PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Avery Brewing Company - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 16, 2014 @ 02:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Avery Brewing Company
Avery Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Avery Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.1 / 100
5763 East Arapahoe Avenue
Unit E
Boulder, CO 80303
United States
(303) 440-4324
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Avery Brewing Company
22 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Avery Brewing Co. barrels over the competition

Avery Brewing Co. celebrates Sweet 16 with beer

Avery Brewing Company plays hooky, goes biking

Avery Brewing Company celebrates 16


alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Dark Horse
(0 mile)

2) Harpo's Sports Grill
(0 mile)

3) Barrel House
(0 mile)

4) Old Chicago
(2 miles)

5) Old Louisville Inn
(2 miles)

6) Southern Sun Pub and Brewery
(3 miles)

7) Redstone Meadery
(5 miles)

8) Outback Saloon
(5 miles)

9) Asher Brewing Company
(5 miles)

10) Boulder Beer Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Affordable Boulder Inn
2) Briar Rose Bed & Breakfast Inn
3) Sage Blossom Consulting
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) COMFORT INN LOUISVILLE
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) COURTYARD BOULDER LOUISVILLE
9) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
10) HAMPTON INN BOULDER
11) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
12) LA QUINTA INN STES LOUISVILLE
13) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
14) OAKWOOD SUPERIOR
15) QUALITY INN & STES. LOUISVILLE
16) RENAISSANCE SUITES BROOMFIELD
17) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
18) RESIDENCE INN LOUISVILLE
19) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Valley Grange No. 131
2) Denver Elevator--Grain Elevator
3) Fox Mine Office
4) Fox Stone Barn
5) Ginacci House
6) Jacoe Store
7) Lackner's Tavern
8) LaSalla House
9) National Fuel Company Store
10) Petrelli--DelPizzo House
11) Rhoades House
12) Robinson House
13) Stolmes House
14) Tego Brothers Drugstore--State National Bank of Louisville
15) Thomas House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 3 Margaritas
2) A Spice Of Life Catering Svc
3) A Spice Of Life Event Ctr Svc
4) Abo's Pizza
5) Arby's
6) Baskin-Robbins
7) Black Jack Pizza
8) Boulder Pizza Exchange
9) Bruno's Pizza
10) Buffalowild Wings Grill & Bar
11) Caffe Sole Superior
12) Casa Alegre
13) Catering By Connie
14) Cheng's Garden Chinese Rest
15) Chipotle Mexican Grill
16) Chuck E Cheese's
17) Cici's Pizza
18) Cortino's Pizza & Sub Shop
19) Dairy Queen
20) Deli Zone
21) Domino's Pizza
22) Domino's Pizza
23) Dragonfly Coffee Tea & Spices
24) East West Grill
25) Eggcredible Restaurant
26) Elite Eats Cafe & Catering
27) Fat Boys Burrito
28) Front Range Catering Co
29) Green Room
30) Henry's Bar & Grill
31) IHOP
32) Jubilations Catering
33) Maharaja Cuisine Of India
34) Mezzaluna Catering Svc Inc
35) Narayan's Nepal Restaurant
36) Nick N Willy's
37) Nick-N-Willy's Take-N-Bake
38) Old Sante Fe Mexican Grill
39) Pane E Vino
40) Papa John's Pizza
41) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
42) Paulie's Italian Ice
43) Redstone Catering
44) Rock Bottom Restaurants Inc
45) Rocky Flats Lounge
46) Sage & Savory Catering
47) Siamese Plate On The Go
48) Starbucks
49) Starbucks
50) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Sun Rose Cafe LLC
54) Super Joe Specialty Coffee
55) Sweet Buddy Roo's
56) Three Chicks Cook
57) Vita Bella Pizza & Pasta
58) Wahoos Fish Tacos
59) Word Of Mouth Catering Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Avery is definately hard to find, tucked back in an industral area but it's worth the trip. Nice little tasting room (it was jammed when we stopped by). A great selection on tap and all the beers were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I take people on brewery and brewpub tours. I love sharing my delight in what has become arguably the leading brewing area in the world. Colorado is the HQ of the Association Of Brewers and by sheer chance, within a mile or so we have Avery Brewing, probably the highlight of my tours. When it's big - big beers, sometimes dramatically hopped (there are those malt lovers who accuse me of being a hop head but what do they know?) Avery can't be surpassed. It's amazing that the Maharajah (try saving that after a glass full) has IBU's of 102 and one can still feel and taste the glow of the malt base. It's balanced - truly it is - and as I sip. I enter a metaphysical state. Maharajah - beer - a reason for living - an Imperial IPA that proves wine is purely for the undeveloped palate or cooking, why do brewers make all the other 80 + styles - will there ever be a beter beer? I confess that sometimes I enjoy some of the other styles but not when we have the Maharaja close by. . There are some foolish enough to disagree - but they haven't sipped this beer. So by now, maybe you think I'm going overboard about this brewery. If so - you haven't visited have you?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Bruce Geoff Bruce, Arvada, CO
(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
WOW!! YOU WON'T FIND A FRIENDLIER RECEPTION FROM A TASTING ROOM STAFF. THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR PRODUCT AND IT SHOWS. GOTTA LOVE THE INDUSTRIAL SETTING OF THIS BREWERY.....TIED WITH TWISTED PINE AS MY TWO FAVORITES IN THE AREA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Yes, Avery's is tough to find - and only open 3 days a week, but well worth it! All the Avery staff folks who showed up in the tasting room during our visit were friendly and happy to talk about beer. They even gave me some pointers for improving my homebrew. All their styles are aggressive and "top of the line". The Imperial Octoberfest, the Reverend, Salvation, Karma, and Maharaja IPA are all examples of big, high quality brews. But be careful! A tasting session of these big gravity (8-12%) beers will make you glad you brought a designated driver. They also had a really sublime cask conditioned Maharaja rated at 102 IBUs! VERY, VERY, good, and they only serve it at the tasting room, unfortunately. If they still have it, and you like a super hoppy IPA, don't miss this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Greeley, CO
(08/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Avery has a small sampling room with beers for the more adventurous beer samplers. Some really great stuff and knowledgeable staff too. They have a trio of potent beers that they call the holy trinity. If you are in Boulder and you can only stop at one place this is it. Don't miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Reister Kenneth Reister, Olympia, WA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
How does Avery have a lower rating than Wynkoop in Denver? Wynkoop SUCKS! Avery exceeded all of myexpectations. I tried the Reverend Belgian Quad, 12 Saison, and New World Porter, all were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
First, congratulations to the Avery staff for their 2 medals @ the GABF. Gold for the India Pale Ale and Silver for Hog Heaven. Great job. We stopped by in the morning to find White Rascal, The Reverend, Hog Heaven and IPA,on tap. All 4 were very good, well balanced beers. I was also able to purchase their Imperial Stout, and their Imperial Oktoberfest. I tried The Beast at the Falling Rock in Denver. Great beer, good people. Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I had the Avery IPA on cask at the Flying Saucer in Addison (Dallas) TX. What a great, smooth, drinkable beer-I had to have 2! Just another in the superb line of Avery beers. Good job guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
My favorite beer at the Falling Rock Tap Room in Denver (75 beers on tap)was the cask conditioned Avery IPA. I wish I had the time to go to the brewery and sample more beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from E. Spina E. Spina, Deerfield Beach, FL
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Big beers indeed. Avery keeps focused on Belgian and British styles and doesn't have a bad beer in their whole lineup. The high gravity beers are fantastic. Local liquor laws on parts of Texas make Avery's The Beast Grand Cru, at 15.7% abv hard to find but worth the hunt. Limited releases such as their Ten anniversary and Czar Imperial stout are also top quality brews. Unlike many strong and complex brews from the likes of Rogue and Stone, the Avery flavor components never clash, and the total sensation is well balanced and complete. Bravo!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Had several Avery beers at the Estes Park Brewfest and was blown away by the quality and the taste of them! This may not be the largest operation, but they kicked the big boys' asses when it comes down to quality beers!! I only wish I could buy them locally. I am longing for a 14'er or a India Pale Ale...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mitch Gonzales Mitch Gonzales, Lincoln, NE
(07/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
I recently tried Avery IPA on tap at KClinger's Publik House in Etters, PA. It was delicious!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(06/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I am amazed to see that Avery only scores a 75/100…

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lobguy, Denver, CO
(05/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Avery’s slogan is “Small Brewery, Big Beers” and after seeing this place I now understand why. It really is a pretty small brewing operation in terms of size. We were greeted by a brewer named Steve who showed us around the facility. They only produced about 4000 barrels in 2002, yet their styles are wide-ranging and their distribution is fairly broad. Steve said that they are at capacity and that distant distributors contact them wanting to represent their beers. Of the Avery brews that I have tried, my favorite is Ellie’s Brown Ale, which has a rich dark color and a malty, nutty flavor profile that I really enjoy. I have not tried most of Avery’s “big beers” that other reviews have raved about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
This is a regular brewery, no food, no entertainment. We stopped there and tasted a few of their beers and found them all great! This place is hard to find, but I am glad we found it. It is a small operation and both Avery employees looked pretty busy but took a little time with us to chat about our favorite subject...beer. I will be seeking Avery in my local market.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Tucson, AZ
(11/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Had the great privilege of tasting some of their beer at the GABF last week. HOLY $hit batman. These guys rule!!!! Loved the Reverend, Salvation and even thier Hog Heaven and I typically am not real fond of barleywines. We of course picked up six 22oz. bombers of the Reverend and Salvation to bring back home ( Tempe AZ) with us. Only 7 actually made it but that is another story ;-) Hopefully they have plans to distribute to AZ? For the most part we are a bunch of real pagans here and really need to hear from a man of the cloth so that we might see the light and find Salvation and maybe if we repent go to Hog Heaven. I have a Kegerator at home So I'm ready for a full half barrel of either the Reverend or Salvation I don't care which. Also met their head brewer MR.( Kevin?) Breezley ( sorry if I butchered it) at the Falling Rock Thursday night after we left the GABF. Nice friendly guy! PLEASE, PLEASE help save our lost souls!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Dubach Marc Dubach, Tempe, AZ
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Some of the best big beers in Colorado. Hog Heaven is amazing, Salvator isnt far behind. Great beer. Also had a great time on the tour as have many friends. It is a very small place, nothing fancy, but the brewers seemed friendly and happy to show you around and let you sample away at the cask Hog Heaven.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Denver, CO
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good
i would like to give them a bad rating based on their suckey attitude...had trouble finding it, we wanted to get a short tour and they acted put out...one guy was sleeping in his car and we were pushed off on the father of the owner/brewmaster? who was not at all interested in showing us around. not much info on the tour and when we asked if it was possible to sample again he acted put out, even though they do have some taps for tasting...he just kept taking us back to there sales room where you can purchase t-shirts, glasses etc. my advice to you is to skip visiting and just buy them on tap someplace local

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
If you like a hoppy IPA - you will love Avery IPA. It is one of my all-time favorites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danobrew Danobrew, Boulder, CO
(12/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Their 14er ESB is probably one of the best hopped beers I have ever had. It has a very distinct, crisp flavor that makes me crave more and more... The Out of Bounds Stout is also right up there on my top ten list of beers. The stout is a nice traditional dry that leaves a very satisfying flavor on the pallet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Loader Brad Loader, Missoula, MT
(09/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
14er ESB is currently my favorite beer in the WORLD. I just came back from Boulder and bought 2 cases to take along since it isn't sold in GA. I've contacted these folks through E-Mail and found them very friendly and quick to respond.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Pronk Peter Pronk, Marietta, GA
(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Good
Careful if you try to find it in Boulder, you might miss it; I did. But it's worth the trip. When I was there they had five beers available: Razzy Wheat Ale, Fourteener ESB, Redpoint Ale, Ellie's Brown Ale, and Out of Bounds Stout - all of them good beer. I first found out about Avery when my wife sent me one of their "Pail of Ales", five beers of your choice sent anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Rosten Dennis Rosten, Chicago, IL
(05/19/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.169 seconds) 02:48:08 23.20.43.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS