PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 06:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
In comparison to other Brew Pubs I have been to, the beer is consistently high-quality. The stouts could use a little work, as I don't find them as creamy as they ought to be, but the Dunkel Wheat is fantastic. The food is decent also and complements the beer well. As far as brew pubs in the area, you can't find a better beer. ( Try Malt River if you don't believe me! ACK!) Keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Damian Damian, Latham, NY
(06/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(06/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Gotta love being labeled "obnoxious" just for having an OPINION different from others. "Don't you DARE criticize the only place in Troy that isn't overrun with welfare lifers and crackheads."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Twelve beers on including one guest beer, I enjoyed the spicy Rye ale, hoppy pale, and nutty brown most of all. Food was good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Staradumsky John Staradumsky, W.Warwick, RI
(05/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Sagendorf Jim Sagendorf, Cohoes, NY
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I have frequented brew pubs in Boston, New York City, Baltimore and D.C., as well as local ones from Lake Placid to Syracuse, and none deliver beer with higher consistent quality than the Troy Pub. As far as San Diego is concerned, buy your beer at Oliver's on Colvin Ave. (where Mahar's buys it) and spare those of us who like both places for different reasons your obnoxiousness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fran├žois Barcomb Fran├žois Barcomb, Glens Falls, NY
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I love your Pale Ale. I also enjoy your (experimental?) brews like the lager and steam recently on tap. I've been going here a few years; consistent high quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Beale John Beale, Troy, NY
(04/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The Troy Pub has always had the most unique and comfortable atmosphere.The beer quality and selection is very good, and I've always been pleased with the food. I've never paid much attention to letters from folks who slam something,but don't have the courage to sign their name.BREW ON!TROY PUB!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Fiorentino Phil Fiorentino, Albany, NY
(04/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
Ho Hum service and the pale ale made me ill. The food is awful

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Boston, MA
(03/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Awesome!
Some brew great beer... some have found how to make a great pub. This place has mastered both. I have had times when I was a regular.. others when I was living in Los Angeles and visiting only once or twice a year.... it has always rewarded me as one of the most welcoming and comfortable places I have ever visited.... and the beer??? I've travelled thousands of miles to get the amber...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Brown Dave Brown, Colonie, NY
(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Here's the basis of my comparing Troy Pub and Brewery with Mahar's: I know when I go into Mahar's I'm going to drink a beer that will be wonderful. My last visits to TP&B have not produced beers that were wonderful. One was downright awful. I don't care *who* makes the beer, as long as it's tasty. So you'd prefer to drink lousy beer that's brewed on site rather than have a nice Rogue Shakespeare Stout on tap? And there are those who claim I'm "out there"...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(02/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Outstanding beers with great character. Having been to about 300 brewpubs, "San Diego" is just out there somewhere. The beers here have tremendous character. Loved the IPA and can't wait to get back for more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I totally agree with Brian Carroll. Also San Diego has earthquakes and lousy water. Check out www.arcobrau.de (turn up your sound) while you think about San Diego's problems!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ulrich H Rudofsky Ulrich H Rudofsky, Delamr, NY
(02/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I am at a loss to understand "San Diego"'s (1-28-99) recent review. Mahar's is a well known place with a loyal clientele. I would say the same about the Washington Tavern. I have enjoyed beer in both places. To compare these types of places to the Troy Brew Pub makes no sense. I have visted brew pubs from Boston to San Francisco. Some made beer that was OK. Some were great! Troy Brew Pub makes great beer. I am unaware of any beer made at Mahar's. There is a reason why Troy's Pale Ale won the Gold Medal. So San Diego, stay out west. Enjoy the fine weather. Leave the reviews to someone who knows the difference between a brew pub and a bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian R.Carroll Brian R.Carroll, Troy, NY
(02/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
I guess all the awesome! reviews show just how starved Troy is for quality establishments. A nice building, but other than that, the only decent beer I've had here was a Barley Wine and that was back in the Brown and Moran days. The Pale Ale I tried to drink back in November was pathetic. Do yourself a favor, skip Troy, head to Albany and enjoy the wonderful beers served at Mahar's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nicole M. Mehner Nicole M. Mehner, Troy, NY
(01/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Best place in the summer on the deck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Great that you allow cigars!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warrensburg, NY
(11/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Had 12 beers on tap - All great! Not a bad one in the bunch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Daniels Bruce Daniels, East Hampton, NY
(11/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Has an interesting 2 floor layout, with a great view of the Hudson from the deck outside. The service is friendly and second to none, with a nicely varied menu of well-prepared foods. Available beers to satisfy anyones taste are sure to be found, while relaxing at this fine Brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Lambert-Gorwyn Scott Lambert-Gorwyn, Cornwall, NY
(10/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Oatmeal Stout Lovers, Come and get it! True Pub atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Gagliardi Anthony Gagliardi, Brunswick, NY
(10/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Stanchuk John Stanchuk, Troy, NY
(09/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Talk about grade inflation. This place rates all those awesomes? I don't think so. I have been going here since they opened and have some good beers there, but awesome. They were one of the first brew pubs to sell those excellent German growlers and I own several, but awesome beer? I don't think so. Have started going to the world famous Man of Kent down the road, when in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
TJ is doing a great job here in California. Please send send us more employees... The Hopland Brewery Mendocino Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kurzava Jim Kurzava, Hopland, CA
(08/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Can't think of a better Friday happy-hour place.... sittin on the Troy Pub's patio and watching the boats on the Hudson River roll by...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Budesheim Eric Budesheim, Averill Park, NY
(08/12/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.842 seconds) 18:27:25 54.211.137.77, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS