PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pizza Port Carlsbad - Carlsbad, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 11:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Carlsbad > Pizza Port Carlsbad
Pizza Port Carlsbad Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Pizza Port Carlsbad
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.2 / 100
571 Carlsbad Village Drive
Carlsbad, CA 92008
United States
(760) 434-4212
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Carlsbad, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
41 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Tom Giblin's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Green Flash Brewing Company
(3 miles)

4) Oceanside Ale Works
(4 miles)

5) Oceanside Ale Works
(4 miles)

6) Gem of the Sea Brewing Company
(4 miles)

7) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

8) Carlsbad Ale Works
(4 miles)

9) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

10) Rossi's Pizza and Sports Bar
(5 miles)

11) Breakwater Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pelican Cove Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BEACH TERRACE INN
2) BEST WESTERN BEACH VIEW LODGE
3) BEST WESTERN MARTYS VALLEY INN
4) BEST WESTERN OCEANSIDE INN
5) CARLSBAD INN BEACH RESORT
6) COURTYARD SAN DIEGO CARLSBAD
7) ECONO LODGE OCEANSIDE
8) EXTENDEDSTAY CARLSBAD
9) FAIRFIELD INN LEGOLAND
10) FOUR SEASONS AVIARA
11) GRAND PACIFIC PALISADES
12) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS OCEANSIDE
13) INNS OF AMERICA
14) INNS OF AMERICA SUITES
15) LA COSTA RESORT AND SPA
16) OAKWOOD CARLSBAD
17) OLYMPIC RESORT
18) RAMADA LIMITED OCEANSIDE
19) RED ROOF CARLSBAD
20) SUPER 8 MOTEL CARLSBAD
21) SURF MOTEL CARLSBAD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Americanization School
2) Braun, Charles A., House
3) Carlsbad Santa Fe Depot
4) Libby, Charles, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alley
2) Baskin-Robbins
3) Bellefleur Winery & Restaurant
4) Blue Moon Cafe & Deli
5) Bobby's Hideaway Cafe
6) Boston Market
7) C J De Longs Sports Pub
8) Cafe Elysa
9) California Cafe
10) Campus Cafe
11) Carl's Jr Restaurant
12) Carl's Jr Restaurant
13) Catalina Restaurant Group Inc
14) Cessy Taco Shop
15) Chopstick Charley's
16) Claim Jumper Restaurant
17) Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
18) Cold Stone Creamery
19) Coyote Bar & Grill
20) Creative Military Sales Inc
21) Croutons
22) Cyberbrew Coffee
23) Deli Wishes
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream
26) Faraday Deli
27) Floral Trade Ctr Restaurant
28) Garcia's Creative Catering
29) Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
30) Garden State Bagels
31) Golden Spoon Frozen Yogurt
32) Golden Tee Cocktail Lounge
33) Gourmet Sushi
34) Great Khans Mangolian Inc
35) Holiday Inn
36) Hot Dog On A Stick Inc
37) Islands Restaurant
38) Islands Restaurants
39) J C's Bbq
40) Jimmi's Red Hots
41) Juice It Up
42) Karl Strauss Brewery
43) King's Fish House
44) Knockout Pizzeria
45) LA Fiesta Deli
46) LA Place Deli
47) Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
48) Lola's 7 Up Market & Deli
49) Marie Callender's
50) Mc Donald's
51) Mexico Viejo
52) New York Pizza
53) Odyssey Properties
54) On The Go Expresso
55) Oscar's Restaurant
56) P J's Cafe
57) Palapa Kings
58) Palomar Airport Cafe
59) Panda Express
60) Panda Panda
61) Papa C's Fresh Mexican Food
62) Pat & Oscars
63) Pizza By The Slice
64) Pizza Hut
65) Pizza Shuttle & Subs Too
66) Raintree Catering Event
67) Rice King
68) Royal Plate
69) Rubio's Fresh Mexican Grill
70) Rubio's Restaurant Inc
71) Rubio's Restaurants Inc
72) Ruby's Diner
73) Rutherford Cafe
74) Sammy's California Woodfired
75) San Sai Japanese Grill
76) Santorini Greek Island Grill
77) Submarina
78) Taco Bell
79) Tgi Friday's
80) That Pizza Place
81) Wetzel's Pretzels Of Carlsbad
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
We've had the opportunity to visit Pizza Port Carlsbad a couple of times the past couple of weeks since one of our daughters (our orange and white tabby) is in radiation therapy down here. Each of the visits has been extremely enjoyable, though Pizza Port can be a bit hectic.

One our first visit, our beers included Avery White Rascal, PP Dubblicious, and PP Honey. Our most recent visit included the PP 547 Haight (a shout-out to the outstanding SF beer bar Toronado), Urthel Samaranth Quad, Black Lie IPA (7th anniversary brew for the classic SD beer bar Liar's Club) and Anderson Valley Summer Solstice. On both occasions, the selection and beers were great and we will continue to come back as long as they let us.

Foodwise, get the garlic beer buddies and a pizza while enjoying the eclectic crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Begley Jim Begley, Las Vegas, NV
(06/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've visited at least 100 brewpubs and microbreweries around the world and this is my favorite so far. I have been here hundreds of times. I used to live 4 blocks from here and visited several times a week. I have been away for several years. I recently returned and it was even better than I remember. The beer selection is incredible. If for some reason you can't choose from one of their dozen own beers, they have another 6-10 from other local breweries. Every beer is an excellent example of the style...try them all. The pizza is also the best on the west coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Kassner Paul Kassner, San Mateo, CA
(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Pizza Port rocks!! Great place to have great beer, great food and loads of fun...especially during the festivals and Padre games, well worth the 2 hour drive for me to get there!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ruben Meza Ruben Meza, Buena Park, CA
(03/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome! Spectacular! Superlatives escape me. What a great place. There were 15 of Pizza Port's own awesome beers on tap and 15 or more guest beers from all over California and the NW. Pizza and ambience are beach town and very noisy and busy especially on weekends. That doesn't matter though as everything that Pizza Port offers is well worth the trip. My brewpub list is now approaching 500 and Pizza Port definitely fits in the top 5.

I was also able to attend the Real Ale Festival on 6/9-10 at Pizza Port-Carlsbad and that was also a very good time though the venue is rather cramped. There were 45 assorted ales on cask that ranged from lightly hopped pale ales to a chipotle smoked porter to imperial stouts. The alcohol contents were just as varied so there was a beer there for everyone including beginners. A couple of the casks ran dry the first day and about half were gone late in the second day so there were no problems running out of beer. Great festival.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(06/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Can't go wrong here. Food was good and quickly served, the beers excellent. Picnic tables and surfing motif perfect for singles and families. Located just a few blocks from the beach. Worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review aurora, IL
(06/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
This place is the HOP BOMB!!! With TONS of selection, most had hoppy happiness. Went to Carlsbad once and discovered it - went to Carlsbad twice and got a hotel within walking distance - THAT GOOD! Killer whole grain krust pizza and all the surf videos you can watch while piling on the brew. If you don't like hops, you won't have as much to choose from, but still a great selection. A new favorite!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randito Randito, Pagosa Springs, CO
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Was in Carlsbad on vacation. Tried their Wipeout IPA, Frank IPA, and HopBag IPA. All were excellent. Plus had Stone arrogant bastard and some lost coast beers too. Probably 20+ beers on tap. They have really good pizza here too. Picnic tables are the motif with lots of interesting surf memorabilia. May not be fancy enough for the panties in a wad beer snob bunch...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(05/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I was in San Diego to visit Stone Brewing cruise up the coast checking out the brewery scene. The pourer at Sone sent me here for lunch and beer. What a great selection. 10-15 of their own beers plus Stone, Hoptown, and Alesmith too. Some great IPAS and good cask conditioned beers. The food was good too. I here it is a area chain and don't know if they are all this good but I'll go back anytime i am in town

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark e evans mark e evans, grafton, OH
(03/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
fuckin right!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlsbad, CA
(01/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
In town on business, tried the Port twice. Fantastic selection of micro brews, both their own and others. And a hop head dream come true - 6 IPA's. Most of them were pretty hoppy. The Wipeout was excellent. The double IPA on the cask was very good. Especially liked the Porter - very smooth due to the nitro pour and oats. Not too smokey. Good guest beers from Russian River, Stone and others. The pizza here is good. Service at the bar is good once they figure out your sitting there to run a tab to eat and drink, and not just to order one beer. The place is noisy and can get crowded. Have been there twice in a week, will go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Porter Robert Porter, Castle Rock, CO
(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Had a very good time drinking here. All flavors(brewmaster specials not the simple stuff for the yuppies) are very solid. So this is California...No pressure no weather just happy monotony. Works for them I guess. Was it a fluke in both pizza ports I visited patrons would scoop up leftover pizza from abandoned plates? In this place some soldiers I exchanged macho pleasantries with from nearby suffered no loss of pride in doing this. These guys may not be ready for civilian life yet or ever but God bless their loyalty to the administration in power? Or is it just a job that happens to fit well to their stilted personalities?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, country club hills, IL
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We ate dinner and drank beer at Pizza Port three nights in a row while we were visitng Calsbad. If you're in the area you absolutley have to check this place out. The only drawback is that when the place gets pretty full it's a little hard to have conversations. The Simcoe Pale Ale was killer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Drescher Dave Drescher, Maplewood, OR
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Carlsbad local, gotta love the chronic and the wipe out. foods great and so are the hard working girls behind the counter

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dustin Dustin, Carlsbad, CA
(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
When we stopped here our first day in Carlsbad, the place seemed too good to be true. After several amazing beers, we asked (unknowingly) the brewmaster for some suggestions for other brewpubs to visit. He confidently told about several and then told us we were already in the best one, though. We laughed and ventured out to seek more suds. Well, the final word is that this was the best brewpub out of the 50 we stopped at on our road trip. Every single beer we tried was superior and the pizza is also extremely good. Can't think of one bad thing to say, except that we can't get their beer here in Pittsburgh. By the way, if you're a hophead, you HAVE to try some FRANKS double IPA. You will find nothing better. Keep up the great work, Kirk!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
AAHHH the Port! No finer beer, pizza & HOT surf bunnies on the earth. I am proud to say that I was the first customer to buy a beer from the Carlsbad Port the day it opened (still dripping salt water from a nice session). This is the greatest brewery on earth... well done Vince.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Drew Anderson Drew Anderson, Breckenridge, CO
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This is a must stop place every time I am visiting this area. The beers continue to be excellent with a great selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding!! Ignore the previous remark about needing "Bud". Obviously not a beer lover!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding world-class beers - if you don't believe me, just ask the GABF! Talented and dedicated brewers (here and at Solana Beach location) that are pushing the envelope for American brewers. Excellent pizza and friendly, knowledgable service at the bar. However, bussers are slow, careless and need a big fat kick in the butt. Overall excellent!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Mello Louis Mello, San Diego, CA
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Good people, good eats, and great beers! We had their sampler tray with about 6 beers, although I think they had a dozen or more. There is a brew here for everyone. I shall return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(08/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Good bread makes good pizza and that's exactally what they have. To wash it down with nothing better but the greatest choices and tasting beer around town. Also wanting to send a special thanks to my favorite bartender David.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brittany Spencer Brittany Spencer, Escondido, CA
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
They had a fantastic pizza. They had 10 beers that they brewed and 10 other host beers. I am usually a stout or porter drinker however, their "Sharkbite Red" was excellent. It was one of their silver metal winners. The other silver metal winner was the "Switchstance Strong." Most of their beer is brewed with a high alcohol content but, not all. They also do not taste as atrong as you would think. The "Port's Oatmeal Porter" was too mellow and almost seemed flat, although it had a good flavor. You must go in for a pizza and samples!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
I've lived in Carlsbad for 15 years and have been going to Pizza Port ever since they opened the doors. I attend almost every Strong Ale, Real Ale Fest they have. They are a blast! On top of all the great beer, whenever I ask my kids where should we go, it's always "PIZZA PORT DAD!" Keep up the good work Pizza Port, we'll always be coming! Speaking of Pizz Port, I heard you guys are opening one in San Clemente. What's the haps with the opening date?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Carlsbad, CA
(07/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Awesome! Good Awesome!
The greatest place for the chill and hang out kind of atmosphere. I love it how I can go in with my buds. By yself, or with family and feel comfortable and have agood time all the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bekka, Carlsbad, CA
(04/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
The Pizza is ok. Nothing to go crazy about. I appreciate their wide selection of beer but wish they had just the plain old "King", Budweiser

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Matt, Carlsbad, Ca
(04/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
i am with the sunday night crew! you know who we are. It's a pleasure for us to give you guys our business every sunday without a doubt( it's our church) Thanks leeann you are the best! love ya from Sunday crew

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, oceanside, CA
(03/01/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.888 seconds) 11:49:57 54.234.128.252, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS