PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Long Valley Pub and Brewery - Long Valley, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 05:57 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Long Valley > Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Long Valley Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.2 / 100
1 West Mill Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853
United States
(908) 876-1122
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: September 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Long Valley, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Long Valley Pub and Brewery
69 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Everitt House
2) Neighbour House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN HACKETTSTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apgar, J. K., Farmhouse
2) Cenetary Collegiate Institute
3) Cooper, Nathan, Gristmill
4) Craft--Clausen House
5) Flock--Stephens Farmstead
6) Flocktown Schoolhouse
7) Frog Hollow Road Bridge over minor tributary of the South Branch, Raritan River
8) Hollow Brook Road Bridge over tributary of the Lamington River
9) Johnson, James Weldon, House
10) Rarick--Kellihan House
11) Trimmer--Dufford Farmstead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Apgar's 1778
2) Asia Gourmet
3) Deena's Deli
4) Greene's Beans Cafe Long Vly
5) Hunan Wok Long Valley
6) Long Valley Inn
7) Mountain Tea Rooms
8) Mountainview Bar & Grill
9) Old Fashion Meat & Deli
10) Phil's Pizzeria & Italian Rest
11) Salerno's
12) Valley Restaurant & Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
great food and plenty of it - even i felt full -- and i'm a big boy - service was fast and friendly but never felt rushed -- got seated so quick the poor barmaid had to chase us around with our beer -- no gray area here will be back often

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from g g, mt arlington, NJ
(11/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey Matt, couldn't resist.

Sad times are these when wandering Information Superhighway posters can criticize at will the spelling of fellow travelers.

I owe you a beer now... So we're even.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This place does have great atomosphere. After a few lazy jake porters, I began to see the individual atoms in the genuine stone walls.

No wait, they weren't atoms, they were spheres, no - hemispheres. And I didn't see them in the walls, I saw them when I looked down into the bar area from the upper level dining area.

Damn nice ones, too!......Never mind....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
All the beers are at least good, some great, it has a well balenced menu with the addition of the pub menu a couple of years ago. When they first opened dinner could cost you a mortgage payment. Atomosphere is a bit crowded sometimes and service suffers and the bar is a little bit small. Defintely worth stopping in, by the way the building wasn't a barn it was a grist mill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Z. Matt Z., Parsippany, NJ
(10/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Try the Belgian, the Special Ale and the Irish Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
I really enjoy the atmosphere at the Long Valley Brewpub, a renovated 1700's stone "barn". The Lazy Jake Porter is one of the best NJ brewed beers I have sampled so far. The rest of beer is above average as well. The food has been hit or miss in my past visits, but maybe that has improved based upon the previous reviews, however my wife has almost always enjoyed her food here. I would recommend LVBP based upon beer and atmosphere...and sometimes the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JJS JJS, Flanders, NJ
(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I were here over the Labor Day weekend. We tried most of the beers(in the styles we like---ESB, Brown, Cask, etc.) again and we were not disappointed. All of the beers had a very smooth finish and were very easy to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food has greatly improved over the last year or so. Now I finally have a place to go with my wife(ride home). The ESB on the pump is the best that Tim has brewed! I think this place really has it together now. It's a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. I always welcome the chance to go and bring home a growler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I disagree with JB when he said that beer is beer and shouldn't be judged like wines. OTOH, I agree with him that the beers and food here are very good. My only problem is that they took off the cookies and creme mousse a couple of years back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
THSES PEOPLE WHO DON'T THINK THEIR BEERS ARE AWESOME ARE THINKING NOT DRINKING!DON'T ANALYZE THE BEER LIKE YOU ARE SOME WINE TASTER- IT'S BEER!!!! ITS ALL GOOD AT LONG VALLEY.LOVE THE JAKE AND AMBER.I DRIVE AN HOUR TO GET MY GROWLERS!(IT IS A BIT PRICEY)FOOD IS REALLY GOOD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.B. J.B., WALDWICK, NJ
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was a here last nite and the reviewer below is clueless. "5 colors of honey water" - there were 5 beers plus 2 seasonals - two were lager/light ales, two dark (brown & porter) and a nice hoppy APA (American Pale Ale).The seasonals were the Oatmeal Stout (which I found somewhat anemic) and the bitter, which just won a medal at GABF. The porter also just won another medal at GABF 2001. My only complaint would be the food is a little 'foo-foo' fancy but there are some decent pub food selections. I guess the reviewer below knows beer better than the Great American Beer Fest judges ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from leo leo, randolph, NJ
(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So
The beer at Long Valley has descended to the "5 colors of honey water" selection that most of these "kit" brewpubs start up with. All sweet, all tasteless. This pub has been here for years, so there's no excuse for not trying to make good beers. I assume that they have lost their recipes and/or brewer. Even the Black River Brown, which used to taste as terrible as the name implies, now only tastes boring and sweet. Too bad. The food and service are still good (if you sit near the bar), but it's packed to the gills on weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(11/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We had an enjoyable time, with traditional German dinners and tasty beers to accompany them. The oktoberfest was drinkable, but not as malty as i would've liked -- it was a little too "crisp". The best bitter was nice, but the best one of the three that i tried was the Black River Brown. Definitely worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(10/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Best Beer of any brewer in the state. Food is very good. Building has plenty of character, but a tad noisy when crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CD CD, Long Valley, NJ
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Beautiful setting, a gorgeous drive to get there, good but pricey food, and the Black River Brown was exceptional.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from barfly barfly, anytown, NJ
(08/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Beers are Ok but go for the food. The restored stone barn is worth the trip. Sept. 9 is the beer and seafood fest. Don't waste your time in the antique shops in town, more like a bad garage sale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Johnson Mike Johnson, Newton, NJ
(07/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice atmosphere. Kid friendly. Take the family for a ride. You won't be sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Ray, Cranford, NJ
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
I hope somebody reads these reviews...or i'mm an idiot but in this day and time i'll take the chance. This place is lacking in one area and if someone reads this that gives a half a care from that establishment, they will send in some undercover people that do not resemble local fare and pay heade.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry larry, lafayette, NJ
(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The hand-pump is always delicious, and Tim's seasonals are sure to please. Stop by on Thursdays for $2 pints all night!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Cuesta Bob Cuesta, Long Valley, NJ
(07/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This place is Great! That's why I moved here from Morristown. A great place to live and drink beer. Almost like having an english local pub. Now we just need an indian reaturant and a chip shop. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Simo! Simo!, long Valley, NJ
(07/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
After several years of average to poor beer, things have clearly turned around. The seasonal PonyTail Pale Ale was a hoppy treat, full of taste and body. The ESB on the handpump was smooth and balanced. Their prior seasonal, Celebration, was a winner too. Congratulations to the brewmaster! But can this be sustained?

The menu remains overpriced and needlessly esoteric. Little pub in the grub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
The beer has definitely improved! The Ponytail PA was great! Lotsa hops! And there is even a Budwater taste-alike. The dark ale was a little mild, but pleasant and the amber ale had a very nice fresh fruity note. Food is expensive, but good. The service at the bar is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My husband, myself and 2 kids come here a 4 or 5 times a year from Summit. The beer is usually always tasty. Not always acceptional as brewpubs go but, enjoyable. They need a few more seasonal beers to add variety. We find the food good and are thankful they have a kids menu and are very accomodating for children. I would reccomend it to families and motor cycle enthusiasts who need a bite to eat and a pint after a nice ride.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erika Erika, Summit, NJ
(03/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Another big stone and beam barn in a small New Jersey mill town. Six varieties on tap, including a very good Scottish ale (70 shilling) cask conditioned. This was a strong beer, smooth and semi-sweet with a full body and good walnut color. They offered a golden ale and light ale in addition to the usual amber, brown, porter. I had the golden and it was too light, the light must have been tasteless. If the brewer brings the regular selections up to the level of the cask batch, this place will be worth the long drive to its remote location. Growlers available, nice dining in loft of barn, scenic village.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Great beer. Food was solid. Took a half-gallon home for the next day, excellent!!!!! Kids liked the noise!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tap Tap, Mother, MD
(03/26/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.286 seconds) 17:57:59 50.17.174.94, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS