PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Triumph Brewing Company - Princeton, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 21, 2014 @ 08:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Princeton > Triumph Brewing Company
Triumph Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Triumph Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
138 Nassau Street
Princeton, NJ 08542
United States
(609) 924-7855
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Princeton, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Triumph Brewing Company
79 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Main Street Bistro and Bar
(1 mile)

2) The Alchemist and Barrister
(1 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES PRINCETON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bedens Brook Bridge
2) Bedens Brook Road Bridge
3) Cleveland, Grover, Home
4) Drumthwacket
5) Einstein, Albert, House
6) Gulick House
7) Henry, Joseph, House
8) Leigh, Ichabod, House
9) Maplewood
10) Morven
11) Nassau Hall, Princeton University
12) Penns Neck Baptist Church
13) President's House
14) Prospect
15) Reformed Dutch Church of Blawenburg
16) Rockingham
17) University Cottage Club
18) White, John, House
19) Wicoff, John Van Buren, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ajihei
2) Alchemist & Barrister
3) Alma Mater
4) Annex Restaurant
5) Around The Town
6) Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream & Ygrt
7) Bent Spoon
8) Blue Point Grill
9) Bucks County Coffee Co
10) Burger King
11) Business Bistro Inc
12) Cafe
13) Cafe 500
14) Cafe 650
15) Cambers Cafe
16) Carnegie Center Deli
17) Carousel Luncheonette
18) Carousel Luncheonette
19) Chez Alice
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Chuck's Spring Street Cafe
22) Cluck U Chicken
23) Conte's
24) Cox's Market
25) CRP Subs
26) Downtown Deluxe
27) Edy's Place
28) Ferry House
29) Forrestal Steak Inc
30) Gallery Cafe At 100
31) George's Roasters & Ribs
32) Gyro Hut LLC
33) Halo Pub
34) Hoagie Haven
35) Hooters Of Princeton
36) Hunan
37) Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
38) Ivy Inn
39) J B Winberie Restaurant & Bar
40) Jason Michael's Intimate Dnnng
41) Jimmy Duffy & Sons Inc
42) Karen's Chinese Restaurant
43) King's Castle
44) La Mezzaluna
45) La Terraza
46) Lahiere's Restaurant
47) Le Plumet Royal-Peacock Inn
48) Les Compains
49) Lupita's Village
50) Main Street Bistros & Bar
51) Mediterra Restaurant
52) Michel Buffet
53) Molisana Deli
54) Moondoggie Cafe
55) Mountain Lakes House
56) Mr Wraps
57) Nassau Bagel Bakery
58) Nassau Street Caterers
59) Newport Food Svc
60) Noodle Bar
61) Old City Grill
62) Old World Pizza
63) Olives Deli & Bakery
64) Open Book Cafe By Chez Alice
65) Orchid Pavilion
66) P J's Pancake House Restaurant
67) Palmer's Restaurant At Nassau
68) Panera Bread
69) Panera Bread
70) Panera Bread
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Park Cafe
73) Penang Malaysian & Thai Csn
74) Pizza Colore
75) Pizza Star
76) Princeton Diner
77) Quiznos Sub
78) Quiznos Sub
79) Quiznos Sub
80) Red Onion
81) Rusty Scupper
82) Sakura Express
83) Sakura House
84) Saladworks
85) Sally Lunns Tea Shop
86) Small World Coffee
87) Soonja's Cafe With Sushi
88) Starbucks
89) Starbucks
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Sylvester Consulting Group
92) Taste Of Mexico
93) Teresa's Pizzetta Caffe
94) Thai Village
95) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
96) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
97) Tiger Noodles
98) Tomo Sushi Restaurant
99) Tortuga's Mexican Village
100) Triumph Brewing Co
101) Twist Rojo
102) Underground Potato
103) Victor's Pizzeria
104) Waikiki
105) Witherspoon Grill
106) Wooden Spoon Catering Co
107) Yankee Doodle Tap Room
108) Yoko's Kitchen
109) Zorba's Brother
110) Zorba's Grill-Takeout
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I was running late and in a hurry; so I wasn't able to spend as much time here as I would have liked. I only had time for a couple appetizers. I parked on the street and ended up two blocks away. The place is hard to miss if one is just looking for a sign. It wasn't until I got inside that I realized that there must be parking behind the building, off the next street over. The Amarillo IPA and the Oatmeal Stout were both very good. The soup of the day was a Guatamalan Chicken Soup; very tasty. I was slightly disappointed in the "Chicken Lollipops" with Thai Sauce. I was expecting something similar to Satay. They were drumsticks. While good for what they were; had I asked, I would have ordered something else. I wish I had had time for a sandwich. The lunch menu looked pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Great Good
Since the last person to review the food occured two days before the chef changed, I felt an update was needed. I love the beers! Ok, we have resolved we all appreciate the fine brews. BUT, as of March 14, 2008 the chef changed, the prices went up and the quality tanked! The food is slopped in a bowl, the portions are 1/8 of what you got a week earlier and the staff knows it! I wish they still had the great burgers... but they are are gone from the main menu as well. I would go for their brews, but not the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(03/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Thought Id post a more recent review since no one has put one up in a couple of years.

I love this place. It takes almost 90 minutes for me to get down there, but its well worth it. I was there a couple of nights ago  I wanted to catch the Gothic Ale, which they have on the handpump every year around this time. The flavoring is a mixture of spices called gruit, which was widely used in northern Europe before hops became dominant. Probably not to everyones taste, but I really enjoy it, and how many places offer something like this, which is not only creative but highly drinkable? Anyway, enjoyed a couple, had a light meal (the duck quesadillas, which were very good) and even got to talk a little with the brewer, Tom. Really nice guy, and unduly modest about his beers. I think he deserves a lot of credit for his variety, and his ability to execute so many different styles so well. My bartender, Christine, was friendly  all in all, I couldnt ask for a better visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(03/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great N/A Great
I've gone to Triumph quite a few times and havent had any problems thus far! It gets a little crowded around the bar at times but that only means it's the place to be. The beer is fantastic and the food is great. As for those who complain about there not being any bottled beer,....Don't go to a brew pub if your looking for Bud.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Liscinski Paul Liscinski, New Brunswick, NJ
(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
They charged me a 10 $$$ cover charge to eat dinner because a band was playing but promised to give it back if I showed proof that I actualy did get a meal.(The band was for the bar crowd. Couldn't even really hear them from where I was sitting) So after having a decent meal that was fairly priced I went to the same bouncer that 45 mins ago just promised me my 10 bucks back if I gave him a receit. Not only did he not give me the money back but he also threatened to kick my ass if I didn't leave because I told him he was scamming me. When I asked to speak with a manager he again said, If you don't leave right now, I will f@*k you up and poked me in my face! So I sucked it up and left. When I got to my car I called and spoke with the manager. I explained to him what happened and all he could say was," why didn't you ask to speak to me". I AGAIN told him that I did ask for you but the bouncer threatened to beat me up! He then turned it around and said it was my fault because I didn't speak with a manager right away. Ummm, I would of if your midget bouncer didn't have a freaking roid rage and threaten me WHEN I ASKED FOR YOU!!! If you feel like getting scammed and threatened I would say give it a go. If you want to have a good time and not worry about the bouncer trying to beat you up, save your money and go to Harvest Moon in New Brunswick. By the way, I only had one beer so it wasn't like he was trying to kick out some drunk college kid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New Brunswick, NJ
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I so enjoyed this place-- when I wrote my review moments ago-- I failed to spell check.... "restaurant". Now that I am here again. As RUSH fans sometimes say... I will "DITTO" my previous review. Perhaps I should "Double DITTO." Yes. JK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I rely on Pubcrawler to help me find place like this as I travel in the northeast for work. I have collected nearly 50 pint glasses from places I have visited. I agree with the kind words in the other reviews here. John was my bartender-- he was polite, very pleasant and helpful. I sampled the Octoberfest and IPA both very nice. I stayed with the IPA and-- waited for my internet date (first meeting). I recommend this location (1 of 3) for the beer, the reastaurant and as a great place for a date. She also had the IPA. I know I will have a second visit here. I hope I get a second date with her ;) !!!! JK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Before graduating, went here at least once a week with my friends for the past year; generally have about six very good beers on tap, 3 of which tend to be pretty much year round (Amber, Honey Wheat, and IPA, as I recall). The fun part for me was trying the seasonals - the Gothic, Oatmeal Stout (fairly frequent), and a winter brew which I can't remember (hints of cinammon and orange, though) stand out as ones I particularly enjoyed. Good atmosphere, can always get a quality burger, though don't expect too much more from the food. Also, they offer a beer appreciation course in the early spring that is a lot of fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Bannard Preston Bannard, Richmond, VA
(07/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good Great
I knew about it from Pub Crawler but did not know the address. Went walking around on my own and couldn't find it. Found it by asking a local, cool entrance. Don't be put off by the tunnel. Enter and you will find a very cool venue with good atmosphere. Only had time for one beer and no food. The IPA was good enough that I will go back tomorrow night for some grub and a sampler. My woman told me not to bring home another growler bottle though, so I will have to drink what I can on the premisis. Go Longhorns, beat Princeton !-) NullPup

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, georgetown, TX
(02/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Triumph has an excellent American Style Pale Ale on tap these days. The Seven Swans, named for a play currently showing at a local theater, is comparable to Sierra Nevada’s Pale Ale and has a great hop content and just the slightest spice flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Holl John Holl, South Orange, NJ
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Good all around

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Gothic Ale is a MUST. You'll want to take some home. The rosemary essence is delicious and mild hallucinogenic effects are no joke.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ana Capone Ana Capone, New York, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice, friendly atmosphere here. Never had a bad beer at Triumph. Another establishment that keeps the beer selection pretty fresh. The Pumpkin Ale comes to mind as a stand out beer for me, personally. If you are at this place in the fall, give it a try. The bartenders have even given me a water with my sampler without being asked. Maybe I was just lucky, I don't know,..anyway.... I was impressed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard M. Howard M., Plainsboro, NJ
(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great place to have a great brew and listen to music or just people watch

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Great Good
wish they had some good bottled beer instead of their own brews. Other brew pubs offer both.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, Princeton, NJ
(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Been going to Triumph every few months or so over the last few years (it's a long drive). In my opinion, this is how a brewpub should approach brewing - they have offered a very diverse range of styles, although the downside is that they usually only have about 6 available at any given time. I've tried (and most importantly enjoyed) everything from a "Gothic Ale" (brewed with medieval herbs) to a Berliner Weisse (which matched the style perfectly), as well as more standard varieties like stout, IPA, ESB, etc. The food is usually very good (though a little pricey) and the atmosphere is relaxed. Had the Copper Ale on Saturday night - it was described as a darker summer ale, brewed with some wheat malt (which gave it characteristic tartness), and not highly hopped. It was very refreshing. Enjoyed my dinner as well. Would highly recommend a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This brewery was pricier than I am used to, but the quality of beer is definitely worth it. They have an excellent selection of beers, something for everyone. My usual favorites were solid (IPA and ESB) and their Honey Wheat and Amber Ale were outstanding. Bar seating is limited but we were quickly seated at a dining table and service was great. And, for the non-beer drinker, my fiancé enjoyed their chocolate martinis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Feesh, Findlay, OH
(05/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
If you want something other than beer, ask Mike the bartender to make you an Expresso Martini, I know it sounds girly but it is damn good. This is a great scene for the 20 and 30s Princeton crowd. The Calamari is wicked good also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Goldman Joshua Goldman, Princeton, NJ
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm a little puzzled by the overall rating given here. When I look over the reviews of the beer and discount the repeats, I see:

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(04/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Amber is my ALL TIME favorite!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Stompy, Barnegat, NJ
(03/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Living in Staten Island, Triumph is not as convienent as some other brewpubs for me, but this is the one that I keep returning to. The town is hip, the beer is great to sip, overall it was worth the trip. If you're brewpub hopping, PA is right over the Delaware Water Gap, but Triumph gave me my fill and gave me a thrill.....and made me wax poetic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Taverner Joe Taverner, Staten Island, NY
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Nice selection of seasonal beers.Worth the trip and hassle of parking. Nice atmosphere and view of the making tanks. Food quality & selection is getting better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
We visited this last weekend and found a place that was not at all what we had expected... After a long walk down a looonnng corridor --and after almost getting knocked out by people leaving, swinging open heavy doors in our faces-- we found what seemed to be a popular place and a fairly long wait ahead of us. After a decent wait we were seated in bar with a nice 'atmosphere', and found a good but limited menu [that was not 'health' oriented in the least] and a small draught beer list. It was before seven o'clock but we found that one of their 'specials' was already no longer available. After another check of the menu I made another selection and found out that I may have been lucky for the pork dish I then selected was excellent... This just may have been my best meal in a long time --but please note that I have been living on 'low fat' dishes for a long, long time-- The waiter was very quick, knowledgeable, attentive and courteous. The beers I had were very good; I am a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale drinker and I first tried their Amber Ale thinking that the 'hoppy' 'West Coast' type ale described on the menu would be to my liking, as opposed to the 'Indian' Pale Ale... but I was mistaken and the IPA was much more to my taste and matched up very well against a Sierra Nevada draught from a beer conscious local pub. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by my visit and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to throw caution to the wind and forget about their cholesterol for a night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerald Nigro Gerald Nigro, Gloucester, NJ
(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
First a shout out to Stephanie, one of the better waitresses I have experienced at a brewpub! Great service goes a long way. The beers while not overwhelming were very good. The Amber had that West Coast hoppy taste to it, and I would highly recommend it. The Snakebite was unique, part Cider, part Ale, and better than expected. Nice place, great service, good beers. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Rolling Meadows, IL
(08/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Langhorne, PA
(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Good
Excelent beer in a brewpub with a very open, contemporary look. The beer is some of the best brewed in the state. They don't try to appeal to everyone's tastes, and as a result, they sucessfully are adventurous. Haven't tried the food yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sales Mike Sales, Highland Park, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Sampled their braggot and Jewish Rye Ale at a beer festical and these beer were incredible. You take a sip of the JRA and you instictively reach out for some pastrami. It IS liquid bread!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the beer outstanding. The brown was quite enjoyable, the stout great for dessert. I brought home a growler of IPA, also good. The lager was light and crisp, the red was thin, and the snakebite was not my thing( hated doing it to get my mug at The Ship. Nasty old Roy.) It's a long ride, but I hope to return soon despite the strange opening time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good N/A
I had the stout. Very good. Very thick head. No happy hour! The house beers are $3.75 a pint, unless otherwise noted. My stout was $4.00. Worth it, but I really wish they had a happy hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(03/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Forget all you people who say that you drive a whole 20-30 minutes to get there. I drive an hour and 15 mintues to go Triumph! It's turning into an every weekend kinda thing. The beer is fantastic, the good is outstanding, the selection of beer is great. I was there one week, and they had 7 brews on tap. I was there again the very next week, and they had 2 new or different beers on draft. That's how good the selection is. I love sitting at the bar and doing nothing but talking to the bartender about their beers and, of course, drinking them. I'd be there all afternoon if it were up to me. It's a shame that I don't have any more arms than I already do, because I would drag all the growlers outta there I could. Great place to go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Pottstown, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Still my favorite BP. New menu with awesome food. Same great rotating selection. Jolie Blond rocked!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Anderson Jim Anderson, Medford, NJ
(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
I drive 20 minutes to drink their beer. I am an IPA fan and it does not disappoint at the Triumph. If you're going to see a show at McCarter, this is the best place to stop and 'pre-game'. Nothing beats Nassau Street and downtown Princeton in the fall/winter, and Triumph is an essential piece of the "scene". Beats other local brew pubs hands down. If you go, try the crabmeat quesadilla appetizers and the BBQ chicken platter did me right. I love this place and try to fit it into my busy weekend any time I can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randal Johannsen Randal Johannsen, New Brunswick, NJ
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Tasted their beer at the NJ BeerFest in July 2001 in Trenton, NJ and was not disappointed. We live about 30 plus away and this beer trip was worth the ride. Great beer, good food, but the Barmaid could have been a little bit faster in refilling our glasses. Try the samplers and judge for yourself. The beers overall were full and had a smooth finish. Go visit and enjoy this wonderful brewpub. The only sad thing I can say is that I did not here sooner than I did---It was overdue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(09/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Boy, has this place improved in the last few years! Good IPA, amazing rye beer (when available), smooth oatmeal stout, and excellent homemade potato chips. Food is well-prepared and the service is attentive. Go early before the evening crowds roll in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Pleased to say that the beer was much better than I remembered especially the hand pumped cask conditioned Pale Ale.Food has always been good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(08/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm about to go there for the first time ever in about 15 minutes, so it better be good!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trevor Goodchild Trevor Goodchild, Lawrenceville, NJ
(03/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Triumph is now open for bar service while the renovation of the kitchen is underway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(02/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Triumph is now open as a bar, though the kitchen is still under construction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Stevenson Tom Stevenson, Princeton, NJ
(02/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Went here on 2/3/2001 and a sign said that it was closed for renovations. Anyone know how long ???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Anderson J. Anderson, Medford, NJ
(02/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
The beers were in-style, but a little light on the hops for my taste. I was most impressed with the Stout; least impressed with the Honey Wheat. It needs more wheat taste and hops; currently it is honey flavored water. The food was outstanding; I had the tuna sushi and salmon. Service was very attentive. The beer selection goes from very light to very dark; something for everyone. Definitely worth a visit and a return trip. 1/9/01 visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntsville, AL
(01/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Good
I usually visit a couple of times a year, and this weekend's visit was the most rewarding in a long time. The winter ale, Bengal Gold IPA and honey wheat were excellent, and the "Gothic" gruit ale was well balanced but would have preferred much more body to it. The amber and vienna offerings were pretty decent too. I was very pleased with the quality of the beers -- something I couldn't say for my last two or three trips. Those who don't appreciate Bengal Gold as a great beer incorrectly believe an IPA should smack you upside the head with hops. The service was outstanding -- fast, friendly and courteous. Biggest turnoff, as always, is the price of food: far too expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gurn Gurn, Maple Shade, NJ
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
This visit I tried 2 beers, both of which were quite good. The Roggenbock was a clean, crisp beer with just a hint of caraway and a nice spicy rye flavor. The Pumpkin Ale was also very nice, with a clean spicy flavor, not too sweet. HOWEVER, if you go in the evening, be prepared for LOUD and CROWDED! I haven't tried the food, so can't comment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Spencer Thomas Spencer Thomas, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
With the addition of the new General Manager this place can only get better I was only there for 1 hour and did not try the food. But the beers were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Moyer Matthew Moyer, Madison, WI
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
I'd heard not so good things about these beers, but I was impressed with the selection (immense) and the trueness to style. I happily imbibed every beer on the taster, even the lighter ones, and then ordered a pint of the IPA. That was to finish the lunch, which was dry, blah, and overpriced. The place was quiet when I was there at lunch; I can't speak of what it's like when busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PVS PVS, Brooklyn, NY
(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A large place that was very busy this particular Friday night, however; we were seated immediately. The beers were good and each was different from the other and some (the jewish rye) were different from anything I've ever had. It's a worthwhile stop if you're in Princeton. It's a cool place in a cool town. My wife and I were not disappointed with the food either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny G Johnny G, Danbury, CT
(06/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I had dinner here on a Saturday night, and lunch the next day. It was pretty busy Saturday, but I found a seat at the bar and they took good care of me. Sunday was quieter - I shared the bar with a knucklehead who was trying to figure out what beer most closely approximated Budweiser (what are you doing in here?). The bartender was very patient and helpful (God bless him). I really got a kick out of the Jewish Rye - I didn't expect it to taste like, well, a Jewish Rye. The other beers were solid too. The seared tuna salad was excellent. I will go back - soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob haskell bob haskell, foster city, CA
(06/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
We were impressed with how beautiful the place was. We only went in for snacks and beers. I had a salad(very good) but my wife had the asparagus soup which was inedible..tasted like water strained through the spears. Service was poor at best. I had the Jewish Rye Beer, I expected more flavor but it was very good, the Nut Brown Ale on the handpump was outstanding and the Oatmeal Stout started out with a nice smoky taste, but quickly disappeared. We would give it another try for a complete meal. I'm sure the service would have been better.The brewer is innovative and deserves praise for all that he has done for the NJ brew scene. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great
Most of the regular brews are pretty good(the stout can be tasty) but the I really like the variety of their specialty brews(over the last few months they had a rauchbier and a jewish rye beer). The convenience of their 1 liter bottles for $5 (refill) is also nice. Having handpump beer is a real plus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Triumph's beers fall in the good catagory,but not great or awesome.The stout was creamy and it had a good roasted flavor. The I.P.A. did not have enough hops.The E.S.B. was very drinkable,and the honeywheat was very good with the honey taste coming through.It is a good place to go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from E. Gant E. Gant, Millville, NJ
(04/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So Lousy
Terrible beer. No matter what the style, they all tasted sweet, with no hop aroma or taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, birdsboro, PA
(03/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I think that Triumph has excellent food for a brew pub. I think it's gourmet quality, the fact that they serve very good beer is icing on the cake. I recently tried a Mexican Pilsener that was very good. I recommend trying their sampler, they serve you samples of all their beer on a tray. It's worth experimenting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sullivan Mike Sullivan, South Brunswick, NJ
(01/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Great Lousy
sorry guys--i'm a beer drinker--i'm quite confused about how someone can put so much effort into making this brewery look as nice as it is and not have the ability to produce a well balance beer--i mean not one beer--oh well, the food was very good had the tuna sandwich...i'm still scratching my head in wonderment....THANK GOD FOR VICTORY, YARDS AND FLYING FISH BREWING COMAPANIES !!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GK GK, BLACKWOOD, NJ
(01/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
When they first opened, they were still trying to get their feet in terms of beer and service. But the food...they had a marvelous chicken sandwich, a wonderful swordfish sandwich, and a terrific portobello sandwich. Only the chicken sandwich remained on the regularly rotating menu, but it was slightly different. Still, it was superb. The food improved in general over the years, but it's going downhill again. The chicken sandwich vanished for a while, but it's back. Alas, not as good.

The beers are decent, if not thrilling. Their IPA has never been very good. Their Honey Wheat, on the other hand, is quite good. Some of their seasonal specialty beers--especially in the winter--are very good.

All in all, a decent place to go. There are better places in Princeton, but this was the first brewpub and, perhaps surprisingly, still the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David J. Loehr David J. Loehr, Plainsboro, NJ
(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
The beers taste watered down and have no finish. Although there are several different styles of beer available, they all taste somewhat alike. The beer is not good enough to pay $4-$5 a pint for. Food is good but very pricey and the service is really slow. I only live a short distance away and do not consider it worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hamilton, NJ
(08/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by this afternoon for a bite and a couple of brews, again I was pleased as could be with the service and food. The Triumph Brewery in my opinion has to be the best Brew Pub in N.J.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
I know reviews are a matter of opinion and my opinion is that Triumph is *the best* brewpub in NJ! Yes, they have a small (if you call 8 beers on tap small) beer selection but they make up for it in quality. Yes, they only have 2 "specialty" beers on tap at a time but, again, they make up for it in quality. If you go soon be sure & try the Coffee & Cream Stout (AWESOME!) and the Nut Brown Ale (on the handpump). Personally, I would rather have two excellent beers to choose from that 6 mediocre or poor beers! The food, too, is awesome. Maybe the menu is getting stale for someone who goes to Triumph every week but the quality is, nevertheless, top notch! If you've never eaten skate I highly recommend it! And, yes the service is slow. But, why is everyone in such a hurry?!? My beer glass has never sat empty more than 5 minutes. That's fine service for me! In summary, Triumph has one outstanding quality that sets it apart from many other brewpubs: CONSISTENCY! Triumph's beer in consistently awesome! This is more that I can say about another brewpub in NJ that I frequent! Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Eldridge Dan Eldridge, North Brunswick, NJ
(06/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Beer was very interesting, decor and architecture were great. Crowded and a bit pretentious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(06/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I stop in every 2 to 3 weeks to sample any changes in the beers and menu.. the specialty beers are interesting and different but always good. The service needs some work.. it's slow and chilly. I feel the owners are trying to be cutting edge and different, but sometimes too on the edge puts you over it! Sometimes the basics are what the people want.. along with good quality "meat and potatoes" kind of beers. Perfect the basics first, then experiment with derivations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Princeton, NJ
(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Flan M Flan, Ridgefield Park, NJ
(05/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I agree with Robert. The beer and food are both something unique. Atmosphere is really impressive. Definitely one of the Top 5 Brew Pubs I have ever been to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Manalapan, NJ
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best beer, the best food in New Jersey. I am not prejudiced even though my son owns the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Rechnitz Robert Rechnitz, Red Bank, NJ
(02/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Triumph has lost some of its luster since it opened, but they still have good beer and food. Their specialty beers are very good but they often run out, and only have 1 on tap at a time. Their Christmas ales have been excellent for the past few years...spiced, with high alcohol content. Staff is generally quite knowledgeable about beer, but a bit slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anne and Jeff Anne and Jeff, West Chester, PA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
The atmosphere is buzzing with activity and the crowd is there but the service is sloooooow!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sriny Sriny, Princeton, NJ
(09/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
We've been going to Triumph for nearly 2 years now, so maybe I'm getting a bit jaded... the beer is solid, if a bit pricey. The architecture is interesting, though there are a couple rooms that are like dining in exile. The food is usually good -- try the calamari appetizer and the duck entree. The menu often is allowed to get stale -- they've had the same one for 8 months now, so we're getting BORED! Service ranges from OK to poor, which is disappointing to us "regulars." However, here in Princeton, we are not blessed with a lot of great restaurants, so I'm glad we have Triumph, which is most definitely GOOD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Gallo Don Gallo, Princeton, NJ
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip P. Phillip P., Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I don't understand why everyone raves about the beer here. None of their brews is very exciting, and all a little expensive. The atmosphere is pretty nice - sort of nouveau jazz club, if you're into that sort of thing. Even though the place wasn't busy, on each of the three occasions my wife and I have visited we had trouble getting service at the bar. If you're hunting for good beer, go north, go south, but don't waste your time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phillip P., Princeton, NJ
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
We had a good time at Triumph. The beer was very good and the food was excellent. I'm not sure how "real" the real ale is (currently an ESB)...it was certainly good, but rather thin bodied compared to other real ales I've tried. I expect my disappointment with the ESB was the result of expectations that were too high. The "Amber Ale" was the most heavily hopped brew I have ever had that was labled an amber- lots of cascade hops and very, very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Always an enjoyable time. Excellent selection of ales-I like the IPA the best. Building has an interesting history-ask your server for details. Live music some nights-well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Blazer Bill Blazer, Collingswood, NJ
(05/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good So So
I have enjoyed the food here the four visits I have made. I wish I could say the same about the beer. I would have to say their best effort is the Pale Ale. It seems the brewers don't want to offend anyone by brewing anything that is a departure from the main stream. Go for the food. The beer will probably be bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Toscano Tim Toscano, Farmingdale, NJ
(03/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Very good brews of all styles especially the oatmeal stout and the winter seasonal. Also try the tasty black bean soup.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Amin Jay Amin, Cedar Grove, NJ
(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
They serve a Scottish "Real" Ale hand pulled from oak casks! You *MUST* try this beer! It is a real treat! The menu is ecclectic and of the highest quality. Triumph has never dissapointed me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Eldridge Dan Eldridge, North Brunswick, NJ
(12/12/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
A fun environment, great beer, and the food is "to die for."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Gontarski Brian Gontarski, Hillsborough, NJ
(12/04/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Didn't care for the menu selection, but what we had was excellent. The beer is worth the trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck & Kim Ott Chuck & Kim Ott, Delanco, NJ
(11/17/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent menu, knowledgeable and attentive service. Beer is aggressively hopped so may not appeal to 'industrial beer' drinkers. Architecture is very interesting as well. One of the best!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Miller Robert Miller, Hatfield, PA
(11/12/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
Right on Nassau St. - across from the main gate of Princeton Univ. Triumph has NEVER disappointed us. Food is delicious, unusual and constantly changing. Beer quality is always excellent and the atmosphere is kind of an "understated modern." Three-story main room with balcony creates a real airy feel, featuring the brew kettles as the bar's backdrop and focal point. GO NOW!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Regan Dan Regan, Ewing, NJ
(09/29/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.106 seconds) 20:53:49 54.237.247.172, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS