PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company - South Barrington, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 27, 2014 @ 08:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > South Barrington > Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company
Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 67.8 / 100
45 Barrington Road
South Barrington, IL 60010
United States
(847) 382-7673
Listed Since: May 1996
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Barrington, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company
39 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Onion Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Brass Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN BARRINGTON NW CHICAGO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Catlow Theatre
2) Octagon House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Altimate Entertainment
2) Barn Of Barrington
3) Barrington Banquets
4) Barrington Country Bistro
5) Barrington Gyros
6) Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
7) Blue Heron Cafe & Bar
8) Boloney's Sandwich Shop
9) Brass Restaurant & Brewery
10) Broken Oar Bar & Grill
11) Bronco Jacks
12) Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Recruit
13) Burger King
14) California Pizza Kitchen
15) Chessie's Restaurant
16) Deli Nosh Catering Svc
17) Eclectic Restaurant
18) Egg Harbor Cafe
19) Garlands Of Barrington
20) Grandpa's Ristorante
21) Hart Cafe
22) Here's Wings LLC
23) Herman Rest A While
24) Kaladi's Coffe Bar
25) Kaleidoscoops
26) Kooker's
27) LA Hacienda
28) La Mesa Restaurant
29) LA Pomme De Pin
30) Max & Erma's
31) Mc Donald's
32) Mikey's Pizza Kitchen
33) Noodles & Co
34) Original Tracks
35) Pasta Impromtu Catering
36) Patti & Anne's Towne Shoppe
37) Penelope's Catering
38) Pizza Factory
39) Pizzeria Venti
40) Primo Pizza Of Barrington LTD
41) Quiznos Sub
42) Quiznos Sub
43) Rosati's Marketing Cooperative
44) Rosati's Pizza
45) Rsvp Restaurant & Tavern
46) Sagano Japanese Restaurant
47) Scooters
48) Sergio's Pizza
49) Starbucks
50) Stoney River Legendary Steaks
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Tin Seng Chop Suey Restaurant
53) Wool Street Grill Sports Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
If you're looking for a microbrewery/pub this isn't the place. This is more of an elegent, Sunday brunch, lunch with clients type of place, I guess the sign on the door that read men must have sleeves to enter should have told me something, and besides, they don't brew on the premises anymore. Anyways, only tried one beer, I think it was the country ale, I liked it, typical light ale, not awesome but worthy of another if I wasn't driving. My wife and I split a burger and cobb salad both I thought were pretty good, a bit pricey, but good. Would have had desert but we were too full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Marchlewicz Chris Marchlewicz, crosby, TX
(08/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Good Lousy
This place smells like old people. The food is bland and tasteless like hospital food. The beer was as bad as Harrisons. You could go across the street to Brass, or better yet, run out onto I90 and let a truck hit you, cause both of these places suck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy
A friend and I stopped by just for a sample and regretted. I am not sure what they are doing with their beer, but it is really wrong. You know it is bad when you walk away from a half full glass of beer. Tried the dark lager, amber and a pilsner. Nothing was good and I would highly recommend to all that you just stay away. Todd- IL

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review lake villa, IL
(10/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Great So So
Went there before the Elton John concert in April. Beer was awful. The Panther Pale should be renamed Panther P^&S. The Pilsner was also terrible. Both were cardboard tasting. The pilsner had the wrong hops. No Sazz.

I would avoid this place all together except for the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Buffalo Grove, IL
(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We are experienced REAL beer drinkers and Brew-pub-ers. We always try all the beers. All the beers here were good. The food was good. Out bartender was great and a real beer guy. The owner is in the meat business and you can get good meat, properly done here. Good experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A N/A
Beer Traveller ALERT: Bad Beer.

Millrose is convenient to I90 and an easy trap to fall into. Ever the sucker for hope, I did not trust pubcrawler reviews and am left with regret.

The place is like a lavish version of the Old Country Buffet, complete with valet parking, oversize gift shop and "Shirts must have sleeves" dress code. White button-down and black vests for the bartenders seemed out of place in this "Southwestern desert meets northern lodge" style d├ęcor. Not sure why they thought brewing beer would be appropriate for the resulting demographic.

None-the-less; The bar was packed on a Thursday evening. The service was attentive and courteous. Sox & Cubs were on the TV's. I did not try the food. The 4 beers on tap were Something Light Bodied, something Lighter Bodied, Amber and Imperial Stout. I tried the Imperial Stout, which I cannot begin to describe in stylistic terms because I couldn't get past thinking it was a really poor Honey Brown.

Head west to Dundee or East to Bucktown (Chicago) if you want real beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(08/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
Friends gave me 2 six packs for my birthday, Country Inn Ale and Dark Star lager. Enjoyed both varieties, but from what I gathered on the label is that it is brewed by Capital Brewery in Madison, WI for Millrose. This probably made for the difference with the ones available in the restaurant and the country store.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Marty, C-Ville, IL
(07/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So Lousy
Way too expensive for the tasteless, cold, soggy food that they serve you. Beer was not so great. Service was not so hot. I would recommend that you not even try it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danita Danita, schaumburg, IL
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Great Lousy
This (& Taylor Brewing in Downers Grove) may be the worst "brewery" in the Chicago area. I have been here 3 times over a 2 year period and it just keeps getting worse. 4 beers on tap, very little difference between them, all incredibly bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Glen Ellyn, IL
(07/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I must have visited the same time as you. It was horrible. I could not finish the Oktoberfest and the samplers were all very bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allen, TX
(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So
Insipid. Cookie cutter brewpub in the worst sense, a restaurant using 'brewpub' as a marketing device instead of approaching the making of local brew as a delicate, honorable craft. A fine place for those with more money than taste. Slow, indifferent service. The food was alright, though pricy. But I was here for the beer. Alas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOD JOD, Algonquin, IL
(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
The beer at this extract brewery was all infected. The Country Inn Ale and Pilsner were Catty, the Octoberfest and Dark Star Lager were undrinkably sour from Lactic acid. The un-complex Panther ale was the only one I could drink, due to it's less offensive off flavors. Food was too expensive for the quality, but portions were large. I paid 19.95 for my Chicken entre. Service was decent but slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DEH DEH, Chicago, IL
(11/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Came here for the Breakfast Buffet on Sunday. Glad to see they can serve beer Sunday mornings unlike my home State of Michigan. (I believe this is a State law?) They had a wide selection, at least 8 brews listed, however, a couple of the beers I ordered were not available at the time. The following were good, Vanilla Ale, 4 Rose, & Panther Ale. However, the Country Inn Ale I could not drink. They said it was more of their more popular choices, however, it tasted like it had something wrong with it. My friend that was o.k. though, although he thought he tasted vinegar? They had a good selection of bottled beers in their store, I bought one of their Dark Star Lagers but haven't tried it yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy So So
This place should be avoided at all costs! Should beer be warm and sour? Mine was, sent it back, and washed the flavor out of my mouth with a Sam Adams. Skip this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry, Lisle, IL
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
The beer was okay the food was good. But your service was lousy. the excuses were the register system was slow or always breaking down then get a new one if you are unhappy with it. Also the the waiter seemed very busy handling his section get some more help.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review barrington, IL
(10/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Only 4 beers available, and they all had a similar taste. The food way okay, but somewhat pricey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kett carr kett carr, grayslake, IL
(07/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good Good
I have been a regular there for years. I love the atmosphere. The beer is boring now. Always the same. Also the increases in the menu prices were too much. $10 for a hamburger?? The additions needed to be paid for I guess. I still love the atmosphere, but I don't drink beer or eat there anymore.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Schaumburg, IL
(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Awesome! Great
Great atmosphere and consistently good service. The food portions are too large (typical for the USA). The beer is also typical American brew-pub stuff. But if your looking for a good place to entertain visitors, I recommend Millrose.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Kircher Tony Kircher, Barrington, IL
(12/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I don't know what kind of service or food the people that rated this establishment as so-so or lousey received but I had a great time with my date, great drinks, good food and our server. This is definitly a place to return to. The PECAN CRUSTED WALLEYE was magnificent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edward J Gorski Edward J Gorski, Elgin, IL
(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Great
Have been to this place several times. The beer quality is so-so. It always seems like the beer is still green. They need more aging. The food is always excellent even though it is somewhat pricey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Brandenburg Bob Brandenburg, Buffalo Grove, IL
(05/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
When Millrose started brewing, the beer was okay, then it was excellent for a couple years when Tom Sweeney was the brewer. Unfortunately, Mr Sweeney moved on a couple years ago, and now the beer is occasionally good, but usually so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(05/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Great
I rated them a "great" even though their beer is average. The atmosphere is Awesome- has a "ski lodge" type of homey feel to it. The food was great the numerous times I have been their. The last time I was there however- they were contracting their brewing out to ( I think) Capital brewing, because they were talking about switching to all-grain. At the time they were an extract brewer, which I found very suprising in an establishment of their size. The beer was average, although I remember the Dark Star standing out. Worth going to for the food/atmosphere alone...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George George, Northlake, IL
(10/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Great Lousy
The beer was basically macrobrew wannabes, I rated the selection good because there were so many "varieties" (in name only)of lousy beer. The food was not much better, and incredibly overpriced, even for Barrington. The only redeeming quality was at least we didn't have to wait for long and everyone was friendly (but incredibly clueless when it came to the beer). Overall, not only a place to not seek out, but a place to actively avoid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. John Way M. John Way, Wheaton, IL
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
On a holiday visit this place fell right into my Worse Ten Brewpubs in America. Let's see, where do we start: Beer was colored water, no flavor, no character. Food was outrageously expensive and bad - when you charge this much, the quality of the food should be excellent, not "Sam's Club" quality. Finally, the service was horrible. Our $13 dinner Caesar was asked for with anchovies - they never came. The waitress seemed particularly put out whenever we asked for more beers or water. It is hard to believe that in a great restaurant city like Chicago, an awful place like this survives selling uninspired, mediocre $20-$30 entrees. Millrose is a great advertisement for going on a diet!!! Don't go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(01/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good
I was surprised to find all the ales to be very similar and not very compelling. The Ocktoberfest was the best and not bad. The remaining ales on tap were all variations on the same theme and only slightly different. The food on the other hand was much better. My g.f. got the ribs and she devoured them as if it was the first food she had seen in years. I had the alaskan crab leg and filet. The crab had been prepared earlier in the day and showed signs of dryness and was slightly cold - it was still tasty though. The steak was like butter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clbe Clbe, Schaumburg, IL
(10/12/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.247 seconds) 08:08:35 54.83.230.7, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS