PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Long Valley Pub and Brewery - Long Valley, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 08:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Long Valley > Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Long Valley Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.2 / 100
1 West Mill Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853
United States
(908) 876-1122
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: September 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Long Valley, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Long Valley Pub and Brewery
69 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Everitt House
2) Neighbour House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN HACKETTSTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apgar, J. K., Farmhouse
2) Cenetary Collegiate Institute
3) Cooper, Nathan, Gristmill
4) Craft--Clausen House
5) Flock--Stephens Farmstead
6) Flocktown Schoolhouse
7) Frog Hollow Road Bridge over minor tributary of the South Branch, Raritan River
8) Hollow Brook Road Bridge over tributary of the Lamington River
9) Johnson, James Weldon, House
10) Rarick--Kellihan House
11) Trimmer--Dufford Farmstead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Apgar's 1778
2) Asia Gourmet
3) Deena's Deli
4) Greene's Beans Cafe Long Vly
5) Hunan Wok Long Valley
6) Long Valley Inn
7) Mountain Tea Rooms
8) Mountainview Bar & Grill
9) Old Fashion Meat & Deli
10) Phil's Pizzeria & Italian Rest
11) Salerno's
12) Valley Restaurant & Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good
We went to the brewery on a beautiful fall day, and sat outside. Great locale and view, but the outside was loaded with flies! Very strange.

Looked like a good selection of brews, so we got the sampler, and, as others have mentioned, the selections were essentially indistinguishable from each other.

The food was good, and they were accomodating to my children. However, the service turned me off. Our server was very nice and prompt for most of the meal, but as soon as we finished eating (plates still on the table) she dropped off our check without asking if we wanted anything else (eg, another beer as my glass was empty). I later asked her for another beer, and she took back the check. Then I saw her walk out of the restaurant, get in her car and leave! Obviously, her shift was over and she wanted to get her tip from us before she left. The right move to make here is to let us know that she is leaving and who our server will be, rather than try and rush us into tipping her.

Finally, I wanted to take 2 growlers home, so I brought 1 to fill and planned on buying another. Server told me that since the growler I brought was not from the brewery, they wouldn't fill it. I've never heard of this before, and have done this numerous times at other brew pubs. I would up being off-put by this policy, and only bought 1 growler (pale ale).

I would like to head out to here again, and give it another chance, as it's a nice drive and great locale, but they need to increase the quality of the beer and properly train their staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew  S. Andrew S., westfield, NJ
(10/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great So So
The beer is just not good. I really wanted to like it but each one tasted like the next, just varying levels of lightness/darkness. Their IPA is missing floral tones and malty sweetness. It had a skunky aroma. Their Porter is probably the best of the bunch. It had a good roasted malt taste with some sweetness. The food and setting are pretty good so it can still be a relaxing visit, just look elsewhere for beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Centereach, NY
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
They did not have the bitter available when we visited, so this review is incomplete. The porter and nut brown were pretty good beers, but the others only decent but forgettable. The sandwiches are another matter though -- they are outstanding. And you can't complain about the atmosphere -- beautiful building. Looking forward to returning with the completion of the smokehouse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Staten Island, NY
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This might be my favorite NJ brewpub. I've always had good luck with my food selection and the beer are always good. The bartender is very knowledgeable and amicable.

The building is beautiful and provides great ambiance, whether upstairs or at the bar itself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Bedford Rob Bedford, Branchburg, NJ
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
For some reason, it took over an hour to get our food today. The server, Zach, was very polite and apologetic over the matter and came to us several times to apologize during our wait.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, New York, NY
(10/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Some good beers, not great but definitely worth a visit.Look forward to going back a testing the food.Service real good and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(07/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I stopped in this beautiful place and thoroughly enjoyed the way they converted a barn into a pub. the food was goo that i had and the service was ok.

i tried the sampler and found the beers to be average. the amber had some taste to it as well as the bitter. the light and the golden were really not that good at all. the nut brown was so-so. i thought there porter was their strongest show. the celebration was on "cask"(they do not have a pump) and it was off a nitrous tap.

i plan on going back to this establishment during the summer months because the place looks very nice to hangout at and the beers were half decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(12/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
I think the overall atmosphere is more of a draw than the food or the beer for which this place is named. The ales are good, but nothing extraordinary. I wasn't thrilled with the menu selection, but found what I ordered to be o.k.. This is a place I'd go to if someone else really wanted to go, but not a place I'd pick.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David  Heimroth David Heimroth, Hopatcong, NJ
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I like this place a lot. Its like an old barn. There is a comfortable feel to it as soon as you walk in. We went with friends recently. On the way to the pub,they told us about this ghost, with a hook for a hand, that used to walk the railroad tracks nearby. it was called the Hookerman. Of course, we thought they were nuts. When we looked at the menu, one of the beers was named Hookerman. Cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FineToonin FineToonin, Kenvil, NJ
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy So So
Our first brewery attempt since moving to NJ. They have a good selection of beers, the only problem, there is just nothing special about them. Every beer had a watered down taste. No beer really had any flavors that came out that really made you excited. I call this place, beer wise, a brewery for bud drinkers.

As for food, it was ok. However, my wife's salad came with a stick in it, and the waiter spilled my food all over me.

If you like bud, and want to try a step up, this is the place for you. If you like good, unwatered down, flavorful beers, this place is a waste and I suggest avoiding it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Morristown, NJ
(06/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I LOVE THE BEER AND THE HOT GUYS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alen Shepard Alen Shepard, Mexico, JG
(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We stopped here for dinner with my parents on the way back from Delaware Water Gap. The brewery is in a really cool stone building that apparently is a restored two story barn. Both the food and the beers here were excellent. I started with the Cask Conditioned Best Bitter which was excellent; smooth with a nice amber color and bitter flavor. My wife had the German Valley Amber; an amber colored ale with a nice citrusy hop finish. My dad had the Hookerman’s Light; a bitter light beer with a decent hop flavor. I next ordered the Nut Brown Ale, which I really wanted to try since it was a 2005 GABF winner. The waiter brought a beer that was light amber in color and I immediately asked if this was really the nut brown. He assured me it was. The nut brown was described as having a nutty sweetness with toffee and caramel flavors. This beer, while very good, was more of a hoppy beer with no noticeable toffee or caramel flavors; perhaps a slightly nutty finish. It did have a malty aroma. To me it tasted very much like the amber my wife just had, though she had finished it so we couldn’t compare them side by side. I asked the waiter a second time if this really was the nut brown ale. He said maybe he had made a mistake and brought me a new beer (I had pretty well finished the other already). The beer he brought back was the same as the one I’d just drank, so either he screwed up again, or this really was the nut brown. Whatever it was, it really was an excellent beer, and I thoroughly enjoyed it (especially the second one since it was free).

I had an excellent fish and chips dinner made with really good, battered cod. My wife had mussels on linguini that was also very good. We all enjoyed everything we ate and drank here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
I had been going to the Long Valley brew pub for a few years now and found it to be a heaven from the world. I took freinds and relatives there on a regular basis and went out of my way to be in the area for happy hour and such. Apparently they have changed ownership sometime in early 2005 and, it tears at my gut when I say this, the place has gone completely to hell. My favorite award winning Porter is now nothing but glorified dark water... The food is terrible and the service is lousy. I should have known something was up the last time I went there and the place was mostly empty. One of the waiters told me it was bought out by the owner of the local dinner. I hope he sells it again ASAP cause it is now currently worthless...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kubs Kyle Kubs, Jefferson, NJ
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I have been to this place many times and I have noticed that the service is not as good in the off peak hours as it is during the busy times. Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. I really enjoyed the Best Bitter and the German Valley Red is always good. The only was you are going to find a bad beer in this place is if they don't rinse the soap out of the glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Glen, Staten Island, NY
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
We wanted quick service so we sat at the bar. The bartender completely ignored us sitting there and when he finally noticed us he said he would be right back as he needed to get something in the basement. I was very disappointed as I was bringing someone there for her first time. Its most likely my last time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Estell Manor, NJ
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
Treated a friend for her birthday - she has just discovered GREAT BEER (never too late). Porter, Stout, Bitter excellent. Food was very good. Overall, a terrific, relaxing time in this lovely place. The Birthday Girl never stopped smiling!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Liz Keenan Liz Keenan, New York, NY
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
My wife and I went to this place about six months ago, and this past Saturday was our second trip. There were a few things which did not go as well as I would have liked. First, they have a slimmed down menu between 3-5, and the menu we were shown did not match the one on the outside of the pub. We were looking forward to the pub pretzels from looking at their website, but when I asked for two of them, they would not do them since they were not on the menu. Lastly, when I asked for the pale ale, I was told they were not carrying it. This is despite the fact that the placard on the table boasted it. I guess the lesson here is don't go in the middle of the afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Hopewell, NJ
(03/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome cask-conditioned 'Best Bitter' on the hand pump! I didn't think I could get an ale that good outside of England! So smooth! Just right! The pub menu is still great, and the service is excellent if somewhat risky, if you sit at the bar while Tom "Mudslinger" is presiding! The Best of the Wurst was burned to perfection: crunchy and brittle on the outside and full of roasted-in flavor on the inside. My compliments to the chef and the brewer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The location is really cool, an old mill. The bar is a little tight and the lady bartender was not overly friendly, but you can't beat the Happy Hour $2 pints along with free wings. I enjoyed the German Valley Amber and Grist Mill Golden Ale the most. $6 was not too bad of a cost for the sample either. Food was pretty good, with a decent selection and an ok price. Certainly worth seeking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(11/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Awesome! So So
The service was awesome! The mild wings we got was still too hot for my 3 yr old son so they exchanged it for us no problem. The hot wings however was very very salty! I guess they made it that way to make people thirsty thus drink more beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geroge Geroge, Hackettstown, NJ
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
They seemed a little short handed at 1:45 on a Saturday, but the manager had us back on track. My wife and I both had salads, which were tasty enough. The cask ale was quite tasty, and the wooded interior and fireplace is enough for us to make the trip back in cooler weather

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Hopewell, NJ
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I stopped in for the first time in a couple of years to have a couple of quick pints. The beer was sensational and I almost fell over when I heard the price of 2 bucks a pint. The bartender explained it was "happy hour". The price made me very happy. Absolutely lovely establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
While the amber and the porter are really good, the other regualrs are not very distinctive. They did have 2 others on tap, i'm not sure if they were visiting brews or made there. The Irsih Stout was somewhat weak and tasteless, the Scotch Ale was hearty and had pretty good character, in style. Been here before and the food was excellent, this round the food was nothing to write home about, good company made up for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
I was very disappointed that the bartender wouldn't fill my growler because it didn't have the Long Valley logo on it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert F Melegh Robert F Melegh, west milford, nj
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Love this place!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chester, NJ
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
great food and plenty of it - even i felt full -- and i'm a big boy - service was fast and friendly but never felt rushed -- got seated so quick the poor barmaid had to chase us around with our beer -- no gray area here will be back often

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from g g, mt arlington, NJ
(11/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey Matt, couldn't resist.

Sad times are these when wandering Information Superhighway posters can criticize at will the spelling of fellow travelers.

I owe you a beer now... So we're even.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This place does have great atomosphere. After a few lazy jake porters, I began to see the individual atoms in the genuine stone walls.

No wait, they weren't atoms, they were spheres, no - hemispheres. And I didn't see them in the walls, I saw them when I looked down into the bar area from the upper level dining area.

Damn nice ones, too!......Never mind....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
All the beers are at least good, some great, it has a well balenced menu with the addition of the pub menu a couple of years ago. When they first opened dinner could cost you a mortgage payment. Atomosphere is a bit crowded sometimes and service suffers and the bar is a little bit small. Defintely worth stopping in, by the way the building wasn't a barn it was a grist mill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Z. Matt Z., Parsippany, NJ
(10/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Try the Belgian, the Special Ale and the Irish Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
I really enjoy the atmosphere at the Long Valley Brewpub, a renovated 1700's stone "barn". The Lazy Jake Porter is one of the best NJ brewed beers I have sampled so far. The rest of beer is above average as well. The food has been hit or miss in my past visits, but maybe that has improved based upon the previous reviews, however my wife has almost always enjoyed her food here. I would recommend LVBP based upon beer and atmosphere...and sometimes the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JJS JJS, Flanders, NJ
(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I were here over the Labor Day weekend. We tried most of the beers(in the styles we like---ESB, Brown, Cask, etc.) again and we were not disappointed. All of the beers had a very smooth finish and were very easy to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food has greatly improved over the last year or so. Now I finally have a place to go with my wife(ride home). The ESB on the pump is the best that Tim has brewed! I think this place really has it together now. It's a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. I always welcome the chance to go and bring home a growler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Asbury, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I disagree with JB when he said that beer is beer and shouldn't be judged like wines. OTOH, I agree with him that the beers and food here are very good. My only problem is that they took off the cookies and creme mousse a couple of years back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
THSES PEOPLE WHO DON'T THINK THEIR BEERS ARE AWESOME ARE THINKING NOT DRINKING!DON'T ANALYZE THE BEER LIKE YOU ARE SOME WINE TASTER- IT'S BEER!!!! ITS ALL GOOD AT LONG VALLEY.LOVE THE JAKE AND AMBER.I DRIVE AN HOUR TO GET MY GROWLERS!(IT IS A BIT PRICEY)FOOD IS REALLY GOOD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.B. J.B., WALDWICK, NJ
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was a here last nite and the reviewer below is clueless. "5 colors of honey water" - there were 5 beers plus 2 seasonals - two were lager/light ales, two dark (brown & porter) and a nice hoppy APA (American Pale Ale).The seasonals were the Oatmeal Stout (which I found somewhat anemic) and the bitter, which just won a medal at GABF. The porter also just won another medal at GABF 2001. My only complaint would be the food is a little 'foo-foo' fancy but there are some decent pub food selections. I guess the reviewer below knows beer better than the Great American Beer Fest judges ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from leo leo, randolph, NJ
(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So
The beer at Long Valley has descended to the "5 colors of honey water" selection that most of these "kit" brewpubs start up with. All sweet, all tasteless. This pub has been here for years, so there's no excuse for not trying to make good beers. I assume that they have lost their recipes and/or brewer. Even the Black River Brown, which used to taste as terrible as the name implies, now only tastes boring and sweet. Too bad. The food and service are still good (if you sit near the bar), but it's packed to the gills on weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(11/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We had an enjoyable time, with traditional German dinners and tasty beers to accompany them. The oktoberfest was drinkable, but not as malty as i would've liked -- it was a little too "crisp". The best bitter was nice, but the best one of the three that i tried was the Black River Brown. Definitely worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(10/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Best Beer of any brewer in the state. Food is very good. Building has plenty of character, but a tad noisy when crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CD CD, Long Valley, NJ
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Beautiful setting, a gorgeous drive to get there, good but pricey food, and the Black River Brown was exceptional.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from barfly barfly, anytown, NJ
(08/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Beers are Ok but go for the food. The restored stone barn is worth the trip. Sept. 9 is the beer and seafood fest. Don't waste your time in the antique shops in town, more like a bad garage sale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Johnson Mike Johnson, Newton, NJ
(07/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice atmosphere. Kid friendly. Take the family for a ride. You won't be sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Ray, Cranford, NJ
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
I hope somebody reads these reviews...or i'mm an idiot but in this day and time i'll take the chance. This place is lacking in one area and if someone reads this that gives a half a care from that establishment, they will send in some undercover people that do not resemble local fare and pay heade.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry larry, lafayette, NJ
(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The hand-pump is always delicious, and Tim's seasonals are sure to please. Stop by on Thursdays for $2 pints all night!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Cuesta Bob Cuesta, Long Valley, NJ
(07/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This place is Great! That's why I moved here from Morristown. A great place to live and drink beer. Almost like having an english local pub. Now we just need an indian reaturant and a chip shop. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Simo! Simo!, long Valley, NJ
(07/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
After several years of average to poor beer, things have clearly turned around. The seasonal PonyTail Pale Ale was a hoppy treat, full of taste and body. The ESB on the handpump was smooth and balanced. Their prior seasonal, Celebration, was a winner too. Congratulations to the brewmaster! But can this be sustained?

The menu remains overpriced and needlessly esoteric. Little pub in the grub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
The beer has definitely improved! The Ponytail PA was great! Lotsa hops! And there is even a Budwater taste-alike. The dark ale was a little mild, but pleasant and the amber ale had a very nice fresh fruity note. Food is expensive, but good. The service at the bar is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My husband, myself and 2 kids come here a 4 or 5 times a year from Summit. The beer is usually always tasty. Not always acceptional as brewpubs go but, enjoyable. They need a few more seasonal beers to add variety. We find the food good and are thankful they have a kids menu and are very accomodating for children. I would reccomend it to families and motor cycle enthusiasts who need a bite to eat and a pint after a nice ride.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erika Erika, Summit, NJ
(03/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Another big stone and beam barn in a small New Jersey mill town. Six varieties on tap, including a very good Scottish ale (70 shilling) cask conditioned. This was a strong beer, smooth and semi-sweet with a full body and good walnut color. They offered a golden ale and light ale in addition to the usual amber, brown, porter. I had the golden and it was too light, the light must have been tasteless. If the brewer brings the regular selections up to the level of the cask batch, this place will be worth the long drive to its remote location. Growlers available, nice dining in loft of barn, scenic village.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Great beer. Food was solid. Took a half-gallon home for the next day, excellent!!!!! Kids liked the noise!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tap Tap, Mother, MD
(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
The beer has certainly improved over time; too bad they don't give the food some more solid footing: it's pricey and very inconsistent! One week you'll have a terrific experience there, the next you'll have really good beer and a sub-par dinner. Guess it depends on who's in the kitchen that night, eh? Can't beat the atmosphere, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Dhoumbis Bob Dhoumbis, Long Valley, NJ
(03/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
We found the beer and selection of beer to be mediocre at best. The bartender was very rude to other customers. I guess he also feels that women don't like to drink because he asked my husband if he would like another beer, not me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Petro Petro, Stanhope, NJ
(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
In the middle of nowhere, but worth the trip. Bring extra cash!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stan Stan, Mendham, NJ
(01/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Decided to stop by on a whim for dinner. The 5 styles of beer (light, golden, brown, porter and a seasonal) were not bad but somewhat lacking in flavor. Perhaps a little heavier hand with the grain bill might help. Our entrees (ostrich for me, salmon for my fiancee) were excellent. Well-prepared and very flavorful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
All the beers are excellent! I probably had the best sampler there than any other brew pub's. Food was very good. The cookies and creme mousse was incredible. Our waiter was very accomodating. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Bravado Phil Bravado, Bronx, NY
(08/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Beer was okay - someone burned the stout, the porter tasted like water. The best beer was a seasonal Pale Ale. This place is VERY expensive. Most entrees are $18 and up. Surprisingly, for a $20 entree you don't get salad or even bread on the table. Nice building, tho'

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Bloomfield, NJ
(05/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great N/A Great
Beer is not the best but they have the best Fish 'n' Chips! I live a long way away now but its worth the trip. Great atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Casey Sean Casey, Oakhurst, NJ
(01/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Food is good. Spectacular rustic decor, wood & stone everywhere. "Black River" Brown has good malt with light hops. Amber has heavy malt, sweet, with light hops also. "Lazy Jake" Porter is dry with med. hops. Overall a little light on hops all around. Service was quite good. 10/3/98 visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntsville, AL
(11/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Beer seems better than last visit a year ago. Food good. Nice place to spend an afternoon. Cask conditioned Brown Ale was pretty decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic,, NJ
(11/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Nice building. Beer tastes flat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Clinton, NJ
(10/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Jake's porter is good, the golden is too citrusy for me.

Service outside is so-so

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Canfield Andrea Canfield, Gillette, NJ
(08/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
One of the best in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Pace David Pace, Anytown, NJ
(07/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The Beer quality has definitely improved since it first opened.

Kudos to the outdoor patio area, a definite plus to the establishment!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lord Greg Lord, Dumont, NJ
(07/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
I was surprised at the overall taste which was lacking in any category.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Sparta, NJ
(05/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Nice place. Beer isn't so good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Pompton Plains, NJ
(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Califon, NJ
(01/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Beer a bit flat, food a bit pricy. Great looking place, though. I expect the brewing will improve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, West Orange, NJ
(01/07/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.575 seconds) 20:59:50 54.90.251.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS