PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Amicas Pizza and Microbrews - Salida, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 18, 2014 @ 06:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Salida > Amicas Pizza and Microbrews
Amicas Pizza and Microbrews Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Amicas Pizza and Microbrews
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.5 / 100
136 East Second Street
Salida, CO 81201
United States
(719) 539-5219
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: August 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Salida, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Amicas Pizza and Microbrews
21 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Victoria Tavern
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Beddin' Down Bed Breakfast
2) Pinon & Sage Bed & Breakfast
3) River Run Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN MILFORD
2) BEST WESTERN COLORADO LODGE
3) COMFORT INN SALIDA
4) IMA ASPEN LEAF LODGE
5) SUPER 8 SALIDA
6) TRAVELODGE SALIDA CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Gray, Garret and Julia, Cottage
2) Hutchinson Ranch
3) Ohio-Colorado Smelting and Refining Company Smokestack
4) Poncha Springs Schoolhouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Benson's Tavern
2) Bongo Billy's Salida Cafe
3) Cugi's Market
4) Jodi's Pizza
5) Los Girasoles
6) Pizzaphilia
7) Triple M Lounge
8) Victoria Hotel & Tavern
9) Whitewater Wraps Mexican Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Lousy
I have been going to this restaurant for many years. I have watched the prices rise and the quality go down for some time now! It was my favorite restaurant in Salida to go out to eat in the past, but now it isn't any big deal to go to anymore!

To start off with they increased the price of their small house salad from $2.95 to $ 4.95 a few of years ago (not sure of the date). For $2.95 you use to get a beautiful large GREEN salad with just the right amount of house vinaigrette dressing on it with what appeared to be fresh large grated parmesan cheese on it and a nice size piece of fresh bread with it. Now you get a small WHITE lettuce salad with too much vinaigrette dressing on it and a small piece of fresh bread with it for $4.95. For my wife and I that is over $10.00 with tax and tip for 2 SMALL LOW quality salads. Then comes the pizza. Sometimes there is as much uncovered dough (puffed up) as there is "wood oven baked" pizza with toppings on it.

Solution? We don't eat there often anymore because the quality is so low. We only go there when someone from out of town comes by a remembers how good it use to be. I don't expect it to change.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chaffee County, CO
(03/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good
I came to Amicas just a few days ago and I really enjoyed the food it was awesome. I got a large pizza that tasted great, my waitress was very polite and always had a smile on, the beer was fantastic and very amazing how u guys brew it your selves. I enjoyed my self very much and recomend this to others

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christina Bohor Christina Bohor, Salida, CO
(07/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good
We had a full sandwich (chicken panini), which we split and a house salad. The food was prepared well and tasted wonderful. It was a bit pricey, but the quality was good. I had an IPA that was worthy of a second pint. Service was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Harris David Harris, Rockford, MI
(05/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
One of the first places we tried in Salida and one of the reasons we moved here! Great beer, Great food. We keep coming back for more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Teresa Teresa, Cotopaxi, CO
(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
I walked in and many staff memebers not so much attention paid to our party. We had heard so much about the place and had hoped to experience everything and more of what they were telling us. Yet, to our dismay, we were sadly disappointed. Beer selection poor, weak tasting, Food options pricey and pizza burnt. Restaurant was dirty and no one seemed to be enjoying themselves. Your better off having a pint over at Moonlight Pizza next time. We will!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skipper Skipper, Denver, CO
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Boomtown Pub in Leadville closed. New batch of Loyal Duke Scottish Ale at Amica's is the best one yet! Watch out though.... 9% alcohol content

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frosty Roe Frosty Roe, Buena Vista, CO
(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Fantastic beer. The IPA was good and hoppy; the porter was really smooth - one of the best I've tried. I really liked the Vienna Lager - I'm not usually a big fan of the lighter lagers, but this one was full of flavor and a great beer - we took a growler to go. The pizza was some of the best I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We have been eating the excellent food at Il Vicino's and now Amica's for many years now and will continue to return as often as possible. When we are in Salida for a week of skiing I feel slighted if I don't eat there at least 2 times and would more if the group would agree to it. The only time I can log a complaint about was on a Wednesday evening in January '04 when we had to wait for nearly an hour for a table while a large group on people became bar room style drinkers and held their tables (4 shoved together) for over 2 hours of drinking after their meal. It was a management dilemma and I got over it (they were very apologetic) but several customers came in and left after waiting a while to be seated to no avail. It is an excellent place and I would recommend it to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bert  Johnson Bert Johnson, Valley Mills, TX
(01/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
Great beer and food. Nice decor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from carl carl, pittsburgh, PA
(08/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I love their ale. smooth and refreshing, and will f#$! you up at 9000 feet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brice Shay, Morgantown, WV
(03/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Was there to work for a week and ate there twice. Had the Hero both times (fantastic) and washed it down with the Lemon Wheatgrass Beer (very refreshing)! Will find my way back from PA. to eat there again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Stephen, Meadville, PA
(11/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
A new name and a new brewer, but otherwise this place seems the same as when it was Il Vicino. Only four house beers available during my visit and nothing that would please a hophead. New batches of their Headwaters IPA (a derivation of Il Vicino's Wet Mountain IPA) and an amber ale were in the fermenters and not available. I very much enjoyed the nut brown ale and the roated rye porter, but my taste of the scottish ale was not what I expected - lighter in color than a scottish should be and with a heavier, sweeter mouthfeel that seemed more like that of a barleywine. I opted not to have a full pint of that. For a good scottish ale drive the 30 some miles up the road to Leadville's Boomtown Brewpub. My pizza and salad were good amd the service was adequate on a busy Sunday evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by twice on a recent trip to Colorado. The pizza and calzones are fantastic, and would be worth a trip even if the beers were lousy. Fortunately, the beer's terrific, too. My only complaint was the selection was a little low, and two of the guest beers were IPAs (their own excellent IPA was also on tap). In just the two days between my visits, there was substantial turnover in the styles offerred, both of their own beers and the guest taps. At last visit, they had their IPA, Belgian white, and brown ales on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Rask Tim Rask, Iowa City, IA
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The IPA is BIG!!! And HOPPY!!!! This is how all IPA's should be. The brewery is just about the most wedged in piece of equipment you have ever seen. Looks like they stuffed it in the closet. Damion the brewer was especially nice enough to share his American Brown Ale recipe with me and reduce it down to a 5 gallon batch so we could make it at home. Pizza is wood fired and out of this world. Good thing I was only on vacation. At $2.30/pint (regular price) I could get hurt at a place like this. The best of all the places we visited on our trip through Colorado and New Mexico.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Barrett Bob Barrett, Ann Arbor, MI
(05/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Stouts on tap now.

Scott

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Petty Scott Petty, Pueblo, CO
(01/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
i have visited this place twice now and each time i come away with a special feeling about the beer and the great town its located in. tremendous mountain biking and some real good eats at the local diners. the beer is top notch and i plan to keep going back until they have the STOUT ON TAP

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JLAMB JLAMB, CORAL GABLES, FL
(09/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
A real pleasant surprise in the little town of Salida. Not that Salida is a bad town, it's just that it's up in the mountains and off the beaten track. I was there on a business trip about a year ago and was real happy I found this place instead of settling for Domino's while watching HBO on the motel TV.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Douglas J. Cox Douglas J. Cox, Louisville, CO
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Great Beer - Great Pizza. The most expensive Base Pizza is the one containing shrimp for about $6.25. They always have 6 beers on tap & rotate thru the 12 reg and some specials they produce.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Treanor Dave Treanor, East Dubuque, IL
(06/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a "go out of your way for" place. Belongs in a Road Food book as well. The beer is absolutely fresh and frothy, not too cold, not too warm. Excellent variety and usually an interesting brewmaster special. I'm an IPA guy myself and this is THE BEST. This little hole-in-the-wall place keeps winning medals at the Great American. They do the best brick oven/wood fired pizza I've ever had (I'm originally from Chicago and take pizza REAL seriously). All very inexpensive. Where they get the fresh spinach salad in the middle of the winter I don't know, but my wife and I always split one because it's too big for one person. Even the service is unique - you stand in line at the counter until you get to the front of the line, make your order, and then take the next available table.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colorado Charlie Colorado Charlie, Denver, CO
(04/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This brewery was a Great stop in the middle of a 2 week vacation to Colorado. ...recommended by my cousin Joe, who frequents this establishment often.... I was not disappointed. The brews were Superb. I strongly recommend this brewery for anyone traveling in the area...make an effort, it's worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Uveges Steve Uveges, Bordentown, NJ
(02/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The best complete collection of brews I've found in one location. And the pizza is to die for. I really REALLY like this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gare Brundidge Gare Brundidge, Wichita Falls, TX
(11/24/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.559 seconds) 06:49:28 54.91.137.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS