PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Shed Restaurant - Stowe, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 02:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Stowe > Shed Restaurant
Shed Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Shed Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 72.9 / 100
1859 Mountain Road
Stowe, VT 05672
United States
(802) 253-4364
Listed Since: April 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Stowe, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
57 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Mr. Pickwick's Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Pie in the Sky
(0 mile)

3) Trapp Family Lodge
(1 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1860 House
2) Andersen's Lodge Austrian Inn
3) Auberge DE Stowe
4) Black Locust Inn
5) Brass Lantern
6) Buccaneer Country Lodge
7) Butternut Inn
8) Gables Inn
9) Hadleigh House
10) Hob Knob Inn & Restaurant
11) Honeywood Country Lodge
12) Honeywood Inn Bed & Breakfast
13) Inn At Turner Mill
14) Stone Hill Inn
15) Ten Acres Lodge
16) The Stowe Inn
17) Three Bears At the Fountain
18) Timberholm Inn
19) Toscana Country Inn
20) Winding Brook
21) Woodchip Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) GOLDEN EAGLE RESORT
2) GREEN MOUNTAIN INN
3) INNSBRUCK INN AT STOWE
4) MOUNTAIN ROAD RESORT AT STOWE
5) SMUGGLERS NOTCH RESORT
6) STOWE MOTEL
7) STOWEFLAKE MOUNTAIN RESORT
8) SUN AND SKI INN AND SUITES
9) THE STOWE INN
10) TOPNOTCH AT STOWE RESORT AND SP
11) TOWN AND COUNTRY RESORT
12) TRAPP FAMILY LODGE
13) TWO DOG LODGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Gold Brook Covered Bridge
2) Red Covered Bridge
3) Stowe CCC Side Camp
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ample Pantry Provisioning
2) Backyard Tavern
3) Bert's Irish Pub
4) Brown Bag Deli
5) Cactus Cafe
6) Catered Whims
7) Charlie B's Restaurant
8) Chelsea Grill
9) Fox Fire Inn & Restaurant
10) Gigi's Deli Bakery & Catering
11) Grill 108
12) Ha Judes Foods
13) Harrison's At The Stowe Inn
14) Hob Knob Inn & Restaurant
15) Home Bake Pizza Shoppe
16) Isle De France
17) L P's Restaurant
18) Ladies Invited
19) Mad Batter Cafe
20) Matterhorn Restaurant
21) Maxwell's At Topnotch
22) Mc Carthy's Restaurant
23) Mc Donald's
24) Miguel's Stowe-Away
25) Moscow Tea House
26) Old Vienna Tea Room
27) Olive Bistro
28) Pasta Barn & Grill
29) Pie In The Sky
30) Pie-Casso Ny Style Pizza
31) Pizza Joint
32) Red Basil Thai Cuisine
33) Rusty Nail Bar & Grille
34) Shed Restaurant & Brewery
35) Sunset Grille & Tap Room
36) Town & Country Resort
37) Trapp Family Lodge
38) Trattoria La Festa
39) Whiskers Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I love the fruitiness, the aroma of cascade and the Shed doesn't use fruity. One enjoys a straight bitter punch from both IPA's so get used to a strait hop hit. Lovely! If you enjoy a domestic - don't even think about it. There are real beers.

I was aprehensive about beer quality when I read a previous review. After drinking their IPA's and tasting the porter my conclusion is that the derogatory reports are from BudaMillerCoor drinkers.. Smeg heads who shouldn't have access to a pencil, never mind a computer. The bar is very much local atmosphere and guess what? I enjoyed a couple of hours with LOCALS so take no notice of Those disparaging remarks by smeg heads. Excellent local atmosphere, first class beer, good conversation and no, I didn't try the food. People were tucking in to yummy sandwiches and what may have been cottage pie if made with beef - shepherds pie if made with lamb. If you are looking for polished floors, ritz mid twenty teens - this isn- the place. Looking for good food (smelled good) great beer and a relaxed happy atmosphere, come on in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Arvada. , CO
(10/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Absolutely love The Shed restaurant and brewery. We visit Stowe a few times a year and it is always the first thing we do when we get there, stop in for lunch and a few Mountain Ales. Food is always great and the service is always friendly and expediant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(12/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Great Lousy
I would have to say that the Shed is known for two things: crappy beer, and overpriced food. I got their sampler when I visited, and found almost all of the beers undrinkable--too much alcohol, absolutely no evidence of hops and the beer just tasted...awful. The food was decent, but it was way overpriced. This is one of those places where they put up "brewery" and all the tourists come and flock to...but those who know their beer will not be fooled. Stay away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sparta, NJ
(06/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Dirty, bad food and bad service, what more could we ask for in a bad dining experience? Table linens had food and stains on them. The waitress forgot our first drink order, spent most of her time at the next table with what appeared to be either her boyfriend or friend. As far as the food goes I have to ask.. How do you mess up fries?!!??! As far as everything else, it was not any better than the fries. The highlight of the dinner was when instead of changing the tablecloth the waitress covered the food with place mats! (if they will do this what does their kitchen look like?) yuck!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cheryl cheryl, fall river, MA
(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
while on a recent trip we stopped in for dinner. We were seated outside and the the first table we were seated at had food and stains all over the table cloth, so we asked to move. The waitress then forgot our drink order. When we finally got our food it was awful! We did not even eat the french fries because they tasted odd. (how do you mess up french fries!??!) the chicken was dry on the inside and greasy on the outside. When asked for another soda the waitress snapped "the refills aren't free" and returned with the same glass with warm soda and no ice. I guess we were keeping her from hanging out with her boyfriend at the next table. (at least someone got good service) It was a nice touch however when instead of changing the dirty table cloth she just put place mats over the food on the table! I hate to think about the cleanliness of the kitchen! Not worth the money or the aggravation to eat here, we were very dissapointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review fall river, MA
(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The pub/restaurant accommodates all ages. The restaurant section would appeal to the "business casual dress" on up, while the pub area caters more to the younger set (20's) and anyone else who likes to hang out in pubs v restaurants. Over the years I haven't really been a fan of Vermont beers and ales, but this is definitely an exception. I recommend the "ski", a four ounce serving each of six brews, and take it from there. An Irish pub with shepherd's pie on the daily menu always appeals to me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Vineland, NJ
(06/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Great Good
Service was excellent and very good beer - like what I tried and was very inexpensive (for the beer). Food was a different matter - only pub quality - not that there is anything wrong with pub food but the prices were as high as nearby restaurants - if you want to serve pub food, charge pub prices. I will go back for the beer but eat elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Atlanta, GA
(10/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
SMALL BAR AREA WITH A MUCH BIGGER AND OPEN DINING AREA. NOT A BAD BEER IN THE BUNCH. CHICKEN NACHOS WERE STACKED TO THE CEILING. IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND A BAD BREW PUB IN THIS STATE!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
There is nowhere I'd rather be after a day at the mountain than in the pub at The Shed. It may not be for old folks with "international friends", but sit me under the speaker anytime. It's normally playing a great Dead bootleg anyway. The food is far from mediocre, and the beer more than makes up for it! Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, UTICA!, NY
(12/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Never miss ging to the Shed when in Stowe. The "ski" is the best idea to try a variety of beer. Food is good, but probably won't win any culinary awards. Wait staff was awesome on our last visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edward Lee Edward Lee, Brockton, MA
(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
I just had the most disappointing experience in many years. I visited with international friends. We were fist told we couldn't get the special in the restaurant and needed to move to the pub. We were seated under a speaker where we couldn't hear each other speak. We asked to have the music turned down and were told "this is a pub; people come for the music and the waitress walked away.

The food was mediocre at best and, for the first time in my life, I did not leave ANY tip. I was embarrassed for my guests and insulted by the rudeness of the waitress. I doubt I will ever visit the Shed again. There are too many other places in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review north ferrisburt, VT
(11/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
We recently returned from a beer tour of Vermont and this was our one real disappointment. Food was pricey and beer was not up to the standards other area breweries set. We tried a golden ale, a wit, Mountain Ale, and honey wheat. I did like the Mountain Ale. All of the beers, and especially the lighter ones had a taste I could only describe as a fault but I could not pin down the flavor I was getting. We ordered a beer sampler, 2 pints, chicken fingers, and potato skins and paid what we consider over market price for the meal. Food was OK, but not worth the premium they charge for being in a ski resort area. I doubt I'll be back. Not because of the food or prices, but because the beer really didn't stand up to the best Vt offers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Didn't stop here on my last trip to VT, but had the opportunity to try the beer around Burlington and at the Brewer's Festival. I knew as soon as I tasted a cask IPA that there had to have been some changes. When I asked around everyone agreed that the new brewer (Shaun?) was doing a bang up job. If you haven't been impressed by the beer before (see my previous review), take the chance and try it again. I think you'll be happily surprised!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
I have been going to The Shed occasionally since the 60's. Last weekend was the last time I will spend money there. 1. While it is posted on the menu, I find it very objectionable to have an 18% service charge added to a bill simply beause a party of 4 asked for a bill for each couple; i.e 2 bills. I would have walked out at that point, except that it is kind of a tradition of mine to have at least 1 meal at The Shed, when I visit Stowe. 2. After charging the 18% on our bill, the waitress did not return the change on the amount we paid. When we asked for the rest of our change, the manager gave us a difficult time, before finally returning the change. 3. Despite what I consider a good tip, the service was mediocre at best. We had to ask for coffee after the bill was presented. I would not go back.

Regards, Rick Waldman

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Waldman Rick Waldman, Montreal, PQ
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
This is definitely the place to go after a day on the mtn. nice atmosphere(if in the bar area) and a kick ass onion soup. I'd also try the mountain ale...this one goes right to the head. They sell it in growlers (approx 5 pints)for about $9 .......... I have a couple on order anytime a friend takes the trip. Def worth a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Waldwick, NJ
(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
The overall beer selection is solid, but the real all-star here is their Mountain Ale. With a high alcohol content, you can feel this beer. Also great tasting is their IPA. I think Shed would have a greater consumer base similar to Otter Creek's and Long Trails, but they only sell beer outside of the restaurant in growlwers and kegs. I've never found it outside of Burlington. Recently, we took the ferry over from NY and drove all the way to Stowe just to get a keg of Mountain Ale for my roomates 21st. It was a popular choice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Batavia, NY
(12/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Place is hopping,not fare from rock atr that is~nt open SAt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Hall Scott Hall, Old Lyme, CT
(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Beers are Good in general, made great by Mountain Ale, which has a good strong flavour and is strong in alcohol (7%). The only drawback of Mountain Mle is that it is served too cold.

Food at the Shed is average. I have been there many times and had great food and lousy food, but the Mountain Ale is always great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P Broadhurst P Broadhurst, Port Erin, I.o.M., IM
(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So
This comes on the heels of my trip out east last summer, but thought I would throw my hat in the bag. My credentials....I have been a brewer in the midwest and upper midwest for the last ten years, winning medals for my beer. The beers tried were an IPA, and a porter. My girlfriend tried the porter first, curled her nose and said something "was not right". Diacetyl and lacto combined for a wonderful (sic) bouquet of sour milk mixed with roast malt. Returned the beer and refused to pay for it. Didn't order a replacement. I tried the IPA, which was a decent IPA, but I couldn't get past the phenols in the beer. Loaded with band aid. Undrinkable. The drive there was beautiful, but we were unimpressed with the dungeon like lighting and character. The brewing system was archaic. When in Stowe, stop in and try it, but don't go out of your way. There are too many good breweries in Vermont that really shine in this beautiful area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wausau, WI
(10/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
8 beer selection and all the beers were good. However, none of them stood out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Six styles on tap: golden ale, amber ale, ipa, mountain ale, porter, and raspberry wheat. The porter had definitely gone bad, very sour (maybe it was a lambic porter!?), and many of the other lacked carbonation. The Mountain Ale was the best of the lot, but wasn't something I would go out of my way for or would order out given other beers to choose from. A bonus though, I can give the award to the couple next to me at the bar, my entertainment of the day--the "Most Miserable Rich People On the Planet" award. God, it's good to be middle class!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
I've been to this place three times now, and have yet to have a really GOOD beer. At best, I have had one or two that were not BAD. The food is ok, but I have to rate the establishment as only so-so because it advertises itself as a microbrewery. C'mon guys, if it says that on the sign out front, you have gotta put more effort into the beer. My last trip was last month - and I mean my LAST trip. All the beer tasted like something was wrong with it. Pretty sad. Anybody that writes a review of this places' beer and says it's great are out of their minds.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Thomas Jim Thomas, Mount Holly, NJ
(07/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good N/A
Many beers on tap, including non-local brews! liked the wide range of food (appetizer) choices as well as the variey of beerS! The brown was the best by far!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I had a NY strip and the ski beer sampler. I am a huge GUINNESS fan...along with my coffee addiction, the espresso stout was the perfect fix. The Mountain Ale was nice too, if you like a strong beer. Another nice touch was the Christmas beer - exceptional. We have yet to have bad service in Stowe...the Shed gets my vote...we're going back this afternoon for another pint of the stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Ellis Matt Ellis, Abilene, TX
(12/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
I tried the sampler platter, and something was wrong with most of them. There was an off-flavor on all of them but the pumpkin porter, which was rather good. The dark grains must have covered up the off flavor. I was looking forward to the Mt. Ale, but it too had the funky flavor. I am an all-grain homebrewer so I know it was not supposed to be in the flavor profile. Food and service was very good, hopefully their beer will taste better again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy G Randy G, Birmingham, MI
(11/03/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.269 seconds) 14:55:16 54.196.88.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS