PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 05:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.8 / 100
1535 Pearl Street
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 546-0886
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
59 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Rockies Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

10) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

11) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

12) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

13) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

14) Walnut Brewery
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great customer service and good beer selection. Server was very knowledgeable about all the beers and the staff was extremely friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Renden Joe Renden, Sparks, NV
(07/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is a really lively, fun and tasty place! I ordered a sampler plus a couple of additional tasters. Top of the bill for me was the Bourbon Stout followed closely by the Jave Porter and the FYIPA. The Brown was much more of a Brown Porter and really chocolatey. The Ginger beer had a very strong ginger spicin gthat I just loved but may be too intense for some. The Choclate Stout on nitro was was a rich and thick well crafted milk stout. The only beer that had a slight flaw was the Amber that was mared by a touch too much diacetyl.

The service was top notch, with multiple people grabbing plates or bringing beer. Friendly and beer knowledable is so important in a place like this!! The server new all the grains, hops and yeast used in their brews. Impressive!

The food is standard pub fair, was well made and very reasonably priced. Huge portions and an eclectic menu will provide more than enough choices.

All around a much visit in Boulder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Perez Dave Perez, Gainesville, FL
(04/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Great beer, friendly staff, central location right next to the Pearl St. Mall. If you're staying downtown (say, at the Boulderado), this is a good place to go.

Unfortunately, the dining area is small and fills up fast, and with no sound insulation it gets loud. The Mountain Sun is known locally as being something of a hippie bar (which you may or may not like, depending on your tastes - I don't really care). Most locals (I was a local for 12+ years) prefer the Mountain Sun's larger sibling on the south side of town, the Southern Sun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Bellingham, WA
(10/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
EVERYONE YOU ASK IN BOULDER SAY THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO FOR BEER. I WAS MORE IMPRESSED WITH THE FOOD; SPECIFICLY THE FRIES......OUTSTANDING. GREAT VARIETY IN BEER SELECTION.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Located in the downtown area with cute trendy shops all around. Hole in the wall building, family oriented with a rasta theme. The young staff were friendly and helpful and I think everyone who was working there that day said hello to me.

Turkey and pesto sandwich was really good. Most of the beers were quite hoppy, as the last reviewer stated, but I like that. The Triple X was hoppy like an IPA but not nearly as bitter. Annapurna Amber was a tad on the sweet side for my taste. I and IPA was a malty/hoppy tone which complimented each other but could really do some head damage after a few (strong!). Usuper Imperial Stout was quite smooth and tasty like a milk stout. Isodore Java Porter was creamy, smooth with a light chocolate and coffee flavor. FY IPA was maybe my favorite hoppy brew there, and seemed much like Racer 5 by Bear Republic.

I was disappointed to learn a week after my visit that they let the brewer go, which is a real shame and I have no idea what the quality of beers will be like at this place now. 10/7 12:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(11/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Located in the downtown area with cute trendy shops all around. Hole in the wall building, family oriented with a rasta theme. The young staff were friendly and helpful and I think everyone who was working there that day said hello to me.

Turkey and pesto sandwich was really good. Most of the beers were quite hoppy, as the last reviewer stated, but I like that. The Triple X was hoppy like an IPA but not nearly as bitter. Annapurna Amber was a tad on the sweet side for my taste. I and IPA was a malty/hoppy tone which complimented each other but could really do some head damage after a few (strong!). Usuper Imperial Stout was quite smooth and tasty like a milk stout. Isodore Java Porter was creamy, smooth with a light chocolate and coffee flavor. FY IPA was maybe my favorite hoppy brew there, and seemed much like Racer 5 by Bear Republic.

I was disappointed to learn a week after my visit that they let the brewer go, which is a real shame and I have no idea what the quality of beers will be like at this place now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I have been going to this pub since its inception. They have opened another south of town with very consistent results. SInce moving from Boulder I have been hard pressed to find similarly tasty, hoppy brew (and nachos that equal theirs). In my search for tasty, quality, hoppy stuff, a close second in quality, color and flavor in my opinion has been the Standing Stone Brewery in Ashland, Oregon.

At the Mountain Sun, I have to say I love the nachos. A small order is more like a "large medium." Their fearless use of black beans and fresh salsa has made me an addict.

Staff: their baseline service is decent but can be inconsistent in terms of how fast they round on you. On the other hand, they rotate the staff in all positions which gives the place more of a family business vibe.

Beer selection: they have very hoppy stuff. Problem is if you want a break from it it just wasn't there. But all the other stuff is amazing, so...

This might have changed, haven't been there in 2 years, but I'll be back next month, perhaps some maltier entries have been cooked up.

Fact is, because I don't visit Boulder frequently enough I'll probably crawl into a pitcher of the Kind and Triple X and be quite satisfied.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Menlo Park, CA
(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
Go for the beer and not the food. The FYIPA was great. The food and decor leave a lot to be desire. The prices were incredible - even before happy hour!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Christian, Philadelphia, PA
(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good
This place was really hoppin when I arrived. Seems to be a college kid and young family hangout. The flat walls make for a very loud room. Based on previous reviews I must have caught the beer at a bad time. There was really nothing noteable about the beer. But if you like that college/family feel hey, great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Reister Kenneth Reister, Olympia, WA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is my favorite Boulder brew pub... the Colorado Kind is a favorite but they have a lot of beers to choose from. The food is good and the servers are mellow and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lawrence Lawrence, Conifer, CO
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
This place is rapidly turning into my favorite Colorado Brewery.Huge selection of beers, sometimes the same beer served regular draft and nitro ( last visit they had the Kind and Java Porter both available both ways. While we were there, the Java ran out and was replaced with the Belgian Chocolate Stout. WOW, is that great. Smooth, rich, and very chocolatey. If you only have time for 1 brewery when in Boulder, this should be it. (no offense to Avery or Redfish)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from monkeyfish monkeyfish, Gyosum, CO
(12/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Had the COLORADO KIND ALE and the CLEVELAND BROWN ALE. Very tasty. The beer went great with the food. We had a catfish sandwich and a wrap of some sort. It's all good! A must stop in Boulder!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Milwaukee, WI
(12/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Stopped by for a quick pint back in August. Only had time to try the Java Porter, but found it to be excellent and left me wishing I had time for a few more. As far as atmosphere, it really wasn't what I was expecting based on reviews here & on other sites, I guess I was expecting to walk in and be transported back to the 60's. Didn't really find that to be the case the day I was there....no complaints, though. I hope to be back in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Allen, TX
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
NOTICE: Reviewer prior - Tom Madigan Kettering, OH - was absolutely ripped by the time he reached Mountain Sun. He does, however, give an accurate review. This was a huge surprise! I had never heard of Mountain Sun until this trip. Employees at Great Divide and Avery advised a visit to Mountain Sun. They were correct. I had a flavorful, medium bodied, dry IPA that was very good. Tom had a pale ale that was also very good. The food was good and the place is now on a must visit list for trips to Colorado.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Only had 1 beer, unfortunately, we were on a Boulder Brewpub crawl, but I did have one of the freshest, hoppiest, and tastiest pale ales that I've ever had. The food was delicious as well, this place is a must in Boulder, in fact, the best place in Boulder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A very ecclectic establishment that combines funky, hippy, family, laid back along with the ubiquitious self-absorbed yuppy; it serves some interesting beer styles especially IPAs and a very tasty porter. It could be a little bigger. A nice stop if in the Denver area. Nice little college town - if you enjoy left wing environmentalists who drive gas guzzling SUVs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My husband & I have been frequenting this place since we moved to Boulder 6 years ago. We can go once or twice a week and never get tired of it! Their beer is the BEST--and I drink a lot of beer. I personally enjoy all of their porters and stouts, but my favorite is still the Java Porter. $2 pints and $6 pitchers during happy hour is an unbelievable deal for the excellent quality of the beer. Plus, the food is wonderful. The nachos...words can't describe how yummy they are! And the burrito, and the quesadilla...! It's good stuff! Definitely the best beer in Boulder. The place is tiny, though, so get there early to avoid a long wait. And it's always noisy, so if you're looking for a quiet spot, this is not the place for you. If it's too packed, try the Southern Sun, which is in south Boulder but serves the same beer and food for the most part. Both are the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leah Leah, Boulder, CO
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
We stopped in for a few beers, but weren't wearing our tie-die. They have a huge selection for a micro! I had a sage brew (Tyrannosaurus Red), the IPA, and the Pils! ALL were fantastic. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to try the food. If you want to try something a little different definitely stop by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Definitely the best in Boulder. Excellent selection and quality. Java porter was out of this world. Incredible ginger beer and I hate ginger. The Scotch, brown and Imperial IPA were all exceptional. Great dead head hippie atmosphere too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Prager Darren Prager, San Francisco, CA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Definitely a must visit if in Boulder...or anywhere near. Not your typical micro. Quality brews...reminds me if you had your best brewing buddy open a place, this would be it. I sampled everything they had, and was pleased to impressed with all of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer and food were both very good. The place was packed. I would have liked to have had more time to try all the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
Spent a Friday night in Boulder to hit the brewpubs on and around Pearl Street. I tend to very much agree with P&J from Pitts. Great beer (best in town that I tried) and really good food but I believe overhyped as far as being the "best in Colorado". Was actually there twice in the same day (it was a long one) the first time the service was horrible (lunch) but the beer and the food was good enough to bring us back (midnight) where the service improved. It was the atmosphere that got me. It fell like a cafe in a small midwest town on mainstreet. Did not feel like a brewpub to me or a bar for that matter. Just a personal choice, but I do believe that earlier reviews created some false expectations for me. When in Boulder, go there for the beer and the food, but don't expect it to be the best ever, go to Phantom Canyon in the Springs for that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The selection was impressive and the Kind is a really good beer. Our food was good too, and we'll go back when we're in town; however, it is a little over-hyped on this site.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I run pub tours in the USA, UK and wine tours in France. I write about pubs. This is amongst the top pubs in the USA. The beer is some of the best in the World I don't know of many where ones can taste the same beer with CO2 or nitrouse. "Colorado Kind" is a classic. The staff are the best I know of. ALL do all jobs and all know the beers and food. If you don't visit, you don't like beer so why do you even bother reading this site? Got it? THIS IS THE TOPS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Bruce Geoff Bruce, Arvada, CO
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've visited the Boulder area twice, and both times, Mountain Sun has done the trick. Unpretentious crowds, terrific beer (great ales), great food portions for the price. What I like the most about it though is the natural "feelgood" that the place exhibits. The staff, while laid back and easy going is very professional and fair to all types of people. Every city should have one, if it could be staffed as well as the Boulder location. I'll keep coming back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Couts Josh Couts, Indianapolis, IN
(01/20/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.38 seconds) 05:49:43 54.166.173.147, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS