably be bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Toscano Tim Toscano, Farmingdale, NJ
(03/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Very good brews of all styles especially the oatmeal stout and the winter seasonal. Also try the tasty black bean soup.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Amin Jay Amin, Cedar Grove, NJ
(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
They serve a Scottish "Real" Ale hand pulled from oak casks! You *MUST* try this beer! It is a real treat! The menu is ecclectic and of the highest quality. Triumph has never dissapointed me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Eldridge Dan Eldridge, North Brunswick, NJ
(12/12/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.358 seconds) 15:31:41 54.196.181.109, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS