PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Allagash Brewing Company - Portland, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 04:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Portland > Allagash Brewing Company
Allagash Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Allagash Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
100 Industrial Way
Portland, ME 04103
United States
(207) 878-5385
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portland, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Geary D L Brewing Company, Incorported
(0 mile)

2) Casco Bay Brewing
(0 mile)

3) The Maine Beer Company
(0 mile)

4) Bunker Brewing
(3 miles)

5) Lion's Pride
(3 miles)

6) Peak Organic Brewing Company
(3 miles)

7) Prost International Tap House
(3 miles)

8) Brian Boru
(3 miles)

9) Bleachers
(3 miles)

10) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

11) Sail Loft Tavern
(3 miles)

12) Gritty McDuff's
(3 miles)

13) Great Lost Bear
(3 miles)

14) Shipyard Brewing Company
(3 miles)

15) Bunker Brewing
(3 miles)

16) The Stone Coast Brewing Company
(3 miles)

17) Three Dollar Dewey's
(3 miles)

18) Novare Res Bier Cafe
(3 miles)

19) Sea Dog Brewing Company
(5 miles)

20) Sebago Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Andrews on Auburn
2) Back Cove Inn
3) Carleton Inn Bed & Breakfast
4) Chadwick
5) Danforth
6) Fleetwood House Bed/Breakfast
7) Inn At Parkspring
8) Inn At St John
9) Parkside Parrot Inn
10) Percy Inn
11) Pomegranate Inn
12) West End Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN AIRPORT
2) DAYS INN SOUTH PORTLAND
3) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
4) EASTLAND PARK
5) EMBASSY STES PORTLAND
6) FAIRFIELD INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
7) HGI PORTLAND DWNTN WATERFRONT
8) HLTN GRDN INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
9) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA PORTLAND
10) PORTLAND HARBOR HOTEL
11) PORTLAND REGENCY HOTEL
12) RAMADA LTD PORTLAND ME
13) RESIDENCE INN PORTLAND MAINE
14) SABLE OAKS SUITES
15) SHERATON SOUTH PORTLAND HOTEL
16) WILD IRIS INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baxter Summer Home
2) Brown, Harrison B., House
3) Brown, J. B., Memorial Block
4) Butler, A. B., House
5) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
6) Chapman, Leonard Bond, House
7) Chestnut Street Methodist Church
8) Clapp, Charles Q., Block
9) Clapp, Charles Q., House
10) Dow, Gen. Neal, House
11) Dyer, Nathaniel, House
12) Eastern Cemetery
13) First Baptist Church
14) First Parish Church
15) Fort Gorges
16) Gothic House, The
17) Green Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
18) Greenough, Byron, Block
19) Griffin House
20) Hamblen Block
21) Hamblen Development Historic District
22) Hanson, Asa, Block
23) Harris, Nathan, House
24) How Houses
25) How, Daniel, House
26) Ingraham, Joseph Holt, House
27) Lancaster Block
28) Leighton, Adam P., House
29) Lincoln Park
30) Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, Monument
31) Maine Central Railroad General Office Building
32) Maine Eye and Ear Infirmary
33) Maine Historical Society
34) Maine Publicity Bureau Building
35) Marine Hospital
36) Mariner's Church
37) Masonic Temple
38) McLellan-Sweat Mansion
39) Mechanics' Hall
40) Minott, William, House
41) Morse-Libby Mansion
42) North School
43) Park Street Row
44) Porteous, Mitchell and Braun Company Building
45) Portland Breakwater Light
46) Portland City Hall
47) Portland City Hospital
48) Portland Club
49) Portland High School
50) Portland Observatory
51) Portland Packing Company Factory
52) Portland Soldiers and Sailors Monument
53) Portland Stove Foundry
54) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
55) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
56) Purington, Elisha, House
57) Rackleff Building
58) Reed, Thomas Brackett, House
59) Russwurm, John B., House
60) Seavey--Robinson House
61) Skelton, Thomas, House
62) Smith, F.O.J., Tomb
63) Sparrow House
64) Spring Point Ledge Light Station
65) St. Lawrence Church
66) St. Paul's Church and Rectory
67) Stevens, John Calvin, House
68) Tate House
69) Thompson Block
70) Tracy--Causer Block
71) U.S. Courthouse
72) U.S. Customhouse
73) US Post Office--Portland Main
74) Vallee Family House
75) Wadsworth-Longfellow House
76) Walker Memorial Library
77) Warren Block
78) Westbrook High School
79) Williston-West Church and Parish House
80) Woodman Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Lobster To Go
2) A Moveable Feast
3) AAA Maine Pizza Supply
4) Amato's Sandwich Shops
5) American Pizza Co
6) Anania's Variety
7) Angelone's
8) Austin's Boot & Buckle Saloon
9) Baker's Ice Cream & More
10) Bayou Kitchen
11) Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream
12) Black Or Red Cafe
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Bogusha's Polish Restaurant
15) Bruno's
16) Burger King
17) C J's Place
18) Chappies
19) Chau Lin
20) Churchill Caterers
21) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
22) Daily Thymes
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Donatelli Variety
25) Espo's Trattoria
26) G Quattrucci's Variety
27) Ginza Town
28) Golden Mountain
29) Great Lost Bear
30) Haggarty's
31) Howie's Pub
32) Jake & Ted's Cafe
33) Kathy & Dave's
34) Keeley The Katerer
35) Kfc
36) Lib's Dairy Treats
37) M J Richio's
38) Mc Donald's
39) Mekhong Thai Portland
40) Morrill's Corner Pub
41) Mulligans Restaurant
42) Papa John's Pizza
43) Papa's Place
44) Parker's Restaurant
45) Pizza Hut
46) Pizza Time
47) Platium Plus
48) Portland House Of Pizza
49) Quiznos Sub
50) Restaurant Equipment Of Maine
51) Sala Thai Restaurant & Lounge
52) Samuel's Bar & Grill
53) Seng Chai Thai Cuisine
54) Shop Quality
55) Starbucks
56) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
57) Super Scoops
58) Supper At Six
59) Susan's Fish & Chips
60) Tortilla Flat
61) Valley Chinese Cuisine
62) Vivian's Drive-In
63) Wok Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Allagash is definitely one of the best US brewers for Belgian styles of beer. I really don't go to the brewery for a tour (how many tanks that all look the same can you stare at, anyhow?), but for the sampling. Luckily the guide started with the samples which didn't upset anyone. White is their flagship and is very good to style. Double had slight raisin notes to it while Triple wasn't overly sweet, which suited me just fine. Victoria is unique as it features grapes in the mix--very nice brew. If these styles aren't your deal, then you would be best served trying another brewery. That's OK, just more samples for those who enjoy Allagash's fine products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A
We went to the brewery, because it was before 3, we couldn't get a tour. So we went over to Gearys and got a great one on one tour before they were ready.

If you go to the bars in Portland they will all have the White ale. I thought it was terrible. Maybe I just don't like that style, but I am lead to belive it is there 'best' beer on availbility alone. Skip it and have a Gearys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jonathan  Ranney Jonathan Ranney, Royalton, VT
(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I agree with most of the comments made below. The tour was very short and mostly uniformative-but that was OK because I their to sample their beers.

Well, they gave me one sample of the dubbel and didn't offer any others. They were also out of their special seasonal and the new 10 was still ageing so I did not get to sample or buy either one of those. I picked up a 750 of white, which I can get at home in 12oz bottles. Overall very disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I had a better tour experience. The tour wasn't long but then the real point was the tasting. We tasted the Double Ale and the Four (I can't read my notes). Both were very good. Available beginning the day I was there was the 10th Anniversary so I bought a bottle of that but haven't had a chance to try it yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Lousy
Their beer is wonderful and if you are in maine you should seek it out in the bottle conditioned 750ml bottles. Went to the brewery for the tour and tasting and was very disappointed (not at all by the beer). The office manager led the 5 minute "tour" and we were only allowed to sample on beer of our choice. Their beer is widely available throughout maine at better beer bars and usually as a guest beer at a lot of other brew pubs. Go to the brewery only if you cant find the bottle conditioned versions or else don't waste your time going there since it is located about 20 min from downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A So So
They make one of the best whites in the country, which I really enjoy due to it's rarity. Some of their other stuff is sort of hit or miss, though. Not quite sure what the Speciale is suppposed to be. Bottle conditioning seems to be the way to go with this stuff too.

I seriously beg to differ with respect to the tour, though. I made reservations just to walk into, literally, a 5 minute walk through with a person who had serious limitations to her brewing knowledge. This was followed up by a 2 oz. sample of warm trippel. We were out of there in less than 10 minutes. Way too short on the tour, the sampling, and all-around beer geek comeraderie. Very disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BertSugar BertSugar, Highland, IN
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The Tripel is among the best beers in the world, as good as any Belgian example of the style I've had; Grand Cru is nearly as good and has been my "special occasion" brew of choice for a few months -- you can't beat $5 for a 750 of this! The White, Dubbel, and Dubbel Reserve are excellent, though not the absolute best; only the Speciale Reserve disappointed me and based on all of my other experiences I'll definitely give it a second chance. Not just the best brewer in a particularly brewery-rich state, but the best or 2nd best (McNeills its only rival) in New England and among the top 10 in the country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I live in TX now but when I was in Maine this brewery's beers were my #1 choice. The quality and care is unmatched. I miss these guys brews bad !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Ryan Mike Ryan, Round Rock, TX
(11/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
When I was living in Ct. I would purchase Allagash beers. I loved them I loved them all.And, when I'd visit my nephews at UMass,Amherst, I would quaff the Allagash White,blissfully at the Amherst Pub and Brewery. These guys-Rob and Nate, brew some of the best beers in America. And, I'd say to their faces, too! Thanks for quality in the form of different...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kip Ross Kip Ross, Morrisville, VT
(06/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Visited with Ned in August, I am particular to the Double, while my husband loves the Grand Cru and the White. If you love Belgians--these brews are "must trys"--excellent. Wonderful personalized tour also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(09/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
The best white beer made in America.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wakefield, RI
(07/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
My most favorite beer and I have been to fifty-three micro-breweries!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Riverside, CT
(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Eric is right. We spent an hour with the brewer just shooting the shit! Good beer and great people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Woodbury Carl Woodbury, Contoocook, NH
(01/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Great tour. The brewers are proud of what they do. Belgian beers are their specialy. While I was there, I enjoyed a Wit and a Double. Beer availbe in six-packs to go (I took home a six of the double)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Christensen Eric Christensen, Annapolis, MD
(11/13/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.397 seconds) 04:30:21 54.87.89.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS