PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Boundary Bay Brewery - Bellingham, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 09:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Bellingham > Boundary Bay Brewery
Boundary Bay Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Boundary Bay Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
1107 Railroad Avenue
Bellingham, WA 98225
United States
(360) 647-5593
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bellingham, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Boundary Bay Brewery
36 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Archer Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Village Inn Pub and Eatery
(0 mile)

3) La Fiamma
(0 mile)

4) Uisce Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Green Frog Cafe Acoustic Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Chuckanut Brewery and Kitchen
(0 mile)

7) Grandstands
(1 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Secret Garden Salon
2) Bed & Breakfast Guild-Whatcom
3) DE Cann House Bed & Breakfast
4) Fairhaven Bed & Breakfast
5) Inn At Paradise Farms
6) North Garden Inn
7) Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast
8) Squalicum Lake Cottage
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN LAKEWAY INN
2) BW HERITAGE INN
3) COMFORT INN BELLINGHAM
4) DAYS INN BELLINGHAM
5) HAMPTON INN BELLINGHAM
6) HOTEL BELLWETHER
7) QUALITY INN BARON SUITES
8) RAMADA INN BELLINGHAM
9) RODEWAY INN BELLINGHAM
10) TRAVELODGE BELLINGHAM N SAMISH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aftermath Clubhouse
2) B. P. O. E. Building
3) Bacon, George H., House
4) Bellingham National Bank Building
5) Black, Alfred L., House
6) Donovan, J. J., House
7) Eldridge Homesite and Mansion
8) Fairhaven Library
9) Flatiron Building
10) Gamwell House
11) Great Northern Passenger Station
12) Larrabee House
13) Leopold Hotel
14) Morse, Robert I., House
15) Mount Baker Theatre
16) Old Main, Western Washington State College
17) Pickett House
18) Roeder, Victor A., House
19) Roth, Lottie, Block
20) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
21) Wardner, James F., House
22) Washington Grocery Company Warehouse
23) Whatcom Museum of History and Art
24) Young Women's Christian Association
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 20th Century Bowling
2) A Casa Que' Pasa
3) Agate Bay Gourmet
4) Anthony's
5) Arlis's Restaurant
6) Bandito's Burritos
7) Bayside Cafe
8) Boundary Bay Brewing & Bistro
9) Cafe Akroteri
10) Cafe La Gente
11) Cafe Toulouse
12) Calumet
13) Cap Hansen's Tavern
14) Casa Kitchen
15) Cascade Pizza & Italian
16) China Delight
17) China Gourmet Express
18) Cicchitti's On Holly
19) City View Grill
20) Cliff House
21) D'anna's Cafe Italiano
22) Elegant Affairs Catering
23) Eleni's Family Restaurant
24) Emerald Bay Events
25) Emerald Bay Events Sapphire Co
26) Emerald City Pizza
27) Espinoza Mexican Restaurant
28) Factory
29) Fairhaven Pizza Co
30) Fiesta En America
31) Fino Wine Bar
32) Flat Tapas Bar
33) Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant
34) Gloria's Mexican Restaurant
35) Good Taste Chinese Food
36) Gourmet Cuisine Inc
37) Grandstands Eatery & Beer
38) Great Northern Espresso
39) Habaneros Family Mexican Rest
40) Hana Teriyaki Rstrnt
41) Harborside Bistro
42) Hawii B-B-Q
43) Hizzoner's Uptown Deli
44) Holly St Diner
45) Hong Kong Garden Restaurant
46) Horseshoe Restaurant
47) House Of Orient/Thai Cuisine
48) IHOP
49) India Grill Restaurant & Bqt
50) Iwanamoka
51) Jalepena Mexican
52) Jeckyl & Hyde Deli
53) Keg Restaurant
54) Key Northwest
55) Kfc
56) King Street Coffee
57) Koi Cafe
58) Korean Restaurant Teriaky
59) La Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza
60) La Pinata Mexican Restaurant
61) Little Caesars Pizza
62) Little Cheerful Cafe
63) Lucci's Bayshore Pizzeria
64) Majestic
65) Mallard Ice Cream & Cafe
66) Mama Cassie's Italian Rstrnt
67) Mannino's Italian Restaurant
68) Marina Restarant
69) Marina Restaurant
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mcdonald's Restaurants
72) Mediterranean Specialties Cafe
73) Morrie's Drive-In
74) New China Cafe
75) Nicki's Bella Marina
76) Nimbus
77) Northside Restaurant & Lounge
78) Northwood Hall
79) Odyssey Bay Cafe
80) Oishii Teriyaki
81) Old Town Cafe
82) On Rice Thai Cuisine
83) Orchard Street Brewery
84) Oriento Restaurant
85) Osaka Restaurant
86) Pacific Cafe
87) Papa John's Pizza
88) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
89) Pepper Sisters
90) Pho 99
91) Pita Pit
92) Pizza Time
93) Pizzazza
94) Port Of Subs
95) Quarterback Pub & Eatery
96) Quiznos Sub
97) Roguehero Sports Bar
98) Royal
99) Rudy's Pizzeria
100) Sandwich Odyssey
101) Seoul Garden
102) Stuart Anderson's Black Angus
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Suporn Thai Cuisine
105) Swan Cafe
106) T J's Place
107) Taco Del Mar
108) Teriyaki Bar
109) Tokyo House
110) Village Inn Pub & Eatery Inc
111) Web Locker Restaurant
112) Wild Garlic
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Their amber is snappier than their ESB, but what the heck. My wife starts thinking about their fish tacos, before we get off BC ferries. It's a great find, and we always look forward to going back. 4 stars out of 5

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from noel fowles noel fowles, salt spring island, BC
(03/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Always a good bet to stop here. The cask amber was $3.50 and was okay. I assume it was truly cask, but didn't see it dispensed. The $4.50 oatmeal stout was also good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
This brewery used to be the best there was. Now they brew so much for outside accounts it is often green. This is no hangover to fool around with and only after a couple of pints. All of the beers, with exception of the dry Irish Stout (very good by the way) are over hopped. The service is awful. The worst in town and probably in the state. It's like being stuck in I-5 traffic and thinking it could work if the people in front could just learn to merge. Well, if they could only learn to serve....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Dougherty John Dougherty, Bellingham, WA
(05/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
We were in the Bellingham area and used Pubcrawler to look up the BBB, great reviews and the place lived up to the hype! Had the sampler and all the beers were fantastic!!!!! Had an extra pint of the Amber with lunch and the Oatmeal Stout for desert. The food was amazing, the Pastrami sandwich may have been one of the best I have ever eaten, my wife had the Pork sandwich and we both look forward to returning next time we are close.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Sullivan Larry Sullivan, Hauser, ID
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
Being fortunate enough to live in Bellingham, we've been going to BBB ever since they opened and they truely have the best beer around. My husband is a beer nut and when we travel we hit darn near every brewery we come along and have yet to find one with better beer than BBB. The food is always excellent. The service is generally good, some servers are fabulous and some, well.... aren't (I have been heard to say a time or two in the past 10 years that some of them "suck", but it's rare and generally it's a new server and if they "suck" they don't last). They are often fairly busy so the servers can get a little backlogged as can the kitchen and bartender, but knowing how good the beer and food is makes it all worthwhile. In the summer the outdoor garden area is open with scheduled live music and movies (check out their web site for info. as they have a lot going on). A great place to hang out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sonja arps sonja arps, Bellingham, WA
(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I won't add much to the previous review. When I arrived there were several signs around that stated that the last keg of the 2005 IIPA was being served. Of course I had to help dispose of this keg and I was definitely impressed. What a great beer. And the Nitro Dry Stout is no slouch either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(07/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I am a homebrewer in Michigan who recently had the good fortune of finding this place on a trip to the Blaine area.WOW, the Imperial IPA was the best i've ever had. The balance leans toward the hops in this amazingly strong and hoppy beer.The IPA (inside passage ale) was also a great representation of the style with huge hop flavor and aroma.My travels through washington led me to several breweries,The North Fork,Elysian,Pyramid,Big Time and Pike Brewing company.Boundry Bay was by far the best beer in washington if not the whole northwest!A must if you're anywhere in Washington, well worth the drive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Gerds Bill Gerds, Grand Blanc, MI
(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Whereas the real estate in Bellingham appears to be inflated, the visits we recently made to Boundary Bay Brewery were so positive that we were able to leave that angst behind. I live in Denver (and I appreciate good brew as I've been a homebrewer for years) and noticed that some of your wares are bottled. Didn't know that. Is there any location in Denver where I could buy your ales? Thanks... Bill

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Hoge Bill Hoge, Denver, CO
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Pretty good overall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I visited again late July. Really considering moving to Bellingham. Only problem is that if I did I'd be here all the time and my wife and kids would disown me. The beer continues to be among the best anywhere year after year. A must stop when within 100 miles of Bellingham.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Kilmer Aaron Kilmer, Azusa, CA
(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Went on a slow Sunday afternoon and was suprised at the slow service. I had tasted a number of the beers in Seattle, but this was the first time to try them all....

BLONDE ALE - quite good for a blonde, clean & crisp, but w/ a lot of body. One of the best "blonde" ales I have had, though a bit sweet (w/ citrus notes). 8 out of 10.

ESB - I have had this before & still don't think it is that great (try Maritime Pacific's). Not as malty/sweet as you would expect, but a nice amount of hops. It'a a little thinner than you would expect, with a bit of a lingering ascerbic aftertaste. Still better than most. 7 out of 10.

IPA - Excellent, nice grapefruit notes, malty, a lot of hops but very well balanced. One of the best in the area (which is saying a lot!) 9 out of 10.

AMBER - caramel/toffeeish start, almost like a sweet porter. A lot more depth than the usual "amber", really nice balance. One of the best of the style - 8.5 out of 10.

Scotch Ale - one of my favorite styles, but my only disappointment of the beers. Amazing lack of depth, especially considering the Amber. No somke flavor and lacking in malt, more hops than should be obvious in this style. 6 out of 10.

IMPERIAL OATMEAL STOUT - interesting, very strong alcohol finish. Hard to taste the oatmeal. Smooth, but almost a mismatch of styles. 7 out of 10.

PILSNER - this was a seasonal. I don't generally like lagers, but this was excellent. Certainly the best I have had in the Northwest. A really nice balance of malt (wow, actual malt in a lager!) and hops (wow, it isn't just 15 IBU). One of the best I have had in this country - 9 out of 10.

DRY HOPPED ESB - hard to believe this is the same basic recipe as the ESB (that is what I was told) - has much more malt and better balanced, even though it clearly also has more hops than the regular version. 8 out of 10.

IRISH DRY STOUT - seasonal, smooth, nice, "soft". Missing a bit of the flavor, but does have some of the chocolate/coffee notes - 7 out of 10.

IMPERIAL IPA. More of a good thing, but I actually didn't like this one as much as the regular version. Still excellent, 8.5 out of 10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Seattle, WA
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Very glad I went to this place. Went on a Tuesday, they had a band that night. Very nice beer garden down below the brewpub. Food was really very good, as was service. I had an oatmeal stout which was excellent, very sweet tasting which is the kind of stout I enjoy. They also had an irish stout that was great if more bitterness is your thing. The IPA was also very good. Overall I would highly recommend this brewpub if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Billings, MT
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of the best breweries in Washington. Somewhat out of the way for a visitor to Seattle but well worth the visit. And you needn't go all the way to Bellingham for just Diamond Knot as there are 3 other outstanding breweries nearby. IIPA is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Ogden, UT
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I love this place... We've been coming here for a number of years now. The ales are awesome, especially the IPA and Oatmeal Stout. The food pairs well with the ales. No deep fry at this place. Nothing like a smoked salmon chowder and oatmeal stout. MMmmm. We are lucky enough to usually get the same waitress. Very friendly and always remembers us even if we haven't been for a year. I hope they never change.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Harrison Hot Springs, BC
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
A third visit on the way back from Vancouver. This feedback mostly focuses on the service.

This time I went for dinner on a Monday night -- i.e. a slow, lazy summer evening. I originally planned on sitting in the regular dining area. However, after waiting for someone to seat me for five minutes, I gave up and sat in the "tap room". I guess they really meant it when their sign said "Please wait to be seated" (the key word being wait).

After another five minutes someone took my drink order. Now that was fine, but, for some reason, it took another ten minutes for the Best Bitter that I ordered to appear. Is it just me, or is that an excessively long time on a slow evening when I'm sitting twenty feet from the bar?

Then I ordered an Oatmeal Stout (a personal favorite). The waitress came back five minutes later to tell me that the Stout was out and "they" suggested a winter ale (forget the name). She couldn't describe it so she finally offered a sample. Now, again, perhaps I'm in the minority here, but I expect a server in a brew pub to be a) aware of what is available and, b) knowledgeable of the company's beers. Note to Boundary Bay management: Hire people that have an interest/passion for beer and/or train them properly before you expose them to customers.

Finally, the pork tacos were a poor cousin of the favored fish tacos.

I will return, but my next trip to Bellingham may take me to the Archer Ale House instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The atmosphere is different depanding on wher you sit. The outdoor patio is pleasant during the summer. teh bar area is open and boisterous. The more "formal" (and I use that term loosely) is very cozy.

I only had two beers -- Best Biter (ESB) and Oatmeal Stout. The ESB is a nice hoppy bitter, but not overwhlemingly so. Very nice with spicier foods. The stout has a nice roasted chocolate flavor that I love -- nice dessert beer.

I had the fish tacos that were very nice -- close (for the NW) to the fish tacos I used to enjoy in Houston. Generous chuncks of fish with avocado, cabbage and a white sauce wrapped in two corn tortilla -- served with a nice (but, somewhat bland) rice and black beans.

This brew pub is worth the visit if you are in the area -- e.g. on your way to Vancouver/Whistler (just a couple miles off I5).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Lousy So So
ive been in several times, i live in bellingham, and the service usually isnt that great. Its like they need some more competetion or they arent hungry enough

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review mark, bellingham, wa
(03/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Well worth the stop for drinks and dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Austin Hart Austin Hart, Troutdale, OR
(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You would never know that a former warehouse would hold such promise. Hands down this is one of the finest establishments of its kind in the the NW if not the USA. The atmosphere is excellent, not pretentious or stuffy at all. The brewers and the clientele know their stuff. And their beer, well to anyone that's been there knows that their beer is unparalleled. The Best Bitter is the elixir of the Gods. If I could drink only one beer for the rest of my life it would be this beer. All the others are worth returning to Bellingham every year from SoCal as well. It's a shame this place wasn't open when I was a student at Western Wash. Univ. Makes me wish I still lived in the NW.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Kilmer Aaron Kilmer, Covina, CA
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You would never know that a former warehouse would hold such promise. Hands down this is one of the finest establishments of its kind in the the NW if not the USA. The atmosphere is excellent, not pretentious or stuffy at all. The brewers and the clientele know their stuff. And their beer, well to anyone that's been there knows that their beer is unparalleled. The Best Bitter is the elixir of the Gods. If I could drink only one beer for the rest of my life it would be this beer. All the others are worth returning to Bellingham every year from SoCal as well. It's a shame this place wasn't open when I was a student at Western Wash. Univ. Makes me wish I still lived in the NW.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Kilmer Aaron Kilmer, Covina, CA
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is perfectly supplemented by the ambiance of the brewery itself. Makes for an amazing experience

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Bellingham, WA
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Brewer let me take a taste of the yet to be tapped Bock...awesome!! must stop!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
Being Canadian, i would know.....The IPA is the best in the house. Give it a shot...the others........whatever

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marshall Marshall, West Van, BC
(01/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Of the city's two brewpubs, this is the more-happening one, located near downtown. Menu OK, but not as good as Orchard Street. Beers were great though, and they show movies on the wall when the weather allows. To see a picture of this and other area brewpubs, go to: http://NWBrewpubs.homestead.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(08/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Very friendly place! Incredible beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Simmons Matthew Simmons, Richmond, VA
(08/08/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.246 seconds) 09:43:06 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS