PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub - Idaho Springs, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 10:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Idaho Springs > Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub
Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 76.6 / 100
1401 Miner Street
Post Office Box 3188
Idaho Springs, CO 80452
United States
(303) 567-2688
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Idaho Springs, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub
41 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Buffalo Restaurant and Bar
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alpine Hideaway B & B
2) Brewery Inn Bed & Breakfast
3) Empire House Bed & Breakfast
4) Hillside House
5) Mad Creek Bed & Breakfast
6) Rose Street Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) SUPER 8 GEORGETOWN CO
2) THE PECK HOUSE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alpine Hose Company No. 2
2) Dumont School
3) Grace Episcopal Church
4) Hamill House
5) Hotel de Paris
6) Lebanon and Everett Mine Tunnels
7) McClellan House
8) Mint Saloon
9) Ore Processing Mill and Dam
10) Peck House
11) Silver Plume Depot
12) Toll House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Kermitts Family Restaurant
2) Mangia Trattoria & Market
3) Paco's Mexican Restaurant
4) Peabergs Mountain Grill
5) Picci's Pizza
6) Skipper's Ice Cream Parlor
7) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
8) Svago American Bistro
9) Westwinds Tavern
10) Whispering Weeds Botanicals
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
This place has its ups and downs. This trip was very good. Sat at the bar and watched the bartender serve up so many sampler's that he ran out of glasses. He started serving seven ounce glass samples for the same price. I enjoyed the Pick Axe Pale. It was good. My Nancy-boy friend enjoyed the Tunderberry. We left after a good lunch and a nice beer buzz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, West Des Moines, IA
(09/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Four of us visited early afternoon on a weekday, so it wasn't crowded. We were met near the door by ANGRY BALD GUY who works there, who said "WHATEVER, I DON"T CARE!" when I asked if the bar area was seat-yourself. We should have walked back out at that point knowing it would probably be a bad experience. And bad it was.

We each ordered something different from the menu; my salad was actually brown and two other entrees were so spicy hot as to be inedible. We ordered a taster set of their beers and none of them were very good - not bad, just very bland. Their beers taste cheap and watery. This is the worst brewpub I've ever visited, and I've been to many hundreds.

The owners of this place should take their moronic staff and brewers on a field trip to Southern Sun in Boulder for a lesson in customer service, food prep, and brewing. We went there the next day and they had it all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian McFarland Brian McFarland, Spring Valley, CA
(09/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
I've been here 4 times and as the other reviews reflect the quality of the service varies. That's true of any food service place I've ever been. The food has always been good and the beer excellent. I can tolerate a little poor service for that. I've taken other people there with me and they have all raved about the place afterwards. The beer selection is great and I've never had a bad beer there. They're bottled beer is not as good as the fresh draught in the brewpub. I think some of the reviewers are just having a bad day when they're there. Check this place out for yourself if you're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Cox John Cox, Signal Mountain, TN
(10/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had the Pale Ale down the street at Beau Jo's pizza. It had a slight sweetness at the end and could have benefited from a bit more hops. Didn't check out the brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Christian, Philadelphia, PA
(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Tried the maple beer and it was extremely sour I would not recommend this beer. The Dopple Bock on the other hand was extremely pleasing to the palate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, colorado springs, CO
(06/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I was driving, and new "on the mountain" so I could only have one pint. I had the pale ale cold and carbonated (it was also offered cask conditioned). I thought the beer was very good. I had a buffalo burger with blue cheese and bacon-awesome. I would stop again when passing through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Kassner Paul Kassner, San Mateo, CA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
The last time I was here, five years ago, I came away with a much better opinion than my recent visit. The dopplebock, which I thought was outstanding, was only okay this time around. The rye porter was still great, but the other beers I tried did not stand out. Nothing was bad, but nothing was really memorable either. If I'm in the area again, I'll stop by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(10/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Location, Location, Location. This is a great stop on the way to great skiing. The place was packed and we were lucky enough to get a spot at the bar so we wouldn't have to wait for a table. Got the sampler and there was a good variety of beer styles. I was very impressed with the Black Powder Stout and the Maple Nut Brown Ale. The bartender seemed to be a little overwhelmed but overall a good experience. Decent price considering that it has the potential for touristy. Idaho Springs is a cool little town, especially walking around with a newly filled growler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Barker, NY
(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great Beers and great service. Brewer gave us a personal tour and discussed recipes with us. Had a great time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Edgington Roger Edgington, Wooster, OH
(10/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
The Rye Porter is a must try. It is probably the best porter I have ever had. The brew staff is also very helpful and will answer questions about the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elmer Steingass Elmer Steingass, Wooster, OH
(10/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Worst brew pub ever even after a second chance several years later. Servers are clueless and brewer could not care less about product. Beer tasted infected. Skip it and hit Denver!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Joel, Louisville, KY
(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
On September 14th we stopped by and enjoyed a great hamburger and fine ales. Halfway during the meal, the "mood" of our server changed drastically, and the rest of the meal was uncomfortable. We never knew what happened, but they need to get servers with better attitude.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Salem, OR
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I've lived in Colorado all of my life so I am used to the quality beer establishments that our state has to offer. Tommyknocker is no exception. The beer selection is always impressive, combining their standards with great seasonal surprises. I had the Rye Porter the last time I was there (2-28-2004), and was very impressed. Every time I go I like to try a different menu selection, and I have yet to be disapointed. Their Reuben (or Brewben) sandwich is one of the best I've ever had. My girlfriend and I have made Tommyknocker a regular stop for dinner-lunch on the way home from snowboarding. Great alternative to lunch at the ski resort!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Malone David Malone, Denver, CO
(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
WE WILL BE BACK TO VISIT YOU ALL.......ORLANDO,FLA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ELAINE ROBERTS ELAINE ROBERTS, ORLANDO, FL
(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Tommyknocker's is phenomenal. We were given a 45 minute tour of the facilities, and their staff is ON THE BALL. They keep a 10 beer rotation on tap, all of which are prime examples of what different types of beer ought to taste like. You might not find a better American Style Lager than the Alpine Glacier. The Ornery Amber (lager) and the Pick Axe Pale Ale are top notch. Beautiful, cheap growlers. Anyone driving through the Front Range needs to stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Great Good Good
I am from California and my boyfriend is not a beer drinker. When he tried TommyKnockers, he was in love. When we came to Colorado to visit again we wanted to make a trip to the brewery. We could not even order his favorite and my brother-in-laws favorite, Jack Wacker. We drove all the way from the Springs so these guys could have fresh Jack Waker and the brewery didn't have any. To top it off, we couldn't even buy bottles of it and drink it! I was very disappointed, being that we came all the way from California and he still didnt get any fresh Jack Wacker!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrina Andrina, Santee, CA
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
Horrid service including the brewer. Was in town for the GABF with a group of retailers and wholesalers from KY. Frankly I have not ever been impressed with the beer that much so this was their shot and they blew it. Don't bother plenty of better breweries closer together in Denver. Got home pulled their product and shipped it back. I really did enjoy the place in Denver around the corner from the Breckenridge Bar downtown I forget the name but they had 69 beers on tap. MMMMM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Joel, Louisville Home of the Cardinals, OTHER
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good
an impressive 10 different beers available, but the quality of the ones I tried wasn't much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(03/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A winter update – someone headed to or from the ski areas will find a fire in the pub side and as many as nine beers on tap, and most likely one on cask as well. I had a pint of the Maple Nut Brown Ale and the cask conditioned Pick Axe Pale Ale – yummy. Try the Jackleg Philly sandwich.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
I was very disapointed in this brewery. I had been here a couple times before and thought it was a decent spot, but I wont be going back.

The doppelbock on this visit was horid and I could not finish it, had a overwhelming medicine cabnet aroma and flavor, nasty phenols. I cant believe this is how this beer usualy is, but I have NO respect for a brewery that would put that beer on tap. The porter was sweet, thin, and unbalanced. The maple brown is ok, but not something I would drink. The only decent beer was the cask pale, and it was nothing special. The food was overpriced but may have been decent if it wasnt served cold. This is a bar that takes no pride in the quality of their beer or food...thumbs down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Denver, CO
(01/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I've made several stops at Tommyknocker over the years. This recent visit included a light lunch. We enjoyed a nice salad, chicken quesadillas, and a small serving of their signature green pork chili. Instead of one of their regular brews, I opted for a limited edition rye porter, an interesting version of the style with a nice dry finish. My wife sampled one of five different bottled Tommyknocker sodas. As others have noted, the brewery side of the pub can be loud when they are bottling - the Jack Wacker Wheat was on the bottling line that day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The Butthead Doppelbock was as good as any. The food was good and the atmosphere was great. A most stop brewery while in Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Duryea Don Duryea, Douglass, KS
(08/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
First trip to the Denver area and on my way to the continental divide I stopped for a quick beer which turned into 4 or 5 at Tommy Knockers. Great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Caldwell, NJ
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We used to visit the Tommy Knockers establishment in Casper, WY. After it closed, we bought Jack Whacker at a liquor store in Casper. Now we can't find the product anywhere close by. Casper is a 2 hour drive and we drove it monthly just for the great taste of Jack Whacker!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Baldes Mary Baldes, Riverton, WY
(02/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great
finally...i have wanted to stop in for years and finally got the chance. i was not disappointed. good beer and food, but i tried to stop the bartender from pouring my beer in a plastic cup...til they pointed to the sign that the city water supply was tainted and all water had to be boiled...just goes to prove that it is safer drinking beer than water!! they usually have a cask conditioned available, which is good. service tends to be intermittent, they tend to focus on their favorite locals, so visitors tend to feel more like outcasts than at other brewpubs that i have experienced in co. still an interesting place...noisy the day we visited...as the bottling line was running...which would be expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Tommy Knockers has a great building for their brewery. The Black powder Stout was the best! The Jack Wacker Wheat, Pick Axe Ale, Rye Porter and the Lazy Lager all came in a close second out of 10 sampled beers. We bought a "Party Pig" to go of Black Powder Stout. This is a 2 1/2 gallon jug they have for sale. "MUST SE."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great
Excellant Reuben Sandwich. Tried the very good Amber. Wanted to try the sampler but 10 samples at 5 oz each; I would have had to be carried out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
The doppelbock was incredible - possibly the best beer I've ever had. The rye porter was different, but I really like it. The other beers were all solid. The service was fine on my visit, but there weren't many people there at the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denver, CO
(05/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
I usually stop here when heading through CO. I must agree with the prior comments about service, although I seem to have faired slightly better, but not much. The Butt-Head is a fantastic Dopplebock, one of my favorites for years! Other beers are equally good, including the Pale Ale in the beer engine. Rye Porter was a little wierd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lyle C. Brown Lyle C. Brown, Fredericksburg, VA
(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
The owner should drink less beer and concentrate on the buisness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nashville, TN
(05/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy So So
Fantastic beer coupled with awful service. As an example, the owners (whom we saw later that night pouring beers at the GABF) were wandering around watching their only waitstaff person try to serve a packed restaurant. Getting served as poorly as we did really ruined the great tasting beer. The ButtHead Dopplebock is one of this country's best dopples.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Wide range of styles... all worth having. Recommend beer flight first time in. Be sure to try their home-brewed root beer... makes a great place to bring a non-drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake City, CO
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Haven't been to the brewpub in some years, but I absolutely love the Butthead doppelbock. Fabulous beer. The maple brown is quite good too. I intend to have dinner up there some time soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark  Walker Mark Walker, golden, CO
(10/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Their ESB and fruit beer were great. When I ordered the pale ale, the waitress asked if I wanted it with CO2 or Nitrogen! Unbelievable. Food was great with amazing mashed potatoes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris DeVries Chris DeVries, New York, NY
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I wasn't overly impressed with the beer, although I understand they've won a few awards at the GABF (I think it was a silver for the Bock...I might be wrong). The brown ale isn't too bad if you like a really sweet beer, but darned if I could drink more than one (it's like trying to eat way too much chocolate out of one of those Whitman samplers or something). Still, it's a fun place to stop on the way back down I-70 after a day of skiing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Douglas J. Cox Douglas J. Cox, Louisville, CO
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A must microbrewery to see if in the Denver area, it is 20 miles west of Golden,CO - take I-70 West to Exit 240.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Martinez, Jr. Tom Martinez, Jr., Colorado Springs, CO
(07/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Awesome IPA, my husband and I both loved it. Would love to go back for a longer visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cristy & Scott Berglund Cristy & Scott Berglund, Salem, OR
(05/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Detwiler Marty Detwiler, Littleton, CO
(01/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
You need to go there. Hours: 7 days a week. Restaurant open 11 AM - 10 PM daily. Brewpub open 11 AM - 2 AM daily.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Martinez T. Martinez, Fort Collins, CO
(01/07/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.792 seconds) 10:05:19 54.90.251.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS