PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub - Olympia, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 22, 2014 @ 03:25 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Olympia > Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub
Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.9 / 100
515 Jefferson Street Southeast
Olympia, WA 98501
United States
(360) 943-6480
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: February 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Olympia, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Ben Moore's
(0 mile)

2) Fourth Avenue Tavern
(0 mile)

3) Piper's Lady
(0 mile)

4) McMenamins Spar Cafe
(0 mile)

5) East Side Club
(5 miles)

6) Westside Tavern
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Swantown Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN ALADDIN MOTOR INN
2) BW TUMWATER INN
3) COMFORT INN TUMWATER
4) ECONO LODGE OLYMPIA
5) EXTENDEDSTAY OLYMPIA TUMWATER
6) RAMADA INN GOVERNOR HOUSE
7) RED LION OLYMPIA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen House Hotel
2) American Legion Hall
3) Capital Boulevard Crossing
4) Chamber's Prairie--Ruddell Pioneer Cemetery
5) Cloverfields
6) Elks Building
7) Funk House
8) Jeffers Studio
9) Lord, C. J., Mansion
10) McCleary, Henry, House
11) Mottman Building
12) Old Capitol Building
13) Olympia National Bank
14) Olympia Public Library
15) Patnude, Charles, House
16) Reinhart--Young House
17) Rudkin, Frank, House
18) SAND MAN (Tug Boat)
19) Schmidt, F. W., House
20) Steele, Alden Hatch, House
21) Thurston County Courthouse
22) Town Square
23) Tumwater Methodist Church
24) Union Cemetery--Pioneer Calvary Cemetery
25) Women's Club
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bavarian Wurst
2) Capitol Grill
3) Eastside Club Tavern
4) Elyse's Pot-Pourri Deli
5) Flavored Cup
6) Ginette's Expresso
7) Hannah's
8) Hawaiian Honu Fish Co Inc
9) Heritage Room
10) Heyday Cafe
11) Koibito Japenese Restaurant
12) Los Tulenos
13) Luna's
14) Mc Coy's Tavern
15) Mercato Ristorante
16) Oasis At The Olympla Airport
17) Off The Chain
18) Old Red Barn
19) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
20) Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen
21) Plenty Restaurant & Catering
22) Point Tavern
23) Quizno's Classic Subs
24) Quiznos Sub
25) Red Top Bbq
26) Saratoga Coffee
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Nice place in the heart of d'town Olympia. They had ten taps going with a mix of Fish Brewing and Leavenworth Brewing and one cask along with a decent wine selection. Went through a pint each of the Organic Amber,IPA and Mudshark Porter along with the Octoberfest on cask. All good drinking especially the Porter. Decent food menu. Enjoyed the Reuben I had. Service seems a bit skewed to the locals. Hate seeing my glass sit empty for very long. Sorry sports fans;no TVs. Guess you'll have to converse. Worth going there to see the aquatic-based murals outside,if nothing else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(09/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY!!! I planned my vacation to Olympia very carefully...knowing that one of the days we would stop by and eat lunch and sample the beer. Walked in the door with my 2 year old.....and they wouldn't serve me. Drove all that way didn't get to sample the Beer! :(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Zimowsky Andrew Zimowsky, Boise, ID
(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The "Fish Bowl" has become our regular watering hole. I just wish that the "Seasonal" beers WERE NOT seasonal, and always on tap. Monkfish Triple, Thornton Creek IPA, Octoberfest, Winterfish etc.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Zassenhaus Ric Zassenhaus, Olympia, WA
(04/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The beer selection here was outstanding, I tried the amber, and hefe and both were very good though I did prefer the hefe. The atmosphere was very comfortable along with the staff and patrons and the bar itself was beautifull.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(04/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Upon my arrival and after a month of anticipation I was very disheartened to find the Fish Bowl closed for remodelling. Well, after hearing of my dissapointment, Stephanie- the wonderful pub manager invited me over for a tour of the remod. As we arrived she graciously let us sample some of the fine product and showed us around. The people of the Olympia area will be well-served by the upcoming, expanded Fish Bowl. It was very exciting to see what is to become of the previously humble establishment. Well done! As far as the beer, the Organic Amber has become one of my absolute favorites. A perfect blend of maltiness with hoppiness. The fact that it's organic gives it a very 'pure' taste. The Organic IPA is also a very nice brew. Nice and hoppy. Thanks so much to all the friendly staff - I'm sure all your plans will work out great! Stephanie said they should be open in about two weeks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Salival Salival, In the mountains, OF CALIFORNIA
(01/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I had the pleasure of getting to know Fish Brewing while working in Olympia this past year. Being from Chico, CA. and living in close harmony, and propinquity, with our own Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.,(I have a cot in the back), I have had the happy opportunity of being exposed weekly to the best of micros and brewpubs, and as a result, have come to expect a higher standard of brewing and brewpub excellence. Fish brewing was all of that and caused my ten months back and forth commute to be looked forward to with great anticipation.

The Fish Bowl is one of the friendliest brewpubs I have ever visited. The owner, Lyle Morse, is the most downhome brewery owner you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. He looks the part of a German Brewmeister with his rosy cheeks and happy disposition. Their food is excellent and organic.....great salads and daily specials...FYI, don't ask for french fries, they'll just shake their heads disapprovingly and then bring you another healthful salad. Several ales are a must try if you enjoy a big full-bodies elixir. The 10-2 Fish Tail Anniversary Ale was my favorite...Very big with 10% ABV so you will want to go in that direction with due diligence. Also the BarleyWine Style Ale deserves a word of caution. They also have a very good Amber which is useful as a chaser for the Leviathan. Travel Advisory, If you are anywhere within a 100 miles or so of Olympia, a stop at Fish Tail is a must. Great beers, great food, great hospitality and comfy interesting ambiance.....This place looks like what a traditional brewpub should look like. If you go in, ask for Lyle and tell him Dave from Chico says "Cheers ! Who knows, maybe he'll buy you a beer...He gets them at a deep discount I understand.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Kilbourne Dave Kilbourne, Chico, CA
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
A frequent visitor to this pub. Seasonal Winterfish is a nice hoppy style winter brew. Other seasonals are worth trying when they're available(Poseidon Porter, Leviathan Barley wine, Monkfish Belgian style ale and their Dopplebock). Didn't order food the last time, but have been pleased in the past.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Simmer John Simmer, Lacey, WA
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Good
I am not sure how the ratings on the beer from the other reviewers are so high. None of the beers were bad, just nothing special at all. Tried samplers of all beers (both Fish and Leavenworth beers). The Fish Amber was decent, pretty malty, almost like a weak English Mild. The IPA was definitely nothing special, organic or not. Actually, the Leavenworth IPA was much more interesting. The Wild Salmon Pale was definitely the best of the Fish Brewing selections, though I would have a hard time chosing this over any number of other possibilities in the Puget Sound. Leavenworth's Blind Pig wheat is pretty decent for an american wheat - but still quite bland. The dunkel weizen was a bit better, but definitely not the bayrish style (no real banana/clove notes). The seasonal pilsener was quite good and definitely the second best beer on tap. Unfortunately there was no Mudshark Porter or Stout to try. I may be back, but considering the Eastside Cafe is blocks away with an outstanding selection - it may be quite a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Seattle, WA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
odd location, burried on a backstreet a few blocks from the capital. BUt the smell of hops & malt fill the street during the day. i didn't even know it was there but i smelled it from 2 blocks away. hmmm....beer..... so i followed my nose. good food all from local growers and ranchers, thus the ostrich burger, I haven't seen alot of cattle in Wa. all of the fish tail and leavenworth beers i tried were superb. winterfish, ipa, organics. if in olympia again i will find myself there again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Gorman Vince Gorman, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Try the organic "Wild Salmon" pale ale. A percentage of the proceeds go to help preserve and restore salmon runs, so when you are trying to decide whether to have one more... It's for the Salmon! The free-range ostrich burger is also a favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Olympia, WA
(02/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The beer here was superb, with a mixture of organic and non-organic ales, along with a rotating cask ale. Organic beer seems a bit like a gimick, but their organic IPA was superb. The 10% cask ale with 10 kinds of hops was certainly notable. The comments on food confuse me. They were renovating when I was there in Spring '04, presumably for the purpose of adding more food selection. The Northwest Brewpub Guide said they had no food, which seemed to be the case at the time. At least before the renovation, the space was rather cramped in a hole-in-the-wall way, but there were many regulars there (in the middle of the day on a weekday, no less).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first visit and won't be the last! Very laid back, slightly "funky" setting along a street in an industrial area. The food and beer were GREAT os the setting was not a problem. Had the Thornton Creek Ale and ostrich burger...both delicious. Have had other beers in the past at other pubs and all were good. Highly reccommend this place. Also, no deep fat fryer and most things were organic...a nice plus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Backlund Gary Backlund, Tahuya, WA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I must admit that it has been a while since I was at Fish Tale but the current reviews tell me that things have not changed. I can not say enough good things about this place--from the food, to the service, to the beer and even recommended another bar near by that served a lot of microcrews (East Side Club, 410 4th Ave, if they are still open). First the food--I had the key lime wings--since I'm from near Buffalo, NY, I had to try them. My God, they were excellent. I've tried to recreate the recipe since I've been home but can't. They were excellent. On tap the day I was there: fish eye IPA, red snaper, mudshark porter, winter fish, barley wine, (something--can't read my notes) salmon. I had the fish eye (exellent, clean and hoppy), the barley wine (not sweet buy not really my thing), and the porter (execellent--bought a 6 pack to drag back to NY--and it made it!!!!). They even kept my 6 pack in the cooler while I went to the other bar they recommended. My understanding is that when I was there, the restraraunt was not owned by the same people who did the brewing although they were all under one roof. That may have changed since then...but you must stop here. Even the pint glasses are a hoot! I wish I'd bought a whole set!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
A very friendly low key brewpub with helpful staff, nice beer selection, and good menu. Had the Friesian pilsner which was good and the Thornton Creek ale, sort of a hoppy amber which was also good. The Mudshark Porter cream cheesecake for dessert is amazing, worth the drive alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frank, Seattle, Wa
(05/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Good
I think the service is reserved for the regulars. The IPA was real good as was the Porter. Worth the 45 minute drive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Puyallup, WA
(05/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is what a brewpub should be - friendly, knowledgeable, great beer. Too many pubs are not very pub-like, this one is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Loa Alamos, NM
(08/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Much of the beer tastes like home brew -- bad aftertaste. The IPA is probably the best as it and the Porter don't have too much of the aftertaste. The heavy duty seasonals taste like alcohol and are an interesting experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monroe Monroe, Olympia, WA
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
Nice little place. The Trout Stout was pretty good as well as the food. The only negatives were that there wasn't much variety in the food and they don't take AMEX.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Jeppesen Mike Jeppesen, Phoenix, AZ
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I moved here about a year ago.A friend said try it. Love the place and the beers. I,m barleywine man and when they have it on tap they call me. Check out the mug club. I,m a member.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CharlesWhite CharlesWhite, Olympia, WA
(05/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great Scottish Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SJB SJB, Lakewood, CO
(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Very relaxing brewpub with great tasting beer. Nice find!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in during 9/98...an easy-going, casual place staffed by very friendly folks. Neat decor. Loved the IPA and Porter. Food was excellent. One of the best stops on a trip which included about 40 brewpubs across the US.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Del  Vaglio Peter Del Vaglio, Thomaston, CT
(07/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I used to live in Lacey and bike down to the Fish Bowl. I really miss that. Fish Brewing isn't just excellent beer and food, they're top notch folks as well. They've given this homebrew yeast. Their IPA is to die for. An excellent offering. They sometimes do a Chinook version (usually for beer festivals I think), if you see it, don't miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Henning Jason Henning, Clawson, MI
(07/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The beer here is great within a nice setting. And you can get it in bottles to take home. Great Coasters!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Battles Bud Battles, Renton, WA
(07/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Tanaka Ken Tanaka, Tokyo, JP
(05/24/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.401 seconds) 03:25:04 54.161.133.166, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS