PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


AleSmith Brewing Company - San Diego, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 06:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > San Diego > AleSmith Brewing Company
AleSmith Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
AleSmith Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.7 / 100
9368 Cabot Drive
San Diego, CA 92126
United States
(858) 549-9888
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for San Diego, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
11 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Callahan's Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Firehouse Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ramada Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MIRAMAR
2) CALIFORNIA SUITES
3) COURTYARD SAN DIEGO CENTRAL
4) DAYS INN LA JOLLA / SEA WORLD
5) HAMPTON INN SAN DIEGO KRN
6) LA QUINTA RANCHO PENASQUITOS
7) QUALITY SUITES
8) RAMADA INN CONF CTR
9) RAMADA LIMITED
10) RESIDENCE INN SAN DIEGO CENTRAL
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Deli Right Next Door
2) Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
3) Alberto's Mexican Food
4) Amber's Restaurant Bar Grill
5) Ashoka The Great
6) Backboard Catering Co
7) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
8) Bamboo Hut Pacific Grill
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Baskin-Robbins
11) Beijing Restaurant
12) Bento-Sushi Japanese Rstrnt
13) Black Angus Restaurant
14) Bobby's Deli
15) Buca Di Beppo
16) C's Ice Cream & Deli
17) California Thai Cafe
18) Callahan's Pub & Brewery
19) Carl's Jr
20) Carl's Jr Restaurant
21) Carl's Jr Restaurant
22) Carl's Jr Restaurant
23) Carmelita's Taco Shop
24) Carriage Trade Catering
25) Catering California
26) Chez Nous
27) Chili's Grill & Bar
28) Chin's Seafood & Grill
29) Chin's Szechwan Restaurant
30) China Cafe
31) Chipotle Mexican Grill
32) Chow King
33) Chuck E Cheese's
34) Club Expose
35) Coco's Family Restaurant
36) Coconut Grove
37) Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
38) Deli Delight
39) Deli Express
40) Deli Mart
41) Deli Queen
42) Domino's Pizza
43) Don Lucio's Taco Shop II
44) Down Home Bar-B-Q Inc
45) East Buffet Inc
46) Eddels Deli
47) Egg Roll Castle
48) El Pollo Loco
49) El Torito Mexican Restaurant
50) Executive Cafe
51) Express Deli Mart
52) Farrell's Ice Cream Parlour
53) Fiesta Catering Inc
54) Fuddruckers
55) Glen Freter Restaurant
56) Gold Leaf Restaurant & Bar
57) Home Town Buffet
58) Hong Kong Barbeque & Dim Sum
59) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
60) Huynh Family Investments LLC
61) Ichiro Japanese Restaurant
62) International House-Pancakes
63) International House-Pancakes
64) J D Pub
65) Jack In The Box
66) Jollibee
67) Joy Entertainment Inc
68) Juan Bertos Mexican Food
69) Keith's Family Restaurant
70) Kim's House
71) Kolbeh Restaurant
72) L & L Hawaiian Barbecue
73) Lorrich & Assoc
74) Madras Cafe
75) Mandarin Garden Restaurant
76) Mc Donald's
77) Meiki Japanese Restaurant
78) Mira Mesa Inn
79) New Manila Restaurant
80) New York Giant Pizza
81) Newform Of San Diego
82) Nugents Fishgrille & Market
83) Panda Express
84) Panera Bread
85) Pangabi Tandoor
86) Papa John's Pizza
87) Party Pro's Catering Inc
88) Party Pros Catering
89) Pat & Oscar's Restaurants
90) Pernicano's Family Restaurant
91) Pho Hoa Anh Restaurant
92) Pick Up Stix
93) Pizza Hut
94) Pizza Hut
95) Quick Korner
96) Quiznos Sub
97) Ramirez Taco Shop
98) Randy Jones Big Stone Lodge
99) Red Lobster Restaurant
100) Rice King
101) Rubio's Fresh Mexican Grill
102) Salsa Fiesta Mexican Food
103) Sam's Cafe
104) Shozen Japanese Barbeque
105) Sombrero Mexican Food
106) Steakhouse Partners Inc
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Taco Bell
110) Umenoya Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Awesome! Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The beer selection tends not to be as dominated by IPAs at Alesmith as at other San Diego breweries. We tried several of their beers (photo of tap list was uploaded), and all were excellent. But the standout was the Speedway stout. This is an Imperial Stout (12%), so it would be nice to have a DD. This is one of the best stouts made in America. There are several imperial stouts that are similar, but for my taste, this is the winner. None of the other beers was especially unusual or exciting (we had been to Ballast Point earlier that day).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom , las cruces, NM
(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Odd hours but well worth trying to plan a visit. Seems small for the amount of beer that they produce but the quality and number of beers offered are extraordinary. Enjoyed the tasting with one of the brewers who was able to answer questions and describe each beer as I tasted it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(06/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was upset to find on their website that they were not open on the weekend. I was only in SD for one day, a SAT, and had called numerous times the week leading up to my visit. After calls and messages trying to arrange a weekend appointment/visit as advised on the website, I was in and out of SD on that one day never having heard back from Alesmith. I have had two of their beers in bottle form, but would have loved a tour and draft tasting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Outstanding British- and Belgian-style ales. Their IPA and ESB are top-knotch. Seasonals such as Evil Dead Red, Yulesmith Double IPA, and Horny Devil Belgian-style Golden Ale are very rich and flavorful. Great beers all the way around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(11/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Every time I am in the SD area I plan on stopping here. The staff is friendly and the beer is great! The extra pale ale is a nicely hopped ale and the esb is fantastic. If you're in the area, check out the Coronado Brewing Company also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gman Gman, West Bend, WI
(06/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The beers on tap at the brewery are quite good. But if you really want to know what Alesmith is all about try some of their bottle conditioned ales, they are absolutely fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The 2001 Holiday "Yulesmith" offering was one of the finest beers to ever hit my taste buds. THANKS ALESMITH!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Andrejko Bill Andrejko, San Diego, CA
(02/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Good British and Belgium style ales, also great seasonal selections. Never had a bad beer from them, they're good guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Escondido, CA
(10/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A
First time I had the Pale Alein the Gaslamp Quarter, it was 100% Pure Skunk beer. However, that must have been a bad batch, since both Pale Ale and IPA are now fairly drinkable...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good
Just so you know, this place is just a brewery. They've got 4 taps in back with a few chairs around them. The first time I stopped in, one of the owners took me in back and let me sample all four beers he had available. None of the four floored me, though I found the Brown to be drinkable and purchased a growler. It was well recieved by others who tried it that night back at home. These guys are good people. Support their products whenever possible!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, San Diego, CA
(04/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Very authentic British style beers as well as a variety of other ales. Not afraid to experiment with new styles and they always hit the mark. I've never been disappointed with any of their beers and am usually very impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(08/13/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.471 seconds) 18:18:55 54.91.120.117, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS