PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 02:49 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I am curious why Joe Rella would bother crossing the river if he feels so strongly about Troy. Now granted, Troy is no high-falutin' area, but come on Joe, why let your poor opinion of Troy taint your review of the best brew pub around. The beers are better than any other beer I have ever tasted (and my spare tire knows how many thats been) I think the only thing that blows is Joe and his hot air.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Loeffler Jeff Loeffler, rochester, NY
(09/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
A solo in town for the night on business I found your establishment purly on my blunder of a left turn instead of a right. Good fortune, as I totally enjoyed the Sid salmon plate and the 3 "Uncle Sams Amber" Plannign a return trip next tiome I'm in town. My only regret is not being able to see the Celtic entertainment slated for the next evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack O'Connor Jack O'Connor, Buffalo, NY
(08/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
I'll stop just short of saying this place blows, mainly because of the spectacular deck (one of only a handful in the Capital Region). Those people who defended this place are most likely regulars who live in Troy. You see, Troy is a very economically depressed 'city' (for lack of a more appropriate word) whose only saving grace these days is the fact that RPI is located there. So, to avoid cognitive dissonance, the residents attempt to convince themselves that the place isn't really a forgotten ghost town whose heyday has long since come and gone; i.e. "I would not choose to live in a rat-hole. I live in Troy. Therefore, Troy must not be a rat-hole." Fact is, this 'pub' is really just a bar with a nice brewerey exhibit. The food is just barely edible, about what you'd expect and get from a little bar. The service is borderline unacceptable. As for the beer, I once had a great pumpkin ale there in the autumn months, but aside from that, I haven't been very impressed with their brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Rella Joe Rella, Albany, NY
(07/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've been scouting out pubs for a trip to New England and New York later in the summer. Not to open old wounds, but the treatment of the fellow from San Diego last year, from what I assume to be some of the regulars, just for having a different opion will cause me to look elsewhere for a place to stop. Defending your local establishment may seem like a good idea, but it does a diservice to the establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Vince, Cape May County, NJ
(06/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I WOULD LIKE TO HELP MY COUSIN JIM OUT

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOHN T. CORLISS JOHN T. CORLISS, POUGHKEEPSIE, N.
(05/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Warning - I know the owner so I'm biased.

I'm a lover of microbrewed beer and have been to many pubs. If you've been interested in it since the beginning, you'll agree that the whole concept has become commercialized. Craft brewing became a fad, and already had its day. During that period you found all sorts entering the market. It's no surprise that many were looking to make a quick buck.

All I can say about TP&B is that they are committed. I witnessed the original renovation of the building (multi-year, by-hand process - I mean - the owner ever TIG-welded his own pipes) and the evolution of the restaurant. They simply believe that all aspects of the dining experience are important: atmosphere, food, beer, service - everything.

If you are interested in seeing what local, pub brewing is all about, give them a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Jackson Paul Jackson, Fairfax Station, VA
(05/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Having been to many brewpubs between New Jersey and Maine this brewpub had the largest selection of brews I have seen. There were 12 to choose from and every one was an excellent representation of its particular style. The food was great and so were the item on the childrens menu.A great place to visit when in New Yorks Capital Region!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Santeramo Ed Santeramo, Orr's Island, ME
(04/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I've been waiting for a year and a half for the Snow Bock Beer , Every time I ask about it ,the waitress doesn't know what i'm talking about. But it's right there on the menu . what's up with that? A great place to relax and hang with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Shaub John Shaub, Latham, NY
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
This is one of the best beer pubs have ever been in. I went to school at RPI and I came here when I was feeling lousy and the beer and overall place cheered me up. When my kids turn 21, I'm bringing them here!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Schwarz Tom Schwarz, Clifton Park, NY
(03/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
We've been coming to the Troy Brew Pub since it was a gleam in Sid Brown's eye. It was fun to watch the pub take form and it is a delight to see it enjoy it continued success. We love everything about the place, especially the art work, which was done by my son, Kevin Clark. We think of the Troy Brew Pub first whenever we plan a gathering with friends and family - we always feel at home there. Last night, I had occasion to enjoy a great meal which featured salmon with a hazelnut glaze. It was awesome! What are the chances of getting the recipe for this? Keep up the good work - this area needs you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Holly Clark Holly Clark, Schenectady, NY
(03/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim E. Bailey Jim E. Bailey, Albamy, NY
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just a great place for food and beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Mancini Frank Mancini, Troy, NY
(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great find, my son started out at RPI this year, being able to visit the pub whild visitig takes a lot of sting out of paying tuition every month! the beer is great, no fear of hops here, the food and service are worthy of four Michelin stars!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon H. Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(12/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Kevin and I from Kevin@Mikes visited today. We were very pleased with the qualilty of the beer. Also had a nice visit with Garrett. When in North Bennington visit us again at Kevin@Mikes

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lindy Brooks Lindy Brooks, North Bennington, VT
(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Pub yesterday for the first time in over a year. Having moved from the capital area, the opportunity to visit is infrequent. Yesterday reaffirmed what an incredible place the Pub is and how much I miss it!! Great Job!! Love it!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Syracuse, NY
(09/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Always love the beer. The behind the bar help are aleways friendly and swift. Bad pun intended-good beer here recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Beale John Beale, Troy, NY
(09/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer in New York State!!!! - I always have a keg on tap at my house, but it never lasts very long. I have yet to taste a better Pale Ale. This establishment constantly gets better. Initial beer quality was inconsistent back in 1993. Garrett Brown and Peter Martin have turned brewing into a fine art. Their numerous awards speak for themselves. Perfect Pub atmosphere. My only complaint is the 3-1/2 hour drive to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Benoit Ray Benoit, Rochester, NY
(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I have been to brew pubs from D.C. to Boston, out to Western N.Y., and I have never been given the quality of service that I received at the Troy Pub. The bar manager, Chris has always gone that extra step to make us feel at home, and the waitresses are not only very attractive, but bust their butts running up and down those stairs. Oh, the beer is better than any other brew-pub in upstate. Anyone who does not agree, email me at elafarr@ yahoo.com. Chris and staff, thanks from the Seminary st. gang. That california puke makes me ill, he wouldn't know a good beer if he was buried in a sea of it with a wreath of German Hallertauer around his neck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay LaFarr Jay LaFarr, Fort Edward, NY
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
This place has gone far downhill since the founding partnership broke up. I think the departing partner took the brew recipes with him. Food is all over the place: one time decent but slow, another time awful and slow. Beers are weak. Amber used to have much more flavor. Tip: go to Albany for the newest and, by far, the best: Evans' Pump House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B. John B., Near Albany, NY
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The place was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
My family and I came for lunch and it was the worst I have ever had. Service was too slow, we had to ask her three times where our food was, there were only three tables in the house at the time. When we finally got it, it was burnt. The cooks and waitstaff are careless. I will never come here again!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Karen, Bennington, VT
(08/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We had a good sampling of different beer which all were great and had distinct personalities.The food was creative and well prepared. The service was top notch. VERY ENJOYABLE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, East Dorset, VT
(07/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The place was great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(07/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The bar staff is the best around, and the atmosphere is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Christian Al Christian, Troy, NY
(06/24/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.942 seconds) 14:49:31 54.237.197.160, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS