PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bayern Brewing Company - Missoula, MT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 03, 2014 @ 01:00 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MT > Missoula > Bayern Brewing Company
Bayern Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Bayern Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
1507 Montana
Missoula, MT 59801
United States
(406) 721-1482
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Missoula, MT
Beer Guide for Montana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bayern Brewing Company
22 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Big Sky Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Kettlehouse Brewing Company, LLC
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Foxglove Cottage Bed & Brkfst
2) Gibson Mansion
3) Goldsmith Bed & Breakfast Inn
4) Gracenote Garden Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA BEST INN MISSOULA SOUTH
2) AMERICAS BEST INN MISSOULA
3) BEST WESTERN GRANT CREEK INN
4) COMFORT INN MISSOULA
5) INN ON BROADWAY
6) MISSOULA MICROTEL INN AND STS
7) RAMADA INN MISSOULA MT
8) RED LION INN MISSOULA
9) SLEEP INN MISSOULA
10) SUPER 8 MISSOULA BROOK ST MT
11) VAL U INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apartment Building at 116 Spruce Street
2) Atlantic Hotel
3) Bellows House
4) Belmont Hotel
5) Bluebird Building
6) Brunswick Hotel
7) Carnegie Public Library
8) Christie, Thomas J., House
9) Dixon--Duncan Block
10) Florence Hotel
11) Flynn Farm
12) Forkenbrock Funeral Home
13) Garden City Drug
14) Gibson, A. J., House
15) Gleim Building
16) Gleim Building II
17) Grand Pacific Hotel
18) Hammond Arcade
19) Headquarters Building and Daily Company Annex
20) Hellgate Lodge 383 BPOE
21) Herzog, J. M., House
22) Higgins Block
23) Independent Telephone Company Building
24) Johnston, John S., House
25) Keith, John M., House
26) Knowles Building
27) Labor Temple
28) Lenox Flats
29) Lincoln School
30) Lucy Building
31) Marsh and Powell Funeral Home
32) Masonic Lodge
33) Milwaukee Depot
34) Missoula County Courthouse
35) Missoula Laundry Company
36) Missoula Mercantile
37) Model Laundry and Apartments
38) Montgomery Ward
39) Mrs. Lydia McCaffery's Furnished Rooms
40) Northern Pacific Railroad Depot
41) Palace Hotel
42) Paxson, Edgar, House
43) Prescott, Clarence R., House
44) Simons Block
45) St. Francis Xavier Church
46) Sterling, Fred T., House
47) Studebaker Building
48) Toole, John R., House
49) U.S. Post Office
50) University Apartments
51) Wilma Theatre
52) Zip Auto
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Acropolis Gyros & Greek Spec
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Bagels On Broadway
6) Bangkok Thai Restaurant
7) Big Sky Bistro
8) Big Sky Drive In
9) Black Dog Cafe
10) Bridge Bistro
11) Burger King
12) Casa Pablo's
13) China Buffet
14) China Garden Restaurant
15) Chinook Restaurant
16) Claim Jumper Casino
17) Clc Restaurants Inc
18) Cruise In
19) Curley's Broiler
20) Cyber Shock
21) Dairy Queen
22) Dairy Queen
23) Dairy Queen
24) Dairy Queen
25) Del's Place
26) Del's Place
27) Denny's
28) Depot Restaurant & Bar
29) Dinasaur Cafe
30) Doc's Gourmet Sandwich Express
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Double Front Cafe
33) Edgewater Steak & Seafood
34) El Cazador
35) El Matador Mexican Restaurant
36) Encore Restaurant
37) Food For Thought
38) Friends
39) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
40) Greek Gyros
41) Greek Gyros & Pastry Shop
42) Hardee's
43) Hoagieville
44) Hoagieville
45) Hoagieville
46) Hoagieville
47) Hobnob Cafe
48) Hong Kong Chef
49) Howard's Pizza Villa
50) Hunny's Bar
51) Iron Horse Brew Pub
52) Jay's Bar
53) Joey's Only Seafood Rstrnt
54) Johnny's Restaurant
55) Junga Juice
56) Junga Juice
57) Kadenas
58) Kfc
59) Lisa's Pasty Pantry
60) Little Caesars Pizza
61) Lucky Strike Casino
62) Mac Kenzie River Pizza Co
63) Marianne's At The Wilma
64) Max Subs
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mc Donald's
67) Mean Gene's
68) Missoula Apple Inc
69) Missoula Salad Co
70) Montana Club
71) Montana Jacks Casino
72) Muse Cafe
73) Mustard Seed Asian Cafe
74) Noodle Express
75) Northwest Noodles'n Wrap
76) Old Post
77) Orange Julius
78) Pagoda Chinese Food
79) Paul's Pancake Parlor & Cafe
80) Perugia Old World Cooking
81) Pickle Barrel
82) Pizza Hut
83) Pizza Pipeline
84) Pockets Sandwich Shop
85) Red Bird
86) Reserve Street Drive-Inn
87) Robin's On Broadway
88) Romeo's Italian Grill
89) Rosa's Pizza
90) Rosauer's Family Restaurant
91) Ruby's Cafe
92) Salad Bar & Sandwich Co
93) Sawaddee Thai Restaurant
94) Sean Kelly's A Public House
95) Second Thoughts News & Deli
96) Shack Restaurant
97) Silver Tip Casino
98) Southgate Grill
99) Speakeasy
100) Stageline Pizza
101) Staggering Ox
102) Staggering Ox Sandwiches
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
105) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
106) Taco Bell
107) Taco Del Sol
108) Taco John's
109) Taco John's
110) Taco Treat Mexican Restaurants
111) Thai Spicy
112) Tipu's Tiger East Indian
113) Tipu's Tiger World Deli
114) Torrey's Home Cooking & Food
115) Tower Pizza
116) Trenary's Irish Pub & Rstrnt
117) Two Sisters
118) Uptown Diner
119) Viva Mexico
120) Wah Hing
121) Wendy's
122) Worden's Deli
123) Zimorino's Red Pies Over Mt
124) Zimorino's Red Pies Over Mt
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
This place is fairly unique in just going after traditional German brews. While I have had many biers in Germany and love those, I didn't find the ones at Bayern to be good copies of the native thing. I though the Pilsner and Schwarz were good. Have WiFi with password from staff. Friendly neighborhood feel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from db db, Billings, MT
(07/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
One of the best slow-poured Pilseners I've had outside of Germany. Great tasting room. Ranks very high on my list of breweries to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ernie Johnson Ernie Johnson, pensacola, FL
(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
This is one of the friendliest breweries I have ever been to. Thier giant chess set is a great way to hang out with your buddies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moe Moe, Tooele, UT
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
This is one of the friendliest breweries I have ever been to. Thier giant chess set is a great way to hang out with your buddies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moe Moe, Tooele, UT
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
This place is a decent brewery but my least favorite of the three in Missoula. The Trout Slayer is good, the unfiltered Dark Wheat was excellent; a lot of their other beers lack unique characteristics/flavors. The actual brewery tasting room is almost too sterile, it sort of felt like a doctor's office but with a friendly staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Smith Timothy Smith, Bozeman, MT
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Awesome!
I think they are moving but this place give you your first pint free! The run under Montana's law so this is not a Bar the are a brewery so each person in your party can only get 3 pints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Reno, NV
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I am rating Bayern Brewery. The Iron Horse Brew Pub has pretty good food, etc., but my true love is the Trout Slayer directly from Bayern Brewery from Jurgen himself. I know they are moving to a brand new place so please check it out when you have a moment. Bayern makes some of the most quality beers in the NW region, if not the US. They have inspired my fiance' and I to become our own brewers. Cheers to you all!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from seisin seisin, Anchorage, AK
(11/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
J├╝rgen gave me a personal tour and explained that in Montana, a brewery cannot have a liquer license, hense no true brewpubs in the big sky country. He uses good old step mashing with truely state of the art equipment. I think I personally caused a state wide shortage of trout slayer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jorg Jorg, bowdoin, ME
(09/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
This is not a true brewpub. It is a microbrewery with a small tasteing room. That's the bad news, the good news is you can get a 12oz beer for free! Apparently they are moving soon to a bigger place. The Trout Slayer was very good, Flathead Lake Monster was excellent. We bout a 6-pack at the local store to bring back to Madison.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Klune Mike Klune, Madison, WI
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Nice selection of micros to go along with the local Bayern beers. I was impressed with the atmosphere and overall appearance of Iron Horse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kuster John Kuster, Murrysville, PA
(08/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
I had a Bayern Pilsner on tap n Big Sky, Montana. Subtly malty, flavorful, and good. The web site is http://www.bayernbrewery.com/"> bayernbrewery.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is the rating for Iron Horse. Bayren is a different place and should have its own entry. Bayren is a real german brewery and very high tech. Worth the visit. I'll update the address when I find it, but the folks at Iron Horse can provide the location. It's worth a trip to the brewery. Big Sky is nearby and also worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Burnett Glenn Burnett, Cedar Knolls, NJ
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Good Great
The beer is REAL(read a person born and raised in southern Germany would enjoy this stuff).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dillon, MT
(10/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Lousy Good Good
The stout was good, the atmosphere was good, and the service was lousy. The waitstaff needs to change their attitude. The dinner menu has something to be desired; also, all they had to serve was sandwiches. One positive, they serve Guinness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lakewood, CO
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Lousy Good Good
The stout was good, the atmosphere was good, and the service was lousy. The waitstaff needs to change their attitude. I dinner menu has something to be desired also, all they had to serve was sandwiches. One positive, they serve Guinness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lakewood, CO
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This is now one of my favorite spots in the US to do what I do best: drink beer and admire the servers from all angles. Lots of talent in both areas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MDS MDS, Richmond, VA
(09/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Anyone who visits the Iron Horse in the summertime and drinks Widmer instead of the brewing miracle that is Bayern Hefeweizen deserves to have his beer drinker's license taken away. They brew the only real hefeweizen I have ever tasted in the United States.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip Hamilton Phillip Hamilton, Bozeman, MT
(08/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great So So
We must have caught them on a bad night. Some of the worst beer I have ever had in a brewpub. The food was teriffic and the atmosphere very nice. Nice view of the foothills. Sorry, but we have to call them as we taste them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin & Vicki Fire Kevin & Vicki Fire, Alfred, ME
(07/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The atmosphere is fantastic, the beer was incredible. And, unlike in a lot of brewpubs my girlfriend and I have been to, the dinner was amazing, perfect sandwiches and salads to compliment the great beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian McKernan Brian McKernan, Philadelphia, PA
(07/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
drink widmer from the boot

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review missoula, MT
(11/10/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.435 seconds) 01:00:26 107.21.152.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS