PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing - Manchester, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 10:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > Manchester > Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing
Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing
Overall: Great    Score: 70.5 / 100
500 North Commercial Street
Manchester, NH 03101
United States
(603) 625-4444
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Manchester, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
43 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Strange Brew Tavern
(0 mile)

2) Wild Rover Restaurant and Pub
(0 mile)

3) Candia Road Brewing
(4 miles)

4) Nutfield Ale and Steak House
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ash Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW EXEC COURT INN AND CONF CTR
2) COMFORT INN MANCHESTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ash Street School
2) Athens Building
3) Bedford Town Hall
4) Building at 418--420 Notre Dame Ave.
5) Carpenter and Bean Block
6) Carpenter, Frank Pierce, House
7) Currier Gallery of Art
8) Gay, Alpheus, House
9) Harrington--Smith Block
10) Hill--Lassonde House
11) Hoyt Shoe Factory
12) Hubbard, Thomas Russell, House
13) Kennedy Hill Farm
14) Kimball Brothers Shoe Factory
15) Manchester City Hall
16) New Hampshire State Union Armory
17) Old Post Office Block
18) Smith and Dow Block
19) Smyth Tower
20) St. George's School and Convent
21) Stark, Gen. John, House
22) Straw, William Parker, House
23) Varney School
24) Victory Park Historic District
25) Weston Observatory
26) Zimmerman House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Lil' Taste Of Seattle
2) A Taste Of Europe
3) Adela Sandwiches
4) Ahh-Som Country Buffet
5) Ahh-Some Gourmet Coffee
6) Ahh-Some Gourmet Coffee
7) Albee's On Amherst
8) Alexander The Great-Macedonia
9) Alley Cat Pizzeria
10) Amory St House Of Pizza
11) Amoskeag Restaurant & Brewery
12) Andres Diner Inc
13) Andy's Place
14) Annula's Pizza & Deli
15) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
16) Athens Restaurant
17) Bagel Works
18) Bagel Works Inc
19) Bahtsi's Great Atlantic Stkhse
20) Baldwin's
21) Bamboo Garden Corp
22) Bean-N-Bagel
23) Beauty's Pizzas Subs & Salads
24) Belmont Hall & Restaurant
25) Bickford's Family Restaurant
26) Bickfords Family Fare
27) Black Brimmer American Bar
28) Blake's Family Restaurant
29) Blake's Family Restaurant
30) Bob Shaw's Italian Sandwich
31) Bolero Restaurant & Nightclub
32) Boston Market
33) Brando's
34) Breezway Pub
35) Brother's Pizza
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Cactus Jacks Southwest Grill
39) Caesario's
40) Cafe 324
41) Cafe Momo
42) Cafe On The Park
43) Cafe On The Park
44) Cahoots Sports Bar Grille
45) Cappuccinos & More
46) Capri Pizza & Restaurant
47) Captain Zorba's
48) Captain Zorba's
49) Carribbean Spice
50) Charley Pepper's
51) Chateau Caterers
52) Chateau Restaurant
53) Chez Vachon
54) Chiggy's Place
55) Chili's Grill & Bar
56) China Buffet
57) China Gourmet
58) Clam King
59) Club Liquid
60) Cotton
61) Cozy Culinary Cafe
62) Cremeland Drive In
63) Currier's At The Ctr Of Nh
64) D'angelo's Sandwich Shop
65) D'angelo's Sandwich Shop
66) Dairy Queen
67) Dave's Cosmic Subs
68) Derryfield Deli
69) Dickie Boy Subs
70) Domino's Pizza
71) Don Qui Jote Restaurant
72) Don Quijote Restaurant
73) Dots Spot
74) Down'n Dirty Bbq
75) Dragon Gate Take-Out Svc
76) Dragon House
77) E & C Restaurant Management
78) East West Restaurant
79) Element Lounge
80) Elm House Of Pizza Inc
81) Evans Management
82) Fairway Bar & Grill LLC
83) Ferrari's Pizza
84) Fitzy's Deli & Wine Bar
85) Frank-N-Stein's Restaurant
86) Fratello's Ristorante Italiano
87) Friendly's Restaurant
88) Front Street Pizza Restaurant
89) Gala Cafe
90) Geoff's Place LLC
91) Golden Oldies Diner
92) Grand Slam Pizza
93) Grandstands Bar & Grill
94) Greg's Place
95) Hanover Street Chophouse
96) Hillview Restaurant
97) Hooksett II House Of Pizza
98) India Palace
99) J C's Roast Beef Bar & Grill
100) J D's Tavern
101) J W Hill's Sports Bar & Grill
102) Jack's Snack & Lunch
103) Java Barn
104) Jillian's Billiard Club
105) Jimmy's House Of Pizza
106) Joe Kelly's
107) Julian's Pizzeria
108) Juliens Corner Kitchen
109) Just Jitters Cafe
110) K C's Rib Shack Barbecue
111) Karageorge Restaurant Inc
112) Kfc
113) Kilrain's Market Inc
114) KOBE Japanese Steakhouse
115) Korean Place Restaurant
116) La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
117) Lafayette Club
118) Lakorn Thai Restaurant
119) Lava Bar & Nightclub
120) Liquid Restaurant
121) Little Caesars Pizza
122) Little Saigon Restaurant
123) Luigi's Pizza
124) Luisa's Italian Pizzeria
125) Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
126) Margie's Dream
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mc Donald's
129) Mc Garvey's
130) Merrimack Restaurant
131) Mill West Cafe
132) Moe's Sandwich Shop
133) Munch Co
134) New Canton Chinese Retsaurant
135) New Taiwan Garden
136) New Yee Dynasty
137) Nicky D's LA Trattoria
138) Nutfield Ale & Steak House
139) O'k Parker's
140) On The Rocks
141) P J O'sullivans Inc
142) Panera Bread
143) Papa Gino's
144) Papa Gino's
145) Papa John's Pizza
146) Pappy's Pizza
147) Peking Garden
148) Peking Garden Chinese Rstrnt
149) Pete's Dragon
150) Piccola Italia Ristorante
151) Pizza Express
152) Pizza Hut
153) Pizza Market
154) Pizza Market
155) Pizza Quest
156) Purebred Hot Dog Eatery
157) Puritan Backroom Restaurant
158) Puritan Function Rooms
159) Puritan Ice Cream & Takeout
160) Queen City Motor Inn
161) Quiznos Sub
162) Rack Em Up Lounge
163) Ramada Inn Of Manchester
164) Red Arrow Diner
165) Richard's Bistro
166) Salona
167) Saraj Grill
168) Sassafras
169) Seasons Tickets Sports Pub
170) Shirley D's Diner & Truck Stop
171) Shogun Japanese Steak House
172) Siam Orchid
173) South End Bar & Grill
174) Spanish Corner
175) Stage Door Cafe
176) Starfish Grill
177) Steve's House Restaurant
178) Strange Brew Tavern
179) Stuffed Sub
180) Sub Contractors
181) Subway Manchester
182) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
183) Suzie Q's
184) Szechuan House Chinese Rstrnt
185) Taco Bell
186) Tapei & Tokyo 3
187) The Front Anchor
188) Theos Pizza Restaurant & Lng
189) Thousand Crane
190) Three Sons Catering
191) Times Square Pizza & Deli
192) Tinker's Seafood
193) Tiya's Restaurant
194) Tong Ho House
195) Tony's Grinders & Restaurant
196) Unwine'd
197) Uptown Tavern
198) Venetian Canal Espresso Caffe
199) Vetro
200) Way We Cook
201) Wendy's
202) Wendy's
203) Wild Rover
204) Yard Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
An update after 6 years. Had a six beer sampler to re-check the place out. Mild was a little sweet, but still drinkable. Bold Horizons struck me like a Beliner Weiss or a really tart cider with spices, not my fave. Maibock a little thin, while altbier very malty with a hint of roastiness--my pick this trip. Pumpkin Ale must be a local hit, because they were touting its return throughout the place. Not bad, spices kept in check. Foriegn Export Stout definitely a sweet stout, good if you like that style. Place seems to run. albeit a bit haphazardly. Shame on them for trying to steer me away from a local beer bar (Strange Brew) by telling me "they only have Bud and Coors". Deduction in the "Service" rating for that!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Food is better than the run of the mill brewpub. It is pub food but well done. Happy hour is a real deal-hard to spend $20 for brews and apps I can't shake the feeling that I am back in college in the 70s in this place. Just something about the building brings me way back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fern Fern, Thornton, NH
(06/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So So So
Visited 6/20. Despite great beers this is one of the few places I've been to that I didn't feel welcome. Maybe the cigarette smoke put me off. Loved the porter.Bar food only. Close to the baseball park (AA league).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(07/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
The beer was excellent (5 different selections by the group, everyone was verry happy). The service was fantastic, & the food was very good. Now if they could just go non-smoking......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill chabot bill chabot, canaan, NH
(12/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
The BEST BEER IN NEW ENGLAND

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eric baron eric baron, allenstown, NH
(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Located in a spacious old building near the college. Had been here on previous visits and was not impressed. In fact, on my last stop, there were a few that seemed tainted. However, there were quite a few on tap this trip (9) and I found the darker end of the spectrum to my liking, especially the oatmeal stout. Will definitely give them another try my next time in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
We found this place after getting some help from the local postman. I guess we thought it would be closer to the downtown area (as it turns out it is closer to UNH-Manchester.) The bar itself is quite cavernous, but I imagine that when school is in session it can fill up rather quickly. Of the beers that we sampled the four that stood out were the Manch-Vegas IPA, Bo's Scotch Ale, Milly's Oatmeal Stout and John Stark Dark Porter. The IPA was definitely a nice, balanced example. I usually tend to prefer the West Coast versions of the style, but there was enough of a citrusy, Cascade hop presence to satisfy me. A nice East Coast IPA, more akin to a Harpoon than, say, a Stone. The Scotch ale was exemplary. A nice toffee note with a slight burn from the higher abv. The oatmeal stout was well-rounded, full-bodied but smooth. I have to admit I was a bit let down by the porter. It was more of a brown ale, to be sure. I have the feeling they named it "dark" just to rhyme it with "Stark." But, all in all, a solid effort worth a return visit next time I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Loved the scotch ale! This was by far the best beer we have had in a long time! The brown was good also!! The food was ok, but the service kind of lacked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
All of the reviews after the latest ownership change are great! If only there were a way to clear out the older (pre-2001) reviews. I'm very impressed with this place, and it is good to see that they are getting bands to play there as well. One called Pour Fred? was excelent, bring them back if you can!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dover Grey Dover Grey, Hudson, NH
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tasha's Steak Tips are AWESOME!!

-Tasha

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tasha Tasha, Manchester, NH
(09/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Awesome! Great
I had the IPA and the stout; both had a fairly strong diacetyl flavor, not usually associated with Wyeast 1056 (which they say they use). Nice beers, though.

The food was very basic pub-grub, though the service was excellent, including some custom cooking for a companion with food sensitivities.

A historical note: Stark Mill Brewing was sold a few years ago to new owners, who did not prosper. The original owner took control again a year or so ago and renamed the place Millie's. This probably accounts for the wide variation in reviews here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Philadelphia, PA
(11/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
ON THE SECOND TRIP. I STILL LOVE THE STOUT! I TRIED THE PUMPKIN ALE. IT IS VERY GOOD FOR ONE OF THOSE FRUITY, VEGGIE BEERS. THE PUMPKIN FLAVOR IS NOT OVER POWERING BUT IS VERY NOTICABLE.IT HAS A THIN, WATER LIKE MOUTH FEEL BUT IT DOES HAVE A HOPPY NOSE. I WISH THIS PLACE WOULD START SELLING GROWLERS!!(THE BAR MAID SAID THEY ARE COMING SOON)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I tried the IPA, Dark Porter and Oatmeal Stout. All were quite good, true to style and very drinkable. The place was pretty quiet on a Wednesday evening, but still worth a look.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
THE OATMEAL STOUT WAS GOOD AND WELL ROUNDED.SASHA RED TAIL ALE WAS GOOD AS WELL.GREAT PLACE TO HANG OUT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leif Peterson Leif Peterson, Manchester, NH
(03/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I called, only to find out that the place had been closed since November 2000.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(02/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I read quite a few bad reviews and I'm rather perplexed, I think this place is great. The service was fast and friendly and the food was great. The beers I tried were all at least good and most were great. Are the rest of you certian you are reviewing the right brewpub?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Diamant Don Diamant, Milton, NH
(10/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
The Amoskeag Ale was delicious. Took home a case. Evidently under new management. $2.75 a pint and $5 a six to go - gotta like that! The Red Ale was so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny B Johnny B, Boston, MA
(04/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good
The bears vary quite a bit, but they make a truly excellent Chocalate Stout. Also, they have a Mongolian Barbacue with seafood.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vance DeVincent Vance DeVincent, Dracut, MA
(02/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't know about the brew pub but I ordered some of their General Stark Porter off the internet.Within a week of varification of my order I received my 12 porters. Can you say SKUNKY!!!! and not just 1 or 2 but all 12 of them. No I didn't drink them all but after opening 3 skunks the drain was the place for these porters.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike N Mike N, W.Seneca, NY
(12/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
This place has the potential to be great. The Mongolian BBQ was very good and the the all you can eat deal for $13.50 seemed fair. Beers were unremarkable and service was lousy. Waitress couldn't seem to remember simple orders and requests and did not follow up with our table. We practically had to hunt her down to get another round of beer. This place has lots of unfulfilled potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hoey Jim Hoey, Hollywood, MD
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
The interior is dark and maybe a touch musty. I tried the sampler and felt all the beers were rather bland. I did like the Stout. The bartender asked to close us out since he was leaving, then skipped out without giving any change for $30 on a $21 tab. It seemed like half the folks working here were new and untrained.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greenmon Greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So
It's too bad that a place that serves such great beer could have such horrible service...getting someone to wait on you is like pulling teeth. They really need to work on the service, then maybe we'd be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hooksett, NH
(06/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Tried several ale varieties and a seasonal doppelbock that was well done! Food and service was also very respectable! But the atmosphere was basic at best and I never did get the brewery tour that I politely inquired about! All in all a decent way to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim&Marijo Tim&Marijo, Dover, NH
(03/31/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.266 seconds) 22:22:37 54.226.235.222, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS