PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Magic Hat Brewing Company - South Burlington, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 09:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > South Burlington > Magic Hat Brewing Company
Magic Hat Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Magic Hat Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.4 / 100
5 Bartlett Bay Road
South Burlington, VT 05403
United States
(802) 658-BREW
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: March 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Burlington, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
64 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Magic Hat Night of the Living Dead Variety 12-Pack

Night of the Living Dead, for beer drinkers


alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Vermont Pub and Brewery
(4 miles)

2) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(4 miles)

3) Switchback Brewing Company
(4 miles)

4) What Ale's You
(4 miles)

5) Church Street Tavern
(4 miles)

6) Nectar's
(4 miles)

7) Reuben James Restaurant and Brewery
(4 miles)

8) Three Needs Taproom
(4 miles)

9) Rasputin's
(4 miles)

10) American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Allyn House Bed & Breakfast
2) Burlington Redstone B & B
3) Harrington House
4) Hartwell House Bed & Breakfast
5) Lang House on Main Street
6) Sunset House B & B
7) Willard Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WINDJAMMER INN AND CONFEREN
2) CLARION HOTEL AND CONF CTR
3) COMFORT INN SOUTH BURLINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Montgomery Ward Building
2) Carnegie Building of the Fletcher Free Library
3) Champlain School
4) Chittenden County Courthouse
5) Ethan Allen Engine company No. 4
6) First Baptist Church
7) Follett House
8) GENERAL BUTLER (shipwreck)
9) Grassemount
10) Head of Church Street Historic District
11) Howard Mortuary Chapel
12) Kelsey, Martin L., House
13) Methodist Episcopal Church of Winooski
14) Moquin's Bakery
15) O.J. WALKER (shipwreck)
16) Old Ohavi Zedex Synagogue
17) Old Stone House
18) Robinson, Daniel Webster, House
19) Saltus Grocery Store
20) TICONDEROGA
21) Tracy, Lee, House
22) U.S. Post Office and Customhouse
23) Wells, Edward, House
24) Wells-Jackson Carriage House Complex
25) Winooski Block
26) Winterbotham Estate
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Al's French Fries
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Burger King
5) Chicken Charlie's
6) Cork & Board
7) Daily News Cafe
8) Domino's Pizza
9) Donny's New York Pizza
10) Eldo's Cafe
11) Farrell Distributing Corp
12) Fortune Cookie
13) Friendly's Restaurant
14) Gourmet Chinese Cuisine
15) Ground Round
16) Harper's Restaurant
17) Healthy Living Natural Foods
18) Home Bistro Foods Inc
19) Hong Kong Kitchen
20) Jiffy Mart
21) Kfc
22) Kwan's Chinese Food
23) LA Carreta Mexican Restaurant
24) Lee Zachary's Pizza
25) Lee Zachary's Pizza House
26) Lee's Chinese Restaurant
27) M T Bellies Deli
28) Mama Mias Pizzaria
29) Marco's Pizza
30) Mc Donald's
31) Mc Donald's
32) North Country Restaurant Svc
33) North Country Restaurant Svc
34) Number One Chinese Restaurant
35) One Flight Up
36) Orchid Chinese Cuisine
37) Outback Steakhouse
38) Parkway Diner
39) Pour House
40) Premiere Catering Inc
41) Quiznos Sub
42) Quiznos Sub
43) Roli Boli
44) Rotisserie Restaurant
45) Sbarro
46) Sheraton
47) Silver Palace
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Taco Bell
50) Trader Duke's
51) U-Save Beverage Ctr
52) Vermont National Country Club
53) Vermont Sandwich Co
54) Vermont Soup Co
55) Waterfront Catering Group
56) Windjammer Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Made a quick visit while traveling thru the state today, the place is as quirky as ever. I sampled the Wacky Kat IPA which was great then tried the new Wacko brew which was surprisingly very flavorful. The barkeep was very knowledgable in explainly what each brew was. Very nice bunch of folka in the place and the self guided tour was a great way to see the inner workings of the place. I would recommend the stop to anyone traveling around the South Burlington area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(06/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Going to this brewery really makes you appreciate the beer. Each time I've gone there's been that one beer they don't sell in stores that you just love. Last time was the imperial stout that was phenomenal. Also, the staff has lots of energy, so while you feel strange when going into this place, the staff is friendly and very very very eager to give samples to everyone. Definitely a place to stop by when in Burlington.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Gansevoort, NY
(04/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Good
On the rainiest day of the year (and then some) this place was a mob scene. I would have thought they were giving away their beer! Oh wait, they do.

Straight out of the 60's. No other way to describe it. I especially liked the collection of B&W TV's in the back past the bar. I had one HiIPA and that was enough to tide me over for a bit at 6.8%. I didn't know about the ramp to upstairs until someone tipped me off. From the top you can see their entire brewery operation and it is impressive. I've been in more breweries than I care to admit, and I could tell that someone knew what they were doing when they laid this place out. Very impressive indeed!

I am sorry I didn't get a chance to purchase anything in the gift shop in return for the free suds, but the place was out of control and we were on a schedule. Next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
number 9's 9.9 of 10 hocus pocus 11 of 10 circus boy 11 of 10 jinx 11 of 10 all other magic 9.5 of 10 any beer that has hops in it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from String String, String, CT
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I am not a fan of most of the MH beers they sell in my neighborhood (#9) but while in VT I wanted to see what else they offered.

The brewery was definitely worth the visit. Be forwarned, they offer a lot of samples and you can get into trouble if you are not careful !!! They had at least 8 beers on tap. The range of offerings was quite large. There is really something for everyone. I enjoyed batch 375 double IPA and Fat Angel APA. None of their beers struck me as "must have", but they were all of decent quality. It was a neat place with a definite Holloween theme to it. One note, this is one of the few places in VT that I visited that was willing to fill growlers that didn't have their logo on them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great
Interesting to see how much negative stuff is left about this place considering how many Awesome comments are left on brewpubs/breweries that are just ok.

The last 2 years I went to the Magic Hat Mardi Gras celebration and plan on another visit back.

gift shop I visited the brewery 3 times already and although it is a gift shop with a darkness feel, its makes them more distinct. when it comes down to it they have the same tanks and equipment that many brewery's use. If you started your own microbrewery, you certainly would take into account marketing. also, if i had a place, i would love to make it a cool scene and beer. why not have fun, its alcohol, its supposed to be fun. i would agree that the gift shop is pricy for some stuff, but last time i was there they ran a sale on stuff. They are nice people and dont mind serving a taste of all there elixers on tap.

beer-had almost all of them Fat angel- its ok

Blind faith- good

Humble patience- good (missed)

Mother Lager- ok this is a terrible beer

#9- the chick beer, its overhyped. my friend got a variety pack of MH and i stayed clear of the #9 cause it sometimes has a soapy taste to it, by the way apricots are used by many micros, AKA ABITA. i would rather dive into a lambic when it comes to using fruits. they market this heavy cause its a cash flow and trendy especially since it emerged in PA. my sister likes it and thats cool cause she drinks the crappy national beers.

Hocus Pocus- if i come across one i will drink it, its not a bad beer at all

H.I.P.A- nice hoppy beer and great off a tap, i love them hoppy beers

Ravel- one of their best beers, get one and savor it

Single Chair- its just ok

Heart of Darkness- tasty and full of flavor, well worth the try

Jinx- a tasty brew, i get a case of that every year and would recomend that to most beer lovers out there for a easy to drink bev. its one of my favorites from MH. Ravel is their best. i shared it with my brew club and many of them liked it.

Thumbsucker, Chaotic Chemistry, Braggot, and Feast of Fools- their specialty batches, get one of each and form your own opinion, i pick up at least 2 braggots and celler one for future drinking. There is a reason why beers have directions. people think its odd that europeans drink "warm" beer, but they dont in all reality. Some beers served at a 40-50 degree temp provide allot more flavor and the richness and craftmanship in it is brought out. drinking an ice cold beer often degrades the experiance, many americans dont understand this, of course, many dont know what cask conditioned ales are.

Saint Gootz- there newest and better attempt, its good and when my friend got a variety pack i drank all those over the #9 and fat angel

Mardis Gras Special Batch- its a good time, dark, tasty, and easy to drink down. i thoroughly enjoyed it and so does allot of people in burlington.

I would not put MH in my top ten list of all time micros, ive probably tried 400 different types by now. when i do go to the mardis gras weekend, i have a few mardi gras and move into the Rock Art Beers which are phenom

NJ vs PA obviously there are good beer drinkers in both states. one is in my brew club. you can find a good beer in any state. if you dont believe there is a good beer in Jersey, try a trek out to the Ship Inn brewpub, they offer up cask conditioned beers and i love their ESB. matter of fact im trying to get to some of these brewing spots in that state. JJ Bittering wasnt bad at the split rock beer fest. Cricket hill and River Horse are just okay. you want to taste some bad beers, go to the Bethelhem Brew Works or try Iron City or Lion's Head in PA. Hey we got crappy beer in this state too (and so do many other states). But we do have some great ones- Sellin's Grove(best in state), Otto's, Barley Creek, Bullfrog.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I enjoy a Magic Hat beer now and then, but I don't go wild over them. The place is indeed quirky, but that is obviously by design. Agree to earlier comments about prices of merchandise--a bit steep. They certainly market the hell out of the "off=centeredness" of their mission. Maybe that has turned me off to their product slightly. I'll definitely give their brews another try at the next beer fest I see them at. Will report back at that time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So N/A N/A
Maybe you know of a person or two from NJ, but PA is far superior in terms of overall intellegence, demonstrated by illiterate morons and phoenetic spellers like yourself!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great
We stopped by for another visit to the brewery this Fall. I picked up a bottle of Thumbsucker Imperial Stout, which I uncorked for New Year's. What a flavorful brew! The beer had a great lacey head and had lots of malt flavor with chocolate and coffee overtones. The beer went down a bit hot (7.8% alcohol), but I was very pleased with this brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good
I read some "interesting " comments from people who don't seem to know very much about beer, New Jersey seems particularly ignorant of the subject. Maybe it's because the Magic hat beers are so different and are a challenge, particularly to the drinkers of a nation that has the timerity to call Bud beer! The people at magic hat entertained me (in July) with great generosity and friendliness. Take your time to savour the beers, serve them properly (not close to freezing point), open your minds and your taste buds, them maybe you'll begin to understand something about the art of making good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ALAN DOGGART ALAN DOGGART, POULTON-LE-FYLDE, UK
(11/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
They had 12 beers to taste in the tasting room. Some of the beers were experimental beers that they don't keg or bottle. I liked all of the beers, which is rare for me. The server was very informative, knew what she was talking about. There is a walkway that leads you to a viewing area to see the whole brewery. It's interseting odd looking place. Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A Good Good
The inside is like a tomb, dark, weird decor. The beer styles are, by any standards, different and quirky; interesting but not for everyone. The merchandise is extreemly over-priced; hats for $20.00 and glasses for $8 are just too much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gordon h lester, silver spring, MD
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I am a fan of Magic Hat and am from NJ, though all there beers have a similar taste. I would love to compare the quality of person that comes out of NJ against PA any day. Jack Nickelson, Meryl Streep, Frank Sinatra, are from NJ. The list is endless. Look how many young actors are from NJ (Christina Ricci, Frankie Muniz, Kirsten Dunst, Laura Prepon (all probably spelled wrong) are from NJ. Don't bash the Garden State. It turns out some fine, talented people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, passaic, NJ
(05/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Fat Angel is a GREAT beer and number 9 is very good. As for all the complaints from New Jersey, about the only good thing to come out of Jersey was an empty bus. These guys would not know a good beer if it were spilt on them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Jessup, PA
(05/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Good
Loved the #9 and the Fat Angel. The service was very friendly. They even knew where Australia was!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GregWA GregWA, Perth, WA
(04/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
I caught myself thinking "i don't know, maybe my thought of these beers have been amiss. I mean so many people talk about this beer." So I tried it again... yep, it's crap!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I moved away from Vt. two years ago and have yet meet a brewing company as tasteful as Magic Hat. What I wouldn't give for a growler of fatangel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Angela Curry Angela Curry, Ellenburg, NY
(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So
These guys must be adding hallucinogens to their brews. The frenzy over this candy-coated mish mosh is unreal! Really people, if you're looking for a REAl flavorful beer try Ommingang or Heavyweight. This stuff is overrated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
You can't have it any better than straight from the source! The staff and selection are the best I've ever encountered! Period.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Burlington, VT
(10/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
A quirky brewery to say the least. Stopped by on Saturday afternoon and the bar area was packed with college students getting free samples. I tried Heart of Darkness and #9 and enjoyed both. The line for merchandise was 8 people deep, otherwise worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great
i think psd was an ex-employee who got fired for bad-mouthing the beer while he was working there. does p stand for paul? is that you paul?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from terry terry, burlington, VT
(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
heavyweight, flying fish and riverhorse, to mention a few, are good breweries in new jersey all getting high ratings on this great web site.if you make it down this way check them out they're worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jeffrey jeffrey, chalfont, OTHER
(06/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
i didn't mean to imply that noone in joisey likes/knows good beer, just that those who do usually have to travel out of state to find a decent brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt matt, burlington, VT
(06/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
PSD is from New Jersey. When was the last time anyone heard of even decent breweries in joisey, save the long valley. sounds like he has a problem with the state rather than the beers. i guess if you think joisey beer is worth drinking, i'd give PSD's critiques some credence. Otherwise try all the vermont breweries you can. there's a reason everyone who knows good beer likes them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Burlington, VT
(06/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I visited Magic Hat on last fall's beer trip. After everything i've heard from friends, i was a bit let down by the beers. I'm not saying that anything was particularly bad, but nothing was outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(04/18/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.349 seconds) 09:50:44 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS