PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ship Inn - Milford, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 09:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Milford > Ship Inn
Ship Inn Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ship Inn
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.1 / 100
61 Bridge Street
Post Office Box 497
Milford, NJ 08848
United States
(908) 995-0188
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Milford, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Ship Inn
75 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Warrenside Tavern
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bridgeton House
2) Chestnut Hill
3) Guesthouse At Frenchtown
4) Widow Mc Crea House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Delaware and Raritan Canal
2) Hixson-Skinner Mill Complex
3) Seigle Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Brookside Inn
2) Cookie's Milford Cafe
3) Davy's Pizzeria
4) Dutch Mill Market
5) Farmhouse Inn
6) Jimmy's Ice Cream Stand
7) Joseph's Little York Inn
8) Ma-De-Chat Shop
9) Mezza Luna Pizza
10) Milford Station
11) Olde Mill Ford Oyster House
12) Riverside Deli & Bakery
13) Riverside Tap Room
14) Ship Inn Restaurant & Brewery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Good
ESB was fantastic, what a great find ! A neat little town with an outstanding brewpub... it doesn't get any better than that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Trout Run, PA
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
This was my 2nd visit to the Ship Inn. Got the beer sampler (6 Beers, 3 from beer engines). All tasted as they should be in the English style. Nothing really stood out. They also had about 4 British beers on tap. Check my site thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(06/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite BP. The bitter, celebration and pheasant are awesome. The others are good as well, and all are always consistent. The food, although good, has slipped a little in flavor and portion. They should rename the ESB to Roy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, New Brunswick, NJ
(03/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
I'll use the most recent visit for this review. Strolled in around 2 PM on a Tuesday. Ordered a pint of the "Best Bitter". Was impressed, and relieved, and deparanoided, to see the barmaid, an attractive middle aged Susan Sarandon type, yeah, actually CLEAN OUT THE LINES. Yes, scream it from the rooftops, it does happen... since I was the first Bitter customer of the day. Unnn fortunately, I was unimpressed with ALL.. of thir beers and ales on tap... well, actually, I only had 4 of the different styles, but I knew I wouldn't like the remaining candidates... I DID have a very interesting conversation with a fellow imbiber who was also wasting an afternoon in a bar while the rest of the world slaved away at (hopefully)boring jobs. We talked about home brewing.

I'd say their best stuff is the scotch ale. The prices were at a dpressingly high NYC level. I think it was $4.98 for one pint of the scotch ale ! And $3.50 for the Bitter, I think. They have a happy hour, but I had to be leave before that........ I will still stop in here again, when in the Milford area, but hopefully during happy hour...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy Good
Haven't been here for a few years and things seem to be better than i remembered them, as far as beer and food go. I had the Shady Ale, which was very flavorful, and my wife had the Best Bitter. Both were served at cellar temperature and were excellent representations of English style beers. Unfortunately, I would've tasted more had they had it listed on the menu that samplers were available and our waitress was more attentive. She disappeared for a long time between each visit and the place wasn't that crowded. Then, when we let it be overheard by another person on the waitstaff that our service was slow, our waitress returned with an attitude on top of her slow speed! I would return here again, as it seemed like everyone who didn't have our waitress was recieving prompt, courteous service (the people at the next table were seated after us, recieved their meals, ate, paid and left -- and we were still sitting with our dirty dinner plates in front of us and empty pints).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Thought this place was going down hill, but it showed no sign of same this trip. Food very good and beer excellent. I take back anything I ever said negative about this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good
just started a mug club mission here. very good house beers. their bitters are very tasty. nicely done. however, in the two times to this place the service was horrible. while we were sitting at the bar for almost 10 min., without being served, the bartender blew his nose in our faces and went back to stuffing his face with food! we moved to a table. not much better. sad really. so presently, the overall rating is somewhere between good and great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mikeyp mikeyp, allentown, PA
(02/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The musty taste in the beers seems to have been fixed. Several of the beers had fresh tastes they haven't had since the brewer discovered hops. The ESB, Best Bitter, and Celebration ale were very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I visited this brewpub with my wife, 3 year old daughter, and my parents. We thought the food was out of this world. The place is kid friendly and parent friendly. Even my 60 year old mother had a couple of the beers and loved them. Highly Recommended To All!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
The beers made on the premises all seem to have settled into the same, musty taste! (I happen to like musty-tasting hops, but I think I am out-voted.) The new, Maple Pale Ale was really good: like an IPA, but a little sweeter, though. Same musty taste... There is always a good selection of other odd or craft brews on tap, so the selection is excellent. The food, in my limited experience, is as good or better than any that you would get in a real English Pub, so I can't complain. I really like the Pub Sampler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(08/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
I was ther for the bag pipes which was part of the grand opening bub! If you people remember, it was around playoff time...Had a great time...rente a room...did it right. I was troubled to see the last review asking if something is going on here. This place was always lacking a good compliment of food...I don't care if your first or not in the industry, you dropped the ball on that one people. Being first, you should have had a better long term plan....Good food would have helped...DA!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry larry, lafayette, NJ
(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Something may be up with this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(12/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Awesome! Great So So
This is the first time in the past 5 yrs I've been going to the ship that the beer was bad. I hope you get your act together you are going to lose a good customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Northfield, NJ
(10/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Lousy Good
Food and bitter was superb Fri Nite 10/13. Place was not crowded. Waiter kept getting lost.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emmett Greenleaf Emmett Greenleaf, Fairfax, VA
(10/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nice place. Going for the English pub style. Has only English type beers on tap. Had 3 of there own on hand pump. And a few other brands as well. Only had there beer. The Best Bitter lives up to its name. Bitter is an understatement. Good stuff, very good if you like that style. Other 2 types, Ale and stout, were nothing special. Had roast beef sandwich, was a little dry, unless that's how the British like it:) If in New Hope, Pa and in the mood for beer and dinner. Take 29 on the Jersey side it's about 15 miles north.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
One of the best pubs anywhere! The closest thing to real British bitters that I have ever tasted outside of the UK. I live an hour from The Ship Inn but I have made the special trip on at least a dozen occasions. Only once was I disappointed (when the special bitter served from the hand pump was empty). The food is authentic pub fare, plus some more upscale selections. The food is generally very good. The atmosphere is also excellent -- close to a British pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Herman Fala Herman Fala, Lower Gwynedd, PA
(06/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Closest thing to authentic British beer without crossing the big pond. The bitter is unrivaled. Best fish and chips I've had in a restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Diener Mark Diener, Pittstown, NJ
(06/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We've been there dozens of times, and have always enjoyed the people. The bartenders (Roy & Mike) and the wait staff (ask for Marsha) were the best! Try the Snakebite (1/2 cider, 1/2 lager).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick & Marion Rick & Marion, Bound Brook, NJ
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good N/A Great
If, like me, you were searching for an excellent brewed-on-premises Bitter, look no further the the Ship Inn. I just wish the place was a little closed to my side of the galaxy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jan Budnik Jan Budnik, Howell, NJ
(04/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
THe service was slow as they were very busy. Highly recommend the Brie as an appitizer, excellent. SAve room for dessert too! I had the celebration ale, it was groovin'. My wife loved the cider.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Manville, NJ
(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Had an early dinner Saturday night before it got crowded. Beers are really true to the English style. Excellent Hop Monster IPA, Paddle Wheel Pale and Pheasant Plucker brown. The steak and kidney pie, while not as authentic, was delicious. My fiancee, Karen's bangers and mash were great also (Why does that sound inappropriate?). Once again, the Ship Inn has served us well! We're even thinking of having our rehearsal dinner here (Karen's idea! ... Thanks, Honey!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kraig Kraig, mantya, NJ
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Went for lunch. Very nice ambience and service was very good.Tried the Bitter, the Hopmonster and the Brown ale. Very good! Food was also very enjoyable.Will definitely return when I get the chance.Worth the trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Highly recommended. Please make an effort to go to this English style pub. Very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.436 seconds) 09:14:19 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS