PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Steelhead Brewing Company - Burlingame, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Burlingame > Steelhead Brewing Company
Steelhead Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Steelhead Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
333 California Drive
Burlingame, CA 94010
United States
(650) 344-6050
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Burlingame, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Steelhead Brewing Company
22 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Original Nick's
(2 miles)

2) O'Neill's Irish Pub
(3 miles)

3) Prince of Wales
(4 miles)

4) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Coxhead House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN EL RANCHO INN SUI
2) CLARION SAN FRANCISCO AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burlingame Railroad Station
2) Carolands, The
3) Coxhead, Ernest, House
4) De Sabla, Eugene J., Jr., Teahouse and Tea Garden
5) Hofmann, Arthur and Mona, House
6) Hotel St. Matthew
7) Kohl Mansion
8) National Bank of San Mateo
9) Southern Pacific Depot
10) US Post Main Office--San Mateo
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 3 J's
2) Alana's
3) Alibi
4) Alpine Inn
5) American Bull Bar & Grill
6) Angelo's Cafe
7) Arturo's Trattoria
8) Barracuda Japanese Restaurant
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Behan's Irish Pub
11) Ben's Coffee Shop
12) Blush Nightclub
13) Boba Crepes
14) Broadway Deli
15) Broadway Prime Rib
16) Bua Thong Kitchen
17) Burger King
18) Burrito Broadway
19) Butterfly Cakes-Wedding Cakes
20) Cafe Capuchino
21) Cafe Figaro
22) Cafe Milano
23) California Bar & Grill
24) Carribean Gardens
25) Celebrity Cafe
26) Chez Alexander
27) Chicken Chicken
28) Chinese For Peaceful
29) Christie's
30) Chutney Grill
31) Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe
32) Danish-French Catering Svc
33) Dicey Rileys Irish Pub
34) Don's Bayside Cafe
35) Ecco
36) Ercolini's Pasta Bravo
37) Fandorin
38) Fanny & Alexander
39) First Watch
40) Five A's Cafe
41) Flying Food Svc
42) Francesco's Catering
43) Gau Poang Chinese Restaurant
44) Gilbreth Cafe
45) Golden China Restaurant
46) Grace Garden Restaurant
47) Grand View Restaurant
48) Hanger Restaurant
49) Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cntn
50) Homebaked Pizza Co
51) Hot Rod Coffee
52) Il Fornaio
53) Il Piccolo Caffe
54) Ini Coffee Shop
55) Isobune Sushi Of Burlingame
56) Jim's Chinese Food
57) Joe's Back Door
58) Juban Yakiniku House Japanese
59) Jun Restaurant & Sushi Bar
60) Kincaid's Bayhouse
61) King Yuan Restaurant
62) Knuckles Historical Sports Bar
63) Kuleto's Trattoria
64) L & T Sandwich
65) La Pinata Mexican Restaurant
66) La Salsa Fresh Mexican Grill
67) La Scala
68) Le Croissant Shop
69) Le Jardin Restaurant
70) Left At Albuquerque
71) Little Lucca III
72) Lobos Tacqueria
73) Mandarin Cuisine
74) Matsusono Restaurant
75) Max's Restaurant
76) Mike & Ken's Deli
77) Mivan Mediterranean Cuisine
78) Moon Mc Shane's Restaurant
79) Mr Bojangles
80) Mr Teriyaki
81) Narin Thai Cuisine
82) Ning's Thai Kitchen
83) Paddy Flynns
84) Panda Express
85) Paradise Pizza Gourmet Take
86) Paragon Restaurant & Bar
87) Peet's Coffee & Tea Inc
88) Piazza Italia Cafe
89) Pisces Resturant
90) Ramen Club & Catering Co
91) Righteous Brother Catering Co
92) Round Table Pizza
93) Round Table Pizza
94) Runway Deli & Taqueria
95) Ryco Cafe Coffee & Tea
96) Sakae Restaurant
97) Sam's Italian Sandwich Co
98) Sapore Italiano
99) Scalini
100) Seabreeze Cafe
101) Simply Perfect
102) Sizzler
103) Slice On The Avenue
104) St Clair's Gourmet
105) Stacks
106) Starbucks
107) Starbucks
108) Starbucks
109) Starbucks
110) Steamers On The Bay
111) Stella Mia
112) Straits Restaurant-Burlingame
113) Stratis Cafe
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Sweet Treats
117) Tavern Grill
118) Tea Plus
119) Terrace Restaurant
120) Thai's Hut
121) Tomokazu Japanese Cuisine
122) Towle's Cafe
123) Village Host Pizza
124) Wedgewood Banquet Ctr
125) West Bay Cafe
126) World Wrapps
127) Yamato Flight Kitchen
128) Yianni's
129) Zeyno Mediterranean Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
No review in 4 years, now 2 within a couple of weeks. This was my first visit to this Steelhead(i have been to one in Portland) and I have to agree with the previos review. The bartender was great, the beers and the food very good, and a neat atmosphere. I will definitley be back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave dave, Mount Horeb, WI
(07/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
No review in four years? Steelhead is always my favorite first and last stop when flying into/out of SFO. A great first breath of what makes California so enjoyable: imaginative, tasty brewing; fresh large salads; friendly conversations with both staff and patrons. And this area of downtown Burlingame is really growing: lots of good nearby restaurants, shops and activities. Plus it is accessible to transit, being right across the street from a CalTrans station.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark Maxfield Clark Maxfield, Chicago, IL
(07/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I eat here very week at least once. Usually for lunch, where I sit at the bar. The staff treats me and all the other regulars like gold. Hell, even the newcomers get attention. As noted above, it is true that the table service can be spotty during a rush, so avoid the rush, come early or late. The main room is huge and the pool room is extremely hoppin in the evenings. The proximity of the train station means you only have to cross one busy street to get close to home in one piece.

The seasonal brews rule here, especially the winter ales and the double IPA. My normal lunch is a couple of standard 6.2 IPAs. A double and the boss might notice me snoring in my cube, so I save that for dinner. The IPA is a little malty but appropriately hard-hopped. Lovers of porter will also find a variety of darker brews.

The food is decent, especially if you stick to the pub faire. I like the crispy chicken salad and fried calamari, for instance, but most of the regulars swear by the burgers.

In the Bay Area south of San Francisco there is no better brewpub than Steelhead, and the next good one, Faultline, is at least half an hour south in Sunnyvale...and it's closed on weekends!

Burlingame is it, don't miss the exit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Easong Easong, Santa Cruz, CA
(05/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Got a spot at the bar on a quiet Saturday afternoon and sampled a few pints. They had nine brews on tap, four of them seasonal, to go along with a full bar. Started with the Broadway Blonde (5.6%). Good stuff. While waiting for my food had a pint of the Raging Rhino Red (5.4%)which was equally tasty. Ordered a pint of the Grateful Red (5.1%) to go with my BBQ Pork sandwich. Both were excellent. For dessert, had a pint of the stout,Chocolate Kiss (5.5%). Nice way to round out the visit. Nice airy atmosphere to the establishment and the menu is fairly extensive. And there's a sweet little pool hall in the back. As an added bonus I could walk across the street to the depot to catch a Caltrain back to San Jose.Great way to avoid that dreaded DUI especially after downing a few really good pints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(03/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy Good
Great food! Beer is tops in the Bay Area! However, the Mgmt. should open their eyes! This place, albeit a wonderful turn of the century venue has to have the ugliest wait staff in the world...even some 300pounders! C'mon guys, SEX SELLS and who wants a chubby hag serving up good food & beer!

AND you have to have the worst lighting I've ever seebn on any outdoor patio! 2 brights spotlights lighting up what could be a great patio! IT SUCKS! WIll never sit there again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerard Benteler Jerard Benteler, Novato, CA
(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great
I know this place from visiting the brewery in Eugene and had some great beer there, so perhaps my expectations were high upon arrival. I sat at the bar and ordered a sampler, which consisted of: Hairy Weasel Hefeweizen, Broadway Blonde, Crystal Springs Pilsner, Terrapin Ale, Grateful Red Ale, Raging Rhino Red, Bombay Bomber IPA, and Finnegan's Wake Stout. All of these beers were too carbonated for my tastes, although the IPA and stout mellowed out once they reached room temperature.

Not included in the sampler was their Grateful Red and IPA on cask. The bartender was nice enough to give me samples of each and man what a difference! These beers were excellent! I got a pint of the red and would have had more if my liver could have handled it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew J. R. Matthew J. R., Vancouver, WA
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Stopped in on a Saturday night after arriving on a late flight. I got a place at the bar. Started with the IPA, then a Pale and Stout. IPA was good, the Stout was just OK. Went with a basic burger and fries. Nice place overall and the beer was solid. The bartender was a bit snobby, but had a nice visit with a local who provided me with information about tourist stuff in SF. Worth a stop if you are in the area, just off the 101 a few blocks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Very good double IPA, good red. Clam chowder was very good. Service was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Visit on 1/7/2004

Stout - Sweet with a lot of character. VERY good. Porter - Fairly roasty, more like a dry stout, but very good. More of a sipper, than a drinker compared to other Porters. Barley Wine - Un-freaking-believable. Sweet with a wide palate of flavors. Nice strong alcohol warmness to it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mattrazzo Mattrazzo, Chandler, AZ
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
This is one of the few brewpubs in the bay area which puts the beer first. Most are really restaurants who brew a few beers in the back and call themselves a brewpub. I would highly recommend checking this place out if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phil Kerlee, Los Gatos, Ca
(03/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
The beer lineup is strong, and the cask selections are amazing! I sat at the bar & didn't have any of the service problems other reviewers noted.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Schar Brian Schar, Menlo Park, CA
(01/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The beer is usually excellent, though there might be a clunker in there every once in a while. Food is quite good, though the service while dining SUCKS. If you sit at the bar, service is much snappier and you won't be made to feel like a second class citizen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Elk Grove, CA
(09/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Lousy Good
service has gone downhill over the years. the wait staff spend more time huddling together at the bar with the bartender than attending to tables. the seaters are bitchy, I watched a couple at booth across from get kicked out because the seater said there was no one to wait that table (she was really upset because they seated themself without her) and 2 minutes later, a new couple was seated there. I was seated by a waitress because the seaters were huddling at the bar and the seaters told the waiter to ignore my table and he did. I waited 20 minutes to be served when finally a bartender came and took my order. And the place was NOT crowded, it was maybe 1/4 full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Burlingame, CA
(08/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Again, the beer, food and service are very good at this brewpub. Not much new on the brew scene. I still recommend stopping by for some home made brew and good food. Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(01/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Good variety of beer styles, all are very tasty. The food is terrific and priced reasonably. The ambiance is very nice and is a great place to meet friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Berg Bob Berg, Burlingame, CA
(12/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This place is terrific--friendly, well designed, and great beers. Whoever came up with the recipe for the Bombay Bomber was a genius. Understand that it's a Steelhead (Ore.) beer, but Burlingame makes a great version -- the most deliciously floral IPA I've ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Arlington, VA
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is always great and at least two of the beers will change around once a week (depending on consumption of course). These guys have won 9 medals for their beer in the last 7 years! That's pretty good! Also, the food is amazingly good. I was happily surprised by the wonderful menu choices. My hat is off to both the brewmaster and the chef!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Burlingame, CA
(06/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Sexy Girls...but only sometimes... Very Nice Bartenders...They're all mostly nuts...but very friendly! I stop by on every trip to the Bay Area... This place is near all of the Airport Hotels.. Go there... and ask for Gretel... I met her in Huntington Beach several years ago...Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Benteler Jerry Benteler, Simi Valley, CA
(06/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
In addition to an excellent menu and fine brew, Steelhead also has a great kids menu (the kids pizza is as large as their regular pizzas), and they make their own root beer too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Brewer Curt Brewer, Camarillo, CA
(04/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Psycler Psycler, San Francisco, CA
(04/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The service was excellent!!! Really enjoyed sampling many fine brews. Be sure to try the Steelhead Amber and Razzmatazz - Blackberry/Black raspberry brews. They offer a wide variety of food choices (pretty good for a brewpub!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(01/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Staff is big selling point. Deb makes it worthwhile to go in! If she's tending bar, tell her "Faffo sent you" :D

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portland, OR
(12/10/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.337 seconds) 23:46:57 54.205.253.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS