PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Skagit River Brewing Company - Mount Vernon, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 01:03 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Mount Vernon > Skagit River Brewing Company
Skagit River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Skagit River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.6 / 100
404 South Third Street
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
United States
(360) 336-2884
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Mount Vernon, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
26 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) PorterHouse Pub
(0 mile)

2) Hops Mountain Ale House
(0 mile)

3) Trumpeter Public House
(0 mile)

4) North Sound Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arts Place
2) Barnhouse Bed & Breakfast
3) Benson Farmstead
4) Colonial Manor Bed & Breakfast
5) Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast
6) Ridgeway Bed & Breakfast
7) Storyville Bed & Breakfast
8) Valentine House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bethsaida Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church Parsonage
2) Skagit City School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Best Teriyaki
2) Chef 911
3) Chinese Buffet
4) Coffee Shack Co
5) Darren's Donut
6) Domino's Pizza
7) El Cazador
8) Fortune Mandarin Restaurant
9) Garden Cafe
10) Georgio Sub's Soups & Salads
11) Hops Mountain Ale House
12) Il Granaio
13) Jackpot Teriyaki
14) KOKO Rae's
15) Longbranch Saloon
16) Mama's Deli
17) Mc Donald's
18) Mt Vernon Cafe & Lounge
19) Pizza Hut
20) Porterhouse
21) Porto Restaurant & Wine Bar
22) Pynors Market & Deli
23) Quiznos Sub
24) Ralston's Town & Country
25) Rick's Just A Bite
26) River City Billiards
27) River City Broiler
28) Sahara Pizza
29) Starbucks
30) Taco Alto
31) Tokyo Stop & Teriyaki
32) Town Pump Tavern
33) Wienerschnitzel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good N/A So So
I love beer a lot and it was that love that brought me to this site. I've read some of the reviews and I feel the need to give my humble opinion about it. At one point in a beer drinkers life, the training wheels must come off. For me, that was leaving the world of mass-produced American lagers and moving to the world of micro-brews. Early on in this journey, Skagit River Brewery was a big part with the Steelie Brown. But, like in all facets of life, we mature into a desire for more. More complexity, more intensity, more quality, more consistency... After we drink micro-brews long enough we begin to pull out the nuances of each style in relation to each brewer. For me, a transition from "malt-heavy" ales to more intensely flavored IPA's was my journey. The foundation for which I base a good IPA on is from the nice folks up in Bellingham at Boundary Bay Brewery. If you really want to get serious about fine brew, then that's where we need to start. Their IPA is what I refer to as the "old standby" and their Imperial IPA is what I think beer will taste like in Heaven. It is as close to a perfect IPA that I can find. The hop balance, flavor, and intensity is right where it needs to be. Now, having said that I don't want to make it sound like I hate the beer from "The Skag." Thats not the case. I really feel that its just average brew. My favorite "non-brewery" establishment is the Porterhouse alehouse also in Mt. Vernon. My argument is supported by the fact that you can't ever find brew from the skag in an alehouse that's only a few blocks away. So, to those who think that Skagit River Brewery has great beer... hey, I think that's wonderful. Ignorance is bliss. Remember I was once there myself at a previous point in my walk with beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, La Conner, WA
(04/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I think that some of the people on this forum have been a little harsh on the SRBC. I used to work there, and let me tell you, I HATE this place more than anyone. However I still think that if you are looking for a pub to enjoy, this is the place. The atmosphere is outstanding. The service is amazing as well. I will admit that the food does have it's ups and downs, but in the past couple of years that has been due to staffing. There have been a lot of young, inexperienced cooks going through the SRBC recently, and not because of the place itself, but because of unreliable staff members looking for an easy job, and inexpensive beer. When I worked there, I was one of the youngest employees, but ended up training probably six or more cooks in less than six months. The quality food there is extremely hard to obtain on a uniform level with the set up of the building. The BBQ and pizza portion of the menu is great. And seasonal daily specials are creative and tasty. Seafood items take longer to cook, but are worth the wait. The beers are all great. I have sampled all of them and some of them were sampled extensively. I do not prefer to drink microbrews, but these all have great flavors. My personal favorites are the Trupeter Stout, the 3 Angels Barley Wine, and probalby the Del Rio or Yellowjacket. The last two have a little less "kick" than the others, but have excellent body flavors. The SRBC is does not have the largest brew area or kitchen, but they put out an amazing amout of products to the customer everyday. Please, try this place. They deserve more credit than what some of the people on this forum have given to them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anonymous Anonymous, Burlington, WA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Good So So
OK. This brewery really used to be something special. And I don't mean last year. I mean yearrrrrrrs ago. I simply can't give brewery a strong rating without it having good beer. And this brewery no longer has good beer. For some stupid reason, I still go back on occasion. The food, service, and atmosphere are all fine (particularly the atmosphere) but the beer? What happened? Anyone saying that Skagit River Brewery's beer is excellent (or even good) either was incredibly lucky by receiving a good batch (yes, it is terribly inconsistent) or simply doesn't know their stuff. The ORIGINAL "Steely Brown" was an amazing beer. It is now called "Skagit Brown". The most recent one I had was actually not bad but the previous 4 or 5 were really, really bad. The taste reminds me of off flavors I have gotten with bad batches of home brew. The Stout and Porter used to be great but, like most of the "recent" browns, it has lots of off flavors that shouldn't be there. IPAs are my favorite but I won't even order the Skullers anymore. The fact they have pride in it is really shameful. Yes, it is bitter (like any IPA should be) but it lacks any really hop character and, once again, has all kinds of off flavors. I certainly understand that there can be "good" beers that I don't like but when virtually all of their beers aren't good, and aren't' even consistent, it is a real sign of problems. I hope that, at some point, a new brewer steps in and revamps the beers because I really used to like this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A A, Bellingham, WA
(01/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Just the thought of another Pint of the Scullers IPA can bring a tear to my eyes. It is that good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, port orchard, WA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Decided to try this place on the way home from Vancouver (two minutes off I-5, exit 226) during the holiday weekend (7/2).

They had a half dozen beers available. I tried the Yellowjacket Plae Ale and the Sculler's IPA. The Yellowjacket was a nice English style bitter -- well balanced. A good session beer at 3.5% ABW (yes, the quote by weight). The Sculler's was stronger (7% ABW) and hoppier. Both very nice.

I had the Turkey Melt, served on toasted rye, which was very satisfying. I particularly liked the honey horseradish coleslaw.

They also have a pleasant outdoor seating area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
My wife and I first came across this place a few years ago on our way home from a trip. We loved it then. Very comfortable with couches, board games, great character. What we liked was the atmosphere. Great jazz playing lightly in the background while we enjoyed a cheese platter that we still talk about. The beer's were so-so but the whole experience made up for it. Then we stopped in a couple of weeks ago. It's not the same. It seemed dirty and lacked character. gone are the couches etc. The menu is completely different. They say they have real BBQ and the smoker outside was working, but the menu sure did'nt reflect it. I did have the beef brisket on the bun, but it was smothered in BBQ sauce and I could'nt taste the smoke flavour. The bun was just some standard white bread bulk special. My wife had a salad that was inedible. How can you screw up a salad. I felt this place was just serving up standard sub-par crud and did'nt care what people thought. And now the ales.... I love a good IPA. Even a sub-par IPA I can enjoy or appreciate the effort, but, I could not finish the skagits attempt at one. Awful after taste. I love bitter but this was strange. Getting back to the cleanliness. My wife says she has been in better gas station bathrooms. WE won't be back....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Harrison Hot Springs, BC
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The brews have improved over the years! The Trumpeter Stout is a must try. Decptively smooth with well rounded malty flavors, this is a BIG beer but goes down - oh so smooth. The brown is a very flavorful slightly sweet and a very complex brew. The Dutch Girl lager is a wonderful session beer, really good stuff. For those who must have something like the big boys make there is Del Rio. I enjoyed my tasting. The brewer was friendly and even willing to share yeast with with a needy homebrewer. As with a few other brewpubs in Western Washington, you can watch the trains zoom by outside the window of this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Reister Kenneth Reister, Olympia, WA
(02/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Great
We stopped in with our daughter during a private party being held in the lower level. The music was Irish, and that was a real treat for us. the pizza was fantastic. Service was good and the waitress was very attentive. We will come back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allyn, WA
(12/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I must revise my previous comments. I visited on a recent trip back to my hometown of MV. I had not been to SRB since 1996. I admit that it was much better in 2003 in 1996. It is a family friendly place (important when you have a 9 month old) with a decent selection of brews. Food was good also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Aaron Kilmer, Covina, CA
(05/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I liked the place so much I bought one of their "Dutch Gold" logo jean shirts. Their Shepards Pie was especially good at my last visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William G. Chapman William G. Chapman, Kent, WA
(04/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Choose any beer and you can't go wrong. My favorite is the Dutch Gold. I prefer it to any other locally brewed beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Anita Kressner, Issaquah, WA
(04/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Nice little Brewery. Service was average. Beer was good. I liked the Yellow Jacket Pale Ale best. Musicneeds to change. Somehow early 70's pop/rock doesn't fit. Loved the train going by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joey Joey, Walla Walla, WA
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great
I live in Mt. Vernon yet travel extensively with my job. I visit many brewpubs across the country and SRBC is amongst the to 10 or 15% (I'm not being a homer). The Yellow Jacket Pale is very refreshing and the Trumpeter when is season is great for a cold winters night. Nice 1800's feel especially when the lights are low and the train (which is literally yards away) rumbles by. This adds to its old country Pub ambiance. The backgrond music they play does not suit the Pub historic feel. The pizza is great. Occasionally the serice can be a little slow. They fix those two things and they move into the top 5%

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Mt. Vernon, WA
(12/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
not the most extensive menu,but not horrible either.decent line-up of brew,pilchuck ipa my fave when available.their brown ale and stout is also above-average.just a stone-throw from the interstate,well worth the stop if in skagit county.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
I have to strongly disagree with the previous entry. Having grown up in Mt. Vernon and having visited 50+ brewpubs on the west coast alone, I can honestly say that Skagit River Brewing is NOT even the best brewpub in Skagit/Whatcom counties let alone the entire coast. It's a great place if you like a train rumbling by causing you to spill your beer. Other than that the atmosphere is OK. Unless the beer has drastically changed in the past couple of years (I suppose it's possible), there are much better places for a pint (read: Boundary Bay & Orchard Street in Bellingham).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Kilmer Aaron Kilmer, Covina, CA
(10/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Best pub on the West Coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Buttrey David Buttrey, Sedro-Woolley, WA
(10/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Well worth the stop!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Imperial Stout is unique and impressive. Pale Ale is hoppy and flavorful. Food is good and worth trying.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Elder G. Elder, Waldorf, MD
(01/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So
Socially responsible Brewery. Willing to Call Police to Protect the Public after they deem they have served too much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Knight Phil Knight, Seattle, WA
(09/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Better beer in Bellingham and LaConner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Burnett Glenn Burnett, Cedar Knolls, NJ
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
We visit Skagit often and enjoy the Dutch Gold and Steelie Brown. The staff and service are awesome but we would like to see more variety on the menu. Try the Artichoke Jalapino Dip, it's fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Clear Lake, WA
(12/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Great friendly and helpfull staff. Good atmosphere with a train running by the doorstep.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don O'Connell Don O'Connell, Vancouver, BC
(10/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Since I live in Anacortes and several of my friends live in Bellingham, we use this great pub as a meeting place for lunch on a regular basis. It has a wonderful, fun atmosphere and great food. I'm not much of a beer drinker, but my friends are and they all rate it great that area as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ellen Johnson Ellen Johnson, Anacortes, WA
(09/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
This small brewpub is coming into its own. I have visted 3 or 4 times and each time is better than before. If you are headed to or from the San Juans from the Seattle area this is worth a quick stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. David McKinstry S. David McKinstry, Renton, WA
(08/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Fun end to a day at the tulips.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Collins Doug Collins, SeaTac, WA
(04/18/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.346 seconds) 01:03:23 54.80.17.224, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS