PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Anderson Valley Brewing Company - Boonville, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 07:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Boonville > Anderson Valley Brewing Company
Anderson Valley Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Anderson Valley Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.4 / 100
17700 Boonville Road
Post Office Box 505
Boonville, CA 95415
United States
(707) 895-BEER
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boonville, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Anderson Valley Brewing Company
41 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon CLOSED
Tue CLOSED
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Anderson Creek Inn
2) The Toll House Inn
3) Toll House Restaurant & Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Con Creek School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Boonville General Store
2) Boonville Lodge
3) From The Heart Catering & Evnt
4) Lumberjack Pizza
5) Maggie Mea's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This place was fun before we arrived, what a drive...

As 4 foreigners from Pennsylvania, we instantly felt welcomed by the bartender (whose name I never caught). She threw out two or three poignant adjectives per beer (there were MANY to choose).

Seasonals always tempt my tastebuds even if the style does not. I first tried the Summer Solstice Cerveza Crema which impressed me.

Unfortunately, we did not realize the early closing time and we hoped to get in a round of disc golf so we only had the chance to enjoy one beer inside of a very spacious bar/eating/merchandise area.

We purchased a round of golf and some of tall bottles of Oatmeal Stout to enjoy while we played. I had had it before but it tasted extraordinary while tossing a disc in the blue skies arching over Anderson Valley.

While we did not order prepared food, the jerky was wonderful (so my jerky-connoisseur friend tells me).

We took the hour or so drive to this place as a mid-week break of wine tasting in Sonoma. I highly recommend you find the time to visit, even if you're an hour away (just don't forget the early closing time-5ish?).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bethany bethany, pittsburgh, PA
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Anderson Valley is one of my top three favorite breweries in the world.

They don't know how to make a mediocre beer. There very worst is "good" at worst. Everything they brew is killer, absolutely off the charts.

When I die, spread my ashes behind their vats!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Shawn, Fullerton, CA
(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Didn't time my visit right to catch the tour but the visitor center/tasting room is enough to keep you busy.Had apint each of the Pale Ale and Boont Amber.The Boont is definetely their signature beer. Tried a 10 oz. of the Summer Solstice Cerveza Crema. Not too bad for a sweet beer. Cream soda with a buzz. Probably better on a hot summer day enjoying a round on their frisbee golf course. Well worth the crazy drive to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
1 of our 7 stops in 2 days beer tour. Group of 6 of us took the tour and had a great time with our guide, Jason. I thought the tasters were a bit expensive, $14.95 for a sample of all the brews. Each sample was 5 oz so I can see why the high cost, but I would rather have a smaller glass and a smaller cost for the tasters. I didn't get a feel that I was drinking $15. worth of beer, some of which I would not order a pint of. But fun place and they sell a great mustard.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sally Canjura Sally Canjura, South San Francisco, CA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I was also pleased to stop in and try the Anderson Valley brews on tap at the Buckhorn Saloon (which should perhaps have a separate entry here). We were just passing through, so I had the beer sampler, and we had a bit of food... standard pub stuff, wings & burgers, etc. The menu is small and ordinary, but they cook it with some care. The wings were excellent. The beer everyone knows, and it was great on draft too. Since this was during the day, I can't really comment on the atmosphere. It was dull when I was there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What a great taproom in a beautiful location. I recommend getting tasters as their can be up to 12 beers on tap to try. Their flagship amber ale is as always delicious. Belks ESB is a very well rounded ale very true to the English style and very drinkable. There were 2 Belgian styles to taste on the day I was there. Brother David's double abbey had a brown sugar, molasses taste up front. Lots of fruity esters with a faint hop finish. Good representation of this style. Brother David's triple. Very fruity aroma. Light golden color with a big malty mouthfeel. Nice spicy hop finish. Very good. These two are available in 22 oz. bottles (corked) and dipped in wax. Should age well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I drove up from San Francisco to take the tour on Sunday 2/13. I showed up at noon, so I was early for the 1:30 tour. No problem, as the tasting room/gift shop was open. I tried 5 (sampler)of the beers from the 8 or 9 available. I don't see all their beers in the Midwest, so I had to try the one's I can't normally get. As I expected, all were excellent. The tour was interesting, however, the tour guide was not very knowledgeable about the overall process, but that's OK. From what they tell me, the Sunday tour is generally led by whomever they can get that's available. Large/modern facility. After the tour, it was back to the tasting room for a couple more samples. I spoke with several people that also took the tour. Very friendly and enjoyed telling me about the SF area, beer, brewpubs, places to see. I had a great time. The roads to Boonville (off the 101)are very crooked and scenic. Visit this place if you get the chance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
While I cannot comment on the ins and outs of the Buckhorn Saloon ownership, I must admit it was a treat to be able to try the Anderson Valley Brewing Company products on draft. Although most of them are available in bottles at some of the better delis here in NYC, nothing beats tasting them poured locally from the tap. The Saloon was nice enough....great bar area and dining room with a pleasant view. We decided to forgo the brewery tour (down the road) and go straight for the brews. Hop Ottin' IPA, Barney Flats Oatmeal Stout and Dependers Porter all in top form. Definitely worth a stop for lunch or just for a quick beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(04/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
I haven't been to AV in many years so cannot comment on the recent nod to commercialism. Though I sensed a change in the wind on my last visit. I have very fond memories of pitchers of Belk's and Barney Flats out by the horseshoe pit on another incredible sunny day in Mendocino. The experience of driving through wine country, redwoods and taking in the brewery was a highlight of my beer enthusiasm in the early 90s. I hope the rumors of poor service are over inflated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
The beer delection is really great, but the pub's not as good as it was when it was owned by the brewery. Service is somewhat lacking at Buckhorn Saloon, and the foods kind of expensive. The brewery is down the road about a mile and offers tours every day, and there's a pretty goosd gift shop near the pub that's stocked with lots of shirts and stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dylan Sutherland, Bowie, MD
(04/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Unbelievable beer! Showed up with a group of 5 and got a private tour, then went to the bar and drank with the tour guide. Try the XV, only 13 kegs made to celebrate their anniversary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Long Beach, CA
(01/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Brewers of the Legendary Boonville Beers; Boont Amber, Hop Ottin’ IPA, Barney Flats Oatmeal Stout, Poleeko Gold, Belk’s ESB, Winter Solstice.
Tours Daily (except holidays)1:30 and 4:00 PM.
No pub on premises, but there is one in town, one mile away, that serves their beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boonville, CA
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Every beer is fantastic! This place is truly unique and well worth the effort it takes to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rod Provost Rod Provost, Stockton, CA
(07/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Every beer is fantastic! This place is truly unique and well worth the effort it takes to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rod Provost Rod Provost, Stockton, CA
(07/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great
Half the fun of getting there is having a chance to drive the twisty, scenic road to Boon(i)eville. Barney Flats Oatmeal Stout has maybe one or two equals in the world, and they are even harder to find. Excellent burgers and a nice view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clyde Walker Clyde Walker, Roseville, CA
(10/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good
Be careful trying to locate this brewpub. It is being operated under a different name, but still located at the same address above.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
Agree withe some other people customer service must be improved. Ken Allen for some reason dosen't respond to the e-mail on his site like others have stated. They are closed several days each week. Even the days they are open the hours aren't very good. They have a retail shop next to the pub, that is extremely commercialized. Anderson Valley does make some good beers, but they have become way too commercialized. Also if you drive all the way out there and some of their mgmt. is in the pub, but they are so called "closed", they will tell you to come back another day and won't even allow you to sample the beer. Who needs that. There are plenty of good breweries around nowadays, that I would rather support the ones who truly care about their customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Marrero, LA
(07/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I have been to many brewpubs in this country and this one definatly has to be the hardest one to get to, put it was worth every mile from frisco to experiance boonville. service was exellant, my wife and i were drowned in samples. my only advise is to call a head to make shure they are open and have a good driver behind the wheel when driving rte. 128 to get there (THE ROAD IS LIKE THE ONE YOU WOULD SEE IN A SPORTS CAR COMMERCIALS)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tuwalski Tuwalski, Cleveland, OH
(07/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Quite probably the best brewery/brewpub in the United States - Everything they pour is great, highlighted by an amazing stout. If you are anywhere near the bay area - you have to visit this one, North Coast and Mendicino Brew Co - 3 of the best the world has to offer..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jason jason, houston, TX
(04/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from randy randy, norman, OK
(03/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
I agree with the previous review- customer service is awful, and it all starts from the top.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sid Sid, memphis, TN
(02/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
Ken Allen refuses to answer e-mail, despite placing his email address on the avbc website. avbc has been getting way too commercial and isn't in the same league as North Coast Brewing which is a couple of hours away in Fort Bragg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Atlanta, GA
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So So So
An oasis on the road from the ocean to wine country. Can't find better beer elsewhere. Food's good too! Hard to enjoy though, because the place is full of flies. Maybe Californians are accustomed to insects sharing food and drink - I found it detracted from what could have been a very pleasant meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Thompson John Thompson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/14/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.698 seconds) 07:47:41 54.161.192.135, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS