PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery - Phoenixville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 11:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Phoenixville > Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery
Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
519 Kimberton Road
(Pikeland Village Square)
Phoenixville, PA 19460
United States
(610) 935-4540
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Phoenixville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery
77 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

Recent News
Where’d you get that name: Sly Fox Prometheus


alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Destiny Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
(0 mile)

3) Epicurean Restaurant and Bar
(1 mile)

4) Prism Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Almost Like Home
2) Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) EXTENDEDSTAY GREAT VALLEY
2) HOMESTEAD MALVERN
3) HOMEWOOD PHL GREAT VALLEY
4) RESIDENCE INN PHL VALLEY FRGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black Rock Bridge
2) County Bridge No. 171
3) Esherick, Wharton, Studio
4) Gay Street School
5) Great Valley Mill
6) Hare's Hill Road Bridge
7) Hartman, George, House
8) Kennedy Bridge
9) Kimberton Village Historic District
10) Martin-Little House
11) Moore Hall
12) Pennypacker, Matthias, Farm
13) Rapps Bridge
14) Spring Mill Complex
15) St. Peter's Church in the Great Valley
16) Stonorov, Oskar G., House
17) Von Steuben, Gen. Frederick, Headquarters
18) White Horse Farm
19) Wisner, Jacob, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alex's Tavern
2) Ambrosia Catering
3) Better Half Restaurant
4) Black Lab Bistro & Bakery
5) Bob's Haven Delicatessen
6) Boston Market
7) Bravo Pizza
8) Buff's Zep Shop
9) Burger King
10) Camphill Village Coffee Shop
11) Cannuli's
12) Checkered Flag Ice Cream
13) China Inn & Buffet
14) China Queen
15) China Wok
16) Cloud Nine
17) Columbia Bar & Grille
18) Curtis Place
19) D'Antonio's Deli
20) Dairy Queen
21) Dallas Fries
22) Dan's Sports Pub
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
25) Epicurean Restaurant & Bar
26) Fisherman Restaurant
27) Fitzwater Station
28) Fountain Inn
29) Franco Pizza
30) Fung Lin Yang
31) Golden Country Buffet
32) Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant
33) Italian Delite
34) Jester's Sports Bar & Grille
35) Kfc
36) Kim's Seafood
37) Kimberton Inn
38) King Chef Chinese Restaurant
39) Kohn's Tavern
40) Libery Square Pizza & Rstrnt
41) Liki Authentic Japanese Rest
42) Little Daddy's
43) Lo Jo's
44) Lobster Tail Seafood
45) Los Mariachis
46) Mc Donald's
47) Mike's Pizza
48) Nutrition Management Svc Co
49) O'grady's Family Restaurant
50) Old Moose Grill
51) Petrucci's Ice Cream Co
52) Phoenixville Beef & Ale
53) Robert Ryan Catering
54) Rocco's Pizza Shoppes
55) Royal Grill Cafe
56) Royal Sangam Indian Restaurant
57) Satang Thai Cuisine
58) Sly Fox Brewhouse & Eatery
59) Sly Fox Brewhouse & Eatery
60) Steel City Coffee House
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
63) T D Alfredo's
64) Thai Place
65) Tony's Family Restaurant
66) Tri-Corners
67) Turnaround Cafe
68) Vale Rio Diner
69) Villa Pizza
70) Walters Restaurant
71) Wendy's
72) Xpress Pizza & Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Ive got to stop being biased about strip mall brewpubs. This one is a must stop in the area and if you are heading norht-south Makensies is in the area ...so is a Firewaters. All beer were great and the to go bottles are pricey but nice since we dont get them in MD yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, ellicott city, MD
(07/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
This place does know how to brew good beers. Their IPA is very good as are most of the others. Place is a real hang out for the 'regular folks' in the area. Food is OK service sometimes is a little iffy, but the beertenders remembered my preferences after only one visit. When in the area this is a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(09/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I just had the O'Reilly's Stout again tonight at a bar in Alfred, New York; Cafe Za. It was better than I remembered. It is a light stout--good for summer. In the dark of winter I would probably be disapointed but great for summer--a nice mild coffee flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(07/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I have been going to "The Fox" for many years as well as the annual Goat Race. It is always a great time and generally the service is very good.

They have a group of servers that are very friendly with my kids, though at busier times they can be a little slow.

The food menu, which they have tinkered with over the years, ranges from tasty to very average. The nachos, which feature cheese whiz on the top, are very underwhelming. Generally the main meals and sandwiches, especially the tuna, is awesome.

This is essentially my local place, and Iron Hill (which is right nearby) doesn't quite compare beerwise. Brian, the brewmaster, saved this place and made it a destination spot for beer lovers. The man takes risks, pushes the envelope of the styles, and continues to keep me coming back. Try the Royal Weisse!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Proctor Shawn Proctor, Phoenixville, PA
(03/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Sly Fox is in a strip mall just before Kimberton Rd. splits. Look at the back end of the parking lot. Here sample trays were 5 for $6. Not sure of size. I was there on Sunday June 10, 2007. On tap that day were Helles goldern lager, Phoenix Pale Ale, O'Reilly's stout, Ral weisse, Pikeland (?) pils, Rold rush lager, Slacker bock, Hellesboch 2006, Sundae Maibock, Chinuch IPA, Belgian Duble. In my sampler I had the golden lager, hellesbock, slacker bock, phoenix pale ale, and O'Reilly's stout. My favorite was the stout--had a bit of a smoky taste that seemed more like a porter but it was good. The pale ale was nice--a little hoppy like a pale should bee. I had a pint of the IPA. It was succulent.

The wait staff was efficient, but not that friendly--not rude, but not that friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Been here plenty of times. Was just here for the IPA Project. Great beers all to the style with a nice fresh 2006 Odyseey. Fodd was very good also. Has some Chicken fingers and IPA chili.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(12/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I'm becoming more and more of a Sly Fox fan with every passing season. We're seeing their beers here more often and a trip here is rarely a disappointment. Tried 5 which were new to me on my last visit. I really enjoyed the Hanover Maibock, a nice effort, not over the top but good. The Palisade IPA was my pick this trip. Not sure if I've encountered much if any use of these hops in my travels, but they work well in this beer. Have been meaning to try their canned product as I've been hearing good things from other beer fanatics.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Had the special simcoe IPA. A very strong hopped beer, similar to Stone's IPA; ie not too subtle, but if you like really hoppy beer then you'll enjoy this. The Pale Ale had a metallic off taste. The jerk wings were far too salty, but the cuban sandwich was simple and tasty. Overall, a good experience and I'd return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(09/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Sorry to hear about your bad experience. What did the waiter look like? I might be able to figure out who he is and have someone say a word to him.

Service can be spotty at times. Never think twice about saying something to Scott (GM) or Corey (Asst. GM)...Corey is also the head bartender. He's very helpful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenixville, PA
(07/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy Lousy
We were there for lunch around mid afternoon on a Saturday. The waiter was arrogant and inattentive. We asked for refills on beverages and he continued his cleaning of empty tables for a good 5-10 minutes before getting the drinks. Then he took the unfinished ones from us, not allowing us to finish them. Everything about his service was poor.

Female employees with 5-6' of exposed midriff is not appopriate for a restaurant and neither is the gropping in full view of customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenixville, PA
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Pikeland Pils - nice taste Phoenix Pale Ale - Pretty Hoppy considering it's a Pale Mailbock - little disappointing, not much taste British Pale Ale - milder hops but still great taste and if you sit long enough the IPA comes on line 113 IPA - Great Hops French Onion Soup is pretty tasty Friendly workers, nice place to visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nice place...

The Stout and the Pale Ale were great... The Helles was pretty decent too. The rest of the beers were rather pedestrian overall.

Good food and good service.

Definitely worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Brian O'Reilly brews some great beer! I really like the 113 IPA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
IPA's were okay, but nothing to want to make me not go to Victory, which is not far away. The Prometheus was excellent. An Imperial Porter. Great selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Hell Yeah

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Berea, OH
(10/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
My most recent stop saw a variety of bock beers to choose from. All were clean and fresh and slightly different. While I would have preferred to see a variety of ales, this was a good alternative (I usually love their IPA!). Crab dip was great; server close to end of shift, not as attentive as he could have been.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The Incubus is a fantastic Belgian triple that is only served the first Friday of each month. It is well worth making a trip to Sly Fox just to try this fantastic brew!

The Chipltle BBQ flank steak was thinly sliced and served over garlic mashed potatoes and toasted 9-grain bread and topped with Gouda cheese. Very good and very filling.

My waitress appeared to be covering a fairly large section but she was still very attentive and very friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(03/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The beers at The Sly Fox are awesome! Great variety and the staff really knows their stuff. Too bad I can't say the same for the food! Ever since they lost their old head-chef [Paul], the quality has gone straight downhill. Smaller portions but higher prices, removal of popular items from the menu, and pinching pennies where it's not needed (ingredients). A restaurant that wants to serve high-quality food cannot achieve that goal by using low-quality and/or artificial ingredients. Get real guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Royersford, PA
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy Lousy
New Year's Eve I had the worst dining experience in recent memory at the Sly Fox. Looking forward to a relaxing meal, and to try a number of their beers, my wife and I were seated practically on top of other patrons. We might as well have been at the same table! Zero ambience! The French Creek lager was admittedly excellent, but I couldn't enjoy it due to the fire drill paced lousy service. The entree came out two bites into my salad, and the waitress never made another appearance for drink orders or water. I ordered the most expensive special on the menu: grilled Chilean Sea Bass. The portion was miserly, the size of a quarter pounder meat pattie (AFTER it's cooked!) I won't go back again, except maybe to get some take-out beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Berwyn, PA
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Wow, did I luck out. I ended up visiting on the 1st friday of the month which was Incubus friday. Incubus was a wonderful Belgian triple which was only available once a month. Also loved the hoppy 7th version of the anniversary IPA, the stout, and the ESB. Steak sandwich was good not great, but service was exceptional as the bartender really knew his beers. (Although I only visited on a Friday afternoon when it wasn't too busy.) Definitly a place to go out of your way for even with the exceptional Victory so close.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(08/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Always good food, beer, and service, but a special shout out to the owner (manager?) We were going to eat at the bar but a rude, obnoxious drunk was screaming at the top of his lungs (e.g. "I LIKE NOTRE DAME BECAUSE I'M IRISH.") We requested to be moved, and there was no problem. The owner/mgr. noticed us moving and asked if it was because of the drunk. I said yes, and he threw the Gipper right out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ODENTON, MD
(11/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
the goat race was cool. nelly maibock. i've heard better names. the crowd for the goat race was pretty cool. the german grub on the outside grill was killer! the beer selection was great with the doppel bock and maibock. Service was really good considering the place was mobbed. The only downfall was the qaudrupel ICHOR as it was super sweet, almost undrinkable sweet. other than that the sly fox is a winner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review scott, west norriton, pa
(05/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great N/A Great
We stopped in briefly to see how the goat race went and learn the name of what this years maibock will be. And the winner is ...Nelly...The 2003 Sly Fox Maibock has since been name nelly!!!I unfortunately wasn't in the mood to drink much so I primarily tasted. Food was great and the people working the event were friendly. German dancing, music, and other live entertainment filled the day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brian Aldridge, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice selection of beers. Started off with a beer sampler. The French Creek Helles was my choice for the rest of the night. My meals was ok but my wife and kids really liked their dinners. I would definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Matthew Killinger, West Chester, PA
(04/20/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.488 seconds) 11:14:13 54.81.216.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS