PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ship Inn - Milford, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 06:07 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Milford > Ship Inn
Ship Inn Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ship Inn
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.1 / 100
61 Bridge Street
Post Office Box 497
Milford, NJ 08848
United States
(908) 995-0188
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Milford, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Ship Inn
75 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Warrenside Tavern
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bridgeton House
2) Chestnut Hill
3) Guesthouse At Frenchtown
4) Widow Mc Crea House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Delaware and Raritan Canal
2) Hixson-Skinner Mill Complex
3) Seigle Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Brookside Inn
2) Cookie's Milford Cafe
3) Davy's Pizzeria
4) Dutch Mill Market
5) Farmhouse Inn
6) Jimmy's Ice Cream Stand
7) Joseph's Little York Inn
8) Ma-De-Chat Shop
9) Mezza Luna Pizza
10) Milford Station
11) Olde Mill Ford Oyster House
12) Riverside Deli & Bakery
13) Riverside Tap Room
14) Ship Inn Restaurant & Brewery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good Good
Tried everything they had, all was good. Fish and chips was not good, very greasy. Nice location in a historic building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I found this place while taking a scenic drive along the Delaware valley. I rated the beer as only "good", but only because I drink the ESB every time which I think is awesome. Staff is always friendly. I love the English Pub atmosphere, the Pub items, and can't wait for the next trip to the Garden State.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Caruso Mark Caruso, North Webster, IN
(12/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Great
I was touring the small towns dotting the Delaware when I got stuck outside the Ship Inn because of construction. I noticed it said brewpub, so I negotiated my way back. Nice cozy atmosphere. Friendly bartenders and an excellent bitters. Like the beer so much that I dragged two friends there that day, and bought some of the ESB to take to Indiana. If you get lost like I did, it's a nice place to find. Just wish they had more of their own beers on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cheeks Cheeks, Warsaw, IN
(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Excellent English style beers, especially the stout. The only frustrations were that there weren't more available at any one time, and that the food portions are small for what you pay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Staten Island, NY
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
We have been going here ~2x year over the past 10 years and each year it seems like the selection of their micro tap beers are very limited. Last Saturday 2/3/07, only 2 micos were pouring, 4 more from England and ofcourse plenty in bottles. This is dissapointing being we drive ~1 hour to find out most beers ran out, it was only 4:00 in the afternoon. Dinner was tasty, but price wise, a bit on the high side. Fun atmosphere but they really need to produce more beer and have a better selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gail Klewsaat Gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(02/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Awesome!
I am a homebrewer and beer lover of many years. This was a real find. I've never had a cask-conditioned ale and the taste and mouthfeel were amazing. The on-tap selection was focused (meaning not huge, but reflective of their mission). I've never had Brittish ales done better. Really nice atmosphere and a fun place to hang. They had a great selection of bottled beers, as well. They had a mead and a Heather herbed-ale, among their selections. I don't recall anything Belgian or German in their selection. Food couldabeen better, but I was there for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Newell Jeff Newell, Margate, NJ
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Patrick doesn't know what he's is talking about. We and our friends have been going to The Ship ever since they became the first brewpub in NJ and we've never, ever been disappointed! The waitstaff are super friendly and the food has always been terrific especially when other places hit you on the head with prices. You never go home hungry from The Ship. They have a really nice balance of English food and other stuff so there is something for everyone. My daughters are sort of vegetarian and there's always a good selection for them to choose from. Also The Ship is renown for they're hot wings. It's hard to belive they would screw that one up. Maybe Patrick is a spy from a competing brewpub?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fran Riley Fran Riley, Bath, PA
(08/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
My wife and I ate at the Ship two nights in a row on a short vacation in the Delaware River valley; Service on both nights was wonderful and friendly. The food was quite good- I had the cask condition best bitter and that was very, very good. We had none of the issues the previous poster had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill and Tara Bill and Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Lousy
I cannot understand the good reviews given to this joint. The beer notwithstanding, this establishment has managed to do the seemingly impossible: screw up British cuisine. How is this possible? The food was disgusting. Simple pub grub was ill prepared, tasteless and maybe contaminated. I was sick to my stomach shortly after eating there. The chicken wings were terrible: overcooked, greasy and distincly rancid. The nachos were a nightmare: a stack of poor quality, stale chips with a stingy glob of ground beef and cheese. Unbelievable!!! I had to return this mess, left, as it were, to my rancid chicken wings.

I must say, the view of the small canal through the spider webbed windows (inside and out) was quite an experience. I also enjoyed the sticky table top and the decorative display of dirty dishes that adorned the adjacent table for my entire stay.

If you go to eat, make sure you drink enough beer to dull your common sense as well as your tongue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Warrington, PA
(07/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
i love a place like this. a small town brewpub making it. its a sweet place to go to. they serve cask and ussually have 3-4 house beers on tap and a huge selection of english beers. you need to drink 125 different beers to get your mug. its like your in england. they have several casks set up and a British menu to order off of. the food is a tad pricy for a dinner but hey its a great place to visit. try the cheese onion pie and the welsh ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Great
It is funny to find a brewpub out where the Ship Inn is located...doesn't seem like a strong location to support a brewpub. Regardless, it was like slipping into a real, old time English tavern. Their beer selection was minimal (although they did have a nice selection of guests beers on tap and bottled). Of their own, they had a Best Bitter, an IPA, a Golden Wheat and a Mild Spring (which was a nut brown). None were highly carbonated and they were served partially chilled, but not icy cold, in the English fashion. It made for a cool experience...the service was good. Ship Inn has a certain nitch...it is not going to compete with the offerings and scope of a Bittings or Long Valley, but it was more of an old fashion spot worth seeking out...far from the trendy style brewpubs that have popped up over the years. Regarding the food, the Shepard's Pie was incredible, but unless you are a fan of English fare, there is a limited selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Nutley, NJ
(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I’ve been going to the Ship for about 10 years now. It sits right on the Delaware River about 45 minutes from Allentown, PA (where I live.) If you are really into beer (I’m a beer judge), you’ll notice that this brewpub uses open fermenters which is something you don’t see at many brewpubs. If you really want to make an honest to god British Ale, you need this type of fermenter. The open fermenter is short and wide allowing a huge krausen (head) to form on top of the fermenting beer. Exposure to the air coaxes the yeast to produce lots of fruity esters, which are a trademark of Brit Style Ale. The drawback is that the beer doesn’t keep very long before going wild. This is do to the presence of harmless bacteria that fall into the fermenter and start to grow. When fresh, the bacteria add to the flavor, but eventually they spoil the beer by adding off flavors. You might experience this at the Ship, so be forwarded. I’ve found that they won’t charge you for a bad beer, though. However, this is all standard stuff for authentic Brit Ale, which tends to get drunk up long before it spoils! Typical brewpubs use sealed fermenters, which make it difficult to get the body and esters required for IPAs, etc. For example, one local brewpub here puts apricots into their IPA! A properly made IPA in an open fermenter will be full of fruit flavors, particularly apricot.

At the Ship, the result of this is wonderfully full-bodied ale. It’s old time England, right down to the Ringwood Yeast. The Ship has a trademark Best Bitter which is always on tap. Typically you’ll see an ESB, some type of brown, porter or stout and some type of light beer creation which you should pass on. If you want light beer, you’re in the wrong place! Their beers are rather high in alcohol content, I would say around 5%. So you might want to bring a designated driver along.

The food is authentic Brit style, however wings and nachos are also available. I’d recommend the Stilton Skins or Fish and Chips. Make sure you understand what Stilton Cheese is before you order, though!

This establishment was originally in the U.K., only to be transplanted to its present location. The owners are British, thus the authenticity. They claim to be New Jersey’s first brewpub, which I can’t dispute.

So if you want real Brit style ales, go to the Ship. The prices are very good, especially compared to nearby NYC, and the experience is unique.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David A Lowe David A Lowe, Allentown, PA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I went to the Ship Inn right after it opened in the 90's. It beat the Long Valley Brewery to the punch as being the first brewpub in NJ. It was a hit! Although I live quite a distance from it whenever I'm somewhat in the area I manage to stop in for a taste. I only wish it were closer...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Estell Manor, NJ
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
When in the area, you must visit the Ship Inn. one of the best British pubs in the US, second only to Horse Brass Pub in that microbrew Mecca: Portland, Oregon. Ths Ship has always been consistent in quality, both foodwise and brew-wise, particularly the excellent British-style draught ales. They even offer great bottled selections, such as the elusive yet delicious Darwin's Oribinal Porter, made from yeast recovered from a shipwreck - how ironic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!
Just hit the Ship yesterday with some good friends, one of whom is a particularly picky brewer of British-style ales. We all loved the beer (tried the cask porter and just stuck with it, excellent glass), sampled a bit of their great selection of whiskies, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The Ship is a neat little haven from the day's tiresome routine, and I always look forward to visiting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very good English style food. Seasonal beer selection. I recommend the bangers and mash. expect to spend 17 - 35 dollars for dinner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Hillsborough, NJ
(02/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I had to make a comment. I was introduced to the Ship in about 1990 via a girlfriend's friends. I don't know if they still do it, but back then, if you drank 66 British beers in a year, they gave you a pewter mug with your name engraved on it that was then hung over the bar itself. For a drinker, this was a challenge not to be shirked. At the time they didn't brew their own beer. Even though I lived on the Hudson River and not the Delaware, I managed all 66 in a year, the last being the most notorious of them all, Hardy's Ale, which was the most lurid imagineable, and which laid waste to many a man. I got through and only turned green. As I finished it, the barman rang the bell and hailed a new "mugger". And yes, the Scotch Eggs are out of this world, though I heard the owner went beserk when he learned staff were heating them before serving. To this day, I heat my scotch eggs. In fact, I loved the English flavour so much, I moved to England in 1996. I got a chance to return to the Ship late in 2002 after 8 years and was so pleased to find it almost exactly as it used to be, except now for the on site brew. It's a warm place that anyone in America would wish to be his "local". The fact it's situated in one of the most remote, yet beautiful, parts of New Jersey only somehow makes it even more special. It's not to be missed if you find yourself in Trenton, New Hope or even Manhattan!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, London, UK
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
One of my favorite pubs in the world. The best in New Jersey. If they don't make enough great beers to suit you, fear not - the imported samplings on tap will seal the deal. This has been a gem for a number of years, remote but well worth the trip. The Beer IS HERE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOD JOD, Algonquin, IL
(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My boyfriend has brought me to this particular British styled pub many times, and each time the food was superb, along with the service-- many different beers to choose from (and an excellent wine/mead selection too) -- how can you go wrong ???

The prices may be a bit more than your average brewpub, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I won't attempt to comment on the food at Ship's Inn because it’s been 2 or 3 years since I've eaten there. On the other hand, once in a full moon I fill up the ole' growler with what's brewing. Last week I brought home their Monster IPA. The hop flavor is not what I have become familiar with in the style of the IPA. My taste for the IPA has been founded on SN Celebration (still have 1996 in the basement), Tugboat (Portland brewpub not to be missed!), Hops Infusion (Weyerbacher Brewing Company), Anchor Liberty Ale, Sprecher Brewing IPA (Yum!). The Monster, possible mis-named, is a very civil IPA. More floral and less bitty than most of the above beers. The malt makes itself more known than the above, with the possible exception of Sprecher. Maybe this is a British version of the IPA as opposed to the American, a nice change. I'm re-doing my kitchen this week and will celebrate the completion by visiting Ship Inn. I will probably give their ESB another tasting. Wish I lived just a little closer to the Delaware.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Whitehouse Station, NJ
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
If I lived closer to the "Ship," I'd be here about every day. The beer selection (including 1-2 cask choices) is generally well rounded and is complemented by craft-brewed guest beers and some hard to find bottled choices. The British menu has slipped a bit in the last year or two, but is still very enjoyable (St. Andrews in NYC has better Scotch eggs now, sorry!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff N Geoff N, Morris Plains, NJ
(08/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great meat pies, great beer, first first microbrew in Jersey. A must see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Goldman Joshua Goldman, Princeton, NJ
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Let me begin I grew up in Holland Twp, New Jersey, which almost completely surrounds the Borough of Milford - so I'll try to be as honest as possible despite my hometown pride. I tried the sampler, which consisted of a stout a red ale a pale ale, a porter, a celebration ale and a light lager, all brewed in house. The stout tasted like thin guinness, the porter like a flat, unsweetened chocolate soda, the pale ale tasted a little soapy (guessing the glasses were just cleaned), the lager was neither crisp not light and the red ale tasted like Killians if it were served in a salty martini glass. The saving grace was the celebration ale, absolutely delicious - perfectly balanced flavor of hops and malt, just a hint of fruity sweetness - it was so good I purchased a half gallon of it on the way out. As for the food, it was amazing. The Shepherd's pie is by far the best I've ever had, on either side of the pond, and the fish & chips are second in quality only to John Harvard's. Happy hour is from 4:30 - 5:30, I believe it's half-price on some pub grub staples and many of the brews on tap. Ask for Mary, she'll take care of you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sean C. Kielty, Albany, ny
(03/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Great Good
I totally agree w/ Doug (see below) i've been going here for a few years about 2x a year. 1st couple of times it was great the beer and especially the food. Shepards pie is my standard. Used to be served in a large bowl and was very tasty now it's served in a very small bowl on a very large plate (kinda have to ask yourself if it is an appitizer or your meal. accompanying veggies were completely dried out, embarrasing to serve. The bread pudding looked like a petrified sphincter Had to ask the waitress what it was. The english waitress that served me said that the food was not like she is used to in England. Bottom line prices went up food quality went way down. It's a shame because the servers are nice the atmosphere is nice the beer is very good but I can't go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lee Jumbelic, yardley, pa
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Good
Ironically, the beer has gotten better (it has distinctive flavors now, and the musty taste is gone), but the food is much worse. It used to have good English pub food, but now it is bland and off taste--the beef and mushroom pie was sweet and flat, with no beef or stew taste. The roast beef was a cheap cut of tasteless beef with no roasting taste. Time for a new chef: keep the new brewer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(03/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Good
ESB was fantastic, what a great find ! A neat little town with an outstanding brewpub... it doesn't get any better than that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Trout Run, PA
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
This was my 2nd visit to the Ship Inn. Got the beer sampler (6 Beers, 3 from beer engines). All tasted as they should be in the English style. Nothing really stood out. They also had about 4 British beers on tap. Check my site thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(06/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite BP. The bitter, celebration and pheasant are awesome. The others are good as well, and all are always consistent. The food, although good, has slipped a little in flavor and portion. They should rename the ESB to Roy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, New Brunswick, NJ
(03/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
I'll use the most recent visit for this review. Strolled in around 2 PM on a Tuesday. Ordered a pint of the "Best Bitter". Was impressed, and relieved, and deparanoided, to see the barmaid, an attractive middle aged Susan Sarandon type, yeah, actually CLEAN OUT THE LINES. Yes, scream it from the rooftops, it does happen... since I was the first Bitter customer of the day. Unnn fortunately, I was unimpressed with ALL.. of thir beers and ales on tap... well, actually, I only had 4 of the different styles, but I knew I wouldn't like the remaining candidates... I DID have a very interesting conversation with a fellow imbiber who was also wasting an afternoon in a bar while the rest of the world slaved away at (hopefully)boring jobs. We talked about home brewing.

I'd say their best stuff is the scotch ale. The prices were at a dpressingly high NYC level. I think it was $4.98 for one pint of the scotch ale ! And $3.50 for the Bitter, I think. They have a happy hour, but I had to be leave before that........ I will still stop in here again, when in the Milford area, but hopefully during happy hour...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy Good
Haven't been here for a few years and things seem to be better than i remembered them, as far as beer and food go. I had the Shady Ale, which was very flavorful, and my wife had the Best Bitter. Both were served at cellar temperature and were excellent representations of English style beers. Unfortunately, I would've tasted more had they had it listed on the menu that samplers were available and our waitress was more attentive. She disappeared for a long time between each visit and the place wasn't that crowded. Then, when we let it be overheard by another person on the waitstaff that our service was slow, our waitress returned with an attitude on top of her slow speed! I would return here again, as it seemed like everyone who didn't have our waitress was recieving prompt, courteous service (the people at the next table were seated after us, recieved their meals, ate, paid and left -- and we were still sitting with our dirty dinner plates in front of us and empty pints).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Thought this place was going down hill, but it showed no sign of same this trip. Food very good and beer excellent. I take back anything I ever said negative about this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good
just started a mug club mission here. very good house beers. their bitters are very tasty. nicely done. however, in the two times to this place the service was horrible. while we were sitting at the bar for almost 10 min., without being served, the bartender blew his nose in our faces and went back to stuffing his face with food! we moved to a table. not much better. sad really. so presently, the overall rating is somewhere between good and great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mikeyp mikeyp, allentown, PA
(02/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The musty taste in the beers seems to have been fixed. Several of the beers had fresh tastes they haven't had since the brewer discovered hops. The ESB, Best Bitter, and Celebration ale were very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I visited this brewpub with my wife, 3 year old daughter, and my parents. We thought the food was out of this world. The place is kid friendly and parent friendly. Even my 60 year old mother had a couple of the beers and loved them. Highly Recommended To All!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
The beers made on the premises all seem to have settled into the same, musty taste! (I happen to like musty-tasting hops, but I think I am out-voted.) The new, Maple Pale Ale was really good: like an IPA, but a little sweeter, though. Same musty taste... There is always a good selection of other odd or craft brews on tap, so the selection is excellent. The food, in my limited experience, is as good or better than any that you would get in a real English Pub, so I can't complain. I really like the Pub Sampler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(08/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
I was ther for the bag pipes which was part of the grand opening bub! If you people remember, it was around playoff time...Had a great time...rente a room...did it right. I was troubled to see the last review asking if something is going on here. This place was always lacking a good compliment of food...I don't care if your first or not in the industry, you dropped the ball on that one people. Being first, you should have had a better long term plan....Good food would have helped...DA!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry larry, lafayette, NJ
(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Something may be up with this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(12/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Awesome! Great So So
This is the first time in the past 5 yrs I've been going to the ship that the beer was bad. I hope you get your act together you are going to lose a good customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Northfield, NJ
(10/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Lousy Good
Food and bitter was superb Fri Nite 10/13. Place was not crowded. Waiter kept getting lost.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emmett Greenleaf Emmett Greenleaf, Fairfax, VA
(10/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nice place. Going for the English pub style. Has only English type beers on tap. Had 3 of there own on hand pump. And a few other brands as well. Only had there beer. The Best Bitter lives up to its name. Bitter is an understatement. Good stuff, very good if you like that style. Other 2 types, Ale and stout, were nothing special. Had roast beef sandwich, was a little dry, unless that's how the British like it:) If in New Hope, Pa and in the mood for beer and dinner. Take 29 on the Jersey side it's about 15 miles north.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
One of the best pubs anywhere! The closest thing to real British bitters that I have ever tasted outside of the UK. I live an hour from The Ship Inn but I have made the special trip on at least a dozen occasions. Only once was I disappointed (when the special bitter served from the hand pump was empty). The food is authentic pub fare, plus some more upscale selections. The food is generally very good. The atmosphere is also excellent -- close to a British pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Herman Fala Herman Fala, Lower Gwynedd, PA
(06/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Closest thing to authentic British beer without crossing the big pond. The bitter is unrivaled. Best fish and chips I've had in a restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Diener Mark Diener, Pittstown, NJ
(06/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We've been there dozens of times, and have always enjoyed the people. The bartenders (Roy & Mike) and the wait staff (ask for Marsha) were the best! Try the Snakebite (1/2 cider, 1/2 lager).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick & Marion Rick & Marion, Bound Brook, NJ
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good N/A Great
If, like me, you were searching for an excellent brewed-on-premises Bitter, look no further the the Ship Inn. I just wish the place was a little closed to my side of the galaxy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jan Budnik Jan Budnik, Howell, NJ
(04/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
THe service was slow as they were very busy. Highly recommend the Brie as an appitizer, excellent. SAve room for dessert too! I had the celebration ale, it was groovin'. My wife loved the cider.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Manville, NJ
(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Had an early dinner Saturday night before it got crowded. Beers are really true to the English style. Excellent Hop Monster IPA, Paddle Wheel Pale and Pheasant Plucker brown. The steak and kidney pie, while not as authentic, was delicious. My fiancee, Karen's bangers and mash were great also (Why does that sound inappropriate?). Once again, the Ship Inn has served us well! We're even thinking of having our rehearsal dinner here (Karen's idea! ... Thanks, Honey!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kraig Kraig, mantya, NJ
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Went for lunch. Very nice ambience and service was very good.Tried the Bitter, the Hopmonster and the Brown ale. Very good! Food was also very enjoyable.Will definitely return when I get the chance.Worth the trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Highly recommended. Please make an effort to go to this English style pub. Very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
Went there again 5/24/99 and it was great as great as ever. A great place in a great location. I disagree with the previous review in one aspect. The beers are $3.25-$3.75 for an Imperial pint. Not excessive for 19 ounces for some of the best beer on the east coast. The Shepards pie portion could be bigger though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(05/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
Atmosphere is pseudo nautical/english. The bar service is first rate. Food service is good. The beer brewed on premises is very good, being in the English style of ales. Four usually being served from hand pump, and two from tap. Also offered are a half dozen imports on tap, as well as cider and perry. The beers are served in imperial pints (19 oz.) and unfortunately are $3.75/pint! (Translate to $57/case if sold in bottles.) This would be expected in a major city or resort, but not where The Ship Inn is located. The food, also in the english style, while definitely not filling, should satisfy most. Be forewarned, there is no bar menu or snacks (as there would be in a true british pub). The food, like the beers, is priced on the high side. You can check out menu and prices at their web site.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Doylestown, PA
(05/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
"I have dined today" This place is not exactly easy to find but is worth the trip. The service was excellent (2 waitresses working together and paying attention to the customers). For food, I had the Ship's sampler (Scotch egg, Cornish pastie, sausage roll, and cheese & onion pie) and a salad (baby greens with a house herb balsamic vinnaigrette). It's a nice, comfy place except the lights were so low, I had to use the candle on the table to do the visual evaluation of the beers. GOLDEN WHEAT LIGHT (B-): Clear, medium yellow. Sweet, malty nose. Fairly well balanced but tending to the sweet side. Short, sweet finish. (No flaws but not much character.) WELSH ALE (B+): Clear, dark gold. Not much nose. Slightly toasted malt up front. Medium body. Malt throughout with some hops to balance. Hops builds with the drinking. Some bitterness in the finish. CELEBRATION (A-): Clear, medium reddish brown. Rich malty nose. Malt up front. Big, malty body. Fairly dry, especially for so big a beer. Hops very definitely there - more as bitterness than aroma. Well balanced. (A nice, comfortable strong ale. Would probably be exceptional cask-conditioned.) IRISH STOUT (B): Opaque. Long-lasting tan head. Sweet/malt nose. Malt up front. Sweet for an Irish stout. Roasted barley is apparent but light for my taste. Good lingering bitter/sweet finish.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(04/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great crew, great beer,great service at the Ship Inn!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Loulie Rodriquez Loulie Rodriquez, Buttzville, NJ
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You'll pay one million dollars for this brew, baby.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M.R. Biggelsworth M.R. Biggelsworth, Las Vegas, NV
(02/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Request Heather as your waitress, she serves a mean beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allotto Phagina Allotto Phagina, Garmisch, Germany, G
(02/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
Beer was good but after a friend raved about the good pub food I was terribly disappointed. Terrible fish and chips and even worse shepards pie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Casey Sean Casey, Oakhurst, NJ
(01/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great cask ales and a fine selection of single malt scotches and single barrel bourbons. I wish I wasn't so far away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Gant Ed Gant, Millville, NJ
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
It's like being in England. It was hard deciding on a growler to take home. The Welsh Ale was superb but we decided on the Golden Wheat Light. I put it HIGH on the go back to list. Even if its almost an hour away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(11/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Love going there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Opra Cunningham Opra Cunningham, Fort COllins, CO
(11/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Lambert Gary Lambert, Collingswood, NJ
(10/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is THE brew pub to go to on the east coast. Good food, good service and darn good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Upper Black Eddy, PA
(10/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
About as English a pub as you're likely to find on this side of the Atlantic. The Celebration Ale and Cromwell's Demise are excellent. Not a bad shelf of single malt scotches, as well. Worth the trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn Hughes Lynn Hughes, Quakertown, PA
(09/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tim the brewmaster is truly mastered in his art. Cromwell's Demise is my personal favorite. The ample selection of brews combined with the warm friendly atmosphere, great food, and Roy the bartender make the Ship Inn a must for a great evening

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Kollet Karen Kollet, Alexandria, NJ
(08/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer-nuts who are serious about their beer, especially British-style beers, should not fail to board The Ship! One of the best brewpubs anywhere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The PubScout The PubScout, Perth Amboy, NJ
(06/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I've been going to the Ship for about 10 years, and it just gets better all the time. While of Irish descent, I love British ales. Those that they import at the Ship are excellent, and the ones they brew are as good or better. Young Timmy has done a marvelous job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roderick O'Brien Roderick O'Brien, Bloomsbury, NJ
(04/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The Ship Inn is the closest thing you'll get to a real English Pub on this side of the "pond". Tim Hall(Brewmaster)has done a great job with his beer selection. He has a real gift at capturing the English style of brewing and serving his beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Hebert Rich Hebert, Flemington, NJ
(04/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I finally got to visit Ship Inn after reading so much about it. I was not disappointed. Ship Inn is wonderful. Great English style beer and food. It is a little out of the way for me, but definitely worth an occasional jaunt. I could tell you all about it, but instead, check out: http://www.shipinn.com/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(03/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
Best brewpub in NJ. One of the best anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Pompton Plains, NJ
(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
- They have 4 handpumps in addition to the regular taps - Usually 6 house brews offered from the lightest ale to the darkest stout - Cask conditioned beer is also available

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Judit Hall Judit Hall, Milford, NJ
(01/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This pub is a place to go and talk to people. They have a TV but is seldom turned on. People go there to have great conversations and great beer. It really is like a British pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Milford, NJ
(01/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A real cozy, snug place to go and have a real good beer with good food. Their Irish Stout is great when its in season; try the Olde Pheasant Plucker when its in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian McLaughlin Brian McLaughlin, Trenton, NJ
(12/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
This is just as much a local bar as it is a place to get a meal with your beer. Pub frequenters have personalized steins which hang from the bar rafters. The beer is good and goes well with the pub fare on the menu. Nothing fancy here with the food but it is good just the same. We bring our kids (all 4) with us when we go to have a few.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lon Weiss Lon Weiss, Kinnelon, NJ
(11/05/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.992 seconds) 18:07:17 54.83.224.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS