PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rohrbach Brewing Company - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Rohrbach Brewing Company
Rohrbach Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rohrbach Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
3859 Buffalo Road
Rochester, NY 14624
United States
(585) 594-9800
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
23 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Rohrbach Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast 1800's Inn
2) Doubling Hills Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DIPLOMAT HOTEL
2) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
3) DAYS HOTEL ROCHESTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hinchey, Franklin, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Aaron Catering
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Agatina's Restaurant
4) Bill Gray's
5) Bill Grays Inc
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) Calabresella Importers-Italian
9) Carriage House LTD
10) Catering By Toufik Sarkis
11) China Garden
12) Clara's Luncheon Caf'e
13) Cornerstone Day Habilition
14) Country Kitchen Family Rstrnt
15) Days Inn Rochester Airport
16) De Linda's Pizzeria
17) Delta House
18) Denny's
19) Edoya
20) Eljay's Cafe
21) Gates Pub Inc
22) Golden Garden
23) Good Guys Pizza
24) Goody Goodies Sub & Pizza
25) Ground Round
26) Horizon Lounge
27) Italian American Community Ctr
28) Jam Room
29) Jerry's Family Restaurant
30) Jet Diner
31) Jim & Ralph's Restaurant
32) Jule's Cafe & Deli
33) Landing Strip
34) Larocca's Restaurant & Party
35) Leaf & Bean Coffee Co
36) Letourneau Services
37) Lucy's Internet Cafe
38) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap
39) Marks Pizzeria
40) Mayer's Ice Cream
41) Mc Donald's
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mr Shoes Pizza
44) Mug
45) Mug Party House
46) Nick's Imports & Meat Market
47) Nicko's Family Restaurant
48) Number One Rochester Restrnt
49) One Way Cafe
50) Palermo's Sub Station
51) Party House
52) Passport Lounge
53) Perkins Family Restaurant
54) Phil's Pizza
55) Phillips European
56) Pixley's Restaurant
57) Pizza Hut
58) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
59) River's Edge Rstrnt & Party Hs
60) Rohrbach Brewing Co
61) Russell Ice Cream
62) Snackers
63) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
64) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Tim Horton's Donuts
67) Tomasso's Pizza Market
68) Town & Country Family
69) Tut's
70) Wendy's
71) Wendy's
72) Whittier Party House
73) Wimpy's Burger Basket
74) Wokery Chinese Restaurant
75) Yianni's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I liked the beer here...food was also very good. Service was pretty good. Nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon  Shannon , Cleveland, OH
(07/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I liked the beer here - it was good and the service OK too- it was kinda chain-ish for my taste. Not bad just a bit generic. I'm happy for the folks around this neck of the woods, though. It is a good option for those outside of the city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carole Carole, wilson, PA
(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great unique brew pub. Rorbach has some of the best local beer I've had. A few of my favorites include their Octoberfest, Dunkelwisen, Summer Wheat, and Bock. They even had a pumpkin beer that I could actually drink! If you want good microbrew in Rochester this is the place to go. My only complaint is that their beer selection changes so often that you may not be able to get your favorite brew every time you go there (but that keeps things interesting!). The food and service is excellent, a lot of German food done quite well along with all the standard pub fare. I highly recommend the schnitzel! (no really, it's excellent). It’s well worth the drive up there from the city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Rochester, NY
(11/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Awesome! Good
I was informed that they were out of their "Hoppy" beer, so I tried the Porter which was pretty good, Switched to the Jamie Bock which had an interesting aftertaste. Also, tried the Breakfast Buzz, which supposedly has espresso in it, just so-so. Finished with the Highland Amber which I found very ordinary. Place was very busy, but service was outstanding. I do no have a great deal of respect for brewpubs who serve Bud and Miller. Food was so-so too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(07/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
If you do not like this guy's Highland Amber you need to stick to your Labatt's as you know nothing about quality beer. For those of you who never visited their old place at the German house you missed out. The brew was piped from the brewery via a bright beer system.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review honeoye falls, NY
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Once you get over the fact that this is not the same place that was in the German House in the early 90's it is very enjoyable. Rohrbach continues to brew very good beer and I was pleased to see that they had less taps dedicated to beers that I would call transitional between an American lager and craft beer. While the food is not what I remember at the German House (i.e. homemade mustard,ryebread, german potato salad, amazing wings) it is still good. I also have a different perspective because kids eat for free on Sundays and my wife took me there on Father's day. Rohrbach still holds a place in the craft brew community of Rochester but it is no longer the unique, special place that it was when it was in the German House and the emphasis was on authenticity to a German style pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review rochester, NY
(08/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good Good
A formerly German-style brewery seems to have lost its way shifting to British-style beers. The Highland Lager was nice, but tasted like an ale. The X ale was a slightly hoppier version of the Highland, but not all that hoppy. The Porter was nice and well-balanced. The food was a disappointment: just not very well prepared, and well below the brewpub average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RickW RickW, Philadelphia, PA
(10/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
A great place ........ A Rochester institution. Always a nice selection. Especially good is the Highland Amber. The seasonal Hefe Wiezen is also excellent although it could use a little more yeast in the finished product.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Beamish Steve Beamish, Rochester, NY
(07/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Selection was lacking, possibly due to the previous weekend's brew fest. Did enjoy the Scotch Ale, just wish there would have been some other (not light) ales to try. Onion rings were killer; more like a meal than an appetizer. I too, loved the Gregory St location back in the day. A perfect exacta was Rohrbach, then MacGregor's. Oh well. Very out-of-the-way location. Call first and check on the tap selections before taking the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
A small pub with average beer. The Hefe is above average. They had no IPA or Pale on Tap, but a variety of others. They also didn't have there X on tap, which they were heavily promoting that they did. They said it was going to be at the Flour City Brew Festival, which it wasn't. When I asked the guy said "I only pour the beer".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Sadly as I write, this place is two days away from closing it's city location (Gregory St.) after ten years there. Rohrbach's will consolidate it's operation at the Buffalo Rd. location. Apparently an agreement regarding the lease renewal could not be reached between the business and the building owners. Reportedly, the buliding owner wanted 2.5 times the current rent to renew. Too bad. This was a great place and a great location. We hope they will perhaps find another city location later.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(07/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The best brewpub in town without question for those who are serious about their beer. High quality, robust selections. Too many to name. Great atomosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(04/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Great Good
The beer is nothing to get excited about-not great not terrible, just OK. The best was the Kolsch, the worst was the highland lager-no taste whatsoever. Service was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is an excellant brewpub. Dark basement german pub. 8 Beers on tap! I tried the Porter and it was one of the best Porter's I have ever had! Hint of chocolate MMMM!! 5 Stars! Service was great. Pretzels with Hot Mustard to snack on was a plus! Definitrly the best brewpub in Rochester!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burdman Burdman, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Rohrbach's is my pick for Rochester's best brewpub. They seem to be the most serious, by far, about brewing. When I was there, they had a good variety that showed a pretty good diversity of styles.

The kolsch was very light, delicate, and flowery with a reminiscence of cherry-like flavors in the finish. The Scotch ale, though not enough to knock my kilts off, made a pretty tasty dessert and made the walk back to my hotel seem shorter. I tried all the house brews except for the blueberry ale (because I hate blueberries) and enjoyed every one.

There are two locations. This trip I visited only the original location, which is located in the basement of an old building known as "German House". The brewhouse here is rather small and limited compared to the impressive facilities at their newer location. John, the very enthusiastic owner, gave me a bit of a tour.

I heard that the brewer, Jason, recently hurt his back and has to stay home for a while. I hear that he sneaks in to check to make sure everything is under control while he's out. This dedication shows in the brews.

There were 7 house brews available. They tell me they usually try to have a couple more than that. The repertoire is around 38 different beers. They stock a variety of commercial bottled beers if you really must have that Genny Cream Ale or Bud Light.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Bushman Chris Bushman, North Hollywood, CA
(09/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
The German food was the best in the states,and I can not raise enough praise about the friendly atmosphere. The beer has a long ways to go to meet the true German quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad Putnam Chad Putnam, Geneseo, NY
(09/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Very, very nice. An A+ Brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The Dry Stout was excellent and the Hoppy Stock Ale was my favorite. It was worth the trip from Letchworth State Park, where I was camping. The food was great. I thought the beer was so good I took 3 growlers out for the campfire that night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Gant Ed Gant, Millville, NJ
(08/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Not bad, though several of the beers tasted similar. They definitely do their darker beers well. Food was your normal pub fare - nothing special just filling. Place was not very crowded on a Monday evening. Most people that were there normally worked there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Bieri Gregg Bieri, Bailey, CO
(02/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I liked their beer better during past visits.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
My week is not complete without a Scotch Ale. Some of the best damn beer made anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Kittering Road Brewing, Macedon, NY
(04/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Some of the best beer I have ever tasted. The seaonal Red Wing Red continues to be one of my favorites. The Scotch Ale has to be one of the best out there. Delish. Rohrbach's wide menu of German and American dishes has something for everybody! I thouroughly enjoy the homemade German potato salad and giant pretzels with peanut butter mustard. (Yes, peanut butter... and it is AWESOME!) Great service, great atmosphere, a top notch pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Van Eps Chris Van Eps, Rochester, NY
(03/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
I would say their Highland Amber is generally one of those beers everybody likes. It has such a good flavor. Their Scotch Ale and Dunkel are two of my faves, though. I love this place-one of those pubs where you can usually find a place to sit, even on a Saturday night, good selection of food, as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Johnston John Johnston, Rochester, NY
(03/01/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.608 seconds) 17:50:20 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS