PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Powerhouse Restaurant and Brewery - Puyallup, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 03:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Puyallup > Powerhouse Restaurant and Brewery
Powerhouse Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Powerhouse Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77 / 100
454 East Main Street
Puyallup, WA 98372
United States
(253) 845-1370
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Puyallup, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
20 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Milton Tavern
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artful Lodger Bed & Breakfeast
2) Killarney Cove Bed & Breakfast
3) Killarney Cove Bed & Breakfast
4) Murphy's Corner Bed & Brkfst
5) Tayberry Victorian Cottage
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW PARK PLAZA
2) CROSSLAND TACOMA PUYALLUP
3) FEDERAL WAY SUPER 8 MOTEL
4) QUALITY INN AND SUITES FEDERAL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alderton School
2) Christ Episcopal Church
3) Dieringer School
4) Lotz, J. H., House
5) Meeker, Ezra, Mansion
6) Orton, Charles W., House
7) Ryan House
8) Williams, Herbert, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A's Steak & Pasta House
2) Alfy's Pizza
3) Arby's
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Bud's In Milton
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) Burger King
9) Coco Joe's Tropical Inland
10) Coffee Cabin
11) Daffodil Entertainment Ctr
12) Dairy Queen
13) Don's Drive-In
14) Eyes Tavern
15) Gikan Teriyaki
16) Godfather's Pizza
17) Happy At The Bay II
18) Happy Teriyaki
19) Joe's Java Inc
20) Linda's Tortilleria
21) Mcdonald's Restaurants Milton
22) Melaque Restaurant
23) Milton Wok
24) Mocha Cabana Experience
25) Noel's Restaurant & Lounge
26) O'farrell's Family Restaurant
27) Pizza Hut
28) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
29) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
30) Taco Time
31) Wayne's Inn
32) Yoko Teriyaki
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Lousy
So, what happened to the good food at the PowerHouse?

I hadn't been to the PowerHouse for a few years and decided to take my wife there for a beer and something to eat. I thought it was kind of weird that the parking lot was less than 1/2 full at 9:30 on a Friday night, but I chalked it up to the economy.

We ordered our second choice beer, they were out of IPA, and an appetizer. The beer was pretty good but the appetizer was just nasty. They are using frozen pizza crust now and it is the really cheap cardboard kind. A not very good quality canned sauce and cheese food product (I don't think it can be labeled as cheese). Even the staff was embarassed by the poor quality.

What a change in the way this place is run, no wonder it was less than half full on a friday night. The management could be doing a lot better since there really isn't a lot of competition in the area. We won't be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Toby Toby, Bonney Lake, WA
(11/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So
We initially went to this establishment on recommendation from a friend. At first we were stood at the entrance thoroughly waiting to be seated. After quite sometime we were finally acknowledged by the staff that we were stood there and seated. I tried the "4 alarm stout" which (sounds intriguing I admit) tasted as though someone placed flecks of barley with 3 to 4 pieces of instant oatmeal and then urinated into the glass. The next beer I ordered after a few mere sips of my original beer...not asked if anything was wrong of course...was the seasonal "hop head lover". It is an understatement that this left something to be desired...it was semi hoppy with a Belgian ale sweetness that was neither expected nor appreciated. The sampler platter followed this out of mere curiosity to see if all of their beer was as putrid as their other amalgamations of bile to which it turned out their malty seasonal tasted like miller light, the IPA was a cute attempt of its namesake and the only beers worth actually drinking were the Scottish Ale and the Belgian white.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, puyallup, WA
(03/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Attention!!! Powerhouse Restaurant and Brewery No Longer Needs Customers.

After being long-time customers of the Powerhouse restaurant in Puyallup WA, that suddenly came to a halt on December 8th 2006, when my wife and I were kicked to the curb, by some of the rudest managerial behavior we have ever seen in our personal combined 30-years of restaurant business experience or in any type of business as far as that goes.

Picture our scenario: We come into the restaurant, and as what typically happens in "normal" restaurant situations, a nice kid comes up and tells us “it will be a couple of minutes,” which was fine, they were full...it's Friday night...we understand. He put our name on the waiting list, and left. Shortly after that, 4 other customers walk into the restaurant and a waitress greets them and immediately ushers them to a seat. My wife asks her "what's going on?" Why do they get seated before us?" She then begins to tell us in a "don't you stupid idiots get it?" fashion that “it is their policy to seat 4-tops before 2-tops if they’re available first, even if the 2-top was waiting first. So my wife asked to see the Manager (to see if that was really their asinine policy). In our case it really wouldn't have mattered about the specifics of who was a 2-top or a 4-top, we wouldn't have sat in one of their 2-top tables anyway, (they are those really tiny booths, which I hate). Next here comes the manager, which is when the real magic happened. This so-called manager who approached us like some kind of WWF wrestler or better yet, strip-club bouncer, with his arms in the air and with a very boisterous, condescending, aggressive tone asking "So, what's the problem, (as he looked at my wife) Ma'am?" we proceeded to tell him how we thought it was a little unfair to seat the other table first, since we were there first. He basically stopped us in mid-conversation and told us he was too busy to bother with this, and we need to deal with it or leave. "Have a good night." and walked away as we sat there with our jaws on the floor.

What would you folks do? Please email a reply to this ad so I can gather your responses and send them to the restaurant owner, that way he can see just how much his management staff is concerned about his investment. Eventhough we might have not spent as much as a 4-top, however, our money is still money and if this restaurant is anything like some of the restaurants I’ve ran in the past, then they probably do have a payroll to meet, food cost to cover, utilities to pay. The last time I knew, it was the customer who met those needs.

You know what? This place does have a cool little atmosphere going on, but the food and sports pub style menu is mediocre at best, but if they think they can piss away customers like that, then that is their choice; my money comes hard-earned and there are just too may restaurants out there who will appreciate it. My wife and I don't necessarily feel we need to bring an entourage with us to get better seating privileges. Boy! What is happening with restaurants now days? Wow! Business in Down-town Puyallup must be totally wonderful, to not have to worry about something as trivial as "customer service."

Our hope is that this business and others like them do not deserve your business either; maybe with the voices of many these dipsticks will get a clue of who the customer is. Hello.... your paycheck!!!

Nick and Helena Nmarsh61@msn.com

Puyallup, WA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Marsh Nick Marsh, Puyallup, WA
(12/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We were a little concerned about the trendy decor when we walked in, as it sometimes indicates trendy beer. This was certainly not the case. We found the beer to be well made and cared for. It was very busy at the time, but the service was great and so was the food. We will definitely go again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Baker City, OR
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Well, I had a much different experience than the last reviewer. I sat at the bar, had great service and enjoyed conversations with a number of locals and regulars - most of whom worked in the trades, but no one who was disgusting. The food was good - better than a lot of places I have been recently. The beer was certainly better than a number of brewpubs I have tried recently. The Porter was quite good, the seasonal hop ale was pretty good, even the Scottish was pretty good (lacking a bit of malt, but close). I agree the Pilsner was nothing special, but that is true of almost all of the lagers in the NW. The rest of the beers were decent, if not great. The service was quite good. Puyallup is quite a bit out of the way for me generally, but I would definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Seattle, WA
(07/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
After reading all of the glowing reviews of this pub, I am beginning to wonder if I went to the right place! The pilsener was tepid, and almost flat. The pizza was all right, but had clearly been warmer at some earlier time in its' life. When I mentioned this to the waitress, she became almost surly, and difficult to attract for service for the rest of the meal.

As a small businessman myself, I understand that there are elements of any enterprise that are out of ones' hands- but frankly, our experience at this establishment was not enhanced by being seated next to an (apparently) rather un-hygenic gentleman.

All in all, it was somewhat unpleasant, and I won't be returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charlie Robinson Charlie Robinson, Tacoma, WA
(07/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I can't wait to get home and tell my Dad about this place. Fantastic! Absolutely Fantastic! The Roasted Porter was far and away my favorite...possibly my favorite porter ever...but there wasn't a beer in their line up I didn't like. I should probably add to that that they were out of their "4 Alarm Stout", but I'm planning to go back before I fly out to try their stout.

I make it out to Seattle about 1...sometimes twice a year...and I'm gonna go back there each and every time.

I should also note that the Roasted Porter was sooooooo good that I took a two liter home with me.

Keep up the good work.

josh

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Frank Joshua Frank, Rockford, IL
(07/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
What can you say about the great location, food and beer. They speak for them selves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tacoma, wa
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! So So Great
Food is outstanding as is the beer. On the first visit we had a waitperson having a bad day. It was not much better on the next 3 or 4 trips! Seems like it's a bother to provide reasonable service.....maybe they have something better to do......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kent, WA
(11/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great
Great establishment!! The food was ok, but could be better. I'll eat and drink there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Pennala Eric Pennala, Maple Valley, WA
(10/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Sampled all of the beers. Not a bad one in the bunch.Good pizza. Great service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AA AA, Marysville, WA
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
They need a little help in the kitchen, but the Awesome beer and menu makes up for the lack of cooking skills.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Puyallup, WA
(11/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick mullins rick mullins, Orting, WA
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The Four Alarm Stout is awesome. If you like dark beer try this one. Well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb Mills Barb Mills, Hoquiam, WA
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The Four Alarm Stout is awesome. If you like dark beer try this one. Well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb Mills Barb Mills, Hoquiam, WA
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The Four Alarm Stout is awesome. If you like dark beer try this one. Well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb Mills Barb Mills, Hoquiam, WA
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The Four Alarm Stout is awesome. If you like dark beer try this one. Well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb Mills Barb Mills, Hoquiam, WA
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Good Good Great
Pretty good for the backwater town of Puyallup. Built in an urban-renewalized electrical power-station.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Puyallup, WA
(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Loved this place, all the beer is great. Try the fire pasta, it's awesome! They also have 2-liter beer to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Tucker Mike Tucker, Puyallup, WA
(12/17/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of the best brewpubs on the planet! They have a huge selection on tap (they feature brews from their sister restaurant, Engine House # 9 in Tacoma), and all are of top quality. Good food (try the breasts of fire), a smoke free environment, and good service make for a good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason D. Nulton Jason D. Nulton, Puyallup, WA
(12/11/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.345 seconds) 15:18:40 54.80.235.73, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS