PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company - Juneau, AK
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AK > Juneau > Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company
Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.6 / 100
5429 Shaune Drive
Juneau, AK 99801
United States
(907) 780-5866
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Juneau, AK
Beer Guide for Alaska

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company
27 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Alaskan Hotel and Bar
(0 mile)

2) Red Dog Saloon
(0 mile)

3) Hangar On The Wharf
(0 mile)

4) DocWater's Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alaska Wolf House
2) Alaskan Bear Bed & Breakfast
3) Aurora View Inn on the Mtn
4) Beachside Villa
5) Dawson's Bed & Breakfast
6) Highlands Bed & Breakfast
7) Hillside View
8) Jan's View Bed & Breakfast
9) MT Juneau Inn Bed & Breakfast
10) Starre Hill Bed & Breakfast
11) Tree Top Bed & Breakfast
12) Twin Lakes Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alaska Sushi
2) Alaskan & Proud Juneau
3) Alaskan Hotel & Bar Inc
4) Arctic Bar
5) Bacar's
6) Big Dipper Ice Cream
7) Bullwinkle's Pizza Parlor
8) Bullwinkle's Pizza Parlor
9) Cookhouse Inc
10) Downtown Espresso
11) Espresso Yourself
12) G W Teal
13) Henry's Food & Spirits
14) Heritage Coffee Co
15) Heritage Coffee Co
16) Heritage Coffee Co
17) Heritage II Go-Airport
18) Heritage II Go-Lemon Creek
19) Imperial Billiard & Bar
20) Java Jazz
21) Last Frontier Roasters/Java
22) Marlintini's Lounge
23) Oriental Express
24) Pasta Express
25) Ravens Cafe
26) Rendezvous
27) Sandbar
28) Schooner's Espresso & Coffee
29) Se Waffle Co
30) Squires Rest
31) Sweet Dream Teas
32) Triangle Club
33) Twin Lake Cafe
34) Uncle Sam's Cafeteria
35) Viking Lounge & Pull Tabs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Don't let talk of a high-priced cab ride keep you from visiting this fine brewery. The Juneau public bus system (routes 3 and 4) will take you to within a block or two of the brewery for $1.50 each way. We had a nice little tour (admittedly much of it looking through glass), and we were encouraged to try ALL seven available Alaskan beers on tap in the tasting room. There was not a bad one in the bunch, with the ESB, IPA, Stout and Smoked Porter all standouts in my view. The well known Alaskan Amber Ale and Alaskan Summer Ale were readily available throughout our cruise ship, the Sapphire Princess.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Well worth the price of the boat trip to get there. The beers are great tasting, with knowledgeable employees to answer any and all questions. I enjoyed my walk through history with the bottle collection, heck they even stopped the tour so we could taste another flavor. The Pale Ale and I.P.A. are right on in flavor for me, I am glad to hear they are going to be available at my local BevMo soon. The Smoked Porter has a great aroma and taste. #27.00 cab fair one way from down town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
No matter how you get into town, the city bus system will get you within a very short walk of the brewery. Well worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
i was treatd like a kid in a candy factory ! all the staff were most accomadating ! the tasting was great !! true that the 90.00 was a little steep to get there,but weel woarth the moneyy !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gary b sheldon gary b sheldon, anaheim, CA
(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Alaskan Brewing's beers are all of very high quality.

Alaskans beers display a great deal of character which considering they use only one yeast strain for all of their beers is testament to skill and inovation displayed by their brewers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fairbanks, AK
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The biggest drawback for the place is its location. Getting off the cruise ship (as so many visitors to Juneau are there via cruise, with such a limited time), and having to access the city bus system to find this out of the way place requires a dedicated fan of Alaskan Brewing, and, as such, few new devotees will me made. (It would be fantastic if they could open a tap room in downtown.) But once there, you’ll find it worth the trouble. A full range of beers is available for sampling. The Smoked Porter was amongst the most unique I've tried. And they had an IPA on tap, something I was unaware that they brewed. Apparently they do so in very limited amounts, and do not bottle it.

05/16/2005

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greg greg, Colfax, CA
(05/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Went to Alaskan Brewing Co. in August of 2004 part of 2 week trip to Alaska. What can I say except awesome! You alk into the taproom/giftshop from a gravel road. Inside is the brewery which you can veiw from a central viewing area. Walk up to the tasting area and have all of the tasters you want poured for you! Tony Hand was knowledgeable, fun, and really wants you to enjoy yourself. The smoked porter of tap was amazing! Smooth, creamy, and with just the right amount of smokiness, I can see why this beer has won so many awards. Alaskan Amber is one of my all time favorites. It is so easy to drink. Summer ale is good as well. Nice example of a kolsch. Well worth going to Juneau for. You can only fly in to Juneau, or get in by boat as no roads go through to the outside world. Beer Mecca to the far north!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Their Winter Ale is absolutely AWESOME! It packs a punch but is very smooth. I wish it were available nationwide.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Bromund Michael Bromund, Fort Riley, KS
(03/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
SOME OF THE BEST BEER I HAND, THE TOUR GIDE WAS EXCELLENT, AND THE PRICE WAS RIGHT, WE WILL BE BACK IN THE SUMMER FOR BEER AND FISH MIKE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MICHAEL WHITE MICHAEL WHITE, SCANDIA, MN
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
This brewer offers some of the finest beers I have ever tasted. I recently tried the 2004 Smoked Porter - a bit hoppy for my tastes but it is still young. The 2003 Smoked Porter is aging nicely and is well balanced. The Amber Ale is delicious...period. The Winter Ale is nicely spiced and you can definitely taste the Spruce! I wish these guys were available in New York - I'd save a fortune in FedEx fees!!! By the way, if you like beer stuff, and if you're on Pubcrawler I assume you do, check out their website. Lots of great items and they ship promptly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
How can such a large brewery make it in a town you can't drive to? By making great and consistant products. Great tour and taproom for off-sales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Ogden, UT
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I had planned to vist this brewery when the ship I was on docked in Juneau, but was even more enthusiastic when I tried the amber, Esb, and pale, which were all available on the Radiance of the Seas. The trip to the brewery intensified my belief that this stuff has to be near the top of best craft brews made in America. The staff, including the bartender and girl who gave the tour were informative and pleasant. It's a great place that makes great beer. My personal favorite is the ESB, but they're all good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The range of ales produced is amazing as is the oveall quality. There is a brief tour of the brewery, tasters of all ales (atleast 8) the smoked porter is, of course, the crown jewel; but the amber, pale ale, etc. are outstanding as well. The selection of beerabilia is awesome and fairly priced, the ladies running the tasting room were wonderful. We saw eagles by the road on the way out, whatelse is there to say! If you are planning on comming from a cruise, do not take a cab from the dock. We did and ran up $2.50 on the meter because the cabbie let everyone in front of him go out before he did. Go across the street and save your selff some money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
A little out of the way from town, but easily done with the Juneau bus system, the brewery is also tucked down an industrial street --look for the awnings on the north side of the road.

Very friendly folk in there, generous with the tasting brew and eager to chat about beer, food and fun. The "tour" is short and pretty thin, but the bottle collection they've got is good fun if you've ever had one yourself...they've got some nice bottles.

The 1999 Smoked Porter they have on tap is outstanding, as are the other beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Basil Erik Basil, San Diego, CA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
AWESOME staff, very friendly and they know how to have fun. Not many people brew a quality ESB - this is by far our favorite, but all the brews are hands down a favorite. Wish we had a supplier here in Florida!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mitch Johnson Mitch Johnson, Vero Beach, FL
(07/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Throughout our cruise tour of Alaska we could look forward to an Alaskan Amber, on tap or in bottles at every port of call (but not on the ship!). Buy some and take it with you on board if you're seeing Alaska the easy way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Block Henry Block, Miami, FL
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
how can I order some alaskan amber if I am in New York?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from camron mckinley camron mckinley, skaneateles, NY
(07/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The Alaskan Amber is the BEST beer in the world! I currently live on the East coast but am looking for a job in an Alaskan Amber bountiful area. Luckily, I just got a little bit of a fix - a friend just returned from Alaska with a case just for me. Score!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Atlanta, GA
(05/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
They serve Alaskan Amber aboard the Celebrity Infinity. It is really an ALT, not an Amber. As an alt it is better than an Amber. The Stout had a nice choclate tone to it. The Smoked Porter was oversmoked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, Wexford, PA
(06/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
We enjoyed the tour and the beer. Their gift shop is above average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Peterson Ken Peterson, Garfield, NJ
(07/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
It's the reason why I moved to Alaska! The Amber and seasonal Smoked Porter are hands down the finest beers in the world!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Dickrell Chris Dickrell, Juneau, AK
(03/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Have only tried the Amber Ale while in Seattle's Pioneer Square. Simply put, the best beer I have ever tasted!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Christie Dave Christie, Kamloops, BC
(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great
This microbrewery currently produces Alaskan Pale, Amber, and Frontier year-round, and two seasonals per year. The personable staff provided a short brewery tour for the visitors, and happily offered samples of each of the brews. The Alaskan Frontier and Alaskan Amber are especially fine beers! Sure beats shopping the tourist trap stores when visiting Juneau. The cab ride from downtown is about $11.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Brewer Curt Brewer, Camarillo, CA
(08/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
While in Alaska on vacation, we tried both the Amber and the Pale ales. Both were excellent! Half of the taste of these brews goes on during the aftertaste -- it starts with hoppy bitterness, and changes to a malty finish. Wonderful!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Shadoff Nick Shadoff, Lafayette, IN
(06/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Good beer. Not my favorite, but up there. They've recently come out with a new Oatmeal Stout. One of the best oatmeal stouts I've had. And try the Smoked Porter that comes out around Christmas. Both some of the best beers in the world.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Manor Scott Manor, Fairbanks, AK
(05/18/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.395 seconds) 00:48:58 54.166.17.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS