PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


SLO Brewing Company - San Luis Obispo, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 09:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > San Luis Obispo > SLO Brewing Company
SLO Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
SLO Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.6 / 100
1119 Garden Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
United States
(805) 543-1843
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for San Luis Obispo, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of SLO Brewing Company
38 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Original Spike's
(0 mile)

2) Frog and Peach Pub
(0 mile)

3) Downtown Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) Creekside Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adobe Inn
2) Garden Street Inn
3) Heritage Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) APPLE FARM
2) BEST WESTERN ROYAL OAK HOTEL
3) BEST WESTERN SOMERSET INN
4) DAYS INN SAN LUIS OBISPO
5) GARDEN STREET INN
6) LA CUESTA INN
7) QUALITY SUITES SAN LUIS OBISPO
8) RAMADA INN OLIVE TREE
9) ROSE GARDEN INN - SLO
10) SAN LUIS OBISPO VAGABOND
11) TRAVELODGE SAN LUIS OBISPO
12) TRAVELODGE SAN LUIS OBISPO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Angel, Myron, House
2) Corral de Piedra
3) Jack, Robert, House
4) Pacific Coast Railway Company Grain Warehouse
5) Powerhouse, The
6) San Luis Obispo Carnegie Library
7) Tribune--Republic Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Dogs Coffee Co & Internet
2) Apple Farm
3) Art Cafe
4) B Wich'd
5) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
6) Black Sheep Bar & Grill
7) Blazing Bird BBQ
8) Blue
9) Bull's Tavern
10) Burrito Wagon
11) Carl's Jr Restaurant
12) Caruso's Deli
13) Cattaneo Barbeque Svc
14) Central Coast Culinary
15) Cold Stone Creamery
16) Cool Cat Cafe
17) Country Culture Yogurt Bar
18) Cugini's Pizzeria & Trattoria
19) Cyber Lounge Cafe
20) Dwelling
21) End Of The Line
22) Entree Express
23) Fiala's Gourmet Deli
24) Flame Bay
25) Fresh & Natural Cafe
26) Gaslight Lounge
27) Graduate Restaurant
28) Graduate Restaurant
29) Grappolo
30) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
31) Gus's Grocery
32) High Street Market & Deli
33) Higher Groundz Coffee & Tea Co
34) In Good Taste Catering
35) Jumping Java Bean
36) Ken Carpenter The Commissary
37) Le Ciel Crepes Cafe
38) Library
39) Mad Hatter Catering
40) Maegen Loring Catering
41) Mc Carthy's Irish Pub
42) Metro Cafe & Bakery
43) Mosaics
44) Muzio's Grocery & Deli
45) Novo Restaurant Bakery
46) Nucci's
47) Oasis Restaurant
48) Old Country Deli
49) Outspoken Beverage Bistro
50) Padre Deli
51) Panolivo Restaurant
52) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
53) Park Restaurant
54) Quarterdeck
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Quiznos Sub
57) Railroad Coffee House & Gllry
58) Sakura Express Inc
59) Sands Liquor Deli
60) Sandy's Deli-Liquor
61) Schlotzsky's Deli
62) Shin's Sushi Bar
63) SLO Perk
64) Spirit Of San Luis Restaurant
65) Splash Cafe
66) Stanton & Stanton
67) Starbucks
68) Starbucks
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Sue's Sandos
71) Taco Bell
72) Taco Roco
73) Tacos De Acapulco Inc
74) Uptown Espresso
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A large place with large music venue on lower level. Beer and food were good. News reports show they are approved to move to a new location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(03/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
the last time i was there the place was called slo brewery, and they had two beers in particular, that were great. did not try the food. i recently stopped for a beer and dinner, and while the beer was less than hoped for, the food was excellent. we had a pizza, and buffalo wings, and both were incredible. the pizza crust was so good, we took the leftovers back to our hotel. as for the wings, they were the best i have ever had. i ordered some to go, even though i was not a bit hungry. i will go back for those wings alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from  ralph gonzales ralph gonzales, valley springs, CA
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Was looking forward to this establishment, but can honestly say I will never return. Beer was bad, service worse, and food capped off a terrible experience. You'd figure a Friday night at 5:30 would be packed, but I should have realized from the sparse crowd that word must be getting out about this place. MAJOR DISSAPOINTMENT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Mendonca Rob Mendonca, Turlock, CA
(10/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Downtown BC had ten house brews listed to go along with a couple guest taps and a full bar. Had a pint each of the Amber and the seasonal, Winter Brown. Neither had much flavor or life. The saving grace on my visit was the Belgian Abbey. High alcohol but a small pour. Tasty stuff. The food menu is standard but offered some good salads and wraps. Went for a meatball sandwich with coleslaw on the side. Fresh cranberries in the coleslaw made it something to remember. The barkeep was a little spacy but it was early Sunday and the place was rockin' last night with the live music featured downstairs. Looking at the line up, they are booking some decent groups so things could be a crowded on weekends. And no visit would be complete without a stroll around the corner on Higuera Street to see the "Wall of Gum". Don't know why this isn't on any of tourist brochures!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
This is now the Downtown Brewing Company. Has been for about a year. Bar with pool tables downstairs, Bar with restaurant upstairs. When I was there they were serving a Blueberry Ale 3.3% light fruity flavor, also a Honey Blonde 4.4% again, light taste. They had a Wheat Beer 3.5 unfiltered yes, almost no flavor, true to form for a Californis Wheat. The I.P.A. 6.7% was very good, the Amber 4.8% also was very good. Their Oatmeal Stout 5.2 had heavy chocolate and espresso flavors also very good. All beers were true to form in color and flavors. Very friendly crowd. Service was outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Nice place, comfortable, but they sold out and have a different name now. Not as good as they were.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
This is a big place, with an upstairs and downstairs. They had over a dozen of their own brews on tap, including 3 varieties of IPA. It's hard not to like that. There was a mix of age groups there, but the place really turns into more of a "bar" atmosphere late at night. It's probably the liveliest late night brewpub I've seen, which was a mixed blessing since I'm not used to staying up -- but I didn't want to leave! Food is pretty limited, and the kitchen closes early.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A place where anyone will feel comfortable. Great beer, great food! We had the IPA and a "turkey and all the trimmings" sandwich (like with cranberry sauce on it) which was fun because it wasn't even November, it was February!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc and Nicole Mytels Marc and Nicole Mytels, Carlsbad, CA
(03/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
They have a great selection of really fine quality beers. This is my favorite place to drink beer on the central coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Kochanowski Ed Kochanowski, Woodland Hills, CA
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
These guys have some really good beers--you have to try the Blueberry Wheat, even if you're not a fruity beer person. They had a great selection of hoppy beers and the bartender was nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I got a chance to sample a few brews around Labor Day 2003, being mid-day, the frat element was very low thankfully. The Oatmeal Stout was excellent, the beer selection great, and the waitresses were very easy to look at.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Smith Timothy Smith, Bozeman, MT
(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
This was the first great California brewpub that I went to back in 1994. I finally made it back down this way, and the beer is still very good. We were in the upstairs pool hall part of the place. Some of their beers were average as opposed to 94, the wheat, the honey blonde, and the hemp ale which had no hemp flavor. But they had a very good Extra Pale Ale (totally different than the contract brewed bottled version), a solid Amber, and a very good full-bodied, very hoppy IPA. The Cole Porter was very roasty and malty, and the best of the bunch was their Oatmeal Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Rose Jeff Rose, Oakland, CA
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
Don't judge them based on their tiny selection of bottled beers. And despite the annoying sorority/fraternity feel of the place ( even behind the bar) you will find a good selection of brews and some interesting ones. The beer is good, but only a few are outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, San Luis Obispo, CA
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I got all loaded with the Derels, but I went home with six of them. I will be a Derel groupie forever! Hummer in the elevator anyone?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mona Getit Mona Getit, Atascadero, CA
(09/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Quality beer and a bunch of local Derelicts make this a great bar to go check out. Have a pitcher of IPA and every chick looks hot! Ask Chach!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darryl Ling Darryl Ling, NotFresno, CA
(09/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Good
These folks have a wide selection of beer and if you can't find something that you like, well, you just aren't trying hard enough. IPA was a winner. Limited menu; the grilled chicken sandwich that I had was great. Plenty of pool players if you're so inclined. A very local crowd. Worth a visit? Sure. A special stop? yes, and do try the IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(08/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
WE VISIT COUNTLESS MICROBREWERIES ON BOTH COASTS AND WE ENJOYED THEIR REGULAR AND RUSSIAN IMPERIAL STOUT VERY MUCH.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ALEXANDER AND DEB PAUL ALEXANDER AND DEB PAUL, KULPMONT, PA
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Nice place, fine selection of beers, perhaps 12 or 13 of their beers on tap, wide range of style... I had their extra pale and a porter as well and loved both... great place, great beer, great town

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Claremont, CA
(06/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
have to agree with previous reviews. not a great place, but better than the regular pubs. beer was average, food was average, the service sucked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Not great, not lousy...not much of a recommendation either. Better than a happy meal and bud.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Canice MacThomas Canice MacThomas, Sacramento, CA
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A So So So So
The poor beer rating is based on their bottled beer which I have found to be hit or miss - either it's drinkable (OK) or undrinkable. I have had to pour a whole six pack down the drain because of its over-carbonated/metallic tasting state due to aeration at bottling. I had an Elephant Ale at the brewpub and was pretty satisfied and tried a few others including the honey wheat and ambrosia wheat - just OK. Service - I was disappointed that a sign downstairs saying that Sundays were $2.00/pint night did not apply to the restaurant/bar upstairs. Upstairs they have more of a selection so make sure to go up before making a selection, but be prepared to pay more on cheap pint nights. The staff seemed pretty knowledgable and pleasant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Ilnicky James Ilnicky, San Francisco, CA
(11/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Friendly service, great food and a loooong list of beers. They were out of Elephant Ale though....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clyde Walker Clyde Walker, Roseville, CA
(10/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Great
Listen, if your wives force you to endure the countless boutiques and shops in downtown SLO, reward yourself with a trip to this pub. The beer's good and the service is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Marin, CA
(07/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
Were there 4 times last week on vacation. Food served up in generous portions and very tasty. We enjoyed the Honey Blonde and one called Elephant Ale, which was superb. The service on our first visit was okay; second visit the waitress we had was outstanding. They also have a tap room in Paso Robles, which is down the way on Hwy 101. The woman behind the bar there was just a joy - great service and a lovely person to enjoy some conversation with while sipping a pint of great beer. Something different - they offer a special menu entree each night of the week and the fish and chips was a meal big enough for two. Will always be included on vacations in that part of California.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc & Kay Marc & Kay, Tempe, AZ
(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The porter was good, but don't get the blueberry ale unless you are the type of person who enjoys chugging the blueberry syrup at IHOP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Austin, TX
(02/08/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.32 seconds) 09:22:44 23.22.128.96, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS