PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 09:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
A great brewpub. We discovered this on our summer brewpub tour and are hoping to return soon. A striking, restored interior as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff N Geoff N, Morris Plains, NJ
(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
As long as I had a beer in front of me the staff assumed I was o.k. They don't walk around and make the contact to see if you need something. One staff person spent time on the phone or reading a newpspaper, not very professional. However,the staff were friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, Canada, ON
(09/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
The beers I tried, pale ale, porter, and stout, were very nice, typical of the style. Food was excellent as was the view of the river. Not in the best part of the city however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Stopped in with the family last week, and we had a great time. I had the eggplant parm sandwich: fantastic on grilled bread with lots of fluffy ricotta, went very well with the porter. Helped my wife with her delicious portabella wrap, and her fresh and spicy hefeweizen. Finished up the meal out on the deck with a great fresh pint of Trojan Pale Ale, very snappy and hoppy. Beautiful view of the river at sunset. The kids loved the place, plenty of room to roam around (no, I don't let my kids run around a place unattended! I walked with them) and the fun murals to look at. I like the beer at a LOT of places in the Capital district, but Troy Brewing is my favorite place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I have yet to find a bar in the capital region of NY that offers a more friendly atmosphere. And I love to drink..This is one of the few bars that really makes you feel like friends. I would like to see a little more seasonal variety on the menu, but overall, I am never disappointed with the food. And man, the women who work there are cute..Chris is ok..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay LaFarr Jay LaFarr, Fort Edward, NY
(05/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The hours of operation listed on the website are incorrect...they don't open til 4 on Sundays! What a shame, I was looking forward to the visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I just wanted to update and clarify my review from March 16th. Since my first visit to the Troy Brew pub, guest(s) and I have been back almost bi-weekly to enjoy this heavenly experience. The food & beer are excellent. There is many varieties to choose and the selection is ever-changing while keeping the classics readily available(brown,pale,light,etc). The staff? very friendly and accommodating. I originally was upset (see below) that I didnt get greeted upon entering during my first visit, however, I did not open my eyes and see signs and arrows pointing customers to the hostess station in the middle of the bottom floor. Since that original visit, I have been greeted with warmth and smiles each time. Like I said before, A MUST TRY. I think this is the best brewpub in the area, and very easy to travel to, just seconds off 787.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Pugliese Kent Pugliese, Troy, NY
(04/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I visited Troy Pub & Brewery just last week, but I've been here with my wife a few times before; we always had a good time. This time it was work: an interview and tasting. The beers were overall quite good, though there were exceptions. The Oatmeal Stout and Uncle Sam Amber were stand-outs, as was the seasonal Smoked Bock (which almost every beer geek in the Capital District seemed to know about and urged me to get to Troy and taste). The Hefe was delicious, as was the tasty, ballsier-than-Newcastle Sid's Brown Ale. My main complaint was that a couple of the beers were a bit old: the barleywine was a little oxidized (though it grew on me: I really don't mind an aged barleywine), the pale ale had a flat bitterness to it. The place itself is fantastic, a solid old building with lots of excellent mural art done by local artist Kevin Clark. Check the big mural outside, and the kiss-blown mountains above the brewery window in the bar. I sure would like to see less partisan bickering among brewpub customers in the Capital District, though: maybe you guys could all sit down for a beer together once a month at a different pub?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Great
Some friends went for a Lunch / Beer day on a day off from work. I loved the Sid's Brown, but the beer selection was only partial to what they normally offer (from the menu). Food: Pesto Pizza, Steamers, and Buff Chix Salad. A++ for all 3, and the steamers were outta this world. (I ended up ordering 2 more dozens) Service was decent and beer was Great. They offer Growlers to go at a reasonable price for refills ($8). The back deck area was an added bonus on a beautiful sunny day. Only possible improvements would be the Greet/seating when we originally entered (none provided). A must try for anyone driving near troy or albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Pugliese Kent Pugliese, Troy, NY
(03/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So N/A
Last night was the worst experience we've had at the Pub since it opened! First, there was no Harwood Porter available, then we waited over an hour for our food. We were not offered anything to drink while we waited (had to flag someone down). When the food finally arrived one of the dinners was incorrect. This was quickly remedied however it was inedible! My husband and I decided to try the pizza which was a MAJOR mistake. I ordered mine with brocchli and spinach (there was one spinach leaf and the equivalent of half a brocchli spear scattered in the "dough"). For this we paid .75 per additional topping????????? The crust was like chewing on a cardboard box. My husband also had pizza which he could not eat.The couple we were with ate their dinners but did so out of hunger NOT taste. When it came time to leave we were given someone elses bill (when we brought it to the attention of the waiter he tried to switch it with the couple next to us - they had the wrong bill too). Neither bill belonged to us (took 3 tries to straighten the mess out). We left your establishment frustrated, hungry and several $$$ poorer!

I should mention that the waiter was trying to do his best (literally running from table to table) but it was obvious he was stressed and overworked.

My suggestion to you is: fire the chef, hire some wait staff and get brewing!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(05/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
You can't beat the beer, but I think they need to work on the selection and quality of the food. My wife who is a veggie won't come with me any more. Keep brewing some of the best beer on the east coast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
We have been regulars to the brewpub since you opened. We have endured several changes in menu,managers, etc. Tonight was the worst restaurant experience I have ever encountered. My entire family usually orders Sids Salmon, only to find it now gone from your menu. My wifes scallops were like rubber, my sons speidies were dry as toast, and my fajitas were just plain awful. My daughter was the only smart one. She stayed home. We waited for over an hour for our food. If you change your food management and menu let me know otherwise take me off your mailing list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review troy, NY
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Poestenkill, NY
(05/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been coming here since it was Brown and Morans,the beer was good in the beginning, but now it's even better.Peter Martin's wheat beer could go up against any German Wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe and Gail Joe and Gail, latham, NY
(03/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been coming here since "the Pub" was built and opened as "B&M's" way back in the day. This place is the Cheers of the Capital Region, people!! The best Stouts in Upstate NY. The Nachos and Pub Fare are excellent. Their "lobsters on the deck" dinners in summer are beyond belief. This is the place to be for fun, great beer, and friendly atmosphere. My friends and I know we are always welcome here, and Chris Ryan is the best host of ANY brew-pub/bar in the area, HANDS Down!!! BONUS: only pub with designated area for REAL darts (upstairs). Many try to imitate (i.e., Malt River, Pump Station, Madison Brew Pub, etc.), but NONE will ever duplicate!!!! BREW ON, TROY PUB!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Troy, NY
(03/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I visited the troy pub on Saturday, with intentions of consuming some of my favorite brand of beer, Oatmeal Stout. I was very disappointed to find out that they had no Oatmeal Stout on tap. After trying their Collar City Stout, and their Porter, I finally settled on their brown ale as a replacement. I decided to order some lunch while I was there. I ordered their "Rajun Cajun Chicken sandwich." The best thing I can say about this sandwich, was their pub fries that accompanied the sandwich. Even though they were served cold, they were still the best thing on the plate. The chicken fillet was very small, and thin. The cajun spices were so bland, that even my grandmother would have asked, "Is that all there is?" I think that the Troy Pub needs to revamp not only the menu, but the food itself as well. There were many customers who disappointed to find out that there was no Oatmeal Stout on tap. Karl the bartender is the best! I only hope that they realize what a great employee they have with him.. As for their hours on Sunday, if they don't want to open the kitchen until 3:00, they should atleast open the bar at noon. There are ALOT of sports events going on at that time, that are most enjoyed with a beer or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Burhans Pat Burhans, Wynantskill, NY
(03/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Despite the range of comments in the previous reviews, this place is fun...the beers are very good, especially the Trojan Pale, the food varied and more than acceptable and the band when we were there was great. Don't forget the goal is to have fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Walt Schwarz Walt Schwarz, Boca Raton, FL
(02/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think Chris Ryan is perfect just the way he is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Wynantskill, NY
(02/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Good
Great stout. Troy is a wonderfully historic city with truly beautiful architecture and having a classic beer style in such an environment is a true experience.

Morons like Joe Rella should stick to drinking Miller Lite within site of the suburbs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Conan the Librarian Conan the Librarian, troy, NY
(01/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Please Update Concert Schedule Brian & Mary Jane

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Briam Rose & Mary Jane Reh Briam Rose & Mary Jane Reh, Voorheesville, NY
(11/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
YOU KNOW WE LOVE YOU GALS & GUYS!!! FAVORITE BANDS-HAIR OF THE DOG, FRANKLIN MICARE TRIO, GLENGARRY BHOYS. KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB MARY JANE & BRIAN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARY JANE REH/BRIAN ROSE MARY JANE REH/BRIAN ROSE, VOORHEESVILLE, NY
(11/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joey! joey!, troy, NY
(11/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(10/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Chris Ryan really needs to lose some weight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Troy, NY
(10/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
just like to say i have had the opportunity to watch this place form from a crumbling warehouse into a very nice establishment,the beer seems to be more robust than the majority of the other local b-pubs,and the menu seems to work.not being a big beer weenie,nor a food critic,i would be perfectly content to drink and eat here regularly.one strange thing though,after an evening of knocking back stouts,i awoke with a very strange smelling hand.this phenomonon aside,(research to follow)i would have to give this place a big siskel and ebert "thumbs up"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monty Monty, squid neck titty, NY
(09/19/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.291 seconds) 09:10:41 54.211.95.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS