PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 18, 2014 @ 04:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Great Good
What happened to this place?

I am a regular (well was more of a regular before the name change). Since they have become Browns Brewing Company the quality of the food has completely nosedived. This used to be the place you could get great beer and great cheap food with quality service. The beer is still great the service is still good but that food now costs a whole lot more and is more disgusting than a lot of fastfood joints. Was there tonight and got fish and chips, the fish and the fries were burnt to a crisp. If your chef can't even fry food then you have a SERIOUS problem. This isn't just based on one lousy meal. I have had chicken spiedies where the chicken is pink the middle and NEVER do the fries ever come out right they are either underdone or fried to a crisp.

The beer is still great, now a bit pricey but it really is the best brewpub beer I have ever had. Service is friendly and attentive. Just too bad the food is complete slop these days for the astronomical prices you pay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Albany, NY
(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I miss the old Troy pub! There was a time when I was a regular at the pub. Tonight was my first night back there in over two years and I was a bit disapointed with how things have changed. On a good note, I think the new branding and signage is a positive thing, and hopefully this name will stick. Otherwise, the service was not very good. It took forever to have someone come over and clear our table, the food wasn't so great - my friends had pizza and neither were very impressed. I had a portabello sandwich which was okay, except that it was dwarfed by the roll it was on. And lastly what happened to the cute bartenders?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(02/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I've visited this place a couple times and I would say that I've had a good time each time that I have gone. The atmosphere is good in both the bar and Revolution Hall which during my last visit I learned is owned by Brown's Brewing. So I will say somthing about both.

Browns Brewing Bar (The Tap Room):

The Good: -The Service was good and friendly -The food was good -Nice selection of beer -It's a large bar which is nice -The patio is cool and has a nice view of the Hudson

The Bad:

-The prices for food are steep. What you pay for and what you get are a little out of wack -$4 for a beer is a little high -No specials

Revolution Hall

The Good: -Of the 3 shows that I have seen here the place was packed which makes for a good time when there is a big crowd -The bartenders are Fast and Friendly considering the size of the crowd -Good selection of music

The Bad: -Shows don't start on time -Only one of four bartenders seemed to know how to make any of the shots I wanted(Fuzzy Naval, Roman Candle, OO7) -Can get a little too crowded

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenn Jenn, Lake George, NY
(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great So So
Brown's brewing used to be a great establishment. My friends and I used to frequent it a couple days a week. In the past month, they have made some changes to the food, showing less consistancy-everytime we go there is something different. The chicken tenders have changed...and whats up with the burgers?? They used to be great!!! We love your staff..lets hope you don't change that ;)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Troy, NY
(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Congenial, nice atmosphere. Oatmeal stout was not bad but as flat as a glass of water. The brown ale was insipid and lacking any trace of a head. Hefe-weise was raw tasting and, like the others, completely flat. What is it with this place. Better to drink a commercial beer on tap than what they serve here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hudson, NY
(12/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
I usually come here after eating wings at the Ale House so my taste buds are somewhat compromised. Additionally, the "snob tap" at the ale house usually has an exceptional, seasonal brew.

Most recent visit was with my wife. Food was OK but the homemade potato chips rocked! Service was OK. I and a friend were once asked to give up our table because we'd paid already and had then tried to order another round. They were busy and certainly needed the table. However, there's a MUCH better way to do this than the rudeness we were shown. (Note: Went to the Rolls Touring Co for that later beer.)

Notice the beer doesn't come first in this review. Mostly because it's not spectacular. I had the barley wine, too sweet for my taste. My wife had the Irish Stout. It's a nice beer but not exceptional to the style. (But, when you're a Guinness fan, it's hard to compete with the nectar of the gods.)

Finally, the resaurant itself is a great place. The deck in the summertime overlooking the Hudson (you can watch the sunset!) is great but be careful while eating dinner because you could be blinded. There's also a time limit on deck seating on weekends due to popularity.

I'll definitely go back because I enjoy the atmosphere and the beer is good. Their pale ale and brown are usually decent while their seasonal Pumpkin is excellent - if you don't mind the strongish pumpkin flavor.

Sorry to prattle on. I'll stop now!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Guilderland, NY
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
It's funny to see all the troy-let residents pissed off because I insulted their slum. Get a life people! Just because I don't particularlylike someplace, that's a reason to attack me personally? Typical internet bravery...I should have expected as much from Troy residents. Still, it's pretty good when someone hates you so much that they write about you directly when all you did was review a shitty bar. Way to go Troy! Way to be the models of society! Now go drink some cheap swill from this lousy bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Rella Joe Rella, Albany, NY
(09/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
I used to live in Troy, but before this place existed. It would've sure been nice to have back in those days. Anyway, I truly enjoyed the IPA, but the atmosphere of this place is truly great. (Shouldn't that be a rating category?) Lots of good conversations at the bar, very welcoming of a stranger like me, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So
The price of a pint, $4.00 is over optimistic considering the quality of the beer (with the exception of the Oatmeal Stout, the only star of the brewery). The food is pricey and the quality contuines to spiral downhill. My advice: just sit on the deck drink and oatmeal stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gordon lester, silver spring, MD
(08/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So
Bring lots of money - the prices have gone through the roof. That and I got charged three different prices for happy hour. Off to the Lionheart (for $2 pints)...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Penelope Peabody Penelope Peabody, Green Island, NY
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Troy Pub has changed their name to Brown's Brewing Co. as of 4/23/04, as reported in the Albany Times-Union. Everything else remains the same for now, it's just a name change, but they will be moving brewing ops to another site in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
The Troy Brewpub (aka Brown's Brewing Co.) offers riverside relaxation and a few good beverages. The Cherry Raspberry Ale is one of the best tasting Fruit Beers in the Northeast. The fruit flavor is strong and noticeable without being overpowering. The fruit beer strikes a balance--as do all of their ales--between strong flavors and strong hop finishes. While most of the other 9 beers on tap are rather ho-hum (average to just above average), their Oatmeal Stout DOES live up to the reputation its earned over the years. The sweetness is matched by a robust coffee aftertaste. Quite yummy. Certainly the best of the three brewpubs in the Albany/Troy region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just got around to visiting and glad to say this is probably my favorite brewery in the Capital region. The beer selection was above average.(about 12 beers). I settled on the pale ale which was excellent.

The atmosphere, with brick walls and and an old factory type building along the Hudson is a nice touch. Very large food selection, especially mid-priced pub fare (always my favorite).

Server was a newbie, but he tried and the other servers helped him out because the place was busy (always a good sign).

I will definitly come back soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Borowsky Kevin Borowsky, Bayside, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I've been here a number of times and have never been disapointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
The bumpin' Troy Pub & Brewery lives up to, and beyond, it's well deserved reputation for offering some of New York's finest brews. Try the Cherry Raspberry!! While you're at it grab yourself a pint of their Bridgekeeper's Lager. When you realize just how good the beer you're drinking is, the sudden urge to grab yourself a growler brimming with one of the many fine brews will come over you. Don't resist this urge!!!! And when you are sitting at home enjoying your new favorite beer you will thank me (or at least you will be thankful for your primal instincts!). So take the trip and get over there tonight, you won't regret it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Get down there ASAP and get some of Peter's St. Brendan's Red Ale and the "secret" Cask-Conditioned Cherry Raspberry Ale on the beer engine. The Red is rare - maybe Peter's third batch over as many years. The Cherry Raspberry is always on but this is the first cask-conditioned batch. There are 13-beers on right now - a near record. Bring a driver. Stay a while (I will).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I stopped in for lunch on Friday, 12 March 2004. I had just gotten out of the ditch from an exciting adventure on black ice in I88. The staff were very helpful with phone numbers and directions and served up great beer, food and service. The black colla stout was especially good. This place is definatly worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a freat place to some and relax, have some quality brew, and some excellent food. When the weather is nice, the deck is the place to be, and regular live music keeps this place going. This place is a diamond in the rough in Troy, NY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Houston, TX
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Brew pubs and breweries brew and serve their own beer! If you want coor light, go to your friendly neighborhood taver--Applebees or some other canned joint like that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Ballston Lake, NY
(01/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't live in Troy or the Capital District, and I only make it to the Troy Pub about twice a year, but...I think I speak for plenty of people when I say Please don't change your beer selection! There are lots of places that serve Coors Light; there is only ONE place that serves Troy's beers. Hang your hat on it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Great Awesome! Good
I really enjoy eating and realxing at the Troy pub. We used to eat at your pub 3 times a week however since you have changed your beer selection we often find ourselves across the street at Fresno's. Please rethink your beer selection as half of us like your home brew and the rest like bottled beer ie coors light. I am sure that having more of a selection of bottled beer would improve your customer base and satisfy more people who go out to eat in a group. I do miss the staff and a hometown buisness that we have supported for years but as you very well know people like beer more than food. As a smoker i am trying to adapt to the no smoking rule. Will you posibly rethink your beverage selection so we and many others don't support other "franchise buisness". We all are just curious........why is coors light and other bottle choices available at revelotion hall but not at the pub. My friends will go to the revelultion hall if its free ( no cover) to get a coors light instead of drinking draft beer. Please rethink your changes ......you may be loosing alot more buisness then u think.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review brunswick, NY
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Friendly bartenders make a lot of difference! Late night Monday and the place was still going strong...nice folks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Pub is in historic and architecturally rich Troy, the Silicon Valley of the 19th century, home of Uncle Sam, the Arrow Collar Man, the Burden horseshoe, the Monitor and the Meneely family who made over 100,000 bells.

Great fish and chips and the best beer in State of New York!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jess Brodnax Jess Brodnax, Chicago, IL
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I've been coming her on an irregular basis since it was Brown & Moran. By far the best brewpub in the Capital District. I even forked out $50 bucks to join their Mug Club and I live 30 miles away and can only get there on weekends. It's still worth it. $2.50 pints during happy hour for really good beer makes it worth it and the Mug Club gives you a 20 oz pint. Rex Reeve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Reeve Rex Reeve, Catskill, NY
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I've been coming her on an irregular basis since it was Brown & Moran. By far the best brewpub in the Capital District. I even forked out $50 bucks to join there Mug Club and I live 30 miles away and can only get there on weekends. It's still worth it. $2.50 pints during happy hour for really good beer makes it worth it and the Mug Club gives you a 20 oz pint. Rex Reeve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Reeve Rex Reeve, Catskill, NY
(11/18/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.347 seconds) 16:46:56 54.80.120.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS