PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gentleman Jim's Restaurant and Pub - Poughkeepsie, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 10:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Poughkeepsie > Gentleman Jim's Restaurant and Pub
Gentleman Jim's Restaurant and Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Gentleman Jim's Restaurant and Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 76.1 / 100
1112 Duchess Turnpike
Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
United States
(845) 485-5467
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Poughkeepsie, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Gentleman Jim's Restaurant and Pub
20 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Beech Tree Grill
(0 mile)

2) Mahoney's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Copper Penny Inn
2) Inn At the Falls
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN AND CONF CTR
2) COURTYARD POUGHKEEPSIE
3) ECONO LODGE AT POUGHKEEPSIE
4) POUGHKEEPSIE GRAND HOTEL
5) RESIDENCE INN POUGHKEEPSIE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adriance Memorial Library
2) Amrita Club
3) Balding Avenue Historic District
4) Barrett House
5) Booth, O. H., Hose Company
6) Boughton/Haight House
7) Building at 73 Mansion St.
8) Cedarcliff Gatehouse
9) Church Street Row
10) Clark House
11) Clinton House
12) Collingwood Opera House and Office Building
13) Dixon House
14) Dutchess County Court House
15) Dwight-Hooker Avenue Historic District
16) Eastman Terrace
17) Ethol House
18) Farmer's and Manufacturer's Bank
19) First Baptist Church
20) First Presbyterian Church
21) First Presbyterian Church Rectory
22) Freer House
23) Glebe House
24) Gregory House
25) Grey Hook
26) Harlow Row
27) Hasbrouck House
28) Hershkind House
29) Horton, Joseph, House
30) Italian Center
31) Kimlin Cider Mill
32) Lady Washington Hose Company
33) Luckey, Platt & Company Department Store
34) Mader House
35) Main Building, Vassar College
36) Main Mall Row
37) Market Street Row
38) Moore House
39) Mulrien House
40) New York State Armory
41) Niagara Engine House
42) Pelton Mill
43) Phillips House
44) Post-Williams House
45) Poughkeepsie Almshouse and City Infirmary
46) Poughkeepsie City Hall
47) Poughkeepsie Meeting House (Montgomery Street)
48) Poughkeepsie Railroad Bridge
49) Poughkeepsie Savings Bank
50) Poughkeepsie Trust Company
51) Poughkeepsie Underwear Factory
52) Reynolds House
53) Rombout House
54) Roosevelt, Isaac, House
55) Sague House
56) Second Baptist Church
57) Smith Metropolitan AME Zion Church
58) South Hamilton Street Row
59) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
60) Thompson House
61) Travis House
62) Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church and Rectory
63) Upper-Mill Street Historic District
64) US Post Office--Poughkeepsie
65) Vassar Home for Aged Men
66) Vassar Institute
67) Vassar-Warner Row
68) Young Men's Christian Association
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 811 Bourbon Street Steakhouse
2) Absolute Pizza
3) Arlington Bar
4) Autobahn Cafe
5) Baby Cakes Bakery Cafe
6) Bella Rosa Pizza
7) Burger King
8) Chan's Peking Restaurant
9) Chef's Table Caterers LTD
10) City Style Deli
11) Country Manor
12) Cubby Hole Coffee House
13) Debra T's Ice Cream Cafe
14) Del Forno's Deli
15) Domino's Pizza
16) Dragon Garden
17) Dutch Cabin
18) Excalibur
19) Gentlemen Jim's Restaurant
20) Giacomo's Pizza Cafe
21) Giovannis Pizza Pasta
22) Good Fellas Pizza
23) Griffs
24) Hobnobbin' Pub
25) Ichiban Japanese Cuisine & Ssh
26) Isabella's Pizzeria & Wine Bar
27) J & R Gourmet Deli
28) K & D Deli
29) K & D Deli
30) LA Cieneguita Deli
31) LA Grange Deli
32) Lafalces'
33) Maia Restaurant & Lounge
34) Manchester Deli Inc
35) MCK Deli Inc
36) Montano's Pizza
37) Mulligan's Irish House
38) Napoli & Sicilia Pizza
39) No 1 Chinese Restaurant
40) O'Braoins Irish Isle Pub
41) Oasis Discount Beverages Inc
42) On My Way Home Sports Pub
43) Papa Georgio's Pizzeria
44) Planet Wings Of Poughkeepsie
45) Pleasant Valley Diner
46) Red Barn Deli & Market
47) Reed's Grocery
48) Roma Deli
49) Samurai Sushi Cafe
50) Smiles Nightclub
51) Sonny's 44 Pizza
52) Starbucks
53) Stewart's Ice Cream Shop
54) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
55) T-Man Restaurant
56) Taco Land Inc
57) Tina's Restaurant & Pizzeria
58) TMJ Restaurant Corp
59) Tony's Giant Submarines
60) Traffic Stop Route 44 Deli
61) Vanwyck General Store
62) Vassar View Cafe
63) Vera Pizzeria
64) Vinny's Italian Market & Deli
65) Vinnys Brick Oven Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy So So So So
I ordered pork medallions. They tasted as if they were cooked on a dirty grill...I will never eat there again. This place use to have great food. Must have changed hands or chefs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amelia marks Amelia marks, Poughkeepsie, NY
(01/10/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
WE ONLY SAW OUR WAITRESS IN THE BEGINNING AND SERVING OUR FOOD. THE SALAD BAR WAS NOT THAT GREAT. THE SHRIMP WAS A PAIN TO PEEL AND ENDED UP THE SIZE OF A DIME. AND OUR HANDS SMELLED LIKE FISH THE ENTIRE MEAL.

THE FOOD WAS WRONG, THE DRINK WAS WATERED DOWN, I WOULD NEVER GO THERE AGAIN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LINDA LINDA, POUGHKEEPSIE, NY
(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Listed here are the kitchen hours, but the bar is open much later, the wings are great and cheap, the food is good, always 12 beers on tap with micros and imports. There is always a Brooklyn Brewery beer, a Blue Point, and a Keegan Ales beer on tap...three great local New York breweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gus Johnstone Gus Johnstone, Pleasant Valley, NY
(05/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Awesome! Great
Searching for something different than the regular chain-restaurant fare, we went to Gentleman Jim's last night for the first time and were pleasantly surprised.

Escargots in broth with a very flaky and moist puff-pastry, they were meaty, not chewy. Personally I would have liked them to have more garlic. Nicely garlicky shrimp scampi, decent selection at the salad bar and plain but good hot fresh bread at the table. The prime rib was a large cut, lots of solid meat not very fatty. 14 oz strip steak was large! My knife cut through it like butter, extremely tender, good crust on it. Very good mashed potatoes, you could taste the potato: it wasn't a fatty fake pile as is the trend now in the chain restaurants. We found the entree prices to be very reasonable: it looks like a couple could go there and spend $50 or $100 including tip and either way have an excellent, filling diner with wine, to boot. The wines are all $19.99/bottle which, although for real wine-drinkers is limited, makes it easy for novice wine drinkers to be a little more experimental with their choices. I was sorry we had no room for dessert, we'll have to skip appetizers next time in order to try some sweets.

The service was very attentive: one of the things I noticed was staff unobtrusively but constantly making rounds, keeping an eye on things. It felt like everyone wanted to be there, not just there for the tips.

Overall we were both glad we went off the beaten path a little and left stuffed with terrific food. Bill for two consisting of 2 apetizers, 2 entrees, a drink, a beer and a bottle of wine came to $77 after tax before tip. Definitely the first of many visits, we are sure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anna Anna, Poughkeepsie, NY
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Sent To The Editor at the Poughkeepsie Journal:

Last evening my husband and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Gentlemen Jim’s on Route 44 in Pleasant Valley. The food and service were great. After dinner, we had dessert and coffee. With full stomachs, we paid our tab and ventured out the restaurant door. What happened next was unthinkable. We were confronted with a huge cloud of second hand smoke from the smokers on the deck ramp. The narrow ramp held two smokers who blew smoke right into our faces and then proceeded to cough violently, as well. We almost ran to our cars trying to get a breath of the fresh night air. I understand that the outside is for all of us, but why do these people need to smoke right in the entranceway and disgust the patrons of the restaurant. Luckily we didn’t see anyone standing on the ramp when we first entered the restaurant. Until the owners think of another place for these smokers, I guess Gentlemen Jim’s is no longer a restaurant where we will dine. Any suggestions on what can be done with those Super Saver points????????????????? Former Smokers too, Janet & Donald Parslow, 14 Kovac Lane, Pleasant Valley, NY 845-635-1583

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Janet Janet, Pleasant Valley, NY
(02/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good
Decent local place, good wings, and a great price in the bar with beer purchase, used to brew their own, now offer a good selection of microbrews/imports. Escargot is excellent and well priced. Relaxing atmosphere. NTN games are offered in the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Weebl Weebl, Hyde Parj, NY
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is by far my FAVORITE place to dine. It has outstanding food and beer to accomadate any taste. Gentleman Jim's is delicious, romantic and affordable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Poughkeepsie, NY
(02/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Beware of the hours at this place. I tried to stop in about 12:30P.M.(Lunch Time) and the parking lot had 3 cars in it.

The door was unlocked so I walked in. Nobody was inside so I walked behind the bar and poured myself a beer from the tap that looked like a Blonde Girl on the Tap Handle.

I waited for an hour and nobody came in or out so I left $1.00 in my empty glass. The beer was delicious but I was scared I was gonna get in trouble for stealing beer.

The chalkboard on the wall said the price of the wings has gone up to 12 cents each. I couldn't order any because nobody was around.

I didn't get any service because nobody was around either. It seemed like a classy resturarnt with a bar.

As I left I noticed a small sign that said closed Mondays and open from 5:00 P.M to 9:00 P.M. the rest of the week. It must be nice when your whole staff has a day job. To bad they are losing out on the lunch crowd

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The brewing equipment has been taken out of Gentleman Jim's as of May, 2003. Brewer John Calen is now at Ramapo Valley.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sshannon Glazer Sshannon Glazer, Lebanon, NH
(01/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Overall a very nice place. The bitter was only so-so, nothing special. The porter and stout were excellent. Food selection was good, and the preparation was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am the brewer, so of course my opinion is biased. I'm only trying to get the address and phone # updated. I like Billy's review :-), but Old Ale is not coming back for awhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Poughkeepsie, NY
(04/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Outstanding service, Poughkeepsie Porter cant be beat. BRING BACK THE OLD ALE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review billy, Poughkeepsie, NY
(03/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Very nice pub but it is situated in the middle of nowhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Beside nice, crisp beers they offer a huge complementary salat buffet; pub is situated in the middle of nowhere (route 44, east of Poughkeepsie).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joerg Joerg, Witten - Germany, NY
(06/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
The Red and Stout were great along with great food. A nice day trip from eastern CT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Francis J. Zdancewica Francis J. Zdancewica, Preston, CT
(03/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Upscale menu, great specials, plus good bar promos (wings $.10 all the time,$.10 shrimp Wed & Thur) Wheat, Gold, Red, Bitter,Brown, Porter and Stout make up the permanent list. Seasonal features.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Queens, NY
(01/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Outstanding restaurant (about 25 years) that added a brewery a couple years ago. A broad selection of ales, all very good, especially the porter. 10 cent wings all the time. $3.00 all pints

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from K. Meade K. Meade, Rhinebeck, NY
(10/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Reasonable prices ($3 for 12oz drafts). Great pub deals like wing specials every night, Thursday night steamers etc. Best feature - Dutchess County brewpub is home to few brewpubs (Hyde Park is another - and with better beer)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fishkill, NY
(09/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Nice friendly pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/10/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.267 seconds) 10:39:28 54.204.77.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS