PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brewery at Lake Tahoe - South Lake Tahoe, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 10:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > South Lake Tahoe > Brewery at Lake Tahoe
Brewery at Lake Tahoe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brewery at Lake Tahoe
Overall: Great    Score: 74.3 / 100
3542 South Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
United States
(530) 544-2739
Listed Since: June 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Lake Tahoe, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Brewery at Lake Tahoe
55 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Mount Tallac Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Dory's Oar Restaurant was Tudor Pub
(0 mile)

3) Mulligan's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

4) Beacon Bar and Grill
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Black Bear Inn
2) Castle At Summer Place
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) A AND A LAKE TAHOE INN
2) BEST WESTERN TIMBER COVE LODGE
3) DAYS INN LAKE TAHOE
4) HOWARD JOHNSON SOUTH TAHOE
5) INN BY THE LAKE
6) TAHOE LAKESHORE LODGE & SPA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Friday's Station
2) Gale, Lena N., Cabin
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 19th Hole
2) Alpen Sierra Coffee Co
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Big Daddy's Burgers
6) Black Rino Coffee
7) Blue Angel Cafe
8) Blue Moon Grill
9) Bob Dog Pizza
10) Brew Bakers
11) Brothers Place
12) Cecil's Cafe
13) Cecil's Market & Deli
14) Chase's Bar & Grill
15) Cherry Bombs
16) Christiania Inn
17) Coffee Thyme
18) Cold Stone Creamery
19) Divided Sky
20) El Caballo Negro Taqueria
21) Lake Tahoe Golf Course
22) Lew Mar Nel's
23) Mazatlan Grill
24) Mulligans Catering & Special
25) Nestle Toll House Cafe By Chip
26) Nik N Willie's Pizza
27) Off The Hook
28) Orchids Authentic Thai Food
29) Pub Tahoe
30) Quiznos Sub
31) Round Table Pizza
32) Shark Bite Pizza & Rotisserie
33) Starbucks
34) Starbucks
35) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
36) Sugar Freaks
37) Tahoe Keys Delicatessen
38) Tahoe Spirit Coffee Cafe
39) Tahoe Wedding & Honeymoon
40) Taqueria LA Palma
41) Tony's Cheesesteaks
42) Watermark Cafe
43) Whiskey Dicks
44) Wolfgang Puck Express
45) Wrap House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Stopped here a few weeks ago for a few beers and really enjoyed the beer and staff. A good selection of beers and friendly staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingston, NY
(09/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I wrote a very negative review 4 years ago, this place had really gone into the sh*tter. However, I recently revisited and found they've improved their act somewhat. I don't think they've reclaimed their former glory, but the pizza, beer, and service were good. It's worth stopping in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cott Cott, Scottsdale, AZ
(07/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I tried their IPA and it was awesome. My girlfriend and I ordered couple appetizers during happy hr and couple beers. very inexpensive, our bartender (a girl) was awesome, there's another guy, but since he was taking care of the other side of the bar we didn't really get to talk to him. Try their bruchetta and pizza chips are really good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Miguel Miguel, Santa Clara, CA
(11/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We also make it a point to visit the Lake Tahoe Brewery whenever we are in Tahoe. After reading the most recent reviews we were a little uncertain as to what it would be like this year. The Brewery was just as wonderful as always. We went on a Tuesday night the beer, pizza, and service were all outstanding!Give it a try you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jacksonville, FL
(08/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I don't know what the whiners are talking about. We've been there a dozen times and have never had a problem. The food and beer have always been very good and the wait stuff have been very friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Folsom, CA
(01/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
the waitress stole from me. since she was a horrible waitress we didnt tip her and forgot our camera and came back 5 min later and it was gone. she said she never seen it when she cleard off my table as we left. the management sided witht the waitress and was very rude. the food was horrible. the service was even worse. and im still considering coming back down there with the cops. i would never go here again. they're a lying stealing horrible establishment. dont go there unless you want to b over charged horrible food and a dumb as a door nob waitress.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alex alex, vv, CA
(12/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
They were out of several brews and had no seasonal styles on tap. I was left with the choice of an American Pale, an English Pale, an IPA, a Wheat, and their "Bad Ass" ale.

The Needle Peak American Pale was horrible. It had a slightly hoppy taste at first that quickly faded to warm tap water. The Prince of Pales English Pale was a bit better but still lacked any kind of malt balance. The Washoe wheat was drinkable but lacked any real complexity. The "Bad Ass" claims to be a style unto itself. I would characterize it an Amber IPA. The IPA was probably the best of the bunch. It waqs agressively hopped, so might appeal to hop heads, but it was mediocre in my book.

The food was decent. We had the wings and the pub combo as appetizers. Wings came with a variety of sauces and the marinara sauce that came with the pub combo wasn't bad at all. The Mac and cheese we ordered for may daughter was excellent. The ribs tasted pretty good, even if they were not fall off the bone tender. My wife's lasagna was also not bad.

Service wasn't anything special and they messed up our bill.

In general I wouldn't recommend this place. Find a decent restaurant with a good selection of beer and you will be better off. These beers can definitely be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Even Holmboe Even Holmboe, Nipomo, CA
(05/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I came to visit with my family and had a marvelous experience. I'm not sure what the previous review was talking about because we had amazing service. In Canada they must not know what a "brewery" or "pub" experience should be. There were seven of us and it was quite busy. We had several appetizers and probably the best pizza I've ever tasted. Our server was wonderful. I can't remember her name, but she made our day. We could see that she was busy and that we weren't the only table in the building. I guess some people don't understand that, and think they're the only table the server could possibly have at one time. I'm going to tell all my friend about The Brewery and recommend it highly. Anyone would be doing themselves a great disservice by not checking it out when visiting Tahoe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Santa Cruz, CA
(11/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After reading reviews about the Brewery at Lake Tahoe, I was a little hesitant to go there on my vacation....Well, it turns out I must have head trauma because this place was great. There beer was very good with the Bad Ass Ale leading the charge. The staff was great and the food was amazing. The brewer and manager were there and engaged us in a very pleasant conversation in which I left knowing a lot more about beer than I did before I went in... I even went back again on the trip and checked out the dining area....I used some of the knowledge I had gained the first time and asked some questions of my server...I was very impressed with her knowledge of the beer....Overall, I have to say that this was a wonderful place and I would recommend it to anyone...Go on and enjoy one of their Bad Ass Ales!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(11/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
If you have low expectations then you won't be disappointed in "The Brewery at Lake Tahoe". I was fine with looking past the overly greasy pizza and the fact that our server made a mistake writing down our order and brought the two of us each a large pizza instead of the pizza and salad we wanted but when she intentionally went out of her way to screw us by over charging us because she expected to receive no tip (as the table beside us did not leave her a tip as well because she screwed up their order) that drove me mad. It's a pathetic ploy to gain an extra few dollars but she most likely needed it more then I did. I would not recommend this place unless you have recently suffered head trauma and can no longer taste, smell, or do basic math.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. MacDonald S. MacDonald, Toronto, ON
(10/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So
I've visited this establishment twice in the past 4 months as I visited Tahoe for business. I hoped that the beer quality on the first trip was a one-time thing. Unfortunately, it was not. The beer here is bad. The IPA has a very soapy aftertaste. Their "signature" Big Ass ale is bland and not at all worthy of a "signature" title. We tried the sampler in February and were let down by all their beers. The pizza was good, but the beer was horrible. If I go back, I won't be ordering any of their beer...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
This placw sucked. Beer tasted as if it had gone bad some how. Got the sampler and couldn't finish any of the styles. Something was wrong with the beer? Service was indifferent and uneducated about the beer offerings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Seattle, WA
(01/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
I always try to find a brewery/brew pub to eat and drink at when I travel...this was somewhat disappointing. the beer was watery, the staff was ok, but VERY concerned about the party they were throwing that night. Somewhat nonprofessional, but friendly. Menu didn't have in depth information about the beers, pretty basic, just like the food. See what happens when a restaurant cuts corners for the bottom line, it becomes very forgettable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kris Kris, San Diego, CA
(10/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
The beer is awful. I've never said that about any brew pub ever. There is usually a style or product which is ok, but none of their beers were drinkable. I don't know what to say, maybe the hoses needed cleaning or something but there was a distinct crappy taste to all of the beer. Food was just so-so. Very disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Baltimore, MD
(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
I've been a somewhat regular customer since ~1995, stopping by usually a few times a year during my once or twice a year trips to Tahoe. I've had a busy few years, and my last visit until recently was 2002.

I was horribly disappointed to discover that what I considered the pinacle of micro breweries has fallen into a pathetic state.

The beer was poor. It all had a milky haze to it, the flavor was weak and very watery. I'm a home brewer, so this isn't my naive disgust with yeast in the beer.

The pizzas have also gone down hill. They used to be among the best I've ever eaten -- now they're at best average. The recipes aren't even the same. They quite obviously lost both their cooking and brewing staff over the last couple of years, and the replacements are simply inexperienced people trying to make-do with the recipies or recollections of the past. Several other reviews seem to reference this.

The service was also a disappointment - despite not being crowded, we had a long wait, our order was screwed up multiple times. There was, of course, no manager available to vent any of these frustrations to, nor did a manager call us as the only employee that seemed like they might care promised.

This has gone from being an establishment that I, as a home brewer and pizza experimenter, was jealous of to one not worthy of the half-hour trip to South Lake Tahoe to visit.

If you're with The Brewery at Lake Tahoe, drop me a line. I'd love to hear you've gotten your act together so I and my friends and family can become regular customers again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cott Cott, Scottsdale, AZ
(08/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
This used to be my very favorite brewpub with awesome beer and one of the best pizzas I'd ever eaten. I made it a must stop on every one of my frequent visits to Tahoe, driving from the North shore just to have beer and pizza.

Last week we made our usual journey, only to be HORRIBLY disappointed by some of the worst (?spoiled) beer I have ever had. The waitress totally screwed the order as well. Finally, after a LONG delay, we got the pizzas we ordered, ony to be further disappointed. The pizza we have been consistently loving fo years was totally unlike what it had always been and was lousy to boot! It's hard to make a pizza so poor as to be nearly inedible.

Tried to complain to the management-there was none. Surprise!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from W Lang W Lang, Atlanta, GA
(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Wow! A nice cold microbrew up at Lake Tahoe- Is it the atmosphere or just the altitude?? A wonderful place to relax

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Camarillo, CA
(05/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Great Good
What a unique name - NOT! The reason to go here is the pizza. The beer is vile and tasted like it was tainted. I didn't even finish the sampler - which is against everything I hold dear.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
We haven't been in Lake Tahoe for 15 years or more, and I really looked forward to visiting this establishment on this trip and sampling the local beers. We started with the 7-beer Sampler (5 oz. of each brew) and we liked a couple of the beers. I was surprised that I was disappointed in the amber ale (I usually like everyone's amber ale product) and my wife was very dissapointed in the "Prince of Pales." We both settled on a pale ale that we thought we wouldn't like. We visited on a Saturday night durnig the 3-day President's Day weekend, and the crowd was smaller than I expected. I was not impressed with the professionalism displayed behind the bar. I was also very dissapointed in the answers that I got to several of my questions - most notably, I asked the bartended what the brewmaster's name was, and he said "I don't know, just some guy that rolled into town, so now he gets to make the beer." I also asked them what their yearly production was, and my answer was mentally caclulated as I waited for an answer, and then I got "I guess it'd be an average of about 2,000 gallons a year of each." I didn't feel very comfortable with that answer, since I know their Wheat beer wouldn't sell on par with their pale ales, and the Porter was not good at all. We left the place feeling more than a bit let down in our expectations, realizing that we probably won't go back. There are two other microbreweries in the Tahoe basin (Lake Tahoe Brewery and Mt. Talac Brewery), and we're going to try and find and visit both before we fly out of here on Friday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Noah Michael Noah, Honolulu, HI
(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
We went to this place twice and really liked it. The service was great. Some of the beers were great, but others weren't. The pizza was excellent, but the wings were taken from a plastic bag (Tyson?) and then run through the pizza conveyor to thaw out. The IPA, Porter, and Bad Ass were really good! Fun little place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Tipton John Tipton, Madison/Huntsville, AL
(10/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So So So
Sat outside and wasn't too impressed with the kid manning the outside grill playing gangsta rap rather loudly to entertain himself. The customers sitting outside were decidedly not a "gansta-rap" kind of bunch. Got pretty tired of hearing "MothaF***a" in every other lyric. Had a salad and the finely shredded lettuce was in an advance state of wilt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Buck Brian Buck, Spokane, WA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in after skiing Kirkwood so was extremely thirsty. I'm writing this 2 months later but I remember the Bad Ass being a full-bodied, well-hopped beer but another one was even more full-bodied with tons of hops. Can't remember the name. Pizza was very good. Friendly place, including bartenders and locals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Newtown, PA
(04/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Lousy
I walked two miles to and from the brewery to try the local beers. I got a sampler and all the beers were good. The Bad Ass ale was really good and tasted very similar to Arrogant Bastard ale. After finishing my sampler, the following conversation ensued: Bartender: "Which was your favorite?" Me: "I really liked the Bad Ass... Are you familiar with Arrogant Bastard Ale?" Bartender: "You know... When we run out of Bad Ass sometimes we just hook up a keg of Arrogant Bastard. I'm not sure which that was."

WHAT?! This practice is false advertising and probably violates liquor laws. It's both illegal and unethical and I'm shocked that a brewery would deceive customers like this! Their beers were pretty good too, it's a shame they had to ruin it like this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Sanders Greg Sanders, Ithaca, NY
(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
The real manager was on vacation when we visited. The fake manager was rude, disrespectful, and aggressive. I was infuriated to the point of feeling that I needed to physically leave the premises after the fake manager insulted my wife. When the fake manager stated that we needed to complain before taking any bites, I had had it and insisted on paying for all the "food". I am insulted, pissed off, and waiting to talk to the real manager!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brewery at Lake Tahoe was really bad!, OR
(09/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Less than 1/2 food was edible. Confrontation over paying for dangerously prepared raw burgers, and produce in their salad unpalatable for a pasture animal. Confrontation involved young "manager" saying that we should have informed of any problems before any food was consumed. Two bites, and you bought it. Try to anticipate that a burger is going to be raw inside without biting it? I was obvisouly negligent to have bitten it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brewery at Lake Tahoe was extremely bad!, OR
(09/01/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.202 seconds) 22:10:14 54.234.0.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS