PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 02:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Made my 1st visit to Browns this past Saturday nite. I had the pleasure of tasting their Barrel Aged Whiskey Porter at a recent nearby festival and went looking for the Taproom. I took a seat at the bar & requested the porter. Its a wonderful full bodied brew w/ a superb whiskey barrel tannin finish. I ordered the Fish & Chips which is fried in their hefeweizen batter. OUTSTANDING w/ just a little malt vinegar. The bar staff were very friendly and one even brought me a taste of his version of a Black and Tan. It consisted of their Oatmeal Stout (one of the milder and yet quite drinkable stouts I've ever had) atop of their Cherry Raspberry Ale. It made for the perfect dessert. It was a great experience and I look forward to another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Scott Thorn G. Scott Thorn, Lake Charles, LA
(09/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
The food and the service at this place is horrible. Only go here after eating somewhere else. We had the IPA and the Dunkleweizen and they were decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig H Craig H, Fredericksburg, VA
(05/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
My first time at the establishment service was great and food was excellent will be on my list of places to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Royce Royce, Hornell, NY
(03/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
Sat on the patio and had an insipid porter and a bland IPA. The wafting stench from something that must have been dead and rotting on the river bank below didn't help. Beer reminded me of what you'd get at a "brewpub" run by AB or CoorsMolson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(08/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I visited Brown's back in February and really enjoyed myself. I liked the location, just off the Hudson in downtown Troy. I liked the building and the staff, the food was good, and the beer was great (maybe because they use northwest hops!). I'll certainly be making this a must visit Brewery along with Evan's that's located down the rvier in Albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dustin Dustin, Bend, OR
(05/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
I visited on a Friday night in August. The hostess said there would be a 30 to 40 minute wait for a table. I went to the bar for a pint while waiting. Then I had another pint. After waiting an hour and 20 minutes I went to the hostess and was told "They told me not to seat anyone because the kitchen is so backed up." Obviously the kitchen can't handle the additional outdoor seating during the summer months. The 2 beers I sampled were decent and the bar staff were attentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Galloway, NJ
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Beers seemed a bit more "average" than on previous visits where there was always a standout or two. Nothing foul, but nothing that struck my fancy, either. ESB and Pale were the choices from the lot. Sparse crowd for a late lunch and server was completely uninspired. It seemed as though everything he had to do was a great effort. Nothing great to take with from the bottle cooler either. Maybe beter luck next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been going to Brown's Brewing Co. a couple times a week for two years and I love it. Now that the deck is open for the summer there is no better place to sit in Troy to enjoy the weather and a great view. The staff has always been nothing but friendly and incredibly personable. There are some new items on the menu that are great as well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Exeter, NH
(05/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Last night at Brown's every moron on the planet was in town for RPI's graduation today and the place all mucked up. With that said, the bar staff and wait staff did one hell of a job handling it.

Tere (manager) was on top of everything and Tina (chef) came out of the kitchen a hundred times to make sure things were going well.

Gary (owner) made a few trips through and the brewer (Peter) found time to stop and chat. I had service at the bar and had no problem, then moved to a table with again no problem. So I have no clue what the last review was about. I was there four hours (had a DD) and can attest to the whole night.

One final note about Brown's is if there is a problem bring it to Tere and it's handled right there on the spot. If the blonde at the bar shunned your advances, well, don't blame the staff. Try Harry's Bar and Grill next time. Maybe you'll have better luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy So So
If you're going to browns brewery for dinner expect slow or non-existant service.

We went there last night. After 15 minutes of sitting at a table and going completely unnoticed by the wait staff... we got up and left.

We were looking forward to some good food and beer. Oh well.

We won't be going to browns brewery for dinner in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review troy, NY
(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
We had some issues for booking a larger party. My friend called up well in advance and got reservations for around 10 people and then called again to add a few more and the lady was real nasty about it. then when we got there they wrote down the wrong name and my friend had to do all this verification stuff which was fine. the waitress we had was a veteran at the place and she took very good care of our table. she didnt write any orders but did not make any errors. people were arriving late and we had no issues with that. our dinner was a very pleasant experiance after the reservation hassling.

They still brew beer on site, at least they still have equipment around? not sure what earlier posts mean? I did hear a lot about local cops, especially on the other side of the bridge.

Dear Brown's: A CASK IS NOT SERVED BELOW 40 DEGREES!!!!! I am so tired of getting ice cold cask beers at brewpubs. GET IT RIGHT and SERVE IT AT CORRECT TEMPS!!!! Cellar means Cellar. Is the cellar in Brown's a fridge?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I guess I'm lucky; I never seem to encounter the "issues" that some who have reviewed this place experienced. Most recent visit found me chatting with some beer pilgrims en route to Vermont Brewer's Festival. Beer good, I enjoyed the Brown and ESB especially. A big late lunch, early happy hour crowd, all seemed to be getting into the beer and the positive vibe. It's a must-stop for me if I'm in the Capital region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
On another note - you can't go to this place anymore without getting hit up by a panhandler out front. Mayor Pinhead wants people to come to Troy yet has his Gestapo running harassment patrols constantly. They can't control the prostitutes in other parts of the city or the low-life's on the street in front of Brown's but we have all the time in the world for sweeps, swarms and roadblocks. If it's not Troy it's the Green Island dipshits on the other side of the bridge with nothing to do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from IronBox Sara IronBox Sara, Troy, NY
(09/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I frequent Brown's Brewing. I have been going there for several years. I would like to comment on a previous review. I was on the deck on that afternoon. I did not hear the entire conversation until the man stood up yelling at the manager.Everyone heard him call her an A.H.She told him to leave and he continued yelling.It is not fair that this man did not tell the entire story. Brown's has improved over the past few years.The food and service is great. There is live music on the deck every weekend. It is so busy you can not get a table for dinner without a half an hour wait.There is a bar in the beer garden if you are not having dinner. I am sure if you try Brown's you will love the beer, the service and the quality of the new menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, N.
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I would like to reply to the remarks from Latham, N.Y. Aug.17th.We are regulars at Brown's. I happened to be there that afternoon.I did not hear the conversation, but I did see you stand up and scream at the lady.When you called her an A.H.she said everyone heard you,to leave. We always sit on the deck. There is a sign that says it is for dining only, please wait to be seated.We were asked once if we were having dinner,we were not.So we sat in the beer garden.It is just as nice as the dining area.Now we know. We used to go to Brown's only for the beer until last year. Since the management and menu changed the quality and service has improved greatly.We have never had a problem. I used to wait tables when I went to school. When a customer did not want to follow policy it always was a problem.Servers depend on tables ordering food, not cocktailing.When they sat for hours and do not order food we didn't make money. The wage is only $4.85 an hour. I think Brown's is a great place for the beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, N.
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Avoid this place like the plague!! My group and I have been coming here after work on Fridays (about once a month) for the last 5 years. The place no longer is a brewpub, but the beer is still good. However, the management has changed hands and the officious "Pub Lady" (PL) has become a real disincentive.

This Friday (Aug 17, 2007), about 12 of us showed up beginning at 4:15. We sat on the deck overlooking the Hudson and ordered beer, wine, and munchies. As members arrived, we added tables with some help from the staff (but not the PL). About 5:15 the deck was about 1/3 full. This was surprising as before the summer it would have been about 150% full on such a nice Friday!! The PL came by and told us that our group would have to leave as we were not ordering dinners. Well, about half of our group intended to order dinners, the other half did not. But it was 5:15, a bit early for dinner (unless you are the type you goes for the "senior rate" at Denny's"). We told her that we intended to order about 7 or 8 dinners. She became very rude to the group. Our leader (i.e., me) stood up and asked her to apologize saying that we had been coming here for many years and were not used to being treated this one. She became red-in-the-face mad and incoherent. (Accused me of being an "obscenity" whatever she meant by that I have no idea.) We paid the bill (leaving a nice tip for the waitress who was very nice), $120+, and left for Ryan's Wake -- two doors down and also with a nice view of the Hudson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(08/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Most horrible service I have EVER recieved!! Didnt even get a chance to eat, the manager came over with an attitude and picked a fight with one of the guys I was with. And they couldnt make a Midori Sour to save their life.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hannacroix, NY
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My husband and I have been going to Brown's Brewing Company for several years now, even back when it was the Troy Pub & Brewery. Good beer and good food, nice pub atmosphere. The bartender Nicole, was awesome! Always pleasant, greeted you when you arrived, provided excellent and consistent service. Over the years we developed a friendship which still continues. We made sure to visit there when Nicole was working. Recently, circumstances occurred which ended with Nicole leaving her employment as bartender at Brown's. Unfortunately, the atmosphere at the bar is just not the same without her.

Frank & Becky

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Becky Becky, Berlin, NY
(10/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Peter Martin has done it! He has created an instant classic. NY Harvest IPA is the freshest, hoppiest ale we have EVER tasted! It is ESB ++!! Victory Hop Devil and Dogfish Head could come to Troy, NY and get an education.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sue sue, cobleskill, NY
(10/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
One of the first out-of-state brewpubs I visited way too many years ago. Tried a few of their current offerings, all of which weren't bad at all. NY Hopped IPA was good, more of a bitter hop than a fruity or citrusy one. Honey Brown wasn't sweet at all, but was very smooth. Cask Whiskey Porter was the pick of the litter today; just the right level of whiskey/oak, very drinkable. It was a bit too cold at first, but improved quickly. My salad was good, and the carrot cake very good. Staff was pleasant and friendly--they were pulling in a good lunch crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
Big time kleptomaniac working the bar nights. Do not put any money on the bar. Run a tab instead even if you are going to pay cash. If you give him a $20, say, "This is a $20 (Dufus)," and don't let it out of your hand until he acknowledges you. This jackass got me four times - the last two times I caught him and he played dumb (easy job there). The last "Happy hour" beer cost me $5.00. If you pay for your beer, put the change in your pocket and do not leave it. He's real cute at "cleaning" the bar off. This guy is real good. But he should be fired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
On our way to TAP we stopped by for a pint or two. Our bartender Nicole was great, she not only directed us to some great beers (I liked the cherry and the porter) but she also made us feel like her regulars. This place has lots of character, great beer and the food looked tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jobob Jobob, Hinesburg, VT
(05/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Since my last visit about a year ago I feel that the quality of beer, while still good, has degraded a little.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
good ESB, brown, pumpkin, and Great cherry. i enjoyed my time here due to the keller williams show being sold out. i did like there chipolte wings. the pub food was typical prices and the beer was a nice selection. i would definately go back again to this place. for the time of night we were there, the service was nice. I got a sampler and some other grub and had no problems with my meal. maybe after a few reviews or so, they improved, but i thought the place was fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Second time in 3 years. Still a great place from our perspective in Baltimore. Be glad you have a few more choices in town...berr was tasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Great Good
What happened to this place?

I am a regular (well was more of a regular before the name change). Since they have become Browns Brewing Company the quality of the food has completely nosedived. This used to be the place you could get great beer and great cheap food with quality service. The beer is still great the service is still good but that food now costs a whole lot more and is more disgusting than a lot of fastfood joints. Was there tonight and got fish and chips, the fish and the fries were burnt to a crisp. If your chef can't even fry food then you have a SERIOUS problem. This isn't just based on one lousy meal. I have had chicken spiedies where the chicken is pink the middle and NEVER do the fries ever come out right they are either underdone or fried to a crisp.

The beer is still great, now a bit pricey but it really is the best brewpub beer I have ever had. Service is friendly and attentive. Just too bad the food is complete slop these days for the astronomical prices you pay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Albany, NY
(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I miss the old Troy pub! There was a time when I was a regular at the pub. Tonight was my first night back there in over two years and I was a bit disapointed with how things have changed. On a good note, I think the new branding and signage is a positive thing, and hopefully this name will stick. Otherwise, the service was not very good. It took forever to have someone come over and clear our table, the food wasn't so great - my friends had pizza and neither were very impressed. I had a portabello sandwich which was okay, except that it was dwarfed by the roll it was on. And lastly what happened to the cute bartenders?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(02/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I've visited this place a couple times and I would say that I've had a good time each time that I have gone. The atmosphere is good in both the bar and Revolution Hall which during my last visit I learned is owned by Brown's Brewing. So I will say somthing about both.

Browns Brewing Bar (The Tap Room):

The Good: -The Service was good and friendly -The food was good -Nice selection of beer -It's a large bar which is nice -The patio is cool and has a nice view of the Hudson

The Bad:

-The prices for food are steep. What you pay for and what you get are a little out of wack -$4 for a beer is a little high -No specials

Revolution Hall

The Good: -Of the 3 shows that I have seen here the place was packed which makes for a good time when there is a big crowd -The bartenders are Fast and Friendly considering the size of the crowd -Good selection of music

The Bad: -Shows don't start on time -Only one of four bartenders seemed to know how to make any of the shots I wanted(Fuzzy Naval, Roman Candle, OO7) -Can get a little too crowded

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenn Jenn, Lake George, NY
(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great So So
Brown's brewing used to be a great establishment. My friends and I used to frequent it a couple days a week. In the past month, they have made some changes to the food, showing less consistancy-everytime we go there is something different. The chicken tenders have changed...and whats up with the burgers?? They used to be great!!! We love your staff..lets hope you don't change that ;)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Troy, NY
(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Congenial, nice atmosphere. Oatmeal stout was not bad but as flat as a glass of water. The brown ale was insipid and lacking any trace of a head. Hefe-weise was raw tasting and, like the others, completely flat. What is it with this place. Better to drink a commercial beer on tap than what they serve here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hudson, NY
(12/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
I usually come here after eating wings at the Ale House so my taste buds are somewhat compromised. Additionally, the "snob tap" at the ale house usually has an exceptional, seasonal brew.

Most recent visit was with my wife. Food was OK but the homemade potato chips rocked! Service was OK. I and a friend were once asked to give up our table because we'd paid already and had then tried to order another round. They were busy and certainly needed the table. However, there's a MUCH better way to do this than the rudeness we were shown. (Note: Went to the Rolls Touring Co for that later beer.)

Notice the beer doesn't come first in this review. Mostly because it's not spectacular. I had the barley wine, too sweet for my taste. My wife had the Irish Stout. It's a nice beer but not exceptional to the style. (But, when you're a Guinness fan, it's hard to compete with the nectar of the gods.)

Finally, the resaurant itself is a great place. The deck in the summertime overlooking the Hudson (you can watch the sunset!) is great but be careful while eating dinner because you could be blinded. There's also a time limit on deck seating on weekends due to popularity.

I'll definitely go back because I enjoy the atmosphere and the beer is good. Their pale ale and brown are usually decent while their seasonal Pumpkin is excellent - if you don't mind the strongish pumpkin flavor.

Sorry to prattle on. I'll stop now!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Guilderland, NY
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
It's funny to see all the troy-let residents pissed off because I insulted their slum. Get a life people! Just because I don't particularlylike someplace, that's a reason to attack me personally? Typical internet bravery...I should have expected as much from Troy residents. Still, it's pretty good when someone hates you so much that they write about you directly when all you did was review a shitty bar. Way to go Troy! Way to be the models of society! Now go drink some cheap swill from this lousy bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Rella Joe Rella, Albany, NY
(09/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
I used to live in Troy, but before this place existed. It would've sure been nice to have back in those days. Anyway, I truly enjoyed the IPA, but the atmosphere of this place is truly great. (Shouldn't that be a rating category?) Lots of good conversations at the bar, very welcoming of a stranger like me, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So
The price of a pint, $4.00 is over optimistic considering the quality of the beer (with the exception of the Oatmeal Stout, the only star of the brewery). The food is pricey and the quality contuines to spiral downhill. My advice: just sit on the deck drink and oatmeal stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gordon lester, silver spring, MD
(08/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So
Bring lots of money - the prices have gone through the roof. That and I got charged three different prices for happy hour. Off to the Lionheart (for $2 pints)...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Penelope Peabody Penelope Peabody, Green Island, NY
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Troy Pub has changed their name to Brown's Brewing Co. as of 4/23/04, as reported in the Albany Times-Union. Everything else remains the same for now, it's just a name change, but they will be moving brewing ops to another site in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
The Troy Brewpub (aka Brown's Brewing Co.) offers riverside relaxation and a few good beverages. The Cherry Raspberry Ale is one of the best tasting Fruit Beers in the Northeast. The fruit flavor is strong and noticeable without being overpowering. The fruit beer strikes a balance--as do all of their ales--between strong flavors and strong hop finishes. While most of the other 9 beers on tap are rather ho-hum (average to just above average), their Oatmeal Stout DOES live up to the reputation its earned over the years. The sweetness is matched by a robust coffee aftertaste. Quite yummy. Certainly the best of the three brewpubs in the Albany/Troy region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just got around to visiting and glad to say this is probably my favorite brewery in the Capital region. The beer selection was above average.(about 12 beers). I settled on the pale ale which was excellent.

The atmosphere, with brick walls and and an old factory type building along the Hudson is a nice touch. Very large food selection, especially mid-priced pub fare (always my favorite).

Server was a newbie, but he tried and the other servers helped him out because the place was busy (always a good sign).

I will definitly come back soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Borowsky Kevin Borowsky, Bayside, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I've been here a number of times and have never been disapointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
The bumpin' Troy Pub & Brewery lives up to, and beyond, it's well deserved reputation for offering some of New York's finest brews. Try the Cherry Raspberry!! While you're at it grab yourself a pint of their Bridgekeeper's Lager. When you realize just how good the beer you're drinking is, the sudden urge to grab yourself a growler brimming with one of the many fine brews will come over you. Don't resist this urge!!!! And when you are sitting at home enjoying your new favorite beer you will thank me (or at least you will be thankful for your primal instincts!). So take the trip and get over there tonight, you won't regret it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Get down there ASAP and get some of Peter's St. Brendan's Red Ale and the "secret" Cask-Conditioned Cherry Raspberry Ale on the beer engine. The Red is rare - maybe Peter's third batch over as many years. The Cherry Raspberry is always on but this is the first cask-conditioned batch. There are 13-beers on right now - a near record. Bring a driver. Stay a while (I will).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I stopped in for lunch on Friday, 12 March 2004. I had just gotten out of the ditch from an exciting adventure on black ice in I88. The staff were very helpful with phone numbers and directions and served up great beer, food and service. The black colla stout was especially good. This place is definatly worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a freat place to some and relax, have some quality brew, and some excellent food. When the weather is nice, the deck is the place to be, and regular live music keeps this place going. This place is a diamond in the rough in Troy, NY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Houston, TX
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Brew pubs and breweries brew and serve their own beer! If you want coor light, go to your friendly neighborhood taver--Applebees or some other canned joint like that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Ballston Lake, NY
(01/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't live in Troy or the Capital District, and I only make it to the Troy Pub about twice a year, but...I think I speak for plenty of people when I say Please don't change your beer selection! There are lots of places that serve Coors Light; there is only ONE place that serves Troy's beers. Hang your hat on it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Great Awesome! Good
I really enjoy eating and realxing at the Troy pub. We used to eat at your pub 3 times a week however since you have changed your beer selection we often find ourselves across the street at Fresno's. Please rethink your beer selection as half of us like your home brew and the rest like bottled beer ie coors light. I am sure that having more of a selection of bottled beer would improve your customer base and satisfy more people who go out to eat in a group. I do miss the staff and a hometown buisness that we have supported for years but as you very well know people like beer more than food. As a smoker i am trying to adapt to the no smoking rule. Will you posibly rethink your beverage selection so we and many others don't support other "franchise buisness". We all are just curious........why is coors light and other bottle choices available at revelotion hall but not at the pub. My friends will go to the revelultion hall if its free ( no cover) to get a coors light instead of drinking draft beer. Please rethink your changes ......you may be loosing alot more buisness then u think.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review brunswick, NY
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Friendly bartenders make a lot of difference! Late night Monday and the place was still going strong...nice folks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Pub is in historic and architecturally rich Troy, the Silicon Valley of the 19th century, home of Uncle Sam, the Arrow Collar Man, the Burden horseshoe, the Monitor and the Meneely family who made over 100,000 bells.

Great fish and chips and the best beer in State of New York!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jess Brodnax Jess Brodnax, Chicago, IL
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I've been coming her on an irregular basis since it was Brown & Moran. By far the best brewpub in the Capital District. I even forked out $50 bucks to join their Mug Club and I live 30 miles away and can only get there on weekends. It's still worth it. $2.50 pints during happy hour for really good beer makes it worth it and the Mug Club gives you a 20 oz pint. Rex Reeve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Reeve Rex Reeve, Catskill, NY
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I've been coming her on an irregular basis since it was Brown & Moran. By far the best brewpub in the Capital District. I even forked out $50 bucks to join there Mug Club and I live 30 miles away and can only get there on weekends. It's still worth it. $2.50 pints during happy hour for really good beer makes it worth it and the Mug Club gives you a 20 oz pint. Rex Reeve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Reeve Rex Reeve, Catskill, NY
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
A great brewpub. We discovered this on our summer brewpub tour and are hoping to return soon. A striking, restored interior as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff N Geoff N, Morris Plains, NJ
(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
As long as I had a beer in front of me the staff assumed I was o.k. They don't walk around and make the contact to see if you need something. One staff person spent time on the phone or reading a newpspaper, not very professional. However,the staff were friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, Canada, ON
(09/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
The beers I tried, pale ale, porter, and stout, were very nice, typical of the style. Food was excellent as was the view of the river. Not in the best part of the city however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Stopped in with the family last week, and we had a great time. I had the eggplant parm sandwich: fantastic on grilled bread with lots of fluffy ricotta, went very well with the porter. Helped my wife with her delicious portabella wrap, and her fresh and spicy hefeweizen. Finished up the meal out on the deck with a great fresh pint of Trojan Pale Ale, very snappy and hoppy. Beautiful view of the river at sunset. The kids loved the place, plenty of room to roam around (no, I don't let my kids run around a place unattended! I walked with them) and the fun murals to look at. I like the beer at a LOT of places in the Capital district, but Troy Brewing is my favorite place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I have yet to find a bar in the capital region of NY that offers a more friendly atmosphere. And I love to drink..This is one of the few bars that really makes you feel like friends. I would like to see a little more seasonal variety on the menu, but overall, I am never disappointed with the food. And man, the women who work there are cute..Chris is ok..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay LaFarr Jay LaFarr, Fort Edward, NY
(05/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The hours of operation listed on the website are incorrect...they don't open til 4 on Sundays! What a shame, I was looking forward to the visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I just wanted to update and clarify my review from March 16th. Since my first visit to the Troy Brew pub, guest(s) and I have been back almost bi-weekly to enjoy this heavenly experience. The food & beer are excellent. There is many varieties to choose and the selection is ever-changing while keeping the classics readily available(brown,pale,light,etc). The staff? very friendly and accommodating. I originally was upset (see below) that I didnt get greeted upon entering during my first visit, however, I did not open my eyes and see signs and arrows pointing customers to the hostess station in the middle of the bottom floor. Since that original visit, I have been greeted with warmth and smiles each time. Like I said before, A MUST TRY. I think this is the best brewpub in the area, and very easy to travel to, just seconds off 787.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Pugliese Kent Pugliese, Troy, NY
(04/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I visited Troy Pub & Brewery just last week, but I've been here with my wife a few times before; we always had a good time. This time it was work: an interview and tasting. The beers were overall quite good, though there were exceptions. The Oatmeal Stout and Uncle Sam Amber were stand-outs, as was the seasonal Smoked Bock (which almost every beer geek in the Capital District seemed to know about and urged me to get to Troy and taste). The Hefe was delicious, as was the tasty, ballsier-than-Newcastle Sid's Brown Ale. My main complaint was that a couple of the beers were a bit old: the barleywine was a little oxidized (though it grew on me: I really don't mind an aged barleywine), the pale ale had a flat bitterness to it. The place itself is fantastic, a solid old building with lots of excellent mural art done by local artist Kevin Clark. Check the big mural outside, and the kiss-blown mountains above the brewery window in the bar. I sure would like to see less partisan bickering among brewpub customers in the Capital District, though: maybe you guys could all sit down for a beer together once a month at a different pub?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Great
Some friends went for a Lunch / Beer day on a day off from work. I loved the Sid's Brown, but the beer selection was only partial to what they normally offer (from the menu). Food: Pesto Pizza, Steamers, and Buff Chix Salad. A++ for all 3, and the steamers were outta this world. (I ended up ordering 2 more dozens) Service was decent and beer was Great. They offer Growlers to go at a reasonable price for refills ($8). The back deck area was an added bonus on a beautiful sunny day. Only possible improvements would be the Greet/seating when we originally entered (none provided). A must try for anyone driving near troy or albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Pugliese Kent Pugliese, Troy, NY
(03/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So N/A
Last night was the worst experience we've had at the Pub since it opened! First, there was no Harwood Porter available, then we waited over an hour for our food. We were not offered anything to drink while we waited (had to flag someone down). When the food finally arrived one of the dinners was incorrect. This was quickly remedied however it was inedible! My husband and I decided to try the pizza which was a MAJOR mistake. I ordered mine with brocchli and spinach (there was one spinach leaf and the equivalent of half a brocchli spear scattered in the "dough"). For this we paid .75 per additional topping????????? The crust was like chewing on a cardboard box. My husband also had pizza which he could not eat.The couple we were with ate their dinners but did so out of hunger NOT taste. When it came time to leave we were given someone elses bill (when we brought it to the attention of the waiter he tried to switch it with the couple next to us - they had the wrong bill too). Neither bill belonged to us (took 3 tries to straighten the mess out). We left your establishment frustrated, hungry and several $$$ poorer!

I should mention that the waiter was trying to do his best (literally running from table to table) but it was obvious he was stressed and overworked.

My suggestion to you is: fire the chef, hire some wait staff and get brewing!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(05/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
You can't beat the beer, but I think they need to work on the selection and quality of the food. My wife who is a veggie won't come with me any more. Keep brewing some of the best beer on the east coast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
We have been regulars to the brewpub since you opened. We have endured several changes in menu,managers, etc. Tonight was the worst restaurant experience I have ever encountered. My entire family usually orders Sids Salmon, only to find it now gone from your menu. My wifes scallops were like rubber, my sons speidies were dry as toast, and my fajitas were just plain awful. My daughter was the only smart one. She stayed home. We waited for over an hour for our food. If you change your food management and menu let me know otherwise take me off your mailing list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review troy, NY
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Poestenkill, NY
(05/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been coming here since it was Brown and Morans,the beer was good in the beginning, but now it's even better.Peter Martin's wheat beer could go up against any German Wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe and Gail Joe and Gail, latham, NY
(03/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been coming here since "the Pub" was built and opened as "B&M's" way back in the day. This place is the Cheers of the Capital Region, people!! The best Stouts in Upstate NY. The Nachos and Pub Fare are excellent. Their "lobsters on the deck" dinners in summer are beyond belief. This is the place to be for fun, great beer, and friendly atmosphere. My friends and I know we are always welcome here, and Chris Ryan is the best host of ANY brew-pub/bar in the area, HANDS Down!!! BONUS: only pub with designated area for REAL darts (upstairs). Many try to imitate (i.e., Malt River, Pump Station, Madison Brew Pub, etc.), but NONE will ever duplicate!!!! BREW ON, TROY PUB!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Troy, NY
(03/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I visited the troy pub on Saturday, with intentions of consuming some of my favorite brand of beer, Oatmeal Stout. I was very disappointed to find out that they had no Oatmeal Stout on tap. After trying their Collar City Stout, and their Porter, I finally settled on their brown ale as a replacement. I decided to order some lunch while I was there. I ordered their "Rajun Cajun Chicken sandwich." The best thing I can say about this sandwich, was their pub fries that accompanied the sandwich. Even though they were served cold, they were still the best thing on the plate. The chicken fillet was very small, and thin. The cajun spices were so bland, that even my grandmother would have asked, "Is that all there is?" I think that the Troy Pub needs to revamp not only the menu, but the food itself as well. There were many customers who disappointed to find out that there was no Oatmeal Stout on tap. Karl the bartender is the best! I only hope that they realize what a great employee they have with him.. As for their hours on Sunday, if they don't want to open the kitchen until 3:00, they should atleast open the bar at noon. There are ALOT of sports events going on at that time, that are most enjoyed with a beer or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Burhans Pat Burhans, Wynantskill, NY
(03/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Despite the range of comments in the previous reviews, this place is fun...the beers are very good, especially the Trojan Pale, the food varied and more than acceptable and the band when we were there was great. Don't forget the goal is to have fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Walt Schwarz Walt Schwarz, Boca Raton, FL
(02/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think Chris Ryan is perfect just the way he is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Wynantskill, NY
(02/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Good
Great stout. Troy is a wonderfully historic city with truly beautiful architecture and having a classic beer style in such an environment is a true experience.

Morons like Joe Rella should stick to drinking Miller Lite within site of the suburbs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Conan the Librarian Conan the Librarian, troy, NY
(01/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Please Update Concert Schedule Brian & Mary Jane

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Briam Rose & Mary Jane Reh Briam Rose & Mary Jane Reh, Voorheesville, NY
(11/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
YOU KNOW WE LOVE YOU GALS & GUYS!!! FAVORITE BANDS-HAIR OF THE DOG, FRANKLIN MICARE TRIO, GLENGARRY BHOYS. KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB MARY JANE & BRIAN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARY JANE REH/BRIAN ROSE MARY JANE REH/BRIAN ROSE, VOORHEESVILLE, NY
(11/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joey! joey!, troy, NY
(11/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(10/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Chris Ryan really needs to lose some weight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Troy, NY
(10/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
just like to say i have had the opportunity to watch this place form from a crumbling warehouse into a very nice establishment,the beer seems to be more robust than the majority of the other local b-pubs,and the menu seems to work.not being a big beer weenie,nor a food critic,i would be perfectly content to drink and eat here regularly.one strange thing though,after an evening of knocking back stouts,i awoke with a very strange smelling hand.this phenomonon aside,(research to follow)i would have to give this place a big siskel and ebert "thumbs up"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monty Monty, squid neck titty, NY
(09/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I am curious why Joe Rella would bother crossing the river if he feels so strongly about Troy. Now granted, Troy is no high-falutin' area, but come on Joe, why let your poor opinion of Troy taint your review of the best brew pub around. The beers are better than any other beer I have ever tasted (and my spare tire knows how many thats been) I think the only thing that blows is Joe and his hot air.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Loeffler Jeff Loeffler, rochester, NY
(09/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
A solo in town for the night on business I found your establishment purly on my blunder of a left turn instead of a right. Good fortune, as I totally enjoyed the Sid salmon plate and the 3 "Uncle Sams Amber" Plannign a return trip next tiome I'm in town. My only regret is not being able to see the Celtic entertainment slated for the next evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack O'Connor Jack O'Connor, Buffalo, NY
(08/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
I'll stop just short of saying this place blows, mainly because of the spectacular deck (one of only a handful in the Capital Region). Those people who defended this place are most likely regulars who live in Troy. You see, Troy is a very economically depressed 'city' (for lack of a more appropriate word) whose only saving grace these days is the fact that RPI is located there. So, to avoid cognitive dissonance, the residents attempt to convince themselves that the place isn't really a forgotten ghost town whose heyday has long since come and gone; i.e. "I would not choose to live in a rat-hole. I live in Troy. Therefore, Troy must not be a rat-hole." Fact is, this 'pub' is really just a bar with a nice brewerey exhibit. The food is just barely edible, about what you'd expect and get from a little bar. The service is borderline unacceptable. As for the beer, I once had a great pumpkin ale there in the autumn months, but aside from that, I haven't been very impressed with their brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Rella Joe Rella, Albany, NY
(07/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've been scouting out pubs for a trip to New England and New York later in the summer. Not to open old wounds, but the treatment of the fellow from San Diego last year, from what I assume to be some of the regulars, just for having a different opion will cause me to look elsewhere for a place to stop. Defending your local establishment may seem like a good idea, but it does a diservice to the establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Vince, Cape May County, NJ
(06/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I WOULD LIKE TO HELP MY COUSIN JIM OUT

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOHN T. CORLISS JOHN T. CORLISS, POUGHKEEPSIE, N.
(05/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Warning - I know the owner so I'm biased.

I'm a lover of microbrewed beer and have been to many pubs. If you've been interested in it since the beginning, you'll agree that the whole concept has become commercialized. Craft brewing became a fad, and already had its day. During that period you found all sorts entering the market. It's no surprise that many were looking to make a quick buck.

All I can say about TP&B is that they are committed. I witnessed the original renovation of the building (multi-year, by-hand process - I mean - the owner ever TIG-welded his own pipes) and the evolution of the restaurant. They simply believe that all aspects of the dining experience are important: atmosphere, food, beer, service - everything.

If you are interested in seeing what local, pub brewing is all about, give them a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Jackson Paul Jackson, Fairfax Station, VA
(05/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Having been to many brewpubs between New Jersey and Maine this brewpub had the largest selection of brews I have seen. There were 12 to choose from and every one was an excellent representation of its particular style. The food was great and so were the item on the childrens menu.A great place to visit when in New Yorks Capital Region!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Santeramo Ed Santeramo, Orr's Island, ME
(04/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I've been waiting for a year and a half for the Snow Bock Beer , Every time I ask about it ,the waitress doesn't know what i'm talking about. But it's right there on the menu . what's up with that? A great place to relax and hang with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Shaub John Shaub, Latham, NY
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
This is one of the best beer pubs have ever been in. I went to school at RPI and I came here when I was feeling lousy and the beer and overall place cheered me up. When my kids turn 21, I'm bringing them here!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Schwarz Tom Schwarz, Clifton Park, NY
(03/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
We've been coming to the Troy Brew Pub since it was a gleam in Sid Brown's eye. It was fun to watch the pub take form and it is a delight to see it enjoy it continued success. We love everything about the place, especially the art work, which was done by my son, Kevin Clark. We think of the Troy Brew Pub first whenever we plan a gathering with friends and family - we always feel at home there. Last night, I had occasion to enjoy a great meal which featured salmon with a hazelnut glaze. It was awesome! What are the chances of getting the recipe for this? Keep up the good work - this area needs you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Holly Clark Holly Clark, Schenectady, NY
(03/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim E. Bailey Jim E. Bailey, Albamy, NY
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just a great place for food and beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Mancini Frank Mancini, Troy, NY
(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great find, my son started out at RPI this year, being able to visit the pub whild visitig takes a lot of sting out of paying tuition every month! the beer is great, no fear of hops here, the food and service are worthy of four Michelin stars!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon H. Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(12/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Kevin and I from Kevin@Mikes visited today. We were very pleased with the qualilty of the beer. Also had a nice visit with Garrett. When in North Bennington visit us again at Kevin@Mikes

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lindy Brooks Lindy Brooks, North Bennington, VT
(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Pub yesterday for the first time in over a year. Having moved from the capital area, the opportunity to visit is infrequent. Yesterday reaffirmed what an incredible place the Pub is and how much I miss it!! Great Job!! Love it!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Syracuse, NY
(09/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Always love the beer. The behind the bar help are aleways friendly and swift. Bad pun intended-good beer here recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Beale John Beale, Troy, NY
(09/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer in New York State!!!! - I always have a keg on tap at my house, but it never lasts very long. I have yet to taste a better Pale Ale. This establishment constantly gets better. Initial beer quality was inconsistent back in 1993. Garrett Brown and Peter Martin have turned brewing into a fine art. Their numerous awards speak for themselves. Perfect Pub atmosphere. My only complaint is the 3-1/2 hour drive to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Benoit Ray Benoit, Rochester, NY
(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I have been to brew pubs from D.C. to Boston, out to Western N.Y., and I have never been given the quality of service that I received at the Troy Pub. The bar manager, Chris has always gone that extra step to make us feel at home, and the waitresses are not only very attractive, but bust their butts running up and down those stairs. Oh, the beer is better than any other brew-pub in upstate. Anyone who does not agree, email me at elafarr@ yahoo.com. Chris and staff, thanks from the Seminary st. gang. That california puke makes me ill, he wouldn't know a good beer if he was buried in a sea of it with a wreath of German Hallertauer around his neck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay LaFarr Jay LaFarr, Fort Edward, NY
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
This place has gone far downhill since the founding partnership broke up. I think the departing partner took the brew recipes with him. Food is all over the place: one time decent but slow, another time awful and slow. Beers are weak. Amber used to have much more flavor. Tip: go to Albany for the newest and, by far, the best: Evans' Pump House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B. John B., Near Albany, NY
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The place was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
My family and I came for lunch and it was the worst I have ever had. Service was too slow, we had to ask her three times where our food was, there were only three tables in the house at the time. When we finally got it, it was burnt. The cooks and waitstaff are careless. I will never come here again!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Karen, Bennington, VT
(08/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We had a good sampling of different beer which all were great and had distinct personalities.The food was creative and well prepared. The service was top notch. VERY ENJOYABLE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, East Dorset, VT
(07/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The place was great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(07/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The bar staff is the best around, and the atmosphere is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Christian Al Christian, Troy, NY
(06/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
In comparison to other Brew Pubs I have been to, the beer is consistently high-quality. The stouts could use a little work, as I don't find them as creamy as they ought to be, but the Dunkel Wheat is fantastic. The food is decent also and complements the beer well. As far as brew pubs in the area, you can't find a better beer. ( Try Malt River if you don't believe me! ACK!) Keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Damian Damian, Latham, NY
(06/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(06/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Gotta love being labeled "obnoxious" just for having an OPINION different from others. "Don't you DARE criticize the only place in Troy that isn't overrun with welfare lifers and crackheads."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Twelve beers on including one guest beer, I enjoyed the spicy Rye ale, hoppy pale, and nutty brown most of all. Food was good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Staradumsky John Staradumsky, W.Warwick, RI
(05/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Sagendorf Jim Sagendorf, Cohoes, NY
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I have frequented brew pubs in Boston, New York City, Baltimore and D.C., as well as local ones from Lake Placid to Syracuse, and none deliver beer with higher consistent quality than the Troy Pub. As far as San Diego is concerned, buy your beer at Oliver's on Colvin Ave. (where Mahar's buys it) and spare those of us who like both places for different reasons your obnoxiousness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fran├žois Barcomb Fran├žois Barcomb, Glens Falls, NY
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I love your Pale Ale. I also enjoy your (experimental?) brews like the lager and steam recently on tap. I've been going here a few years; consistent high quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Beale John Beale, Troy, NY
(04/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The Troy Pub has always had the most unique and comfortable atmosphere.The beer quality and selection is very good, and I've always been pleased with the food. I've never paid much attention to letters from folks who slam something,but don't have the courage to sign their name.BREW ON!TROY PUB!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Fiorentino Phil Fiorentino, Albany, NY
(04/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
Ho Hum service and the pale ale made me ill. The food is awful

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Boston, MA
(03/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Awesome!
Some brew great beer... some have found how to make a great pub. This place has mastered both. I have had times when I was a regular.. others when I was living in Los Angeles and visiting only once or twice a year.... it has always rewarded me as one of the most welcoming and comfortable places I have ever visited.... and the beer??? I've travelled thousands of miles to get the amber...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Brown Dave Brown, Colonie, NY
(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Here's the basis of my comparing Troy Pub and Brewery with Mahar's: I know when I go into Mahar's I'm going to drink a beer that will be wonderful. My last visits to TP&B have not produced beers that were wonderful. One was downright awful. I don't care *who* makes the beer, as long as it's tasty. So you'd prefer to drink lousy beer that's brewed on site rather than have a nice Rogue Shakespeare Stout on tap? And there are those who claim I'm "out there"...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(02/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Outstanding beers with great character. Having been to about 300 brewpubs, "San Diego" is just out there somewhere. The beers here have tremendous character. Loved the IPA and can't wait to get back for more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I totally agree with Brian Carroll. Also San Diego has earthquakes and lousy water. Check out www.arcobrau.de (turn up your sound) while you think about San Diego's problems!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ulrich H Rudofsky Ulrich H Rudofsky, Delamr, NY
(02/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I am at a loss to understand "San Diego"'s (1-28-99) recent review. Mahar's is a well known place with a loyal clientele. I would say the same about the Washington Tavern. I have enjoyed beer in both places. To compare these types of places to the Troy Brew Pub makes no sense. I have visted brew pubs from Boston to San Francisco. Some made beer that was OK. Some were great! Troy Brew Pub makes great beer. I am unaware of any beer made at Mahar's. There is a reason why Troy's Pale Ale won the Gold Medal. So San Diego, stay out west. Enjoy the fine weather. Leave the reviews to someone who knows the difference between a brew pub and a bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian R.Carroll Brian R.Carroll, Troy, NY
(02/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
I guess all the awesome! reviews show just how starved Troy is for quality establishments. A nice building, but other than that, the only decent beer I've had here was a Barley Wine and that was back in the Brown and Moran days. The Pale Ale I tried to drink back in November was pathetic. Do yourself a favor, skip Troy, head to Albany and enjoy the wonderful beers served at Mahar's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nicole M. Mehner Nicole M. Mehner, Troy, NY
(01/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Best place in the summer on the deck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Great that you allow cigars!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warrensburg, NY
(11/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Had 12 beers on tap - All great! Not a bad one in the bunch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Daniels Bruce Daniels, East Hampton, NY
(11/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Has an interesting 2 floor layout, with a great view of the Hudson from the deck outside. The service is friendly and second to none, with a nicely varied menu of well-prepared foods. Available beers to satisfy anyones taste are sure to be found, while relaxing at this fine Brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Lambert-Gorwyn Scott Lambert-Gorwyn, Cornwall, NY
(10/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Oatmeal Stout Lovers, Come and get it! True Pub atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Gagliardi Anthony Gagliardi, Brunswick, NY
(10/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Stanchuk John Stanchuk, Troy, NY
(09/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Talk about grade inflation. This place rates all those awesomes? I don't think so. I have been going here since they opened and have some good beers there, but awesome. They were one of the first brew pubs to sell those excellent German growlers and I own several, but awesome beer? I don't think so. Have started going to the world famous Man of Kent down the road, when in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
TJ is doing a great job here in California. Please send send us more employees... The Hopland Brewery Mendocino Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kurzava Jim Kurzava, Hopland, CA
(08/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Can't think of a better Friday happy-hour place.... sittin on the Troy Pub's patio and watching the boats on the Hudson River roll by...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Budesheim Eric Budesheim, Averill Park, NY
(08/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer in growlers is great...portable heaven.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eugene S. O'Brien Eugene S. O'Brien, Swampscott, MA
(07/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Everything the other reviews say is true. Good beer and nice folks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Woodbury Carl Woodbury, Contoocook, NH
(06/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tim, Troy, NY
(04/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I love this place! Erin the manager works down there and I think she doing a great job. Jimmy the cook is the best cook.Chris the bartender is a great people person. Everyone down there has a great attitude. The pub makes it fun and exciting for everyone. But most of all The kid that I see down there,Tim, works his tail off when the pub needs him. He is my favorite employee. You should make him work down there more. I hope the business works well and I will see all the great workers and the pub again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Adams Ben Adams, Troy, NY
(04/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Great place to have a brew!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(04/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
Friday is a great night to hang out at the pub especially on the deck great friendly atmosphere. *** "The beer sampler is a must" ***

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pablo Pablo, Troy, NY
(04/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A fine selection of beers, friendly atmosphere. An authentic brewpub environment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Sperazza Harold Sperazza, Glenville, NY
(04/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great brewpub. We travel from Vermont quite often. We love it there, can't wait for the deck to open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, N. Bennington, VT
(04/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The Troy Pub and Brewery has undergone many changes since it first opened, and continues to wrestle with legal conflicts between its originators (Brown and Moran). The beer quality has, maybe understandably, reflected these conflicts. I have not been a regular in quite awhile, because I was finding off-flavors in some of their beers, specifically the Pale Ale and the Stout. However, I stopped by in early February 1998, and was pleasantly surprised. I had a pint of the Trojan Pale Ale, and it was wonderful......fresh, with lots of hop aroma (and good bitterness), and, most of all, clean. The crowd had changed from the earlier days, too, and the setting was, as always, very inviting. I hope they keep up the good brewing, and I plan to check them out again in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(02/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Went with 3 other friends, all of us had a different beer. All beers were distinct and great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul J. Careey Paul J. Careey, DeWitt, NY
(02/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Good entertainment too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Spud Spud, Troy, NY
(02/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Great pub atmosphere and pub food. Good selection of distinctive beers. One of the best brewpubs in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Schenectady, NY
(11/08/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
First brewpub in area. Good standard brews and tasty dishes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(10/14/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.179 seconds) 02:22:59 54.167.138.53, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS